Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Off to a Strong Start
I blew it. I didn't start watching this show until it's second season. Little did I know what I was missing.
Tony Shalhoub stars as Adrian Monk, a former police detective no longer on the force because of his obsessive-compulsive disorder and his phobias. He does still consult on some of their most bizarre cases, however. For example, how could an 800-lb. man...
Published on June 19 2004 by Mark Baker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The set was a great idea, but had problems with the Extras
I couldn't wait to get this set. The first thing I did was to watch the extra material. Hmmm. No sound. Well, there was the background music, but couldn't hear the voice track. There was one part of one clip where Bitty's voice came through, but otherwise nada. Amazon sent me a replacement, but it had the same problem. I went through all the episodes, and they...
Published on July 11 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Off to a Strong Start, June 19 2004
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monk: Season 1 (DVD)
I blew it. I didn't start watching this show until it's second season. Little did I know what I was missing.
Tony Shalhoub stars as Adrian Monk, a former police detective no longer on the force because of his obsessive-compulsive disorder and his phobias. He does still consult on some of their most bizarre cases, however. For example, how could an 800-lb. man commit murder? Why was a billionaire killed while mugging a man on a date? Did a fellow airline passenger really kill his wife? How could a man commit murder and run a marathon at the same time?
This series falls into the classic puzzle mystery genre, my personal favorite. Sometimes I have an idea why or how, but it takes the ending for me to know for sure. More often then not, I'm stumped. Along the way, we get plenty of laughs at the various situations we find Mr. Monk in. The obsessive-compulsive disorder and his fears are handled just right. They provide the clues needed and humor without being over the top or annoying.
Of course, the series is helped by its actors. Tony Shalhoub is excellent as Monk with a performance just slightly understated. He deserved his Emmy win for this season. Just as praise worthy is Bitty Schram as Monk's nurse Sharona. She mixes exasperated and compassionate while providing a strong sidekick character that doesn't get lost behind the lead. Ted Levine and Jason Gray-Stanford as the police Monk helps and Stanley Kamel as Monk's shrink are equally excellent.
The writing is sharp and manages to find humor without mocking Monk, a subtle but clear distinction.
This DVD set is great for old and new fans alike. All twelve first season episodes are present, including the previously released two-hour pilot. They're presented in widescreen and look sharp. The sound, while presented in 5.1 surround, is nothing spectacular. Still, it gets the job done. Disc four has some short extras discussing the creation of the show, obsessive-compulsive disorder, the cast and crew's obsessions, the Emmy win, and the casting of Bitty Schram and Ted Levine. I would have loved a commentary track or two and some outtakes, but they aren't to be found here.
While the extras could have been just a tad better, this set is a must have for those who love light mystery. It was nice to catch the cases I'd missed. This is one mystery show you can watch time and time again for the humor and character even if you remember how it ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yay for MONK!, July 2 2004
By 
Steve A. Mackie (Tucson, Arizona USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monk: Season 1 (DVD)
I will admit it, right at the beginning, that it would be very difficult to disappoint me with anything MONK-related. Nevertheless, this DVD set of the first season is so entertaining and interesting that I was glued to the set for hours. As a collector of all-things MONK, I was ecstatic to receive 2 shows (Marathon Man and Red-Headed Stranger) that I had never seen before. The additional featurettes were excellent and I even learned some new things about MONK and OCD I never knew before. All the MONK characters are so excellent and the shows so well-written that they can be watched again and again. Yay Tony Shalhoub (he is great in EVERYTHING he does) and YAY MONK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware, July 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Monk: Season 1 (DVD)
The episodes were immaculate- good writing, excellent ensemble, interesting plot twists. However, there is an inherent problem with Disc 4 - as noted by other reviewers- the extras were produced with no sound except music so there is NO extra material. I bought the set and then ordered disc 4 through Netflix- same problem. I don't know how else to inform the DVD producers but they will have to replace all Disc 4's in all sets sold. Wait to buy until the replacement discs have been made- then ENJOY!!! sarah in TX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Original Detective Series, July 13 2004
By 
David Girod (Westminster, Maryland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monk: Season 1 (DVD)
Monk's first season is some of the best comedy/drama that has been on TV in years. Tony Shaloub is a gifted actor, and breathes life and believability into the character of Mr. Monk. Monk's daily struggle with OCD is at time funny and because of Tony Shaloub's portrayal, touching. We can see that Monk hates being trapped by his OCD, even if the disease is a contributing factor to his Sherlock Holmesian power of observation. All of the episodes in season one are enjoyable. Watching Monk chase a suspect through a sewer in "Mr. Monk and the Candidate" is hilarious. The interaction between Monk and his nurse/assistant Sharona is fun to watch. In episodes "Mr. Monk takes a Vacation" and "Mr. Monk and the Airplane", the back and forth between the characters is a riot. I think the highlight of this box set is "Mr. Monk and Red Headed Stranger". Some of the subtle jokes about Willie Nelson are great!! And the ending of that episode is very touching. Ted Levine, the actor who played the serial killer in "Silence of the Lambs" plays Detective Stottlemeyer (sp?), and is really good at playing the straight man to Monk.
If you enjoy mysteries, that don't involve shoot outs and soap opera (NYPD Blue), or mysteries that don't just pander to the geriatric set (Diagnosis Murder & Matlock), then Monk is for you. With outstanding writing, and a great cast Monk: Season One is Highly Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't tell you how much I love this show!, July 6 2004
This review is from: Monk: Season 1 (DVD)
I can't help but wonder....If Sherlock Holmes had OCD, would he have been as funny as Monk?
Surely not. But Monk does owe his outstanding deductive reasoning skills to Holmes and, more directly, to Conan Doyle. The only derivative aspect that marks the show is that very skill. That being said, it is easy to forgive the series this fact. Most modern day mystery minded television and literature nods to Conan Doyle and, beyond him, Poe. And when something works so well and so effectively, why change it? It's still just as exhilirating to have Monk point out the origin of a callus on the left forefinger as it was when Rathbone in the guise of Holmes did something quite similar. As far as I'm concerned, it makes for great television (or film, for that matter.)
But what's the real reason to watch MONK? Because it is undoubtedly one of the absolute funniest television shows that you will ever hope to watch. In actuality there is nothing humorous about OCD. But the show not being reality, and the intelligence, emotion, and determination behind Monk's character, seem to make it okay to laugh. And laugh you will. Not smile, not chuckle, but full on contagious laughter. The kind that creates a well of euphoria in the pit of your stomach after you've finished. The kind that comes forth again when you recall a particular scene or bit of dialogue the next day. And what's even better is that the comedy inherent in Monk owes nothing to the slapstick that always prompted laughter in "comedies" of the past. It's intelligent and thoughtful. And it's carried off beautifully by Tony Shalhoub.
Shalhoub is adorable. He makes you believe in his character and you rally behind him whenever he encounters something he is afraid of. He deserves every accolade he garners for this show. And each of the cast members that surrounds him adds to the overall delight and humor of MONK.
I can only hope and cross my fingers that this show will remain on the air for a long time to come. And that they will manage to keep it as fresh and as funny as it is. My suggestion would be to watch the new season--it's even funnier than the first--at the same time as the episodes included in this first season set. For my family, a week isn't complete without a dose of MONK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The set was a great idea, but had problems with the Extras, July 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Monk: Season 1 (DVD)
I couldn't wait to get this set. The first thing I did was to watch the extra material. Hmmm. No sound. Well, there was the background music, but couldn't hear the voice track. There was one part of one clip where Bitty's voice came through, but otherwise nada. Amazon sent me a replacement, but it had the same problem. I went through all the episodes, and they worked. But just couldn't get a voice track out of the extra material.
Is it just me that had this problem? For me it ruined an otherwise outstanding buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this DVD set so they'll release Season 2!!, July 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Monk: Season 1 (DVD)
What can I say, this is a great show. The mysteries are interesting but it's the cast that's great! Tony Shaloub deserves an Emmy every year and so does Sharona. The Season One finale Mr. Monk and the Airplane was hilarious; you forget that he is trying to solve a murder. Let's make this a bestseller, so the corporate powers-that-be will release the second season, sooner than later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comedy, short season, May 23 2004
By 
This review is from: Monk: Season 1 (DVD)
A funny show where a quirky detective is alternately helped and hindered by his obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD) and several phobias. The premiere was two hours long and episodes were 60 minutes long. I'm impressed that this is widescreen and DTS! Four discs and running time of 563 minutes doesn't leave much room for the extras, but I haven't been able to find much detail about the extras or their length.
Premiere: 1 & 2. Mr. Monk and the Candidate: Monk works as a private investigator after losing his job on the police department due to his psychiatric problems. Three years later, he gets a call from his old boss who needs his help to solve a murder.
3. Mr. Monk and the Psychic: Monk and a psychic stage a psychic reading to catch a murderer.
4. Mr. Monk Meets Dale the Whale gs: Adam Arkin: Monk tries to prove how a bedridden 800 pound man could have murdered a judge.
5. Mr. Monk Goes to the Carnival: Monk tries to discover who murdered a man riding on a ferris wheel.
6. Mr. Monk Goes to the Asylum: While incarcerated in a psychiatric facility, Monk learns of an unsolved murder.
7. Mr. Monk and the Billionaire Mugger: A billionaire is shot dead while supposedly mugging a couple outside a movie theater.
8. Mr. Monk and the Other Woman: While investigating the murder of a lawyer and his assistant, Monk is attracted to another woman who understands him.
9. Mr. Monk and the Marathon Man: Monk tries to find out who killed a woman during the San Francisco marathon.
10. Mr. Monk Takes a Vacation: Monk goes on vacation to the beach with Benjy and Sharona. The vacation ends when Benjy witnesses a murder.
11. Mr. Monk and the Earthquake: A man dies during an earthquake and Monk tries to prove that he was murdered.
12. Mr. Monk and the Red-Headed Stranger gs Willie Nelson: Willie Nelson (playing himself) is suspected of killing his manager.
13. Mr. Monk and the Airplane gs Tim Daly: Monk's concerns about flying doesn't keep him from investigating what he thinks might be a murder. The flight attendant is played by Monk's wife in real life, Brooke Adams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite shows!!!, March 11 2004
By 
Mitch Weaver (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monk: Season 1 (DVD)
Meet Adrian Monk ( Tony Schloub). He is a man who has a countless number of phobias with being afraid of everything from heights and germs to milk. Adrian is also the greatest private detective around with a photographic memory and such a great eye for detail that it is almost creepy. As Adrian says, "it's a gift and a curse". Adrian used to be a homocide detective for the San Francisco Police Department, until his wife Trudy was killed in a car bomb. Three years have passed since, and Adrian's fears have made it impossible to be on the force. Adrian is now a private consultant for the department and assists Captain Leland Stottlemeyer ( Ted Levine) and Lieutenant Randall Disher (Jason Gray-Stanford). Also along for the ride is Monk's nurse/personal assitant Sherona Flemming ( Bitty Schram)who keeps Monk in line and helps him with each case.
If you were to describe private detective Adrian Monk, it would probably be along the lines of "Sherlock Holmes being afraid of everything". This is what makes "Monk" one of the best shows that is currently on television. It is hard to classify what type of show Monk really is. Some people including myself watch the show for the cases that Monk solves. Each case is very unpredictable and you actually have a great time trying to solve the case before Monk does. Others watch the show because it tends to be quite funny at times. Tomy Schloub is an amazing actor and is extremely versatile. He made a name for himself playing the character Antonio on the show "Wings". He brings the same comic genius to the character Adrian Monk. Bitty Schram is also brilliant as Sherona. Watching her take care of Monk is hilarious. They almost appear to be like the "Odd Couple" at times. Ted Levine and Jason Gray-Stratford are excellent as well.
Overall, "Monk" is one of my all time favorite shows. The actors involved are superb, each case is completely unpredictable, and the laughs are non stop. All I can say, is that it is about time that Monk is coming to DVD. The 13 episode first season is great from start to finish, and it deserves the DVD treatment. There is no word on what the extras will be yet, but the show is worth owning just for the episodes alone. A huge bonus is the fact that there is no commercial interruption!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest series on television, if not the finest, April 8 2004
This review is from: Monk: Season 1 (DVD)
Tony Shalhoub as Monk is a miracle to watch. His compassion and intelligence is evident in every moment of the performance. Bitty Schram takes lots of edgy chances and almost always makes the grade as his assistant Sharona. The mysteries are occasionally thin, but no one watches Monk for the mysteries alone - there's the brilliant, funny writing, the wonderfully sweet and involving overarching storyline (with one of the more compelling male/female relationships at the heart of the series...forget all the red herring flirtation between Sharona and dreary Disher, we all know Monk and Sharona are destined for each other, once he brings his late wife's killer to justice), and the commitment to quality of the whole production.
The DVD isn't out yet, but I know it'll be of the same quality as the released DVD pilot episode. As Adrian himself might say, I could be wrong but you know I'm not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monk: Season One [Import]
CDN$ 21.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews