Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Addition to Any Collection
Just finished watching the entire series. Very much Saturday morning fare so don't expect anything too edgy or graphic. Overall I enjoyed the story arc and how all of the events came together in the end. The voice acting was quite good and the dialogue was not as cheesy or over the top as I thought it was going to be. It took me a couple of episodes to get used to the...
Published on Nov. 9 2010 by RobCons

versus
5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning: If you own season one, don't buy this! This product is the first and only season.
Marvel has done this with a few of their Animations. People bought the same shows in various combinations or packages. Shame on you Marvel, and shame on you Amazon for not better informing your customers before they buy it.
Published on Jan. 27 2011 by The Beyonder


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Addition to Any Collection, Nov. 9 2010
Just finished watching the entire series. Very much Saturday morning fare so don't expect anything too edgy or graphic. Overall I enjoyed the story arc and how all of the events came together in the end. The voice acting was quite good and the dialogue was not as cheesy or over the top as I thought it was going to be. It took me a couple of episodes to get used to the animation style (don't believe the cover art) but eventually you get into the story enough to not really notice anymore. On a side note, you do get over 10 hrs of content for a great price. No regrets here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Season of Pure Excellence, Dec 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although it is unfortunate that one season was only produced, these 26 episodes in this blu-ray package feature the X-Men at their finest. This collection features all the episode of Wolverine and the X-Men television series (a cartoon by Marvel Animation). Most of the character designs takes inspiration from the Astonishing X-Men comic series and plot points from the comic especially from X-Men: Days of Future Past. If anybody nostalgic for this Saturday cartoon should purchase it immediately. It also features audio commentary from the shows directors and writers for every episode. Plus with this price you can't go wrong !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gone Too Soon, Feb. 16 2013
By 
Theo (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wolverine & X-Men: Complete Series [Import] (DVD)
I'll make it short and sweet:

This was a good cartoon. It didn't deserve to get cancelled after one season.

It wasn't exactly on the bleeding edge of the genre. In terms of real depth and pushing the boundaries of what a superhero cartoon can be, it wasn't in the same league as Bruce Timm's best work, or even the most recent version of Marvel's own Avengers.

But it was entertaining and engaging and fun to watch, with just the right amount of intrigue and suspense. It was also far and away the most visually sophisticated X-Men cartoon ever made - at least until we got to the anime X-Men. And even by comparison with that show, while this version was nowhere near as darkly atmospheric, in terms of achieving what it actually set out to achieve, it did hold its own. In fact, while not so heavy on atmosphere, the other side of that same coin is that the art in this show was more coolly reserved, even restrained, than that to be found in its anime counterpart.

So much for the art. How about the story?

Aside from the gimmick of putting Wolverine in charge of a fractured team, long time fans of the X-Men won't find a great deal that is new here. True, this series generally rearranges the usual roles that the characters play within the team, but that's about it. The reason why I personally stopped reading the comic books (more years ago now than I care to think) was that the X-Men comics, like most comic books, really only have two or three basic stories to tell. These same stories are told and retold over and over again, with endless minor variations on the perennial themes. This particular show tells the story where the X-Men have to stop a horribly dystopian future from coming to pass. If you are a fan of the comic books, and have been for more than a year or two, I'm sure you know the story I'm talking about.

But while the actual plot is almost entirely devoid of originality, perhaps that's not the point. The stories in tragic and comic opera are every bit as formulaic. The point, if there is one at all, is in the artistry of the retelling. And taken on that level, "Wolverine and The X-Men" was, if nothing else, a good retelling.

So yes, like I said in the beginning, this was a good cartoon. It didn't deserve to get canned after one season.

I am genuinely sad that we'll never get to see what season two might've been.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good X-Men cartoon., Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The story arc is entertaining, and I like the characters included.

The series is on blu-ray, but the quality isn't much better than you'd expect for a Saturday morning cartoon.
The sound is clear and is nice in surround.

I got what I expected, and am happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars X-MEN, May 2 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If your an X-MEN fan you'll love it! It's to bad that it was only on for 2 seasons. It would have been great to see how they developed the story line with Apocalypse ruling the world in the future!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning: If you own season one, don't buy this! This product is the first and only season., Jan. 27 2011
This review is from: Wolverine & X-Men: Complete Series [Import] (DVD)
Marvel has done this with a few of their Animations. People bought the same shows in various combinations or packages. Shame on you Marvel, and shame on you Amazon for not better informing your customers before they buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars misrepresentation, Jan. 3 2011
By 
Dr. Jack Waserman "astute shopper" (Toronto, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This APPEARS to be the movie collection of Wolverine/X-Men; instead it is an old TV series. Had to return this item (at my expense!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolverine & X-Men: Complete Series [Import]
Wolverine & X-Men: Complete Series [Import] by Steven E. Gordon (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 22.81 CDN$ 21.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews