Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Collection!
There are so many reissues on the market lately and Paul McCartney's "Band On The Run" is one of the latest, being offered in several different combinations. Considering that this was a #1 record breaking album and a real critical and commercial success for McCartney and Wings, it bears to get any great treatment. This version has the original album carefully remastered...
Published on Nov. 8 2010 by Martin A Hogan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Band On The Run (Paul McCartney & Wings 1973)
1973 was a pretty decent year if you were an ex-Beatle or a Beatles fan still reeling from their break up in 1970. All 4 enjoyed success in this year (though Harrison had had a 3 year running success story since All Things Must Pass) and McCartney fans saw Paul finally put forth an album that could possibly equal his prolific output in The Beatles heyday. Band On The Run...
Published on April 25 2003 by Mr. S. St Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Collection!, Nov. 8 2010
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There are so many reissues on the market lately and Paul McCartney's "Band On The Run" is one of the latest, being offered in several different combinations. Considering that this was a #1 record breaking album and a real critical and commercial success for McCartney and Wings, it bears to get any great treatment. This version has the original album carefully remastered at Abbey Roads Studios without too much compression and not a complete removal of original album hiss, to truly produce a fine sounding, original recording that comes as close to vinyl as possible.

Although "Band On The Run" and Jet " were chosen for the singles, there is little doubt that every song qualified. Paul Gambaccini provides extensive sleeve notes about the recording including, Paul's history from leaving the Beatles and progressing to this album. Like the songs, this album is an adventure. The liner notes describe which songs were chosen and why, the songs history, the trip to record in Lagos, Nigeria and more. Want to know who those strangers on the cover really re? Paul G. fills you in.

The second CD contains the hit, "Helen Wheels" and "Country Dreamer", all sounding fantastic. The remaining seven songs are from a special called "One Hand Clapping" and although these are live recordings with slightly different arrangements, the sound quality is remarkably good. That brings us to the DVD or `bonus film". Remembering that this audio and video is over twenty-seven years old does not diminish the enjoyment or aesthetic quality. At a running time of 1 hour and 24+, minutes, there is a lot to celebrate. Most of the videos are artistic/psychedelic in nature and surprisingly, not as dated as one would think. Included are song videos, promos and the full version of the special, "One Hand Clapping".

Amazon does not provide all the songs, so here is the set:

Band On The Run (music video)
Muminia (music video)
Album Promo with, `Band On The Run', 'Mr.'s Vandebilt', `Nineteen Hundred And Eighty Five' and `Bluebird'.
Helen Wheels (music video)
Video clip called, "Wings in Lagos" (surreal)
Video history filming of `Osterley Park' (all the album cover members)
The "One Hand Clapping" show including:
`Theme'
`Jet'
`Soily'
`C Moon'
`Little Woman Love'
`Maybe I'm Amazed'
`My Love'
`Bluebird'
`Let's Love'
`I'll Give You A Ring'
`Band On The Run'
`Live And Let Die' (hilariously filmed with an odd orchestra reacting in an irreverent manner)
`Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five'
`Baby-Face'

Of course, all of Linda McCartney's Polaroid snapshots are here looking a bit dated, but still a good account of who was there and what was happening. This collection was a lot more than I expected - it's a deal and an experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The tightest Wing's arrangement of all time, Feb. 19 2010
By 
David R. Main "Davo" (Calgary, AB, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Paul McCartney put out some mediocre albums after the Beatles but finally got it together with this one. There is really no terrible cut on the album.

Deny Lane and the others work so well with him I don't know why they did not keep this lineup.
The classic "Band on the Run", "Jet" stand on their own, but this album also has some other lesser known gems such as "Helen Wheels", and "Blueburd".

It is truely a great album that stands the test of time.

The 180 gm vinyl remastered album gives it a very full and rich sound on a decent turntable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remastering Sounds Great - DVD Could Be Better, April 27 2011
By 
From the Musician's Pen (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Most people agree that this is a classic rock album, so I'm not going to spend time discussing the music itself. It's been released in various forms so I'll just be discussing this Collector's Edition, with 2 CD's and 1 DVD.

CD 1 is the remastered album; CD 2 is the bonus tracks, also remastered, including the single "Helen Wheels"; the DVD features footage from the album cover photo shoot, some videos for the songs, and a McCartney TV Special from the early 1970's with great footage of Wings rehearsing songs from this album, plus "Live & Let Die" and more... Paul's voice is immaculate, he's at a peak.

In terms of sound quality, the previously remastered version of this CD already sounded very good indeed. This remastering sounds even better.

I received this as a gift. I was hesitant to buy it, as I felt the price was high and I wasn't sure whether I'd like the bonus stuff enough to feel I "need" them. I'm a McCartney fan but I often feel cheated by his releases, and I wasn't willing to gamble.

With regards to this collection, I feel all the songs on the bonus CD could fit onto the main CD, which could help keep the price down. I also feel the only good thing on the DVD was the TV Special. I'd much rather see more footage of Wings, especially in concert (especially Wings Over America, Rockshow Concert For Kampuchea, etc.). This was Paul's peak and the footage exists and some has been previously released on VHS or laser disc, so I was hoping for more of that.

I've seen this go on sale for half price, and I'd recommend it then. If you don't already own "Band on the Run", this is a worthy purchase. Otherwise, only a big Wings fan would want to spend the extra money to upgrade to this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the masterpiece everyone says it is, but still good, May 20 2004
This review is from: Band On The Run (Audio CD)
Band On The Run (1973.) Paul McCartney's fifth post-Beatles album.
In 1973, Paul McCartney and his new band, Wings, released what would eventually become their biggest and most famous album of all - Band On The Run. It seemed at first that the album was going to be a disaster - the band chose to record the album in a foreign nation, and once there their master tapes were stolen by armed bandits! To make things worse, some of the original Wings members had just quite the band. Yet, despite all these hardships, the album became the band's most popular album? Does the album live up to all the hype that McCartney fans have created around it, or is it just an overrated, subpar album? Read on for my review of Band On The Run.
In my opinion, this album does NOT live up to the hype that most Paul McCartney fans have built around it. However, it is still a very good album. Obviously, two huge hits emerged from this album. The title track, which fuses a plethora of musical styles in a relatively short period of time, became one of Paul's biggest post-Beatles hits. I like Paul McCartney a good deal but feel he's the most overrated of all the Beatles. Still, I think that this song deserves all of the credit it receives. The other big hit was Jet. This one still gets played on the radio on a regular basis, and while not up to the excellence level of the title track, it is another very good song. And then we have the tracks that were never popular at all, but are good songs nonetheless. The slow and melodic Bluebird (not to be confused with Blackbird from Paul's Beatles days) is solid proof of this, as is the experimental Mrs. Vanderbilt. As the album progresses, there are a number of great songs, and a number of not-so-great ones. I feel that most of the album is excellent, but the last few tracks basically reprise earlier tracks, and this just doesn't work that well. But the few blunders the album contains don't derail it - Band On The Run is solid through and through.
THIS PARAGRAPH'S TEXT REFERS EXCLUSIVELY TO THE TWO-DISC, REMASTERED AMERICAN VERSION OF THE ALBUM. This new reissue of the album does more than just improve the sound quality and expand the liner notes - It gives you a free mini-poster and an entire extra disc of bonus material! Unfortunately, the bonus disc consists mostly of outtakes and brief interviews - things that aren't going to appeal to anyone outside Paul's die-hard fans. But, this two-disc reissue, on average, doesn't cost a whole lot more than the original CD release of the album, so you might as well just shell out the extra bucks - this version of the album is a much better value than the old version.
If you're a Paul McCartney fan, casual or die-hard, Band On The Run should be in your music collection. Admittingly, the album isn't quite as good as people say it is, but it's good nonetheless, and there's a reason it's so popular. No classic rock collection is complete without this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still a classic, March 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Band On The Run (Audio CD)
I hadn't listened to this album all the way through in many years, but I picked up a copy and it hasn't left my CD player since. Say what you will about the well-documented solo career of Paul McCartney. When you crank out that many songs, you're bound to have some stinkers along with the classics and without a John Lennon there to tell you what's crap and what isn't, it's going to end up on tape. The same thing happened to Lennon, and also similarly, where John pulled it all together for Imagine, Paul did the same thing for Band on the Run.
It seems somewhat silly to go song by song, but this is clearly the best overall collection of songs that Paul put together. Each track, even the lesser ones, have some kind of catchiness or innovation that make them worth the listen and deserving of appreciation. I don't know if it's really a concept album or not, but it certainly could be considered one if you look at the overall themes of flight and freedom.
The bonus disc is okay but there's nothing so outstanding about it. Much better are the liner notes that detail the making of the album. One of the frustrating things I find about Paul's solo career is that inevitably his B-sides and throwaways contain some better material than what ended up on the albums, and I was hoping that there would be some unreleased BOTR-era material to be had with the new edition but sadly it's not to be. Regardless, this is truly a landmark album in that it marked Paul's return to form.
Just for the record, my favorite tracks are Picasso's Last Words, Let Me Roll It, and Helen Wheels (which was NOT on my original LP - it was on the U.K. version only).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Die, Monster, Die!, Nov. 26 2003
By 
TFR (Cleveland, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Band On The Run (Audio CD)
If you take the instrumental side Paul McCartney's songs at face value, he's not a terrible composer of popular music. It's only after you start listening to the lyrics of "Band on the Run" and "Silly Love Songs" that everything goes straight into the toilet.
When McCartney was with the Beatles, he was more or less held in check as a songwriter by John Lennon, who really was the guiding force behind the Beatles sound. Without that balance, McCartney went off on his own and basically, became less and less discerning. Or, maybe he just felt that his fans weren't that sophisticated. I suppose we'll never know.
Anyway, McCartney's first solo albums were Beatle-type stuff, and really, not bad. Then came, "Band on the Run" which marked a turning point, and typifies the rest of McCartney's work. I can't imagine how anyone can listen to this sort of garbage without recalling the great sound of the Beatles and songs like, "I Call Your Name", "You Can't Do That", "Drive My Car", or "I Feel Fine".
When artist and musician Robert Crumb was once asked why he killed off one of his comic book characters, "Fritz the Cat", Crumb replied that the character had become "too cute" and "needed killing."
After hearing "Silly Love Songs", "Jet", "Band on the Run", "Listen to What the Man Said", and "Let 'Em In" being piped in through the public address systems of every grocery store and retail chain I've been in for the last decade, I pretty much feel the same way about Paul McCartney's music:
It's too cute, and it needs to go away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ho! Hey-ho!, July 6 2003
By 
The Man On The Flaming Pie (The Foothills of the Headlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Band On The Run (Audio CD)
Band On The Run by Paul McCartney & Wings. What can one say about this record that hasn't already been said before?
Because anyone interested in this Special Edition CD most likely already knows the original album from head to toe, I will restrict my comments solely to the bonus CD.
I found it to be most enjoyable, both musically and information-wise. Much of it is Paul reminiscing about certain songs and the recording process for the album. His comments are supplemented by the recorded voices of Linda McCartney, Denny Laine, the celebrities who appeared with them on the cover (some of whom can be a bit long-winded--my only complaint), and various others who were involved with the recording & production of the album. Also included are soundchecks of "Jet" & "Let Me Roll It" from Paul's '93 tour, a remix of "Helen Wheels," and different (short) versions of "Band On The Run" & "Picasso's Last Words." The jumbo booklet contains a 6-page story of Wings' experiences in Lagos, the recording process, and an intimate detailing of the process for creating the cover photo, written by Mark Lewisohn. There is also a page dedicated to the chart positions of the album and singles, which I found interesting, and a sheet of polaroid snapshots taken in the studio in Lagos (interestingly, Paul is playing a right-handed bass turned upside down in many of the pictures...kind of sad that he got away from the ol' Hofner during the 70's).
Anyway, if you love Band On The Run, it's definately worth the few extra bucks to buy this edition. Who knew a little 10-song album could have such a long & detailed history! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ho! Hey-ho!, July 6 2003
By 
The Man On The Flaming Pie (The Foothills of the Headlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Band On The Run (Audio CD)
Band On The Run by Paul McCartney & Wings. What can one say about this record that hasn't already been said before?
Because anyone interested in this Special Edition CD most likely already knows the original album from head to toe, I will restrict my comments solely to the bonus CD.
I found it to be most enjoyable, both musically and information-wise. Much of it is Paul reminiscing about certain songs and the recording process for the album. His comments are supplemented by the recorded voices of Linda McCartney, Denny Laine, the celebrities who appeared with them on the cover (some of whom can be a bit long-winded--my only complaint), and various others who were involved with the recording & production of the album. Also included are soundchecks of "Jet" & "Let Me Roll It" from Paul's '93 tour, a remix of "Helen Wheels," and different (short) versions of "Band On The Run" & "Picasso's Last Words." The jumbo booklet contains a 6-page story of Wings' experiences in Lagos, the recording process, and an intimate detailing of the process for creating the cover photo, written by Mark Lewisohn. There is also a page dedicated to the chart positions of the album and singles, which I found interesting, and a sheet of polaroid snapshots taken in the studio in Lagos (interestingly, Paul is playing a right-handed bass turned upside down in many of the pictures...kind of sad that he got away from the ol' Hofner during the 70's).
Anyway, if you love Band On The Run, it's definately worth the few extra bucks to buy this edition. Who knew a little 10-song album could have such a long & detailed history! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ho! Hey-ho!, July 6 2003
By 
The Man On The Flaming Pie (The Foothills of the Headlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Band On The Run (Audio CD)
Band On The Run by Paul McCartney & Wings. What can one say about this record that hasn't already been said before?
Because anyone interested in this Special Edition CD most likely already knows the original album from head to toe, I will restrict my comments solely to the bonus CD.
I found it to be most enjoyable, both musically and information-wise. Much of it is Paul reminiscing about certain songs and the recording process for the album. His comments are supplemented by the recorded voices of Linda McCartney, Denny Laine, the celebrities who appeared with them on the cover (some of whom can be a bit long-winded--my only complaint), and various others who were involved with the recording & production of the album. Also included are soundchecks of "Jet" & "Let Me Roll It" from Paul's '93 tour, a remix of "Helen Wheels," and different (short) versions of "Band On The Run" & "Picasso's Last Words." The jumbo booklet contains a 6-page story of Wings' experiences in Lagos, the recording process, and an intimate detailing of the process for creating the cover photo, written by Mark Lewisohn. There is also a page dedicated to the chart positions of the album and singles, which I found interesting, and a sheet of polaroid snapshots taken in the studio in Lagos (interestingly, Paul is playing a right-handed bass turned upside down in many of the pictures...kind of sad that he got away from the ol' Hofner during the 70's).
Anyway, if you love Band On The Run, it's definately worth the few extra bucks to buy this edition. Who knew a little 10-song album could have such a long & detailed history! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul's Best, June 29 2003
By 
Earsby (Norman, OK United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Band On The Run (Audio CD)
I remember when I was a kid in jr. high school. I really thought the Beatles ruled. I was as shattered as the next about their breakup, and now, a few years later, I was still getting over it. The best thing about the Beatles' breakup was the fact that I got to hear all the individuals breakout with their own developing carreers as solo artists, and this was quite satisfying. A friend of mine would often buy 8-track tapes back then upon my advice, and he bought Band On The Run before I did, in Quadraphonic. It was really cool to listen to this album because it was, in my mind, the most complete album, conceptually and musically, that any of the ex-Beatles had yet produced since Abbey Road. That's a big claim. Yes there are a few throwaway tunes but overall the album hangs with the best of them, great hits such as the title cut, Let Me Roll It, 1985, etc, which makes the overall greatness even more amazing due to the short space of time in which it was produced, and the few people involved with the major portion of the instruments played.
Needless to say this CD definitely warrants 5 stars. But to have this special 25th Anniversary Edition with the bonus CD is a real treat, because you get a small idea of the creative PROCESS which was involved with the music, and album art, in the making of this fine album. Also you get some rockin' versions of Jet, and cool acoustic versions of other tunes, as well as statements by Paul, Linda, and all the others involved in putting together this great work. The Bonus CD is alone worth the price, which is about what you would pay for the average CD at a local music store. 2 great CD's for the price of one.. It's a no-brainer-- check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Band on the Run
Band on the Run by Paul and Wings Mccartney (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews