Customer Reviews


293 Reviews
5 star:
 (219)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC
Absolutely great set, with hours and hours of bonus features. It may be a little expensive, but there's lots of options to import it (the UK Amazon site is cheaper). Regardless, the video and audio are some of the best on Blu-ray, and the best this series has ever looked. Well worth your money, if you're willing to spend it. Plus, there's over 50 hours of special...
Published on Nov. 3 2010 by Nathan Snelgrove

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What's a dude (or dudette) to do??
Here's the big question regarding the Alien series: do you spring for the massive 9 disc boxset, or do you save a little cash (and time) by only picking up the two good movies in the series?
Folks, the first two films are inarguably classics of their genres. But the last two films are pretty disposable. Especially 3, a movie that just exists for no explainable...
Published on June 6 2004 by TheBandit


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, Nov. 3 2010
This review is from: Alien Anthology [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Absolutely great set, with hours and hours of bonus features. It may be a little expensive, but there's lots of options to import it (the UK Amazon site is cheaper). Regardless, the video and audio are some of the best on Blu-ray, and the best this series has ever looked. Well worth your money, if you're willing to spend it. Plus, there's over 50 hours of special features (estimates put it at 65+), not to mention the "digibook" set is absolutely gorgeous and maybe the best set I've ever seen for any release, period.

If Star Wars gets this sort of treatment next year, I'll be super happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you ever wanted to know about Aliens-It's all here., Dec 10 2008
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is another of my retro reviews for a product that has been around for quite awhile but I have never turned my attention to,until now.
First off I cannot believe the price drop that has occured since its' initial release;a drop of about $60-70.00....amazing.
This is a set NO Alien fan should be without.This is the WHOLE enchillada,and then some.What you get here are all four Alien movies,presented in their original widescreen formats and in two forms;in their original theatrical presentation AND in new director cuts.The most material added was in Aliens by director James Cameron and the least in the last,Alien Ressurection.I have viewed all movies in both versions and after viewing the directors' editions I have never watched anything else.The bonus footage is definitely a plus.
I have owned this set almost since its' inital release and I cannot tell you how many times I have watched and rewatched this series and it always keeps me coming back for more.Each film has been transferred wonderfully and everything,picture and sound wise,is as it should be.There is included here an extra disc with a multitude of fascinating extras and all in all the back slip cover tells us there are nearly 50 hours total worth of extras throughout the entire series discs.Just phenomenal.
Opening the set itself can be a bit unwieldy at first and takes time to get used to.It is folded into two large sections and when you take them out of the protective large cover/box it is in you lay them down and they fold out into two main parts.Each in turn folds out about three times in opposite directions so if you want to open the entire set you need ALOT of space underneath it.I would only recommend opening one section at a time.I found it a bit of a bugboo intially but the more you play with it the more you get the hang of it.
"Alien" was a groundbreaking picture in its' day and the rest of the movies have kept that tradition alive and well and each new director/movie has expanded on that idea(with their own sense of vision) while keeping faithful to the Alien dictum.
20th Century Fox did a superb job on this set in its' release year of 2003 and did the franchise proud in doing so;easily standing the test of time.That is why it is so unfortunate to see the franchise being dragged down by Foxs' AVP series,especially the latest offering "Requiem".Whether Fox has the where withall to stop this slide is problematic.
However we do have this set to remind us(and Fox) what exactly the Alien franchise is all about/should be all about;good actors,good acting,good scipts,good direction,good special effects and an unerring sense of the essence and spirit of the Alien universe.These films in this set are the foundations of the series and are a must see/have for all Alien and Sci-Fi fans everywhere.At this price there is no time like right now to get your set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good picture., July 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am an Aliens fan. I am rating the disc quality, not the movies. After 25 years some of the movie scenes seem cheesy compared to today s technology, like a computer screen that makes teletype noises and strobe lights on a space ship and steam blowing out everywhere on a ship,etc, but its still a good watch. (Sorry, had to throw that in.) So far I have only watched the first movie of the four. But I assume as others are saying that most of the quality is in the first and second film. I agree that the first film is very nice. The restoration is very good to excellent on blu-ray. I would say almost as good as any new movie. Good colors and sharp images. The sound was good as well. I did notice what I thought was a bit of distortion for about 30 seconds in the first part of the movie when they are outside in the planet winds but I'm not sure if its distortion or if that's the way its supposed to sound. Anyway, good sound, good movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of the series, Dec 19 2011
This review is from: Alien Anthology [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The four films are better looking than ever on blu-ray. The special features are more in-depth than they've ever been. I particularly like the making of "Alien 3" documentary, with all the restored footage of David Fincher's issues with the studio, and learning all about the original screenplay that almost was (and would've been far better in my opinion). A true gift for fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must-own for an Alien FAN!! (Like me.), Oct. 25 2005
This review is from: NEW Alien Quadrilogy (DVD) (DVD)
Holy heck where do I start? I dunno how this set is only worth a hundred bucks! Nine discs and every single thing any Alien fan could ask for!
This set is better than the Star Wars set, the Indiana Jones set, the Jurassic Park set, holy cow! This has two discs for every movie, plus a bonus disc with tons of other cool features! Man... every Sci-Fi fan needs to own this, as well as the Predator films. It don't get better than this!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Finchers negative critics, GET A LIFE, June 24 2005
This review is from: NEW Alien Quadrilogy (DVD) (DVD)
You dont understand why David Fincher did'nt contribute on Quad?????? tell me what would you do?????, June 25, 2005
Reviewer: M. taylor "alien crazy" (Australia) - See all my reviews

I own Alien Quad region 1 and 4 (Australian and US version)and also Alien Legacy (region 2 UK, 5 disk limited edition)i came up with this crazy idea to experiment with my multi-region player and to compare the difference in these box sets (obviously one has to be a mad collecter to do this). And yes even though the 2 Quads are almost the same in material (Legacy has material Quads don't have), they all differ in different ways, and i have had a ball comparing and collecting, and i have bonus material coming out of my ears, not a bad way to recover from 2 time consuming operations.
Result: Alien Quad region 1 US Rules
Why????
Region 1 Picture and sound quality is better
Region 1 has a deleted scene marker, region 2 and 4 do not.
Region 1 has deleted scenes in Theatre release menus, region 4 does not.
Region 4 jumps, pauses, flashes, all by a spit second (not a big deal)
Region 4 has a great and safe box design and artwork, region 1 is bigger has more artwork BUT is vunrable to fall apart although i have'nt had the problems other people have had, my advise is look after your box and be gentle and it should last.
Region 2 Alien Legacy has a great 5th disk (material not seen in any Quad boxes)and cool original cases. Region 1 US RULES and im Australian.
All you people critizing David Fincher for not contributing on commentary's for Alien 3, do some research with the crap he had to put up with so you know what you are complaining about(no wonder he did'nt want to show up, and tell me what would you do???????)
David Fincher negative critics GET A LIFE, for positive or nasty remarks you can email me on taylor5821@hotmail.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An all around great set, with a couple of flaws., April 2 2004
By 
Michael Pappalardo (Ronkonkoma, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NEW Alien Quadrilogy (DVD) (DVD)
Finally, some of the greatest movies ever are collected in one huge set, getting the special DVD treatment that they deserve. 2 Discs per movie, with a final special features disc, making up 9 discs in all...what more could you ask for?
Alien gets a great treatment, remastered and extended with some of the scenes originally left on the cutting room floor. Its the same edition that was played on the big screen in November of 2003. It kind of slows down the movie just a bit, but its nice to see some more of the plot elements and extra shots of the alien that were left out. The original movie is also included, and looks great. The commentary sheds alot of insight into the film and the extras are well worth it. This is one of the best special treatments in the set.
Aliens is still awesome. The Special Edition, which has been out for many years, looks better than ever. Also included is the original theatrical version, though I much prefer the extended edition now. The commentary and extras are all well worth it, and Aliens still stands out as the best movie in the series, though the debate still rages between Alien and Aliens.
Of all the movies however, I found Alien 3 to be the most intriguing in the set. After so many years of hearing about it, the 'Workprint Edition' is FINALLY shown. Adding an extra half hour to the film, Alien 3 takes on a whole new face. Bloodier, darker, and with completely new plot elements, Workprint edition was definitely an interesting spin on the Alien 3 plot. The death of Hicks is shown in more unnecessarily gruesome detail(to this day I don't know why they opted to murder him so horribly). The birth of the alien and prisoner Golic's obsession with it are two of the most notable differences. There is ALOT of things that they could have left in, but at the same time, I see why they cut alot of it out. The workprint edition was restored to the best of their ability, but some sound is muffled. They provided sub-titles for the scenes were the audio is too low to hear, or is being drowned out by background sound. I would've liked to have seen more of the alien shots that were included in the workprint edition, but the original movie is ok the way it is. Not all of the workprint material was included either...some brief shots were still cut out. Overall, this was the most interesting aspect of the set.
Alien: Resurrection is still utter garbage...it's just another 8 minutes of utter garbage, complete with the director rather arrogantly explaining how he thought his movie was a masterpiece and he didn't feel the need to add the deleted footage. Depiste this, Resurrection is still one of the worst movies ever conceived, and definitely the movie that ruined this series. I watched it once, and never had a desire to pop it in again.
The discs were all in pristine working condition and nicely decorate. The extras disc is ok...its mostly promotional material from all the films. Most of the best stuff is one the individual movie discs themselves.
There is one thing wrong with this set...and as many people pointed out, it is the unbeleivably ridiculous packaging. You practically need a dining room table to stretch out the entire box and pick which movie you want. I don't know who the genious was who came up with the packaging, but he/she needs to be smacked about 2 dozen times. Some of the movies could have had a bit more extras, and maybe cleared up just a bit more, but otherwise everything else is fine. As for the other criticism I see about this set...the word 'Quadrilogy' not being a real world...who really cares? I think its more ridiculous to complain about that...you're buying the set for the movies, you aren't buying it to grade it on grammar or turn it in for your doctorate thesis.
Overall, if you're an Alien fan, then you must own this set. However, I recommend buying each DVD individually and save yourself the trouble of dealing with the ridiculous packaging on this box set. Each 2 disc movie and the special materials disc can all be bought seperately, so you won't be missing anything. Regardless, get this set! Alien fans won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only thing that stopped me from giving this a 5 was....., March 15 2004
This review is from: NEW Alien Quadrilogy (DVD) (DVD)
Ok let me start off by saying these movies are awesome. I would of given it a five but Alien ressuerection was what stopped me.(read on i'll explain).
Alien (1979)
This movie was very good. It had the horror, the suspense, and the question "what next".The seen with the chestburster was pure originality. It is about a ship with 8 crew members who are in hyper sleep and on their way home. They are then woken up by a distress call and go to a foreign planet to check it out. Little did they know this was a warning not a distress call. I give it a 9/10.
Aliens (1986)
Even though the first was great this was much better. It has way more action, much more suspense, AND MOST IMPORTANT MORE ALIENS (INCLUDING THE QUEEN).In this movie Ripley is picked up by a spaceship where later she finds she's been asleep for 57 years. She then accompinies a military group to go to the alien planet to kill them all. Little does she know this is probably the biggest adventure she has ever faced.
I give this a 10/10 (best of the series)
Alien 3 (1992)
This is definetly the darkest of the series. I find it to be pretty good. It's a little slow at the beggining but it gets fast paced later on. In this one Ripley's ship crashes on a prison planet. She later finds out that the crash was caused by an alien who got on bored. She finds that all 25 men on the planet are all rapest and very religous and must be very careful around them. Nobody believes her about the alien that is on the planet and they find it to be true when they get picked off one by one. Then Ripley finds out that the Queen alien is IMPLANTED in side of her and will die. She is determined to kill the alien and then herself to save mankind.
This movie is decent and gets an 8/10.
Alien Ressurection (1997)
This movie was a disapointment to me. I hated the way ripley was so close to the aliens especially at the end when she crys as her "child"(the alien)gets sucked out of the ship. In the Fourth installment of the Quadrilogy Ripley is cloned(since she dies in the 3rd one) so scientist can get the alien out of her to breed and study. While she looks the same she has quality's like an alien(acid blood,temper,super strength). She then says she is the mother of the aliens. The aliens get loose and she must try to stop them with the help of the crew members.
I find this the worst of the series and it's lucky to even get the score i'm giving it 6/10.
If ressurection was better i would of given the set 5 stars. See for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is an improvement over the "Alien Legacy" set, but STILL, Feb. 25 2004
This review is from: NEW Alien Quadrilogy (DVD) (DVD)
...if I had it to do all over again, I believe I would have bought the movies one 2-disc set at a time rather than all at once in this box set.
Buying the box set is a bit easier on the bank account, and there is a bonus 9th DVD that can't be had any other way...but the 9th disc is more of an appendix and even the most hardcore "Alien" fan probably won't watch it more than once.
The problem I have with the box set isn't its content; the alternative versions of each movie alone make this latest reissue absolutely necessary...and as each episode in the series has an entire separate DVD's worth of bonus features, a viewer can literally spend an entire weekend watching a single movie.
However, the box set's composition is a serious let-down. Its design means that it must be ceremoniously unfolded each time a disc is viewed. This puts extra wear on the package, contributing to an early disintegration. The rubber-based glue used to secure the plastic disc fasteners to the cardboard packaging is also of inferior grade; even the slightest temperature fluctuations cause the glue to lose its cohesive qualities. The end result is that that the whole thing falls apart. I'd expect a lot better from Fox, especially considering the fanbase for this franchise.
To make a long rant short, buy these reissues. Even the ones for the chapters you might not have cared for previously; I promise you that they've all been done to the nines and are absolutely worth spending the time seeing again (sometimes as though for the first time). But steer clear of the box set; Fox has given us a shoddy product in this guise and they must be held accountable by the fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For fans of series, otherwise might disappoint, Jan. 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: NEW Alien Quadrilogy (DVD) (DVD)
This set should only be bought if you liked at least 3/4 of the movies in this box set. I do not know why people are making a big deal about "Quadrilogy" versus "tetralogy". "Quadrilogy" may not be a word but who cares. The following statements are my opinions and not facts-keep this in my mind, I might have a different opinion then you!
The restoration of the movies:
Alien (1.85 anamorphic, English 5.1 DTS, English 5.1 Dolby Digital, Spanish 2.0 Surround, THX Certified): I was pleased with the restoration of this very old film (1979). 4.9/5
Aliens (2.35 anamorphic, English 5.1 Dolby Digital, Spanish 2.0 Surround, THX Certified) : The picture quality and sound were good but it was fullscreen instead of widescreen(all the rest of the films were widescreen). 3.25/5
Alien 3 (2.35 anamorphic, English 5.1 Dolby Digital, Spanish 2.0 Surround, THX Certified): Good sound and picture quality for the most part. 4.5/5
Alien Resurrection (2.35 anamorphic, English 5.1 DTS, English 5.1 Dolby Digital, Spanish 2.0 Surround, THX Certified): The best in terms of picture and sound quality but also the newest version (1997) thus the quality is expected. 4.75/5
These reviews are based on the theatrical versions and not on the special editions or directors cut.
Total: 4.4/5 (88% B+)
The movies:
Alien: The first and in my opinion the most original is probably the best in the entire set. 4.9/5
Aliens: Also very good, though the acting from the little girl was kind of bad. 4.5/5
Alien 3: Underrated in my opinion. Liked the dark theme and the fact they killed off Ripley in the end. 4.75/5
Alien Resurrection: Bizarre, but in some places funny. In a way underrated but then it contains too many plot holes. 3.75/5
These reviews are based on the theatrical versions and not on the special editions or directors cut.
Total: 4.5/5 (90% A-)
The Extras:
Alien: Besides getting an extra version of the film (Directors Cut) you get a lot of featurettes, photo galleries, and theatrical trailers, teasers, TV spots, and audio commentary for both versions of Alien. It’s safe to say you’re overloaded with extras. The Directors cut has only about 8 minutes added to it, you will watch it once but never again. As for the rest a lot of it is just recycling the rest but still for the most part you will be pleased with the extras for this movie. 4.8/5
Aliens: Same stuff (the new version is called a special edition instead of Directors Cut) as Alien except less of it but that means less recycling, you get about the same amount of information as Alien but not as redundant. The special edition adds about 20 minutes to film (including a lengthy look at what happens to the colonists) but same as before the original is best. 4.8/5
Alien 3: Same stuff as Aliens but its missing David Fincher (the Director, all the other movies had the Directors make appearances). I guess that’s so because of the history with Fincher and fox as you will find out from the featurettes. The special edition version (has some sound difficulty in the beginning) adds 30 minutes and some interesting bits to the story, but again the extra material slows down the pace of the movie. Some of the bonus material (like the audio commentary) comes off stale because of lack of energy but otherwise and in-depth look at an interesting event that surrounded Alien 3. 4.4/5
Alien Resurrection: Same as before. The special edition version had about 8 minutes but its hard to tell the difference between the two (even with such subtle changes I still prefer the original. Jean-Pierre Jeunet can be funny at times spicing up the commentary, but unfortunately there is very little interesting things to say about Alien Resurrection. 4/5
Total: 4.5/5 (90% A-)
Presentation of the material:
CD Layout: Very little to say except that the hours of hours of information was easily accessible with the menus (basically you did not have to hunt for the information like some DVD’s make you do). 4.95/5
Box construction: Came un-glue with almost no use. I try to open it as little as possible to avoid wear and tear. Fox should have spent more time on this (at least it looked nice). 2/5
Sensible: It takes up little space once folded but unfolding it you might discover that it’s longer than five feet. They could have made it like the Indiana Jones box set (higher quality material, individual boxes for movie in a huge box set, does not unfold Five feet!). 3.5/5
Total: 3.48/5 (70% C-)
Total for this box set: 4.22/5 (84% B)
This is probably best for fans, otherwise you might want to skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alien Anthology [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 43.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews