march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars79
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$16.97+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 18, 2011
Finally, all the Lethal Weapons together on Blu-Ray! These are the original theatrical versions with the deleted or added scenes from other versions kept separate. This leaves this classic series the way it should be even though many liked those scenes in; most of those scenes however didn't add anything to the movies.

Watching all 4 on consecutive nights brought back how good the acting, characters, drama, comedy, writing, everything is. Despite his recent meltdowns, Gibson really made his name as an actor here and his teaming with Glover is just perfect. The supporting cast - Pesci, Russo, Rock, along with those who played Glover's family (and they were the same actors through the series - not always done, the police officers/captain and psychiatrist - just added and fit in. I think the final credits of LW 4 show that with basically a family photo album (remember those) scrolling through.

I haven't watched the extras yet but there's a lot and they look to be quite in depth. Both the picture and sound translated quite well to Blu-Ray even though LW 1 came out in 1987(!).

All-in-all, a classic movie series gets the treatment it deserves. Highly recommended to any Lethal Weapon fan and, frankly, to any movie fan.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2013
the set came packaged well, on the due date and this customer well satisfied. I am not a Mel Gibson fan anymore but the acting and
stunts in this set well done, funny and a credit to main actor like Danny Glover etc. They are enjoyed with no bias for future personal failings in life. They entertain on there own merit. Thank you seller for prompt attentions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2014
I ended up getting this for a pretty good deal and I'm glad I did! Initially I bought it for my husband, who likes the movies but didn't own any. I've watched them all with him and I have to say, they're a lot of fun. This set is really just the basics, but you don't really need more than that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2004
Finally, all four of the "Lethal Weapon" movies are available in one boxed set. One of the greatest series ever to grace the screen, the movies have Mel Gibson and Danny Glover as cops on the edge bttling internation criminals while trying to keep their lives in order.
1987's "Lethal Weapon" is where it all began. Roger Murtaugh (Glover) is a veteran cop who is also a consumate family man. He is very careful and doesn't take any risks. Martin Riggs (Gibson), on the other hand, is a lonely, suicidal police officer who takes risks that even Dirty Harry wouldn't do. How could these do ever work together? Well, when a young girl mysterious jumps to her death out of a highrise apartment window, the two are assigned to work together. What ensues is a nonstop action (including a shootout at a Christmas Tree store and a a daring rescue of Murtaugh's daughter) as well as lots of funny moments. Also, the two cops, opposite as they are, strike up a friendship that would go on to make millions at the box office.
1989's "Lethal Weapon 2" has Gibson and Glover back in their roles. The two cops are slightly different now. Murtaugh is still the family man but now is more of a risktaker. Riggs is still the more daring of the two but has calmed down... somewhat. When Murtaugh's house is invaded by German criminals, the duo cracks down on a crime ring selling drugs. To make things a little more interesting for them, they are assigned to look after Leo Getz (Joe Pesci), a big moout money laundere in the Witness Protection program. Pesci turns in one of his finest comedic performances in this film. Like the first one, it's exciting and funny.
1993's "Lethal Weapon 3" came after a 4 - year hiatus. This one is my personal favorite. Gibson and Glover are back yet again, and Joe Pesci returns to the fold as well. Murtaugh is getting ready to retire from the force in this installment, leaving Riggs a little down. Somehow, Murtaugh knows that his last case will be a dangerous one. A shady ex - cop is selling armor - piercing bullets to his workers and kidnaps the police chief. Once again, Murtaugh and riggs have to keep the city from mass destruction while keeping themselves alive. This film icludes several great scenes, including the opening bomb sequence, the motorcycle off the roof sequence and the coda. This film is significant because Lorna Cole (Rene Russo) joins the team. She will go on to play an important role in Riggs' life.
"Lethal Weapon 4" came aftr a 5 - year hiatus. Most people call it the weakest effort of the series, but I like it. In this one, Riggs is now much more somber, finding inner peace with himself thanks to Lorna (Rene Russo), who is giving birth to Riggs' first child. Murtaugh is preparing to become a grandfather. Joe Pesci's Leo Getz is now a cop. Chris Rock is also a member of the force and the godfather of Riggs' grandchild. One thing stands in the way of this happy time. A Japanese crime ring led by Jet Li is plotting something and Riggs and Murtaugh go on one last adventure before riding into the sunset - amidst a frenzy of babies.
Overall, great dvd set. These are among my all - time favorite films. Let's hope that the cast reassmebles for "Lethal Weapon 5" soon.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2002
[Damn] do these guys talk a lot or what? Riggs and Murtaugh (Mel Gibson and Danny Glover) don't know when to quit. All they do is argue. It's like watching an episode of "The People's Court." In "Lethal Weapon," Riggs sports a mullet and teams up with old man Murtaugh to taken down a syndicate. The first movie is the best. More syndication going on in the sequel, "Lethal Weapon 2." The mullet is back with Murtaugh. They are assigned to protect one of the most annoying guys in the world. Joe Pesci plays that man. More talking, more action and explosions. Good sequel. "Lethal Weapon 3" is cutting it close with it's overuse of bad jokes. The mullet is way too long here. Rene Russo was added in the cast to show more flair. Ok movie. Finally in "Lethal Weapon 4" you have Joe Pesci and Chris Rock going back and forth about cellular phone companies. The mullet has disappeared. Yes! Too bad Jet Li's character didn't get a hold of Leo and Noisy Guy #2. It's not flied lice, it's fried rice. Offensive! The most action, noise and nonsense were all rolled into this movie. It's still a good series that people will enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2002
This special edition box set with all the Lethal Weapons is an impressive package with some good extra material.
The first of the Weapon films is still the best, with Mel Gibson as the suicidal cop Martin Riggs paired up with Roger Murtaugh (Danny Glover) as his reluctant partner. The action is great, and while it does tend to get carried away sometimes (not helped By Richard Donner's frenetic pacing), it's still the most fun of the franchise, and one of the best action films of the 80's.
Mel is great in one of his first major film roles, and Glover works well with Gibson. Director Donner, who gave us Superman (1978), directed all the Weapon films, but this one is the undisputed finest. Action at it's most outrageous.
The second instalment is not quite as good as the first, but its still exciting frenetic fun, with some witty humour. Mel Gibson and Danny Glover are the partner- in -crime duo again, and this one sees Riggs and Murtaugh joined by Joe Pesci as Leo Getz, the annoying cop who returns in parts 3 and 4. The action is as impressive as the former one, and director Richard Donner's hard- as-nails approach to the film makes it as exhilarating as it's predecessor.
Lethal Weapon 3 and 4 are the weakest of the franchise, yet still retain soome of the cool action present in the first 2 films, with Gibson and Glover doing a "take the money and run" deal. The action is good, and in Lethal Weapon 4, Jet Li as the bad guy ups the hard-edged approach. However, the last two films aren't as much fun. The extras are good, if not great, with trailers, Featurettes, Behind-the-scenes Footage an Audio Commentary and some additional Footage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
5 stars for the movies. 4 stars for the VOLUNTARY omission of a Drector's Cut as the one I have on DVD. I love the complete series. But, I'm a bit disappointed that it's NOT the Director's Cut. I have the DC on DVD and I feel it's much better than the theatrical version. We should at least have both versions to choose our own preference. You DO have lots of extended scenes as an extra, but not as part of the movies. For the P & A quality, refer to Blu-ray.com's complete review. To summarize, all of the movies have been restored and they look really great. Enjoy! Until they decide to exploit us for the Extended Director's Cut.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2013
I made the mistake of just reading Amazon's description, instead of reading the reviews. I would not have bought this set except that it said that Lethal Weapon was the Director's Cut, which it is not. Also, the box says, that Lethal Weapon is supposed to be 1.85, but it is not, it is 1.78. I would give this set a 4/5 except for the mistakes made on the description and the packaging. I have the Lethal Weapon collection in DVD format and LW1, 2, 3 are Director's cuts and in DTS. From now on, I will pay attention to the reviews. E.Field
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2015
Mel Gibson and Danny Glover in probably their most memorable roles, make you want to go out and get the bad guys. Action, laughs and drama--an awesome viewing combination..!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2004
One of the greatest film series ever to grace the screen, the "Lethal Weapon" series has been immortalized with this amazing boxed set. And with 4 of some of the finest action movies ever made, who wouldn't want it?
1987's "Lethal Weapon" is where it all began. Danny Glover is Roger Murtaugh, a decent and respected cop who has a beautiful home, & a loving family, plus a hefty pension to boot. Martin Riggs (Mel Gibson) is just the opposite. He lives alone on the beach. He is a suicidal wreck, about to snap at any moment. But he can still blow any s.o.b who comes within a 50 - foot radius of him. So imagine the surpris when these are put together to solve a mysterious suicide. Well, the result is magic, complete with spine - cracking action and plenty of humor. A classic.
1989's "Lethal Weapon 2" finds the two cops back on the street. Murtaugh is still the family man but now is more of a risktaker, while Riggs still is the daredevil of the two, but has calmed down... somewhat. When Murtaugh's house is invaded by German criminals, the two begin to crack drown on a drug ring operating somewhere in the city. The duo is put in charge to protect a murder witness named Leo Getz (a hilarious Joe Pesci), a big - mouthed money launderer who somewhat helps the team find out what they need to know. This is another great addition to the "LW" cannon.
After a 4 - year absence, Riggs and Murtaugh are back (along with Leo) in 1993's "Lethal Weapon 3". And now they have a new addition to the crew: Lorna Cole (Rene Russo), an Internal Affairs agent who turns out to be the perfect match for Riggs. what ensues is a race top stop a crime ring selling armor - piercing bullets that could kill with one shot. The most action -packed "Weapon" yet, including Gibson's amazing jump 80 feet of a roof on a motorcycle.
"Lethal Weapon 4" came after a 5 - year hiatus. I know that many consider it the low point in the series, but I enjoy it. Things have changed for the two cops. Murtaugh's family is about to grow bigger with the addition of a granddaughter, and another child. Riggs has seemed to have conquered his demons and lives with Lorna, who is also expecting a child. Leo is now a cop as well, and still doesn't know when to shut the hell up. Now, the team has to stop a Japaneese counterfeit ring. What ensues is a great chase sequence, high - octane humor and great kung - fu sequences. Adding to the fun is Jet Li as the villian and Chris Rock as a cop on the force, plus the godfather of Riggs' new child.
This is a great boxed set, perfect for fans of great action movies. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse