Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just hang in there...
The first 2 episodes are over the top, very 300-ish and a tad cheesy.. but hang in and keep watching this show gets better and better and better. There is a lot of sex and nudity (male and female), and of course blood, guts (literally) and death...but this show is like nothing else on TV. Many episodes leave you hanging and the season ender had me laying in bed for an...
Published on April 20 2010 by Susan A. Hudson

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love the series, hated Amazon's handling of this sale.
First let me say this series is great and the Blu-ray transfer is excellent. The packaging is nice too.

The problem is that one of the disks had a flaw in it that makes one of the episodes unplayable. The problem is that unless you watch a series you buy from Amazon straight through in a massive viewing marathon, you might not discover such a flaw until you...
Published 10 months ago by Christopher Gaul


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic historical drama., Oct. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoy historical series with alot of action and accurate depictions. Spartacus is similar to 300 in some of its action scenes and the actual battle confrontations are very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasure, Not For The Sensitive Crowd, Sept. 19 2011
By 
Elise F (Montreal, Qc, Canada) - See all my reviews
I have thoroughly enjoyed watching this series. It has a "300" signature, and the plots, characters and pace of the show keeps you hooked. There is a load of graphic violence and nudity, so it is not for the faint of heart (I cannot recall seeing so much of both in ANY TV shows or movies), so beware if this is something that could potentially offend you. It is often gratuitous, but so is the whole show, and this will create a big gap between those who loved or hated the show. There is no in-between in this case.

I have found the characters to be very compelling, especially Andy Whitfield that gives an amazing, magnetic performance, in the likes of Russell Crowe in "Gladiator". His presence is strong and it is incredibly sad to have lost such a promising, talented actor. It is worth watching just to see this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not perfect, May 10 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We all know the story of Spartacus and some of us had an other vision of that story based on the Hollywood movie. But this time, we have a teleserie. I would say I was rather pleased by the story and action sequences. But something was missing and it was among all the time period reconstruction. Often the overview of Capua didn't look realistic. A certain touch of autheticity would have been better. So, it was a really good product with some less important flaws. I recommand it. I hope the next season will have Rome (the series) quality set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, not Great, Feb. 16 2011
By 
John G. Parks (Kingston, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Spartacus will appeal on both the action and the thoughtful themes. The script is well written. The acting exceptional. But the blood special effects look artificial. The real problem with Spartacus is that it will be compared to Rome and Rome will win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extra, Oct. 20 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
La meilleure série depuis la trilogie du Seigneur des anneaux.
Spectaculaire, si sanglant et si érotique.
J'ai hâte de voir la pré-quelle qui sortira en 2011.
La version Blu-ray offre des épisodes plus longs et non-censurés.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Oct. 20 2013
I was definitely not disappointed when I got this. I saw gifs of scenes from Tumblr and wow those did not do this series any justice. I think the guys in charge of the blood got way too enthusiastic with it, but over all the acting is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Booklet Edition, Aug. 25 2013
By 
this is the best show ever made on TV.....i just want to check is this a booklet edition copy or just a regular dvd case? thanks....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series, June 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an amazing collection to get and high recommend. If you are a history buff and love the action, this gives it. From a female perspective, the men in loin cloths are quite nice as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, May 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought this movie for a friend and they have enjoyed it so much they have asked me to get them more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, April 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like this type of show (action packed), then watch it. It will have you sitting on the edge of your seat. Beware, lots of blood and gore. Unfortunately, the last episode was this week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 89.99 CDN$ 28.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews