Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album of 2000!
Few artists have the ability to do what they want and gain acceptance from fans or at least be successful with that album. Most bands change their sound and try something new which is met with poor acceptance(Def Leppard's Slang and Metallica's Load.) While other bands do the same thing every single album with no change which sells lots of copies(every Blink-182, Limp...
Published on Sept. 26 2001 by diablos18

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars THE most frustrating band about...
The Deftones. Ah, the Deftones. What can be said that hasn't already been uttered? They are the semi-pioneers (no where near as revolutionary as Rage, not as talented or original as Tool) of the nu-metal scene. Somehow though, they get lumped around with Tool and others as an art-metal band. I have a problem with this; while, musically, Deftones are...
Published on April 15 2003 by Some guy


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album of 2000!, Sept. 26 2001
Few artists have the ability to do what they want and gain acceptance from fans or at least be successful with that album. Most bands change their sound and try something new which is met with poor acceptance(Def Leppard's Slang and Metallica's Load.) While other bands do the same thing every single album with no change which sells lots of copies(every Blink-182, Limp Bizkit, and every pop band out there.) But Deftones manages to combine a more melodic type album with some tracks than can still rock.
Back To School: 10/10 - This is the best opener for a CD I've ever seen. Catchy chorus and great mosh song. Awesome video as well.
Feiticeira: 8/10 - This is a good song. Sounds like something off Adrenaline(that's a HUGE compliment. That album rules!) Love the ending part at the end with the really low voice.
Digital Bath: 15/10 - Sheer words cannot do justice to this song. Cryptic verses, big choruses, Chino's singing, the water and subtleness of the interlude is all in this one amazing song. Chino plays guitar on this one. Favourite song on album.
Elite: 10/10 - One of heaviest songs they've done. Songs like 7 Words and a lot of songs off Around The Fur have Chino screaming, singing, screaming, singing. This song is all screaming. Very good mosh song. Some have said if it was shorter, it would've been a lot better. I don't think so. Over 4 minutes, it's still energetic.
Rx Queen: 8/10 - Another with Chino on guitar. A love song in a way. Drums beat, some electronics noises but still works good.
Street Carp: 8/10 - Shortest track on the album. I like how he forgets his address. Standard track from them but still kicks.
Teenager: 11/10 - This one totally caught me off guard. Different territory but works in really REALLY good ways. More soft singing from Chino.
Knife Party: 10/10 - This is a really good song. Good chorus and around 3:00 starts like a chant mixed with a woman screaming throughout the rest of the song. Would make a cool video.
Korea: 8/10 - Good song. Nothing much we haven't heard before but it's good. Classic Deftones.
Passenger: 15/10 - Now this is one badass song. If you didn't know, it features Maynard James Keenan of Tool and both vocalists are the highlight on the one. Eerie in a way. Nice piano sounding harmonics at the end.
Change(In The House Of Flies): 13/10 - If you haven't heard this song...where were you for the past year? in my opinion, good choice for a single. Showcasing a more melodic turn this time. Metaphorical lyrics. Very very good song. The 3rd with Chino on the guitar.
Pink Maggit: 11/10 Continuing with Fireal-Fist and MX-Damone, is another long closer. The last one featuring Chino playing guitar. Features a slower Back To School chorus and some guitar playing for the rest of it. Closes with heartbeat.
*The Boys Republic: 9/10 - Available on the Limited Edition ones. Shoulda been a secret song like Fist or Damone. Love that main riff. Sounds like Korea or something off Adrenaline.
So there you have it. Get this album and crank it up cause this is a big album start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The new millenium's best rock record!, July 11 2004
With the Deftone's third album, White Pony, they set themselves apart from the posers, packaging their usual hammer heavy hardness with a newly attained level of dense, haunting, and textured rock and roll that can only be safely classified as "moody art rock."
The moods swing from the demonic rage of "Elite" or "Korea," where front man Chino Moreno spends most of his time screeching in his now familiar roar, to flashes of Cure-style goth on "Digital Bath" and "Passenger," (which features guest vocals from Maynard James Keenan of Tool). There's even a ballad. The soft and thoughtful "Teenager" sounds like a lament of the carefree days of youth.
Standout tracks include "Change (In the House of Flies)," "Passenger," and "Digital Bath," a song that, at it's core, refers to murder, but sounds almost sweet on the surface. This ambiguisness runs through the record on other tracks like "Knife Party" and "RX Queen."
The new sound is softer than Adrenaline and Around The Fur, but provides the same emotion and intensity without missing a beat. The lovelorn heart of Moreno beats as that of a poet and on White Pony you will feel his sorrow in a swoon of multidirectional harmony and pain.
The record is as complex in its message as it is musically layered. The Deftones have always scated the line between hard and heavy rock and roll and moody art rock. White Pony is the perfect product, a haunting and textured rock record that announces The Deftones as one of the most intelligent, playful, and critically acclaimed bands in the biz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take a Ride, June 23 2004
This review is from: White Pony (Audio CD)
Beautiful in its dark, gloomy dissonance, the songs on White Pony combine Chino Moreno's haunting melodies crooning over churning guitar riffs which are overlayed by moody textures provided by Frank Delgado's turntables to create atmospheric hard rock unlike anything ever heard -- or felt -- before. The songs could easily follow in the like of Pink Floyd while still living up to the mosh-pit insanity that inspired 1995's Adrenaline, and each song is powerful enough to drive the listener into emotional overhaul as he bangs his head to the cymbol-laced "caffiene beats" of drummer Abe Cunningham. Digital Bath is outlined with moody background electronics and an infectious drum intro before being taken over by a call-and-response guitar riffs and incredible melodies from the likes of Moreno. Rx Queen is another electronic-laced track with a massive percussive effect traced by intricately layered guitars and whispered vocals. Street Carp is a simple, straightforward hard rock smash in the vein of Around the Fur's Lhabia and songs such as Elite and Korea are massive in their bombastic heaviness with chunky riffs and fast-paced rushing. Passenger strings together a dextreous guitar riff, heavy bass, and shrouded vocal interplay between Chino and guest Maynard (Tool, A Perfect Circle). However, the album's glory shines through the most in Change and Knife Prty, two songs that show the newest side of Deftones, while keeping the Deftones heaviness we've all come to love. Atmospheric and moody, they send chills down your spine unlike anything else you've ever heard.
Overall, this album is Deftones' most experimental album that pushes the "boundaries" of rock beyond anything done before. DJ Frank Delgado, who appeared on a few songs on Adrenaline and most of the songs on Around the Fur, really makes his presence known on this album in an extremely subtle way. One of the greatest things about this album is that none of the songs sound the same. From the downtuned, crunching glory and screaming grungy vocals of Elite, to the acoustic-string sampler Teenager, and EVERYTHING in between, White Pony never fails to deliver. The only way to describe every track is atmospheric and dark. It's heavy, but it is also beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, June 17 2004
Deftones- " White Pony"

I remember it was in 2000 that I was on my way home from working construction and the radio was on. The DJ gave a little intro and then played Change. I remember being floored and getting goose bumps . I didn't want the song to end it was so addicting.
I bought the cd a little later . Then I saw them in Pheonix Az at The Celibrity Theater. THE BEST CONCERT I'VE EVER SEEN. Chino was all over the place. When we got there all the good places were taken so I was like this sucks, but then Chino came up the railing and sang 2 or 3 songs right infront of us and. He was right there giving everyone high 5's and connecting with the crowd. Life Changing for sure. My buddy Matt was patting him on the back and kick'n it right next to Him. When I say close, I mean like right in front of our faces. It was crazy.
Well sorry for giving a huge story there. On to the review:

Back to school 5/5 :awesome song, they purpose went for the whole high school thing as a poke fun at those kind of bands that try to stratigically sell to the nerds and " picked on Kids".

Just buy the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deftones riding the White Pony, May 22 2004
By 
J. A McCormick "cd spinner" (Wisconsin United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Pony (Audio CD)
I'd have to say this is my favorite Deftones album. Lots of screaming and awesome riffs as usual.
1 -- Back to School 9.5/10 Not much screaming here, its the best song to start off the album with.
2 -- Feiticeira 8/10 Never really listened to this song much. It's an ok song but definitely nowhere close to the best song on the album.
3 -- Digital Bath 10/10 Slower deftones song, no screaming. One of my favorite songs on the album. Starts off slow but gradually gets better.
4 -- Elite 9.5/10 Awesome song, another one of my favorites. Its literally ALL scream!!! took me a while to actually listen to the whole thing but it gets a lot better the more you get into it.
5 -- Rx Queen /10
6 -- Street Carp 5/10 although it is kind of a cool song it gets very annoying very quickly. I can't stand it anymore.
7 -- teenager 8/10 slow song with nice drum beats and vinyl dust static in the beginning, Everything fits perfectly into this song, no screamo.
8 -- Knife Prty 10/10 Very awesome song, starts slow like most but gets up beat by 19 seconds of time. GO GET YOUR KNIFE GO GET YOUR KNIFE!!!
9 -- Korea 10/10 Just an all around good song.
10 -- 8/10 cool song, Chino sounds a lot like Tool in this song.
11 -- Change (In the House of Flies) 10/10 another slow song but one of my very favorites
12 -- Pink Maggit 7/10 not very original starts off very very slow with a ton of high pitched voice until about 2:43 then it all turns into Back to School.
Over all awesome CD still gets 5 stars even when some songs get low ratings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 stars, really, April 20 2004
By 
someguy (United States) - See all my reviews
While "Adrenaline" (probably my fav.) and ATF were amazing in their own right, "White Pony" was a major step forward for the 'tones. Here, they focus a little more on ambiance and build on their songs from beginning to end moreso than ever on songs like "Digital Bath" and "Passenger". Yet, they still managed to keep their hard edge with possibly their hardest song to date, "Elite" (I don't know what that reviewer who said "Korea" was the hardest was thinking). By anyone's else's standards, this is the achievement of a lifetime. However, with by Deftones' standards this doensn't reach 5 star status. While songs like "Street Carp", along with the highly experimental (for the 'tones) "Teenager", aren't complete flops, they come up a little short of the genious of the rest of the album.
Oh, one other note. I'm glad I have the origional version, without "Back to School", because it's a horrible song and Chino knows it. He openly regrets making that song (it's a shortened and slightly altered version of "Pink Maggit"), which he did just to shove it to the man by showing how easy it is to make a hit single after they were accused by the radio stations of going soft.
Other songs to check out are: "Feiticeira", "Knife Prty", "Change (in the house of flies)"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS CD!!!!!!!, April 11 2004
By 
Stevo (Dallas, TX) - See all my reviews
Ok, I cant even classify Deftones or stick them to a label. They're too good for that. They're sound is as unique and as beautiful as their songs. To me, they are unparalleled, and this CD proves it. Every song on the cd has a different emotion and feeling that is conveyed. Here is what every song makes me feel...
-Back To School- A rush from start to finish, a feeling of energy, emotion, and action. You'll find you cant get this song out of your head. Awesome in every way.
-Feticeria- Anyone who says this song is mediocre, needs to hear it again. My favorite, the vocals and drumbeat fit together perfectly. Just listen to the drums. The bridge for this song is AMAZING.
-Digital Bath- I can only convey this song in one word... BEAUTIFUL.
-Elite- Get angry! Anytime that you're mad at someone and feel like you need release, listen to this song. Dont pay attention to the lyrics, just the sound of it. You'll think they wrote this song just for you.
-RX Queen- Another song where the drums, vocals, and guitz work together like harmony. Great song. Deep and Dark.
-Street Carp- Good rush of energy and Guitar riffs. Classic song that holds its ground after many times played.
-Teenager- Mellow, dramatic song. Chill out or sleep. Again, the beat is amazing. I love the way the DJ works into this song.
-Knife Prty- Out of anyone I've talked to, they'd say that this was their favorite song off the CD, and you'll see why. Its amazing, deep, and beautifully put together. GREAT.
-Korea- This song is like a suckerpunch. It comes out of nowhere and it blows you away. It comes in hard, calms down, gets hard again, and never lets you forget it. I love the sound.
-Passenger- Maynard's appearance on this is great. This song is so elegant, yet stays true to distorted guitar. Chino's voice and Maynard's are so much on the same level you'll have a hard time differentiating. This song is the best on the cd.
-Change(in the house of flies)- This song is so full of life to me, I can listen to it once only listening to the singing and be blown away, then do the same for the drums, then guitar, then bass, and it all has different effects. Great song.
-Pink Maggit- Perfect ending for a magnificent cd. Instead of just landing a hard song and dropping you off, leaving you wanting more, this song eases you slowly and dramatically towards the end of the cd. Oh, you'll still be wanting more, but this last song will at least make the cd seem more complete.
And thats what I think about this cd. You'll love it, trust me. This CD is worth buying. Through and through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Follow Up To Their Terrible "Around The Fur", April 7 2004
By 
This review is from: White Pony (Audio CD)
Before going into detail about this album i'd like to say that i am very pleased and dare i say amazed by this albums follow up to their album "Around The Fur" which to me was below par for deftones due to the fact that the album had too much rap influences, and also it lacked the originality and majic this album and their debut had. However as for this album the Deftones are as original and experimental as can be, once again proving that not all nu-metal is bad. Vocalist Chino is better than ever showing us more of his stunning vocal ranges and abilities as show on Digital bath, and it looks like the drummer has outdone himself on this album showing us once again his excellent style, making him one of the best drummers in the nu-metal scene. As for the bassist and guitarist they are honestly quite somewhat decent at what their doing, however there not a band you look for if you want technical solo's(if that then just stick to dream theater), and the new percusionist seems to be quite handy for the deftones creating eerie and a moody atmosphere to the songs(digital bath, rx queen). Positives about this album that are worth taking note of, include that this album has a very high replay value, and that you can listen to this album in any mood, and this album also contains some of their greatest songs.
Some songs worthy of my approval include their slow atmospheric song "Digital Bath" which without a doubt deserves the hype its getting by their fellow fans. "Knife Party" is a well crafted medium paced song with graphic lyrics that will send shivers down your spine, and "Passenger" is a breathtakingly haunting song in the veins of "Knife Party", with its memorable chorus, and Maynards groundbreaking vocals.
My only complaint about this album is that while this album like i said features some of their best songs, it unfortunatly features a few rushed ordinary tracks such as "Feiticeira", "Street Carp" and "Change", and although i said this album has a high replay value thats only because of those three terrfic songs i mentioned before. My last complaint is that this album is a tad overated, especialy its creativity, though this album still is creative. Otherwise aside from my negatives this album is great, the Deftones are once again holding the flag for nu-metal. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chino and co. take the pony out to stud and pony makes wild, March 28 2004
By 
lUKE wORLE (virginia beach, va) - See all my reviews
I actually give this record 4.5 stars...
This is a grossly underrated album. The craft and bleeding heart aggro-pathos of Chino and crew cut like a hot knife in butter(sad cliche, I know) and leave the listener with the strong sensation of having survived a night in the heart of Vietnam or something. The emotional assualt is the real killer: Chino's passionate delivery is like a strangling cry in the night, one that wakes the dead and your unfortunate neighbors(have done it in real life, though dead did not actually awaken from their abode, but cranky neighbors did) when played at full decibel in perfect stereophonics. Some of the more mellow tracks, such as "Teenagr", "Digital Bath" and the closing number, afford the emotional connection to the listener without fabrication and stagnation. These moments, along with first rate production (thanks to Terry Date) bring to life a strong and unique presence under the californian musical sun. I havn't listened to the first 2 records by Deftones, and to be honest, I probably wouldn't want to. The fact that this CD alienated a lot of people in it's bold full speed ahead strident swagger, is proof to me that they pulled a Radiohead(albeit, one more convincingly then the aforementioned) and cut their lossess with die hard fans to find a new niche in their craft, and in the process, came out with a weighty, heady, and slightly disturbing alt-art-rock masterpeice. Though sorely underestimated, "White Pony" throughs around more then it's weight, and for that, I applaud the Deftones for bringing originality, passion and art back to nu-metal, or whatever you kids call it. Through and through, a great record with virtually no weak moments. Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars White Pony, a promising album, Feb. 23 2004
By A Customer
There are certain people who wrote reviews for this album that completely ripped it apart and only gave it one star. It's easy to tear it apart when you don't even understand it. One reviewer wrote that the song "pink maggit" was just a cliche song that many bands tackle, dealing with the agony of High School long after they are out of school. The person wrote that review didn't understand Chino's real feelings behind the song. I read an interview one time with Chino where explained how he wrote that song to sort of goof on all the other bands who whine about High School, on purpose. He said that with that song, he wanted to paint a picture of being lifted up on people's shoulder's at school like he was some high-school heroe. He was going for painting an image that was very corny on purpose. It's a good song and witty, if you think of the irony.
anyways, the deftones are one of my favorite bands and show definate maturity on this album instead of conforming to the rest of the "nu-metal" hybrids out there. THis is one of the best album's i own. I love the lyrics and how metephorical they get. They're cryptic and mysterious, yet poetic, not empty like other bands.
Digital Bath is my favorite track on the CD and probably the best simple four minute single i have ever heard. Yes, it was released as a single, but you will never hear another song like this.
If you life your music mature and different, i would recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Pony (2lp)
White Pony (2lp) by Deftones (LP Record - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews