Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just hang in there...
The first 2 episodes are over the top, very 300-ish and a tad cheesy.. but hang in and keep watching this show gets better and better and better. There is a lot of sex and nudity (male and female), and of course blood, guts (literally) and death...but this show is like nothing else on TV. Many episodes leave you hanging and the season ender had me laying in bed for an...
Published on April 20 2010 by Susan A. Hudson

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love the series, hated Amazon's handling of this sale.
First let me say this series is great and the Blu-ray transfer is excellent. The packaging is nice too.

The problem is that one of the disks had a flaw in it that makes one of the episodes unplayable. The problem is that unless you watch a series you buy from Amazon straight through in a massive viewing marathon, you might not discover such a flaw until you...
Published 11 months ago by Christopher Gaul


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just hang in there..., April 20 2010
By 
Susan A. Hudson "Aimee" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first 2 episodes are over the top, very 300-ish and a tad cheesy.. but hang in and keep watching this show gets better and better and better. There is a lot of sex and nudity (male and female), and of course blood, guts (literally) and death...but this show is like nothing else on TV. Many episodes leave you hanging and the season ender had me laying in bed for an hour thinking about it all. If you like this type of show/movie/book you will like this if not love it. If you hate violence and sex makes you blush then pass. It is for sure for mature audiances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love the series, hated Amazon's handling of this sale., Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First let me say this series is great and the Blu-ray transfer is excellent. The packaging is nice too.

The problem is that one of the disks had a flaw in it that makes one of the episodes unplayable. The problem is that unless you watch a series you buy from Amazon straight through in a massive viewing marathon, you might not discover such a flaw until you have passed Amazon's return/exchange period. When I pointed this out to Amazon, they basically said tough luck.

So, I now have an incomplete collection of this excellent series.
This experience prompted me to:
- Visually check all my disks on arrival for single disk purchases
- Never buy another boxed set series from Amazon again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stick With It., Nov. 4 2011
By 
S. Avery "Heretic227" (Ontario CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season (DVD)
The first couple of episodes in this series are terrible. There is no way around it. It seemed the creators wanted to create a very emotional tone to the series, by having a slo-mo scene every two seconds. It comes off completely cheeseball, and really hurts the first impression you will probably have of this series. It's so melodramatic in these early episodes, that you'll cringe frequently, and question how such garbage has a fan base.

However, around episode four or so, something changed and the show became great. The dialogue is beefed up, the melodrama is taken away, and it starts to tell a really interesting story. The writing is really strong, and you will be wanting more and more as the series goes on. It's as good and addictive as anything on HBO and Showtime.

If you know absolutely nothing of the series though, I'd start with Gods Of The Arena. It doesn't get off to the rocky start of Blood and Sand, and is a great origin story, and proper beginning to this epic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Pulp Masterpiece, July 25 2010
By 
pipking (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
After the first few episodes of SPARTACUS: BLOOD AND SAND, one can be excused for thinking it's little more than shallow and stylish titillation. Some have accused it of being campy, even cheesy. It is certainly excessive, operatic, and at times downright nasty.

But the best classification for it is pulp. Lurid and exploitative but very far from stupid. What starts as a riff on 300 becomes an intricately plotted, incredibly well-realized and intelligently written modern pulp masterpiece. You may tune in for the boobs, butts and blood, but you will stay for the fantastic characters and compelling narrative. More than once throughout the season I actually gasped, out loud, startling nearby cats.

There is no show on television right now that compares. Bringer of rain, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No better series, Sept. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not for the sensitive or immature viewer, lots of blood, gore and sex. Highly recommended to anyone into this type of viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody and 100% adult, great story, Jan. 15 2012
By 
Michael W. Mapplebeck "Mapps" (NS, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not for kids! or anyone offended by sex and violence. Great story and fantastic cast. Follows Spartacus through his battles and the house that owns him through their political trials and manipulations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome series. The Spartacus in this, Nov. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome series. The Spartacus in this, the first of the series was so incredibly perfect in every way for this role. Bonus, lots of eroticism and sexual content, along with the intensely masculine nature of the situation. Gratuitous violence galore. Behind every episode was always several life lessons on morality and honor, truth and justice. It really is a role model for movie makers of the future. RIP Andy Whitfield
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facing Demons, April 26 2010
By 
Lesley Z (Ancaster, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
So, right of the bat....this is not for the squeemish, or the prudish! This version of the Spartacus epic is BRUTAL. Brutal is the way life was in the Roman Empire, and for that matter everywhere in the the ancient world. Is this so different today? What I admire about this series is that it is unrelenting! It gives no quarter. Unless you turn the tv/video off, it doesn't give any leeway...you have to face the demons inside all of us!

Most people in the privileged countries today have been coddled, pampered, deluded into believing we are "civilized". The fact is we are ALL only one breath away from what we are forced to view on "Spartacus"! If you have the tenacity to watch episode after episode, to accept the lesser parts of us, you see we all have a little of ALL the chartacters that inhabit the ludus. Sex, violence, brutality, love, empathy, courage and sacrifice are an integral part of every human being. Deceiving ourselves that we have evolved beyond the circus is miopic.

If you love the good old days in Rome, the artistry of the arena, beautiful men and women, the ugly and cruel masses...the intecracies of local politics....IF you have the heart to face your demons...Spartacus is a fantastic journey. Give it a little time and let it wash over you without regret...like the blood into the sand. An odyssey well worth taking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely good movie. Is worth everyone dollar which it cost, Sept. 29 2014
This review is from: Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season (DVD)
Extremely good movie. Is worth everyone dollar which it cost. Amazing acting and very realistic movie. I both all series and I can recommend this movie and other series to anyone who wants and like to watch historic action movies. I have to admire also that this movie provide a great sense for erotic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Whitfield RIP gone too soon, Dec 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season (DVD)
Uber violent but in a very cartoon-y way. Excellent writing and compelling story with some very luscious and lascivious soft core pr0n pretty well makes this miniseries complete. I didn't have the heart to watch any of the other seasons once Andy Whitfield had died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season
CDN$ 69.98 CDN$ 25.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews