Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Watch your mouth if you like this job!"
"Over the top" doesn't even begin to describe this film. It's a rare movie that works as a satire of a beloved genre (NIGHT & DAWN OF THE DEAD) and stands more or less alone as a credible horror movie on its own. Unlike something like SCARY MOVIE, which has no pretensions of telling a serious story amidst all the humor, this one is a great zombie movie...
Published on March 25 2004 by RMurray847

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty good
this is a good horror film,there is one thing is that when they die they remember who everbody is and they have the same personality.and in the romero films the zombies dont remember there before life.there is one part when a cut in have skeleton is saying brains make the pain of dying go away terrible scene.the innocent blonde haired girl who hangs out with the punks is...
Published on April 27 2004 by ,


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Watch your mouth if you like this job!", March 25 2004
By 
RMurray847 (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
"Over the top" doesn't even begin to describe this film. It's a rare movie that works as a satire of a beloved genre (NIGHT & DAWN OF THE DEAD) and stands more or less alone as a credible horror movie on its own. Unlike something like SCARY MOVIE, which has no pretensions of telling a serious story amidst all the humor, this one is a great zombie movie first, and a gentle parody second.
Set primarily in a medical supply warehouse, a funeral home and a graveyard (how's that for a trifecta of great locations!), we follow the story of what happens when a long hidden government "nerve agent" is released and it turns out it has the power to reanimate the dead. And I don't mean intact corpses. It raises body parts, including, memorably, the remains of a dog that was cut in half (for classroom purposes). The shot of the poor creature, normal on one side and organ's exposed on the other, trying to run, sticks with you. It's disturbing, gross, funny and totally original.
The movie ups the ante with these zombies too. They CAN'T be killed with a shot to the head. In fact, nothing short of totally burning them up in a crematorium does the trick. When warehouse owner Clu Gallagher shows up at the funeral home with a pile of twitching plastic bags, that is a GREAT, grisly moment. Another great touch was having the two characters who breathed in the agent directly (when they were still alive) go straight from being alive to being zombies without all that annoying dieing stuff! The paramedics examine the shivering, but conscious and coherent men, only to discover they have NO heartbeat or blood pressure. Cool idea!
The movie is mostly populated with a bunch of obnoxious teenagers partying at the cemetary. They are the barest caricatures (but funny, because they are caricatures of early '80s teenagers!), and not terribly interesting. The characters we actually care anything about are the older actors. James Karen, as the warehouse manager, is particularly great. His overacting is epic, and yet fits the tone of the film PERFECTLY. It's a comic / horror gem.
The movie features a loud rock score...with some truly terrible songs. And one of the characters, whose name I forget, is a pink haired girl with a death wish, who apparently likes to stip all her clothes off and strut around for hours. So in the midst of all the gore, we also have lengthy full frontal nudity. So if you don't mind your kids seeing crazy zombie violence and brain-eating...you might still shy away from the graphic nudity. I'm not sure the movie could get an "R" anymore these days.
If you haven't seen it, you should probably check out at least NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD and DAWN OF THE DEAD first, just so the conventions being poked fun at are fully appreciated. But if you are a fan of those movies, this is the movie for you!
The extras on the DVD are really just a fairly detailed but actually not terribly interesting making-of documentary. I'm sorry, but lovingly telling us about the costume design for this film just doesn't do much for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Not the common Zombie flick", July 14 2004
By 
In this sequel of N.O.T.L.D, a mortician I guess you could say, cremated a Zombie and the smoke from his ashes created acid rain which brought the dead back to life. Like I said it's not the common zombie flick, in this sequel the zombies run and talk, which is kind of a disappointment, but it was something different plus it wasnt a Romero film but it was pretty good. Its worth buying and holding on to. It was pretty cool when they basically interviewed the Head of a zombie to ask why it was killing people, so that was a plus. Pretty good and like I said its definately worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perversely funny and haunting, June 29 2004
By 
Rocco Dormarunno (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Taking the old zombie/living dead legends and movie treatments, and then standing them on their ears, RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD is a perversely funny and, yet, fiercely frightening movie. A combination of "The Night of the Living Dead," "Thriller", and a little bit of "Sid and Nancy", RETURN OF THE LIVING Dead is a great punk horror film. The tag-lines are hysterical. (My favorite: "Hey, guys, how can you kill something that's already dead?" "You know, Frank, the kid's got a good point there")
Some gruesome special effects, especially the make-up, are effective, but they do not overwhelm the film. The cast, playing it up between tongue-in-cheek camp and true terror, is made up mostly of no ones but they are quite up to the task. RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD is a great horror comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie !!!, Feb. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Return of the Living Dead [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
This movie is what I call a blast from the past. I consider at a comedy-horror. In my opinion a classic from the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TOP NOTCH ZOMBIE FLICK!!, June 17 2004
By 
B. Fitzgerald "mr. fitz" (salem, or) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
zombie stories and movies are so versatile ( when done right) and this movie is proof that zombie movies aren't only dark and scary but fun and humorous also. I can't believe that this wasn't one of the top 50 cult movies (entertainment weekly) it had everything, suspense, gore, horror, humor, and zombies! not to mention all of the great tag lines. This definitely ranks up there with the best zombie movies of all time.did i mention that the acting was suprisingly well done!I highly recommend this movie to any horror fan and especially any zombie movie fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Return of the Living Dead (1985), May 31 2004
By 
Director: Dan O'Bannon
Cast: Clu Gulager, James Karen, Thom Matthews, John Calfa.
Running Time: 91 minutes.
Rated R for violence, gore, nudity, and language.
Poking fun at George A. Romeo's "Night of the Living Dead" series, this campy-style horror romp is undoubtedly some of the most fun you will have watching a scary movie. Director Dan O'Bannon uses just the right balance of sheer terror and humor, combining elements from Romeo's "Dawn of the Dead" and Sam Raimi's "Evil Dead". "Return of the Living Dead" is a zombie flick for hairbangers, with dead people running around searching for human blood and brains while to the soundtrack of rock music.
A small Virginia town is terrorized by zombies when a chemical spill accidentally resurrects those buried in a nearby cemetary. The blood-crazed zombies are in search of human brains, for it feeds the addiction caused by the unknown chemicals. Clu Gulager and James Karen give good, quirky performances, but Thom Matthews steals the show. Although not a revolutionary film, "Return of the Living Dead" has superb makeup effects, a rocking musical score, and a satiral script that will bring out more than a few chuckles. Spawned two unfortunate sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best ever, May 30 2004
By 
neil ingrum (Streamwood, IL USA) - See all my reviews
The best zombie/gen x movie ever made. Theres zombies an 80s vibe and punk what else would you want out of a movie. Thres gore and boobs and BRAINS! any one thinking about buying the movie will be pleased its a great pick for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i'd give it 4 and a half if i could, May 26 2004
By 
what can you say about 'return of the living dead'? it's a zombie movie about punkers partying in a cemetery in kentucky. if you haven't seen it, it's not as lame as that description sounds. i won't go into detail and ruin it all, but truly classic. but sadly, this dvd is not what i remember the movie being. i first saw this in '94 on hbo and it was great. now, i was expecting the same movie, but no...the music is some parts has been changed for example after suicide gets killed, there is no music playing in the background like before, as soon as they run out the music starts but there are no lyrics like before. tarman's voice has been changed to a deeper sound and it doesn't work. one of the zombies asking for more paramedics/cops voice has been changed but thats cool cuz you could barely hear him the first time around. it's a petty gripe, but it matters to me. if you want to hear how the movie originally sounded you have to turn the audio to spanish and hear the original music, it also works the same with the commentary but well...its commentary and you don't hear much of it all.
as for the rest...well the text of the back of the case is pretty wrong because freddy doesn't work at an army surplus store. the tv spots are pretty much the same and alter the details of when the movie is going to be released. you can tell this movie wasn't given the respect it deserved. but still...i give it a 4 instead of a 3 because it's 'return of the living dead' and its actually being released again. i can only hope one day someone will release a copy of the original and add all the cool stuff that was in the work print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, April 27 2004
this is a good horror film,there is one thing is that when they die they remember who everbody is and they have the same personality.and in the romero films the zombies dont remember there before life.there is one part when a cut in have skeleton is saying brains make the pain of dying go away terrible scene.the innocent blonde haired girl who hangs out with the punks is a teribble actor.the zombie makeup is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tarman!! BEST LOOKING ZOMBIE EVER, March 18 2004
By 
creatureart (boston mass usa) - See all my reviews
and very well could be one of the best zombie flicks ever made, next to fulci's zombie. everyone talks of romero but lets all be truly honest,day of the dead is his best and the only one of his zombie films that could compare to either fulci's zombie or dan obannon's return of the living dead. that may tic alot of G.R.fans off but the truth hurts dont it.the only reason fulci's zombie is better than return of the living dead is because fulci aint trying to get any laghs,but to someone else laghs might be better. so return may be better to you after all. with that all said lets get to the detail of the movie. first off this is a pretty much perfectly made slapstick scary movie. directing awsome, score was cool, storyline was awsome, the acting was pretty decent and some of it was real good,alot better than the acting in the great(dawn of the dead...bloody and fleshy classic but bad acting and an even worse ending)back to R.O.T.L.D. your going to love the main detailed zombies in this flick,especialy TARMAN he's the one who basicly starts the ball rolling.I am not going to tell you anything about the story, i will only tell you that R.O.T.L.D is funny in all the right places, scary in all the right places, sexy in one really good spot in the movie (you will know what i mean when you get there!!).return of the living dead is by far the best american zombie movie out there,and second best zombie flick ever next to lucio fulci's zombie. get this underated awsome dvd and add it to your horror colection. you can watch it over and over and over and it just gets better,and more funny. this is the first zombie flick that i ever saw i was 6 years old now im 26 and i love the movie more than ever!!!!ps.eat your heart out george romero cause im sticking to the (BRAINS)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8a525d0)

This product

Return of the Living Dead [Blu-ray] [Import]
CDN$ 28.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews