Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splice Rocks
Mary Shelley of Frankenstein fame would have been pleased with this movie. I became uncomfortable watching the growth of the laboratory experiment. That's a good thing. I was into it. I thought the premise was a touch different than all the monster movies of the past. That's a good thing as well. Well written, good acting and you never knew what the next special skill...
Published on Oct. 20 2010 by David A. Cochrane

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 stars-Send in the Clones!
Splice(released June/10)stars Sarah Polley and Adrien Brody and was a Canadian/French co-production,filmed in and around Toronto.This Sci-Fi thriller is not quite as thrilling as I thought it would be.I don't know if its the length,the been there-done that moments in the plot,the lack of chemistry between the two stars or something else but it certainly lacks a serious...
Published on Oct. 29 2011 by Robert Badgley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splice Rocks, Oct. 20 2010
By 
David A. Cochrane "The Hitman" (Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Splice: Nouvelle espèce (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Mary Shelley of Frankenstein fame would have been pleased with this movie. I became uncomfortable watching the growth of the laboratory experiment. That's a good thing. I was into it. I thought the premise was a touch different than all the monster movies of the past. That's a good thing as well. Well written, good acting and you never knew what the next special skill would be that would be coming from the experiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 stars-Send in the Clones!, Oct. 29 2011
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Splice(released June/10)stars Sarah Polley and Adrien Brody and was a Canadian/French co-production,filmed in and around Toronto.This Sci-Fi thriller is not quite as thrilling as I thought it would be.I don't know if its the length,the been there-done that moments in the plot,the lack of chemistry between the two stars or something else but it certainly lacks a serious punch.
The plot involves the two stars as geneticists working for a pharmaceutical company in R&D.The two create two live "lumps" and name them Fred and Ginger.However they want to push the envelope even farther,so Sarah injects some of her own DNA into a genetic soup and voila,Dren is born.At first it's a kind of cute though uncoordinated cat-like creature on long spindly legs but it soon is growing at an exponential rate.In order to keep their secret a secret,they take Dren to Sarah's parents abandoned farm where they keep her under wraps as she matures.With her physical growth comes mental growth and she continues to amaze and astonish Adrien and Sarah constantly.By accident they discover she is a water breather and after a fit of temper Dren takes to the roof and sprouts wings!
As time wears on Dren is developing feelings for Adrien who ends up sleeping with her.Sarah finds them together and storms out.At a conference of big wigs and backers,their company puts on a display of Fred and Ginger.When they put them together they inexplicably end up killing each other in a blood bath that spills into the audience.It turns out one of them transformed from a female into a male.The company is ruined unless the two can come up with a special cloning sequence they have been working on but so far to no avail.Sarah returns with a piece of Dren and successfully creates the sequence.In the meantime Dren is found in a comatose state back on the farm and she apparently ends up dying on them.Just after they bury her Adriens movie brother and their boss show up demanding to see the creature.As Sarah tosses the boss the shovel to go dig her up himself,something flies down a swoops him away.In a few moments it's Adriens brother turn.Both go running into the woods to search for them but Adrien loses his light in a pond.As he is retrieving it he is pulled in,and after a few tense moments resurfaces,and is helped onto the ground unable to move.Suddenly the creature that was Dren is now rising from the pond,has wings and is now a male;and he's after some female companionship.The creature chases Sarah down and has intercourse with her.Adrien shows up to impale the creature with a strong branch but Dren pulls it out more being more than a little mad at Adrien.As the creature turns its attentions on him it gives Sarah a chance to gather her wits and hit Dren from behind.Just before she gives it the final blow,Dren kills Adrien with a swift flick of its tale.
The film ends as we see the head of the pharmaceutical company offering Sarah a lucrative contract for her continuing aid in R&D.We also see she's pregnant.Was it Adrien or Dren?
As I said at the start,I don't know what it is about this movie that just doesn't excite me as it should.The S/FX and make up are top notch involving DREN,the acting is solid but it lies somewhere between the lack of good scary moments and their timing when they do occur,to the lack of on screen chemistry between Polley and Brody.Plus the script is little on the ho-hum side too.Just nothing to sink your teeth into.
Technically speaking the film is clear and crisp and in its' original a/r of 1:78:1.Extras include the trailer,a teaser,a Fangoria mag interview with the director and a behind the scenes look at the set.
All in all this average to just above average flick plays well as far as the creature is concerned and the S/FXs and make up involved therein.But the movie overall doesn't have the scary impact it should and as a result when the "tense" moments come they play out more with a whimper than a bang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creature Comforts, Sept. 30 2010
By 
Lesley Z (Ancaster, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There is an old saying which I always adhere to..."If it ain't broke, don't fix it!" Eons of years experimenting with gene combinations has given Nature a one-up on humanity. So, why is it that we find ourselves delving into realms better left alone? SPLICE is an interesting and perhaps a more cerebral look at the us+them quandry. What is wrong with our species that we have an inate need to "fix" stuff? Often, this works to our general betterment.....then, there are the times we should have left well-enough alone!

I am a fan of scifi and the "alien" possibilities. In Splice the alien DNA is ours plus other Earthly genes. Sarah Polley and Adrien Brody make a believable couple of ambitious scientists desperately attempting to find a new protein and achieve auspicious merit in the genetics field. Having a corporate timeline nipping at their heels, Clive and Elsa go beyond the point of ethical acceptability and create a new human hybrid. Dren is a quasi-human being of dubious character within an ever-changing form.

Watching the interaction of the scientists attempting to cope with the fallout of their experiment is fascinating. At some point, we must confront ourselves and ask what we would do in this situation. Not only is there conflict between Elsa and Clive, but as things progress also between Dren and her creators. How are we to cope with the unknown? At what point do we pull the plug? What makes us human? What makes us inhuman? Ethics....when did they disappear in the race for glory and/or money?

Splice is not a slasher movie. It takes the scenario and runs with it to some places we would rather never go! This is a thinking person's storyline. If you are so inclined, it makes you ponder where the future of science is headed. Are we ready for the eventualities? Or, to misquote from "Jurassic Park"..."Just because we can, doesn't mean we should!"

The special effects in this movie are well-done and create a believable creature(s). We can understand how Clive becomes drawn to Dren and how Elsa embraces her own intrinsic mothering instincts. As a creation in CG, Dren works. However, it is the character/personality of this creation which draws us into the plot, rather than the physicality, however appealing.

I advise those who watch SPLICE not to assume anything going in. Do not try to figure it out! Just let the characters and storyline take you to an unexpected place and enjoy the ride. This is a film where the journey is the prize, not the destination!

Finding this little treasure in the theatre, I will end up buying on dvd in the near future. Some ideas are well worth running with and this has given me food for thought. Would love to see a "Re-Spliced" as may be promised by the ending : ) Howz about it Sarah? Sequel please! : )

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good !, Feb. 7 2014
By 
Yves Rinfret "Just a fan" (Montreal, PQ Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a Christmas gift to my son, I wll not Watch it but he was very happy to receive it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A splice of life, Jan. 2 2014
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Splice: Nouvelle espèce (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Everybody already knows the formula. Everybody already knows it's going to happen. Pretty good idea of who the good guys and bad guys are. Yet some of us watch this to see if there's going to be anything different. Others watch this because it is the same and they can never get enough.

A couple of renegade geneticists (Adrien Brody and Sarah Polley) crossed the line and splice with human DNA (Delphine Chaneac.) They pretend they don't know what they're doing. Just a little harmless investigation beyond what is allowed. What can be the harm in that? You and I know that how long does it take them to know?

It doesn't take exceptional CGI to make this movie. The scenes were all shot in Canada, so there may be an interest in this movie by Canadians. The pacing is quite good; the spooky parts go fast and the anticipation parts drag out.

Only subassembly race I can't tell you about any other versions. I did not see any extras but what do you need in making this movie. I would just chalk this up as a chiller, thriller, and filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Title has full potential but poorly developed, July 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Splice: Nouvelle espèce (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was disappointed in the movie. I really thought with that title, it would appeal to the adult intellect a bit more rather than a 9 year old's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3 étoiles c'est amplement suffisant., May 10 2011
By 
Guy Lebel (Sullivan, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Splice: Nouvelle espèce (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Je croyais que ce film me ferait craindre. Que je ressenterais un mal à l'aise. Que j'aurais peur parfois. Que je me questionnerais sur l'être humain. Rien de tout ça m'est arrivé. C'est un film intéressant sans plus. L'histoire est pleine de trous et d'absurdités. On aborde des sujets qui sont rapidement escamontés. L'histoire des personnages principaux est traité de la même façon. Est-ce un film psychologique, un thriller, science-fiction ou horreur? Je ne sais pas. Probablement un mélange inégale de tout ça. En tout cas, ce film ne passera pas à l'histoire. Je lui donne seulement la note de passage, soit 60%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars engaging and compelling, March 27 2011
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Splice: Nouvelle espèce (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
this is a tense,atmospheric,drama/sci-fi/thriller.it deals with a topical issue,one that has been done before,but it works here.the issue is one of cloning.and the ethic and moral issues involved.it's a thought provoking movie and no matter what side of the fence you're on regarding this particular issue,it should engage you.it moves at a deliberate pace in order to to keep a tense atmosphere.the acting is solid all around,but Delphine Chanéac stands out as Dren.if you're expecting an action packed movie with lots of things blowing up,you should look elsewhere.but if you're looking for something engaging and compelling,check this one out.for me,Splice is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars iluvhorrormovies, Jan. 11 2011
i thought this was something a little different for a change. one of the better movies i have seen in 2010. good job i say on animation of the creature, not fake like some of the movies i have seen lately, quite believable. a good watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Real Monsters are Human, Nov. 22 2010
By 
Richard S. Warner "Saraswati-Son" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"Splice" is a very intruiging film. It's not a great one, but it had me on the edge of my seat and totally involved in the escalating, or should I say, descending, vortex of travesties and offences it portrays. So I have to say it was quite successful on that front. Ostensibly, it's a Frankenstein story - the human creation of a "monster" that only wants what its creators also desire, love and a feeling of belonging, justification for and an understanding of a reason for being. And like the Shelley creation, when the creature is treated AS a monster, it begins to act like one. Yet, while the film examines some of this psychology and philosophy in a predictable way, "Splice" is really mostly about the monstrous deformities in the personalities of the two scientists involved, and by extension, in our culture as well. Therein lies the real horror.

While Mary Shelley's main questions were, 'Do we have the right to create life, even if we can? What constitutes life and would that life, if we were to create it, have a soul? Does all life have a right to happiness, a right to love, even if it is created by us? Do we have the right to use life merely for our own gain, again, even if it is 'created'? ... Director Vincenzo Natali, of course, deals with those questions but his concerns are also much more contemporary. He adds to that mix questions surrounding corporations and their moral and ethical responsibilities, their seeming immunity to the same, their unhindered and unchecked opportunism, at any cost, their exploitation of life and perhaps even the creation of it for monetary gain and power positioning. They seem to be completely enabled to persue any course of action they choose, but, is this right ? ....

Then we have the same questions applied to the two main characters, who act out for us, the dialectic that hammers back and forth the positions of 'can' and 'should we'. This applies to their project, funded by a giant multi-national corporation, which seeks to find a genetic solution, through species DNA splicing, to diseases such as cancer. And of course the corporation is not persuing this as altruistically and compassionately as their PR portrays..... there is MONEY to be made from these discoveries, massive, unthinkable amounts of money. For as we all know, for example, the giant pharma corporations make obscene amounts of money on medications for HIV & Cancer and anyone who thinks they are working on a cure is very naive. There is simply TOO much money to be made off Cancer, MS, AIDS, Cardio-Pulmonary diseases etc.

So we have our two initially dedicated scientists, innocents to a dangerous degree, who feel that sleeping with the corporation is something they can control, and remain untainted. Where Clive ( Adrien Brody ) and Elsa ( Sarah Polley ) fall down is that they fail to see that they can't even control their own lives, their own minds, nevermind being able to stay free of the taint of corporate meddling. For Elsa, as brilliant as she is, is a woman with a seething snakepit of unresolved issues and psychological firestorms raging on inside her. They drive her and fuel her very deeply personal take on the dangerous science she so capriciously wields. Clive, her counter-weight, is crippled by an inner, psychological and emotional stand off inside him that never seems to move to any one side. He seems paralyzed and allows himself to be pulled along by the exceptionally driven Elsa. He may ask the questions that counter all of Elsa's impulsive and transgressive moves, but the weight they have is too weak and ineffectual. NOT a good recipe for those playing god with genetics.

Almost from the outset we begin to see the seriously dangerous obsessiveness of Polley's Elsa, a brilliant scientist who quickly moves out of the requisite "scientific objectivity" into the frighteningly precarious realm of giving realization to deeply conflicted and wounded movements of the sub-conscious. She is a profoundly compromised soul that acts as and is perceived by her partner Clive and her colleagues as merely a brilliant "nerd", if you will. But as the film progresses her actions increasingly TRANSGRESS and her scientific brilliance becomes a nightmarish vehicle for her to continuously press across ethical and philosophical boundaries into the actualization, in living flesh, of all her psychological horrors.

As Polley gets positively maternal about their creations, Brody stumbles, out of his attachment to her and to their work and the whole enterprise careens into the horrific. He becomes deeply torn and traumatized by the psychological maelstrom that Elsa is becoming as she crashes against the rocks of moral and philsophical givens. Yet, roadblocks and setbacks that should've made them stop to reconsider their motives, seem to only egg the almost insane Elsa on to further travesties. Even an unexpected and horrific setback, in the public eye no less, only paralyzes Brody further and pushes Polley further on into the truly nightmarish. You find yourself constantly on edge as each new breach of decency and sensibility transpires, wondering that the hell these people are doing - herein is the tension of the film.

The boundaries of ethics and scientific principle completely dissolve when Polley, unbeknownst to Brody, after their disastrous setback, incorporates her very own DNA into another version of their life creation project and she takes the work now to be exclusively her own. She moves from being a scientist to being an obsessive "mother". All "warnings", of which there have been many, have been ignored and so the story enters the mythical, Faustian, realm of trajedy and plummets into the amoral depths.

As Clive and Elsa go renegade and move their project out of sight of the suits, they take one last stab at creating a hybrid life form, fusing several forms of animal DNA with the human genome. At first it fails and Clive seems ready to pack it in, heeding the warnings that have repeated put themselves in their faces. Elsa will not. Then the unthinkable happens and their newest creation begins to grow and thrive, quite powerfully and swiftly. While Clive's attention is elsewhere, Elsa is hyper-focused on seeing her "child" born. Enter Dren, the monster-child they create.

Dren is born female and although she bears very little resemblance to a human baby, with birdlike legs, tadpole arms, a prehensile tail and a head like a snake, Elsa puts her in a baby girl's dress and coddles the creature as her infant. At first Clive is horrified with the creation and insists that Elsa stop treating Dren like a human child. He insists that they keep the thing caged but he is also drawn to it at the same time, for scientific reasons. The creature is afraid of him and cowers in his presence as he argues and fights with Elsa over what has happened, while she builds trust and a bond with Dren, giving her dolls, playing Scrabble with her, reading to her at bedtime. It all becomes a ridiculous and twisted parody of parenthood that, were it not for the ethical horror of it all, would truly seem ludicrously funny and absurd. But it isn't.

Dren grows rapidly, too rapidly, and she shows incredible intelligence and adaptability. AND she has a deadly secret in her tail - a poison stinger. In no time Dren ( Delphine Chaneac ) becomes more human looking, except for the bird legs and she never learns to speak but she understands what is being said only too well. She becomes an adolescent, replete with the hormonal upheaval and ... the rebellion. They move her out to Elsa's childhood home in the country, to get Dren away from anyone who might seek to stop their nightmarish project. Another bad move. In the process Dren kills Clive's brother with her stinger and the scientist couple become fugitives.

With all limiting boundaries removed in their isolation, both Clive and Elsa reveal their inner demons and there is a colossal mess of them. Things get weird, VERY weird and just about every moral question is trampled over and squashed under the obsessive and twisted psychology of the two main characters. Transgression after transgression ensues and just when you think they aren't going to go there, they shriek right past it into the abyss. As with any good morality story, you know then that the Faustian is not without its recompense, and surely enough it follows. With shocking unexpectedness and a twisted correctness.

Things come to an explosive head and the completely unexpected happens ... Dren becomes male, an angry, powerful, sexually potent adolescent male. HE escapes and Frankenstein's monster, Dr. Moreau's grafted beast, so to speak, makes his unstoppable entry into the world. An action sequence ensues where the innocent and the guilty both are dealt the punishment the situation requires. Both Clive and Elsa, too, are finally treated to justice at the hands of Dren and the film seems to end.

But in order to drive the nail home and leave us with a sickening horror that will never abate or resolve, Natali give us a final scene where the surviving Elsa has a last conversation with the corporate representative who has funded their efforts from the outset. She is being paid. A lot. She signs the forms and the businesswoman is clearly, but stoically pleased. Elsa stands up and with the final horror that "Splice" wants us to feel we see clearly just how much of a Monster Elsa really is.

"Splice" is a horror film but that horror is not about a monster, it's about US. We have the ability as human beings to transgress and defile to the furthest degrees imaginable. It is a morality play that demonstrates how brilliant and potentially god-like we can be and how debased and twisted we can also become when we succumb to our unbridled minds. For no amount of brilliance or intelligence can justify the horrors we can create when we do not question ourselves, either as individuals or as a species. Just because we can imagine something doesn't mean we should actualize or manifest it ... something I think our culture needs to realize.

More than just a contemporary 'remake' of a Victorian horror novel, "Splice" is very much a cautionary tale that touches on many of the moral and philosophical issues that are QUITE current in our culture NOW, not the least of which is ethical responsibility. It strikes one at first as a mediocre film but the shocking lack of restraint or any ethical positioning of its characters focuses a very bright and damning light on much of our current state of being. I find myself constantly thinking about it. "Splice" finds all the buttons and hits them hard. Perhaps then it is much more successful than it first seems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Splice: Nouvelle espèce (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
Splice: Nouvelle espèce (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] by Vincenzo Natali (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews