Customer Reviews


30 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EPIC CUTENESS!, Feb. 25 2011
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kirby's Epic Yarn - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
This is one of those games that are usually bought for the kids but ends up being enjoyed more by their parents. Kirby is back and seems to have had a complete makeover. And this time around, he simply refuses to stay in the shadow of the other Nintendo characters.

The game design is unique, fresh and beautiful, not to mention adorable. Kirby is enchanted out of his usual abilities and is trapped in a world made of fabrics. The design, however, is not just eye-candy, it plays an integral part in the gameplay which is equally imaginative and surprising.
It is as if the gameworld is made up from cloth, loose threads and your grandmother's yarn basket. The colorful items that make up the characters and the backgrounds will bring back memories of preschool naivete but they also serve numerous in-game functions and transformations such as weapons, levers, surf-boards, wings...The game is a creativity bomb that went off in a seamstress' shop.

The sounds add greatly to the overall experience. The background music is soothing like a familiar lullaby whereas the action sounds will bring back the echo of the laughs we had during our own Saturday morning cartoon marathons.

KIRBY'S EPIC YARN is a side-scrolling platformer in the classic sense (move forward, collect items, reach the boss and beat him) but I promise you it will not feel like any game you have played so far. The levels have been designed with endless imagination and a lot of care.

My only complain is that the game is a bit short. Adults may find it a bit easy as well (Kirby cannot die, taking a hit means he looses some of the collected beads); however, it is not that easy to complete having found and collected every item, making it a game one would want to replay again and again.
As a bonus, with a second controller, two people can join in and play cooperatively, greatly increasing the fun but also the challenge to complete the game.

Be warned: you bring Kirby home, get ready to wrestle your young ones for the controller.

RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the little ones!, June 9 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kirby's Epic Yarn - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
I bought this game for my son a few months ago. He's four years old. He absolutely loves this game! It is easy for him to get through the levels, and the great thing is the Kirby never dies! So no "fits" when the game is over, or the player "dies". The graphics are awesome and the music is cute too. I highly recommend this game for anyone that loves Mario, but needs a break. Kirby is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Family Game On Wii!, July 21 2011
By 
Jhuzen Ketsugo "Ketsy Baby" (Toronto, On CANADA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kirby's Epic Yarn - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
Kirby's Epic Yarn brings so much fun and whimsy to the screen, it is simply brilliant. A great 1 or 2 player game for all ages and skill stages, the endless play makes it a "frustration free" zone for young players and adults alike.

The charming patchwork of fabric "worlds" is a stunning visual backdrop to fun and sometimes challenging game play. Endlessly opening worlds means a game that can be played over and over and never gets stale. Kids will love the "Angie" Angel catch-up feature that allows them to magically catch up to the more skilled players, and the charming story is not only fun to listen to, but allows young readers, 5-7 years old, to read special pop-up messages to Kirby and Prince Fluff.

So much to do it's hard to get the kids to put it down and let the adults have a go, but it is never boring. The giggles abound as young players learn to pick up and toss their co-players about the screen.

A must have in any Wii game collection. You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My G1 and G2 boys love this!, July 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirby's Epic Yarn - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
Although some reviews say this is very easy to play, my G1 and G2 boys love to play this ! The graphics are cute and lovely too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun no matter how old you are!, March 8 2011
By 
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kirby's Epic Yarn - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
my boyfriend and i are 24 and we love playing this game together. ive always been a kirby fan and the game doesn't disappoint. my boyfriend doesn't play video games but he makes an exception for this game. its a really great way to spend time together =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enchanting, Nov. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirby's Epic Yarn - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
cuteness overload, no doubt. this is exactly the kinda game i've been looking for..mindless adventure perfect for a stoner like me lol jk! been playing about 4 hours now and there's still a lot to go. btw it's not really mindless.. i'm collecting as many diamonds and furniture thingies so that's fun too. great for kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still my favorite wii game so far, April 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirby's Epic Yarn - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
My whole family enjoyss this game. Young and old alike will enjoy playing the 2 player games. There is an option for the second inexperienced player to press a button to fly over to other player. making them able to skip orfly over hard spots. Amazing cartoonish graphics. Very fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The game is easy to navigate with clear direction of which stage is ..., Dec 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirby's Epic Yarn - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game is addictive. It is similar to other kirby games I have played with a bit of a twist, Kirby is made of yarn! The game is easy to navigate with clear direction of which stage is next. I enjoyed the attention to detail and the craft-like spin on Kirby. Lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy with purchase, Dec 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirby's Epic Yarn - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
Purchased for grandson for Christmas, has not played it yet, but he loves the Kirby games, so I'm sure he will like it. Reasonable shipping time, happy with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, it came quick, Jan. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirby's Epic Yarn - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
The game came very quickly, and I was happy with my purchase. It's too bad that the price dropped to 19.99 a week after I purchased it though. Oh well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kirby's Epic Yarn - Wii Standard Edition
Kirby's Epic Yarn - Wii Standard Edition by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
CDN$ 49.99 CDN$ 29.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews