Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Service
Hi There;

I received it in good order - I love super hero movies being done with live actors - I can't always watch a movie in it's entirety in one sitting - I find buying DVDs to be a much better option.
Published 14 months ago by James Jay

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars More of the same... only not as good.
I'm definitely not in the majority here, but this movie just didn't do it for me. The same story as the first is remade, with a few new elements, but even the new elements aren't that good and treated with an absolute disrespect for the character. Stark's alcoholism is comical at best instead of being dramatic, his sickness is way too exaggerated for the impact it truly...
Published 11 months ago by Simon Bergeron


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Service, Sept. 26 2013
By 
James Jay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 2 (DVD)
Hi There;

I received it in good order - I love super hero movies being done with live actors - I can't always watch a movie in it's entirety in one sitting - I find buying DVDs to be a much better option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel, Sept. 23 2013
By 
Rebecky - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 2 (DVD)
Great addition to the first Iron Man.
Superhero saves the world with his friend. Iron Man is a semi-realistic hero, and the movies are full of action and adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, July 25 2010
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Iron Man 2 (DVD)
had high high expectations for this film,since the first one was so good.i'm happy to say i wasn't disappointed.there is more going on this one that much is certain.Sam Jackson returns as Nick Fury head of Shield in a expanded role.Mickey Rourke plays a baddie(with relish and gusto)Scarlett Johanssen's character is underwritten and underutilized,which is unfortunate,because the character is rife with potential.here's hoping they remedy that situation in the upcoming avengers film.Sam Rockwell has an interesting role.Don Cheadle replaces Terrance Howard as Lt.Colonel James "Rhodey" Rhodes,and i have to say,i think he is a better fit.and of course Robert and Gwyneth return as Pepper and Tony.and we finally get to know Pepper's actual first name.for me,Iron Man 2 is a 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Name of Iran, May 7 2014
By 
Peyman ADLDOUSTI (Persian Gulf) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 2 (DVD)
I watched part I and needed to watch Part II. This time, Iron Man is brought before the US legislative body to give-up his suit, and he does not. A Russian man claims that his father pioneered that knowledge and they stole his thunder. It is a clash between two titans. It is an epic clash between two titans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two thumbs up, March 18 2014
By 
E. A. Schattschneider - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 2 (DVD)
I was never much of a fan of the comic book but I love these movies. The combination of acting with action give you a movie that is fun and great to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, Jan. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
what can i say, it's what I expected and the price was right and the bluray works just fine as I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars received, Dec 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 2 (Bilingual) (DVD)
in great time and in great condition. It is a Christmas gift and have not had a chance to watch it but looking forward to it.
Thanks so much for getting it here on time ! Will gladly shop again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, Dec 26 2013
By 
Mandy - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 2 (DVD)
I liked it, but I would have liked to see a little more dialogue. Don't get me wrong, it's there, but I found it lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, May 23 2010
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
i had high high expectations for this film,since the first one was so good.i'm happy to say i wasn't disappointed.there is more going on this one that much is certain.Sam Jackson returns as Nick Fury head of Shield in a expanded role.Mickey Rourke plays a baddie(with relish and gusto)Scarlett Johanssen's character is underwritten and underutilized,which is unfortunate,because the character is rife with potential.here's hoping they remedy that situation in the upcoming avengers film.Sam Rockwell has an interesting role.Don Cheadle replaces Terrance Howard as Lt.Colonel James "Rhodey" Rhodes,and i have to say,i think he is a better fit.and of course Robert and Gwyneth return as Pepper and Tony.and we finally get to know Pepper's actual first name.for me,Iron Man 2 is a 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Its Reviews, Dec 29 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Iron Man 2 (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Personally, I don't get the negativity towards Iron Man 2. It was no better nor any worse than Iron Man 1. It had its good and bad points, but the blu-ray package itself was quite good.

Tony Stark is back as Iron Man, the whole world now knowing his secret identity. As his comic book counterpart did, Stark has issues and will continue to have issues. Tony Stark never was the happy-go-lucky comic book hero. Bouts of alcoholism and depression are what made this character interesting. That, and knowing his life depends on the life-sustaining arc reactor in his chest. A reactor which is now slowly poisoning him to death.

The villain here is Ivan Vanko, aka Whiplash. Mickey Rourke didn't have to pull out all his acting chops on Whiplash, a shallow character bent on revenge. This revenge sub-plot intertwines with the Stark family's history and the key to a new reactor which can safe Tony's life. Refreshingly, there were only two battles between hero and villain -- too many, and you get overkill.

I was pleased that Jon Favreau's character Happy had a much larger part, as Favreau has always been one of my favourite comedic actors. Scarlet Johansson, someone I just don't get the hype about, was dull and lifeless as always. Sam Jackson as Nick Fury displayed some of the energy and vitality that made him a big name in the early 90's. Gwenyth Paltrow did her best with Pepper Potts, a character who had very little "meat" in the first movie, now given much more to do. In general, most of the roles were better written this time, with some (Rhodes) being neither an improvement nor a disaster.

Some people complained about the pseudo-science. A new (stable) element seems a little far-fetched with today's technology, but I would question why critics have a problem with this but no problem with arc reactors and flying man-suits. People wishing that Nick Fury had a bigger part forget that this movie was called Iron Man 2, and The Avengers is coming in 2012. Chill. The payoff is coming. Be patient.

Sometimes fans expect a hot dog, and when they're served up a hamburger they get upset. Stark's life never will be happy and rosey. If you were hoping for that, pick another super hero to watch. Techno-babble is what it is. It never bothered Trekkies for the last 40 years. Most of all, this is just one movie of a multi-character franchise that will obviously tie in with Captain America, Thor, and others. There are bits of setup in this movie. Do they seem extraneous in the short term? To non-fans, yes. I personally don't care. Seeing Sam Jackson at his best on screen is always fun and seeing the Cap's shield was cool. Just chill, and set your own expectations aside.

I've heard that Favreau has been dropped and the third film will likely be directed by someone else. That's too bad. Jon knows how to get the right mix of comedy and action. Hopefully bringing in someone else at the helm won't produce a disaster like X Men 3.

Blu-ray bonus features are ample, as expected. I always enjoy hearing Jon Favreau talk about his directorial decisions. The picture was great and the 5.1 surround mix was really clear and rich. I don't care about digital copies but it's here if you do.

4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man 2 (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 48.99 CDN$ 28.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews