Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album of 2000!
Few artists have the ability to do what they want and gain acceptance from fans or at least be successful with that album. Most bands change their sound and try something new which is met with poor acceptance(Def Leppard's Slang and Metallica's Load.) While other bands do the same thing every single album with no change which sells lots of copies(every Blink-182, Limp...
Published on Sept. 26 2001 by diablos18

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK.
I'm into lots of styles of music, rock, punk, alt-metal, but I can't get into this album. I don't dislike it, I've just never really gotten excited about it, even after a few years. At the times when I think I could like it, I realize I'd just rather listen to something else. I don't think I like the way this guy sings/screams. I think they remind me too much of...
Published on Feb. 23 2004 by H3@+h


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album of 2000!, Sept. 26 2001
Few artists have the ability to do what they want and gain acceptance from fans or at least be successful with that album. Most bands change their sound and try something new which is met with poor acceptance(Def Leppard's Slang and Metallica's Load.) While other bands do the same thing every single album with no change which sells lots of copies(every Blink-182, Limp Bizkit, and every pop band out there.) But Deftones manages to combine a more melodic type album with some tracks than can still rock.
Back To School: 10/10 - This is the best opener for a CD I've ever seen. Catchy chorus and great mosh song. Awesome video as well.
Feiticeira: 8/10 - This is a good song. Sounds like something off Adrenaline(that's a HUGE compliment. That album rules!) Love the ending part at the end with the really low voice.
Digital Bath: 15/10 - Sheer words cannot do justice to this song. Cryptic verses, big choruses, Chino's singing, the water and subtleness of the interlude is all in this one amazing song. Chino plays guitar on this one. Favourite song on album.
Elite: 10/10 - One of heaviest songs they've done. Songs like 7 Words and a lot of songs off Around The Fur have Chino screaming, singing, screaming, singing. This song is all screaming. Very good mosh song. Some have said if it was shorter, it would've been a lot better. I don't think so. Over 4 minutes, it's still energetic.
Rx Queen: 8/10 - Another with Chino on guitar. A love song in a way. Drums beat, some electronics noises but still works good.
Street Carp: 8/10 - Shortest track on the album. I like how he forgets his address. Standard track from them but still kicks.
Teenager: 11/10 - This one totally caught me off guard. Different territory but works in really REALLY good ways. More soft singing from Chino.
Knife Party: 10/10 - This is a really good song. Good chorus and around 3:00 starts like a chant mixed with a woman screaming throughout the rest of the song. Would make a cool video.
Korea: 8/10 - Good song. Nothing much we haven't heard before but it's good. Classic Deftones.
Passenger: 15/10 - Now this is one badass song. If you didn't know, it features Maynard James Keenan of Tool and both vocalists are the highlight on the one. Eerie in a way. Nice piano sounding harmonics at the end.
Change(In The House Of Flies): 13/10 - If you haven't heard this song...where were you for the past year? in my opinion, good choice for a single. Showcasing a more melodic turn this time. Metaphorical lyrics. Very very good song. The 3rd with Chino on the guitar.
Pink Maggit: 11/10 Continuing with Fireal-Fist and MX-Damone, is another long closer. The last one featuring Chino playing guitar. Features a slower Back To School chorus and some guitar playing for the rest of it. Closes with heartbeat.
*The Boys Republic: 9/10 - Available on the Limited Edition ones. Shoulda been a secret song like Fist or Damone. Love that main riff. Sounds like Korea or something off Adrenaline.
So there you have it. Get this album and crank it up cause this is a big album start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and Quirky, July 13 2007
Lots to listen to here. A good variety - all with a passionate undertone. One of my favourite CDs of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile checkin out, Sept. 16 2004
By 
"skanks" (Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA) - See all my reviews
This expands where Around the Fur left off. Chugga Chugga.
BABIES!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The new millenium's best rock record!, July 11 2004
With the Deftone's third album, White Pony, they set themselves apart from the posers, packaging their usual hammer heavy hardness with a newly attained level of dense, haunting, and textured rock and roll that can only be safely classified as "moody art rock."
The moods swing from the demonic rage of "Elite" or "Korea," where front man Chino Moreno spends most of his time screeching in his now familiar roar, to flashes of Cure-style goth on "Digital Bath" and "Passenger," (which features guest vocals from Maynard James Keenan of Tool). There's even a ballad. The soft and thoughtful "Teenager" sounds like a lament of the carefree days of youth.
Standout tracks include "Change (In the House of Flies)," "Passenger," and "Digital Bath," a song that, at it's core, refers to murder, but sounds almost sweet on the surface. This ambiguisness runs through the record on other tracks like "Knife Party" and "RX Queen."
The new sound is softer than Adrenaline and Around The Fur, but provides the same emotion and intensity without missing a beat. The lovelorn heart of Moreno beats as that of a poet and on White Pony you will feel his sorrow in a swoon of multidirectional harmony and pain.
The record is as complex in its message as it is musically layered. The Deftones have always scated the line between hard and heavy rock and roll and moody art rock. White Pony is the perfect product, a haunting and textured rock record that announces The Deftones as one of the most intelligent, playful, and critically acclaimed bands in the biz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chino Man !!!!, June 29 2004
WWWWZZZZZUUUUUUUUPPPPPPPPP CHINO !!!
What do think of these bands,"Between The Burried and Me" and, "Glass casket".
If that is really you Chino, when is the new album coming out ?
and when is the Team Sleep thing coming out ? You're awesome Man !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one bad muthasucka, June 29 2004
By 
deftones rock! deftones rock! deftones rock! some people say White Pony is their best album, but i say they royally kick ass in whatever they do. but this album has sort of a narrative feel to me, they're so raw and chino's voice always lulls me into this state where everything is so real, but surreal at the same time. like, i'm just a bystander. everytime the deftones grace my ears, i just about cream myself, i swear. and it is oh so good. buy it, they're worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iv'e watched you change..., June 26 2004
I got this cd along time ago. First song i heard was Change very mellow and very eerie over all the CD is just nuts. chino has the craziet mellow yet screechy vocals which really brings this album alive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take a Ride, June 23 2004
This review is from: White Pony (Audio CD)
Beautiful in its dark, gloomy dissonance, the songs on White Pony combine Chino Moreno's haunting melodies crooning over churning guitar riffs which are overlayed by moody textures provided by Frank Delgado's turntables to create atmospheric hard rock unlike anything ever heard -- or felt -- before. The songs could easily follow in the like of Pink Floyd while still living up to the mosh-pit insanity that inspired 1995's Adrenaline, and each song is powerful enough to drive the listener into emotional overhaul as he bangs his head to the cymbol-laced "caffiene beats" of drummer Abe Cunningham. Digital Bath is outlined with moody background electronics and an infectious drum intro before being taken over by a call-and-response guitar riffs and incredible melodies from the likes of Moreno. Rx Queen is another electronic-laced track with a massive percussive effect traced by intricately layered guitars and whispered vocals. Street Carp is a simple, straightforward hard rock smash in the vein of Around the Fur's Lhabia and songs such as Elite and Korea are massive in their bombastic heaviness with chunky riffs and fast-paced rushing. Passenger strings together a dextreous guitar riff, heavy bass, and shrouded vocal interplay between Chino and guest Maynard (Tool, A Perfect Circle). However, the album's glory shines through the most in Change and Knife Prty, two songs that show the newest side of Deftones, while keeping the Deftones heaviness we've all come to love. Atmospheric and moody, they send chills down your spine unlike anything else you've ever heard.
Overall, this album is Deftones' most experimental album that pushes the "boundaries" of rock beyond anything done before. DJ Frank Delgado, who appeared on a few songs on Adrenaline and most of the songs on Around the Fur, really makes his presence known on this album in an extremely subtle way. One of the greatest things about this album is that none of the songs sound the same. From the downtuned, crunching glory and screaming grungy vocals of Elite, to the acoustic-string sampler Teenager, and EVERYTHING in between, White Pony never fails to deliver. The only way to describe every track is atmospheric and dark. It's heavy, but it is also beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, June 17 2004
Deftones- " White Pony"

I remember it was in 2000 that I was on my way home from working construction and the radio was on. The DJ gave a little intro and then played Change. I remember being floored and getting goose bumps . I didn't want the song to end it was so addicting.
I bought the cd a little later . Then I saw them in Pheonix Az at The Celibrity Theater. THE BEST CONCERT I'VE EVER SEEN. Chino was all over the place. When we got there all the good places were taken so I was like this sucks, but then Chino came up the railing and sang 2 or 3 songs right infront of us and. He was right there giving everyone high 5's and connecting with the crowd. Life Changing for sure. My buddy Matt was patting him on the back and kick'n it right next to Him. When I say close, I mean like right in front of our faces. It was crazy.
Well sorry for giving a huge story there. On to the review:

Back to school 5/5 :awesome song, they purpose went for the whole high school thing as a poke fun at those kind of bands that try to stratigically sell to the nerds and " picked on Kids".

Just buy the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew?..., June 10 2004
By 
who knew that anger, frustration, pain, murder, and sorrow could be told to the listener through a 'four power chord' progression?
this is an amazing album because you dont even need words to describe the view they are trying to portray.
the music is so detailed and you can tell that they mean what they sing.
its a masterpiece of fluctuating dynamics,from begining to end, one of the strongest albums i've ever heard . the distortion is so intense that it sounds like a weapon
if you like tool and bands that pay close attention to detail, this is an album you need to get,
"we'll stop to rest on the moon,
and we'll make a fire
I'll steal a carcass for you
then feed off the virus
cause you're my girl
and thats all right if you
sting me i wont mind
i see a red light in June,
and i hear crying
you turn newborn baby blue
now we're all the virus"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Pony (2lp)
White Pony (2lp) by Deftones (LP Record - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews