Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just hang in there...
The first 2 episodes are over the top, very 300-ish and a tad cheesy.. but hang in and keep watching this show gets better and better and better. There is a lot of sex and nudity (male and female), and of course blood, guts (literally) and death...but this show is like nothing else on TV. Many episodes leave you hanging and the season ender had me laying in bed for an...
Published on April 20 2010 by Susan A. Hudson

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love the series, hated Amazon's handling of this sale.
First let me say this series is great and the Blu-ray transfer is excellent. The packaging is nice too.

The problem is that one of the disks had a flaw in it that makes one of the episodes unplayable. The problem is that unless you watch a series you buy from Amazon straight through in a massive viewing marathon, you might not discover such a flaw until you...
Published 19 months ago by Christopher Gaul


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great cast, story, production design, sound , picture quality, all very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Blue Ray!!!, July 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Best show in my opinion! Great acting, great writing and great cinematography!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mans Drama, Sept. 21 2010
By 
M. Ford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The show:
If movies could have babies, then this is the child of Gladiator and 300. If you have interest in either of those 2 movies, than this show is up your ally. It's all things Gladiator with "ridiculous" 300 blood/gore effects. The blood effects can at times be a tad bit overdone. In some scenes the blood is so obviously fake, that it actually looks computer animated. When I started watching the show for the first time, the blood effects almost made me stop watching after episode 2-3. But I'm glad to say I stuck with it because this show is amazingly good. The characters, the plot, the twists, all make for an epic experience. Over time either the blood effects got better, or I became so immersed with the story that I ceased to notice the cheesy blood anymore.

The product:
I just picked this up at my local HMV. Standing there with a DVD copy in my left hand and a Bluray copy in my right hand, I was curious as to whether or not the extra $10 would be worth it for the bluray copy. Scanning the back of both cases I noticed there were more extra features included on the bluray copy as well as details which claimed the BR copy to have full 1080p resolution and "true" 5.1 dolby digital. With those differences in mind, I decided to purchase the BR copy. After opening the product, I'm happy to say I made the right choice for another reason other than the features and audio/video quality...and that would be the packaging.

What the picture above doesn't clearly show you, is that the show is packaged like a hard cover book. It opens up with a cardboard, accordion-like set of "pages". Each page is a sleeve which the disk is kept in. The cardboard is well glossed and quite smooth, however, for anyone that has purchased a tv series kept in a cardboard sleeve format before, you might know the inherent issues with the disks becoming scratched over time. Anyone whose read reviews for the Starget SG1 complete boxset has likely read about the DVDs becoming so badly scratched that they were eventually unreadable.

So needless to say I was quite happy with myself for buying the BR copy. BR disks have a much higher scratch resistance to that of their DVD counterpart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must see DVD! Well worth the time to watch this!, Jan. 23 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Must see DVD!

Well worth the time to watch this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 4 2014
Perfect conditon. This series is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic historical drama., Oct. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoy historical series with alot of action and accurate depictions. Spartacus is similar to 300 in some of its action scenes and the actual battle confrontations are very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, Oct. 5 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This series just ROCKS the house!

So future buyers can be fully aware,this is the order of the series....

Blood and Sands[season 1]....the role of Spartacus actor dies in real life,hes in all season 1 episodes but none after.

Gods of the Arena.....A shorter series that takes you before season 1.No Spartacus here but still a great series and fills in many gaps to season 1.Its well worth the watch and has its own arena champion who is as good as Spartacus in the arena.

Vengeance[season 2].....They pick a new actor to play Spartacus as the one in season1 dies in real life.The new Spartacus is much like the old,only the face has changed abit,it takes abit to get use to but overall he takes command of the role.Season 2 starts off where season 1 left off.Season 2 has some arena fights but most fights are now for example,in the forest,very wide open with many attackers.The role of Spartacus was filled wisely,season 2 ROCKS!

War of the Damned[season 3]......coming to tv jan 2013

This review is for season 1..........From the start there is action.There is a trail of blood,deceit,and sex and it builds to a climax to end season one which would seem like the end but really just unlocks the doors of carnage.Season 1 is cleverly build apon the love and spirit Spartacus has for his wife.This path Spartacus must take is anything but sugar n spice and he must reflect from within to determine what role he shall play in the coming events that will forever change him.

The drama is wicked and laced with deceit the devil would be proud of,a word of caution to whom you belive to be friend!The fighting is rich with blood and hard on the head,you will feel like you are there.There isn't any real deep charactor explaining,some charactors are better defined then others,mostly[saying they live!] each charactor is better known over the period of season 1 and beyond,which adds in my view better mystery.Some of the action is slowed down,this could take away from your viewing experience but i found it to enhance mine as it shows in painful detail as body parts come slicing off.

Theres a lot of blood,theres plently of nudity,and some of the word terms that pop out of mouths are crude.....this series is well written and the words and sex are not its main foundation,but they will make you smile.I found myself wanting most the charactors either dead or due for a good spanking,all acted their roles very well.Spartacus is 13 episodes running approx 55mins each that in my view runs as a extended movie that never tire's to excite you!Its an amazing series,i dare you not to watch a few episodes after another!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars show is crazy good, March 2 2013
season 1 of spartacus blew me away. This is easilly one of the best tv shows i have ever scene. As you probably know its most blatent characteristics would be that there are incredibly stylish and gory fight scenes and tons of nudity and soft core sex scenes. Nothing like this has been seen on tv before. The characters are all awesome and there is tons of drama and the relentlessness of the writers leaves u not knowing who could possibly live for anyones life seems to be on the line. There are lots of plot twists, backstabbing, and blackmail for the drama junkies and lots of gritty gladiator battles for the adreline junky. The sex scenes will be off putting for some people but if you can get passed it this is a gripping show. My girlfriend and i loved season 1 and cant wait to continue the series. There were so many shocking moments i wont soon forget and i wont spoil them here but i will strongly suggest watching this show, loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, not Great, Feb. 16 2011
By 
John G. Parks (Kingston, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Spartacus will appeal on both the action and the thoughtful themes. The script is well written. The acting exceptional. But the blood special effects look artificial. The real problem with Spartacus is that it will be compared to Rome and Rome will win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extra, Oct. 20 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
La meilleure série depuis la trilogie du Seigneur des anneaux.
Spectaculaire, si sanglant et si érotique.
J'ai hâte de voir la pré-quelle qui sortira en 2011.
La version Blu-ray offre des épisodes plus longs et non-censurés.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 89.99 CDN$ 26.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews