Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's More about Water Conservation than Scenery
I was aware of the water conservation theme because of other reviews. Nonetheless, the scenery of the Grand Canyon is well presented from a personal perspective. Who can complain about well done scenery presentations of the Grand Canyon?

I enjoyed it, especially for some shots that match historical perspectives. They show what the Colorado River was like...
Published on May 28 2011 by Eddie Chu

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars grand canyon
was very diasappointed in this film. It was very misleading, thought it was about the grand canyon, instead it was more concerned about the water running through the grand canyon... I was under the impression that it was a film about the history of the grand canyon. not about some photographer who takes his daughter for a ride down the colorado river.. again just very...
Published on Dec 17 2011 by Anthony


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars grand canyon, Dec 17 2011
was very diasappointed in this film. It was very misleading, thought it was about the grand canyon, instead it was more concerned about the water running through the grand canyon... I was under the impression that it was a film about the history of the grand canyon. not about some photographer who takes his daughter for a ride down the colorado river.. again just very disa ppointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's More about Water Conservation than Scenery, May 28 2011
By 
Eddie Chu (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: IMAX Grand Canyon Adventure - River at Risk [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was aware of the water conservation theme because of other reviews. Nonetheless, the scenery of the Grand Canyon is well presented from a personal perspective. Who can complain about well done scenery presentations of the Grand Canyon?

I enjoyed it, especially for some shots that match historical perspectives. They show what the Colorado River was like decades ago versus what it is today. The comparison is appropriately alarming: we are using up resources much faster than Nature replenishes it. Inaction will mean major disruptions to our lives.

I am writing this during a visit to Las Vegas. Seeing the abundant use of water by the hotel features (fountains, decorative canals, etc. They promote evaporation loss big time) help me realize we are barging ahead in this wasteful use of water and things must change, or scarcity will impose changes that we are unprepared for.

A must-see for those who like the Grand Canyon scenery and also want to find out more about the need to conserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Water conservation, Not Grand Canyon, Feb. 12 2012
This review is from: IMAX Grand Canyon Adventure - River at Risk [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great idea, but this project was miss lead by the title.
This production starts off in the Grand Canyon then gets into water supply's of the world.
It's a shame they went about it in this manner.
Some 3D shots were shot incorrectly, flat against the river. Helicopter shots don't normally work well in 3D, one did.
I learned nothing about the creation of the Grand Canyon in the production and not enough about anything to do with the Grand Canyon.
Over all this project would be considered a dud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grand Canyon Adventure, April 17 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: IMAX Grand Canyon Adventure - River at Risk [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Beautiful photography; but not enough of it. Too much politics; albeit true but I paid the extra money for Blu ray for the scenery etc. Have been to the Grand Canyon four times and would go again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I won't recommend it, Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: IMAX Grand Canyon Adventure - River at Risk [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There are very little good 3D effects and no really good plans of the Grand Canyon. Its more a movie on the shortage of water than of the Grand Canyon. I was disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IMAX 3D – GRAND CANYON ADVENTURES: RIVER AT RISK [2008] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] [UK Release], May 18 2015
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: IMAX Grand Canyon Adventure - River at Risk [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
IMAX 3D – GRAND CANYON ADVENTURES: RIVER AT RISK [2008] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] [UK Release] From the makers of ‘EVEREST’ comes a powerful and cautionary film about the threat to one of America's most iconic landscapes. Follow the great Colorado River as it reveals the most pressing environmental story of our time, the world's growing shortage of fresh water. Join environmental advocates Robert F. Kennedy, Jr. and Wade Davis as they travel deep into the Grand Canyon on a thrilling ride through raging rapids and breath-taking canyons. With stunning photography and sweeping aerial shots with the renowned filmmakers capture all the majesty of the Colorado and The Grand Canyon in the largest film format ever made.

Narrated by Academy Award® winning filmmaker, actor and noted environmentalist Robert Redford and Wade Davis. Featuring the songs and music from the GRAMMY Award-winning Dave Matthews Band. This film will leave you with a deeper respect for rivers and water everywhere and the realization of how ordinary people can make a difference for our parched planet.

Originally conceived, photographed and released in ultra-high-resolution IMAX® 3D process. The 3D image is optimised for home viewing by scanning the original 15/70 image at an 8K resolution for this 3D Blu-ray release. This 3D Blu-ray will play on a standard Blu-ray player.

FILM FACT: The film won Best Cinematography of the Year and a Special Achievement in Filmmaking Award for the opening 3D title sequence from the Giant Screen Cinema Association. It also won a Golden Reel Award for Best Sound Editing by the Motion Picture Sound Editors USA and was nominated for a VES Award for Outstanding Visual Effects by the Visual Effects Society.

Director: Greg MacGillivray

Producers: Greg MacGillivray, Mark Krenzien and Shaun MacGillivray

Screenplay: Jack Stephens and Stephen Judson

Composer: Dave Matthews Band, Stefan Lessard and Steve Wood

Cinematography: Brad Ohlund, Greg MacGillivray, Jack Tankard and Ron Goodman (Ariel Photography)

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio. English: 2.0 Dolby Digital Stereo and French: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English

Running Time: 45 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Big Picture Digital Productions / IMAGE ENTERTAINMENT

Andrew’s 3D Blu-ray Review: ‘Grand Canyon Adventure: River At Risk’ combines exhilarating river-rafting action on America’s most iconic river with and the grandeur of the Grand Canyon to tell an engaging story of how ordinary people can make a difference for our parched planet, one that is running out of clean, fresh water.

Taking audiences on this illuminating rafting trip are two environmental heroes: world-renowned river advocate Robert F. Kennedy Jr. and author/anthropologist/explorer Wade Davis, accompanied by their daughters Kick Kennedy and Tara Davis. They are guided by Shana Watahomigie, a member of the Havasupai tribe and the first Native American to become a National Park Ranger and river guide.

IMAX 3D, when used appropriately, can be as dynamic a visual experience as one can hope to witness. In “Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk”, this is proven from the moment go. Rushing down the rapids of the Colorado River, the film’s credit sequence appears on drops of water that spray towards you. The Dave Matthews Band, a well-chosen source for the movie’s soundtrack, keeps the mood upbeat, and, like the kayaks and rafts that we follow through the movie’s journey, propelling forward. This IMAX film is a gorgeous stunning film and you can be assured, it looks totally spectacular, but the films topic is quite grave, especially on the impending environmental issue as well. The truth is that the Colorado River, like so many rivers around the world, is experiencing a drought that literally threatens its total existence, unless the world wakes up.

The film follows anthropologist Wade Davis and his daughter, Tara Davis, as they photograph and follow the river through the Grand Canyon. Also along for the trip are Robert Kennedy, Jr., son of the senator and a long-time environmental activist, and his daughter Kathleen Kennedy. Early in the film, Robert Kennedy, Jr. reflects on how meaningful it is to share this particular adventure with his daughter, who is just preparing to leave for college. Footage of his father taking him to the Grand Canyon when he was roughly the same age makes this moment more resonant.

The crew has as its river guide Shana Watahomigie, the first Native American to become a National Park Service river guide and ranger in the Grand Canyon, and whose ancestors have lived along the Colorado River for centuries. Her knowledge of the river at every turn is impressive. At the beginning of the film, Shana must leave her daughter, too young to make the trip, behind. However, showing these cross-generational relationships in the context of this adventure delivers a clear message: we owe it to our children to insure their access to our natural resources. Clearly, so much is in the balance.

A stirring score, featuring songs and music from the Grammy Award® winning Dave Matthews Band, sets the mood for this adventure that explores the issues, presents real solutions, and delivers an uplifting message of hope for future generations.

The film is just one in a series of 10 IMAX films regarding our planet’s water (‘The Living Sea’ and ‘Dolphins’ are two others) and produced by the MacGillivray Freeman Films, a production company committed to its environmentalist message as well as to excellence in IMAX film making. In addition to the film’s beautiful cinematography, its adroit editing, and the aforementioned soundtrack, Robert Redford’s exceptional narration is also worth mentioning. In addition to the expertise of both Wade Davis and Robert Kennedy Jr., Robert Redford, like Al Gore, gives the film a an authenticity that can only come from someone with his level of commitment to environmentalism.

3D Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘Grand Canyon Adventure’ on this Blu-ray Disc certainly benefits from having gone through the process of being scanned at 8k before any blow-ups or processing was done for this awesome aspect ratio 1.78:1 high definition transfer. The results here are truly breath-taking, with an extremely high level of perceived resolution at Blu-ray's standard 2k depth. The pixels seem denser, the source looks immaculately clean, sharp and detailed, and the colour reproduction is so vibrant it is almost like looking through a window. This presentation is evidence that the best 70mm film handled well rivals or even exceeds the best high definition recording techniques available today in terms of resolution. What really gets you in the mood before the film starts is the impressive ‘Grand Canyon Adventure’ Titles before you start the film.

3D Blu-ray Audio Quality – With its awesome English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround track ‘Grand Canyon Adventure: A River at Risk’ is very engaging for an IMAX feature from the MacGillivray Freeman Films. The surround mix is filled with the thunderous sounds of rushing rapids throughout the soundstage and the lively music of the Dave Matthews Band mixed discretely into the five main channels is used effectively to give weight to the sound effects when necessary, and dialogue is clear and cleanly balanced in the centre channel. What is also very impressive is the female narrator at the start of the film gives you a fantastic surround audio adventure with all your speakers being used.

3D Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Special Feature Documentary: The Making Of Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk [2008] [480I] [4:3] [33:40] This is an in-depth look at the behind-the-scenes look at the making of this awesome IMAX 3D film. But of course it explains the thinking behind this spectacular film, and we get contributions from people like Greg MacGillivray [Director/Producer]; Stephen Judson [Editor/Co-writer]; Wade Davis [Author/Anthropologist]; Tara Davis [Wade’s Daughter]; Robert F. Kennedy Jr. [Environmentalist Activist]; Brad Ohlund [Director of Photography]; Rob Walker [Assistant Cameraman]; Mark Krenzien [Producer]; Stefan Lessard [Bassist, Dave Mathews Band]; Steve Wood [Composer]; Alan Markowitz [Visual Effects Producer]. What comes out of this brilliant documentary, is the reason why they decided to make this IMAX 3D film and it is to promote the environmental impact that humans are causing on a grand scale in depleting the Colorado River, especially the ever growing population of Las Vegas and surrounding area, where people do not realise what dangers are before them by 2020, as there could be an environmental disastrous bombshell. So to highlight the problems, Greg MacGillivray though that the IMAX 3D would be the ideal film format to show people what humans are causing so many problems and to hopefully save the Colorado River. You also get to hear about the awesome logistics in filming in the IMAX 3D format, especially how big and heavy the cameras are and how they were able to film the trip down the dangerous rapids. We also hear why Greg MacGillivray decided to use the Dave Mathews Band that features the songs and music throughout the film. So all in all this is a totally brilliant documentary and must watch. The only shame that they could not of been able to film it is the 1080p encoded image and also the 16:9 aspect ratio.

A Message From TEVA [2008] [1080p] [16:9] 5:56] The TEVA company is proud to support this conservation environmental film and a company to raising awareness and stewardship of our world’s natural places and have included this series “The Naturist,” for your amusement and they warn you not to try this where you live. What you get to see is this guy wandering around a woodland area, who is not given any credit, shows you what not to do when it comes to enjoying the nature environment, like taking some honey from a bees hive, but gets badly stung profusely, so to counteract this he shows you how to eat poison ivy and how to apply it to your face to counteract the stings, but you get to see his face becomes a right old mess, so tells you not to try this. But you also get 2 other short films, on how to survive with nature, but as you will see this guy gets into more serious troubles, so again the message becomes very clear, do not copy what you view on how to survive the same sort of environment.

Water Saving Tips From KOHLER! [2008] [1080p] [16:9] [2:50] This is more like an info advert, and is introduced by David Kohler, who is the Executive Vice President informs us the best ways on saving water and that the Company has been in business for 135 years.

Tara’s Music Video: Water [2008] [480i] [4:3] [4:06] Tara Davis appears in the film with her father, but we are informed that she is wonderful vocalist/songwriter [you must be joking] Tara along with her band “The Engine Room” create the song title “Water” for the ‘Grand Canyon Adventure’ Blu-ray. Sadly Tara Davis is so out of tune and flat as a pancake and I cannot understand how they allowed her into the recording studio, but the only bonus is that you clips from the IMAX 3D film and also some behind-the-scenes you don’t get to see elsewhere and on top of all that, the sound is totally atrocious. Definite thumbs down verdict for me and should have been left out of the extras.

Sample The Film Soundtrack: Once Greg MacGillivray began shooting ‘Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk’ he knew that the film would need some special and evocative music, music that could stand up to the excitement of the white-water action and convey the vital importance of the worldwide water crisis.

When the Dave Mathews Band, with their indelible melodies, propulsive rhythms and moving lyrics, agreed to use some of their hits for the film, the film producers were thrilled.

The Dave Mathews Band bassist Stefan Lessard and composer Steve Wood recruited Carter Beauford and Boyd Tinsley, as well as frequent collaborator Tim Reynolds, long time Dave Mathews Band friend Richard hardy, who plays the Native American flute, legendary steel guitar player Greg Leisz and guitarist Michael Hamilton. Stefan Lessard and Steve Wood play bass and keyboards, guitar and harmonica respectively. Steve Wood, who has worked on many IMAX® Theatre musical scores for film director Greg MacGillivray, and Stefan Lessard arranged and recorded variations of six Dave Mathews Band songs and together created new compositions for the film. The CD soundtrack is also available for purchase at selected IMAX® Theatres and online at www.amazon.com and they have included two audio tracks only for your listening pleasure, which are entitled “Grand Canyon Railway” and “Lava Falls.”

About The Director Greg MacGillivray: Greg MacGillivray film career spans more than 40 years. As a cinematographer, he has shot more 70mm films than anyone else in history, and more than two million feet in length. Greg MacGillivray has directed and produced many of the most successful large format films of all time, including ‘Everest,’ the highest grossing film in the giant screen industry, ‘Dolphins,’ ‘The Living Sea’ and ‘Coral Reef Adventure.’

He has received two Academy Award® nominations and the highest honour bestowed by the Museum of Science, Boston, the Bradford Washburn Award, for his contribution to science education. In 2001, ‘To Fly!’ was inducted into the IMAX hall of Fame, followed by ‘The Living Sea’ six years later. To learn more about the director and MacGillivray Freeman Films, then please visit www.macgillivrayfreemanfilms.com and you will get to view a very nice web site.

What you also get with About The Director Greg MacGillivray is the Greg MacGillivray Filmography List and the films he has been involved with, and you start with ‘Arabia’ [2010] and go through to the start of his career with ‘A Cool Wave of Color’ [1964] and there are a total of 32 film titles listed.

Trailer Show: Here we get to view 16 Spectacular IMAX Theatrical Trailers and they are as follows:
The Alps [2007] [1080p] [16:9] [1:30]
Dinosaurs Live [2007] 1080p] [16:9] [1:20]
Grand Canyon Adventure [2008] [1080p] [16:9] [1:42]
Hurricane On The Bayou [2006] [1080p] [16:9] [1:33]
Journey Into Amazing Caves [2001] [1080p] [16:9] [1:24]
Mummies: Secrets of the Pharaohs [2007] [1080p] [16:9] [1:52]
Ride Around The World [2006] [480i] [4:3] [2:08]
Volcanoes of the Deep Sea [2003] [1080p] [16:9] [1:48]
Super Speedway [2000] [1080p] [16:9] [1:42]
Fighter Pilot: Operation Red Flag [2004] [1080p] [16:9] [00:40]
Amazon [1997] [1080p] [16:9] [1:48]
The Living Sea [1995] [1080p] [16:9] [2:10]
Dolphins [2000] [1080p] [16:9] [1:54]
Coral Reef Adventure [2004] [1080p] [16:9] [1:44]
The Magic of Flight [1996] [1080p] [16:9] [1:32]
Van Gogh [2009] [1080p] [16:9] [1:34]

Finally, ‘Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk’ is a breathtakingly-filmed IMAX 3D presentation that abounds with gorgeous photography of some of the Earth's most precious natural resources. Though the message sometimes overwhelms the imagery, and especially reinforces the film's profound message and seems to make it all the more timely, particularly considering that the 3D imagery and especially the latest high definition technology only further enhances our natural wonders of the area and deliver the next-best sensation to actually being there. This 3D Blu-ray release of ‘Grand Canyon Adventure: River at Risk’ looks totally fantastic and is also an equally awesome sensation with the raft ride down the Colorado River and definitely this Blu-ray release deserves to be included in everyone’s 3D Blu-ray collection. ‘Grand Canyon: River at Risk’ is one of several IMAX 3D titles now making its way to 3D Blu-ray releases from the folks at IMAGE ENTERTAINMENT, and it's also one of the best. And it is "the most pressing environmental story of our time" as the Blu-ray Cover informs us, especially maintaining our planet's fresh water supply is an important issue and it's one we should all be more mindful of. And with this disc's impressive 3D visuals, I find myself for the first time eager to see where Blu-ray 3D might go from here. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3D's effects are wonderful, very beautiful scene!, Jan. 18 2012
This review is from: IMAX Grand Canyon Adventure - River at Risk [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I really enjoy those Imax movies, they teach us while we are part of truly pleasant adventure. I recommend those to everyone even my five years old love those!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy this dvd!!!, Jan. 7 2012
This review is from: IMAX Grand Canyon Adventure - River at Risk [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This Video says it is Grand Canyon adventure. What it really is, is a left leaning story about our lack of water. The terrible job that man has done in looking after our water supply.
I wrongfully thought that it would be filled with breath taking scenes of the Grand Canyon when it was mearly a back drop for a lecture from one of our favorite lefty environmentalist Robert Redford.
This should be advertised as a film about water, and given to left leaning folks like green peace and david suzuki and elizabeth may...and I guess a lot of hollywood actors who love to put a voice to preceived problems but little else.

Unless you are a lefty stay away...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed, March 2 2011
This review is from: IMAX Grand Canyon Adventure - River at Risk [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was disapointed with this film. I thought I would see some real 3D images of the Grand Canyon. The River at Risk was okay as a documentary but should not be a 3D film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good documentary no 3D effects, Aug. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: IMAX Grand Canyon Adventure - River at Risk [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good documentary with poor 3D effects...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

IMAX Grand Canyon Adventure - River at Risk [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray]
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 21.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews