Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's On Like Donkey Kong!
If I had to pick out one glaring fault with Donkey Kong Country Returns, it would be the lack of classic controller support. Old school gamers will be disappointed that it wasn't included, but will be able to adapt to the new controls. However, the rest of the game really fires on all cylinders; dare I say, better than New Super Mario Bros. It's pretty amazing to see...
Published on Dec 13 2010 by James D White

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware if you have Wii U -- doesn't work on it.
Beware if you have Wii U -- doesn't work on it.

Not sure if it's my copy only but my Wii U did not recognize this gave at all when I inserted it, so my son and myself couldn't play it. Sent it back. Free returns with Amazon. Love that part!
Published 10 months ago by Alex Povolotski


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's On Like Donkey Kong!, Dec 13 2010
By 
James D White (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Video Game)
If I had to pick out one glaring fault with Donkey Kong Country Returns, it would be the lack of classic controller support. Old school gamers will be disappointed that it wasn't included, but will be able to adapt to the new controls. However, the rest of the game really fires on all cylinders; dare I say, better than New Super Mario Bros. It's pretty amazing to see Retro Studios improve on Rare's original classic, both in game design and challenge to the player. If you have a love for platformers or are simply looking for a new challenge, don't hesitate to pick up Donkey Kong Country Returns. It also makes for an excellent gift for all ages due to the entertaining feel and increasing difficulty at the game progresses. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donkey Kong Country Returns, Dec 17 2010
By 
S. Krumrie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Video Game)
Everything but the Kremlings and a few Kongs return. There's more vine swinging, lots more mine cart levels, hidden areas, bonus levels, boss fights, Kong letters to collect, Cranky rants, original music, and Rambi the Rhino & Squawks return too. The only things that feel missing are the Kremlings, underwater levels, and snow levels. New things take their place though. Just like every Donkey Kong Country sequel new challenges, new surprizes, and new level styles are in every world. Unlocking extras by collecting puzzle pieces in each level, instead of just using cheat codes is much more fun. And just when you think you've finished the game, more new surprizes pop up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DK Country is all grown up!, Jan. 7 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Video Game)
This latest version of the game takes it to a whole new level. It is a great game to pick up and play and also has plenty of challenge for the aficionado. The bonus level play is difficult enough to appeal to real hardcore adventure gamers while the general playability means all can enjoy.
Only a few small drawbacks. (very small) The co-operative play is a bit difficult to get used to especially to the more amateur consumer and the combo shake and button control can be a little difficult to get used to.
On the up side the backgrounds are brilliantly conceived and I loved the different levels of perspective DK played on. The bosses are challenging but fair for the most part and mini-games were not as difficult as previous versions. A "super guide" is available if you get hopelessly stuck and it is helpful when you are just learning the game.
Overall I must say that Nintendo has created a winner with DK Country Returns. This game has something for everyone and I definitely would recommend it to any fan of adventure gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back to the jungle, Dec 31 2010
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Video Game)
If you owned an SNES consoles back in the 1990s chances are you'll remember the Donkey Kong Country games (1-2-3) and look back fondly on them. Skip forward to 2010 Donkey Kong Country Returns is released for the Wii. I'm quite happy to say that the game developers Retro Studios did an excellent job with this old beloved series, often when a new game of an old series comes out it is not like the classic games and fans are disappointed. This is not the case; DK Country is back in all its glory and the game is close the SNES ones and is a really fun one. Things have not changed much since the original, except this time around you play as Donkey and Diddy (Donkey Kong is stronger and Diddy is faster and can fly for a short period of time with his jet pack, Diddy can also hop on DK's back)at the same time meaning you don't tag anymore. This is likely due to success of fully multiplayer games like Super Mario Bros Wii where you play the story with multiple players. I find this co-op gameplay fun, it's a simple yet very good addition to the series and on the Wii it will be beneficial as multiplayer is possibly the Wii's strongest point.

Retro studios captured the feel of the DC series with the look and the music; it's faithful to the series. One thing I noticed is that the difficulty has increased, not necessarily a bad thing (and hardcore gamer will probably approve of this) but it's definitely noticeable. I find this one harder than 1-2-3 but it's not really a problem. I must say that I was a little disappointed that you don't get to fight King K Rool and that you now fight tikis (a la Crash Bandicoot as other reviewers have pointed out) instead of kremlings but it doesn't take away that this is a great and fun game. It's great that they kept the K-O-N-G letters, the puzzle pieces, barrels, vines, the mine cart levels (of which there are many) and more. These elements were a big part of the Donkey Kong Country series. The collectibles you earned can be exchanged for helpful items at the shop. As for the game's controls you have the option to play with the Wiimote and the nunchuk or with the Wiimote tilted on the side for classic controls. Personally I prefer the classic controls but playing with both controllers is fun too.

If you ever were a fan of the Donkey Kong Country series for the SNES then you will probably enjoy this one as well, I don't see why you wouldn't. There really isn't much to criticize about the game it was very well done and should please the fans just like it pleased me. This game could also be recommended for someone who enjoyed Super Mario Bros Wii, it's similar in the sense that it's a good 2D side scrolling adventure -except with DK of course! If you're just looking for another fun Wii game that you can enjoy with friends and family this is a great addition to a Wii library. Rating : 4.5 /5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Donkey Kong Is Back!!!!, Dec 30 2010
By 
Adam (Saskatoon, SK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Video Game)
Donkey Kong Country Returns indeed! I was blown away by this game. I have always been a big fan of the DKC series. I was a little disappointed with Donkey Kong 64, but this new addition to DK goes back to its roots and gives you an ape sized helping of fun!
Donkey and Diddy are back at it trying to rescue their precious banana hoard from a new mysterious enemy that look like tribal masked instruments of some sort. True to the original three DKC titles, this is a side scrolling adventure.
There are some changes to the series that are unfortunate: namely you can only use Donkey in single player games. However, Diddy is an important part of the adventure as you gain the ability to hover with Diddy's rocket barrel when you have him with you.
Two player games open up the possibility of using Diddy Kong as one person controls Donkey, the other Diddy. At any point, Donkey can pick Diddy up and carry him just like in the single player game, or Diddy can jump up and dismount Donkey at will. This is especially useful for playing with people who need help from time to time as you can rescue them from difficult areas.
The controls are fairly intuitive (they take a few minutes to figure out what you have to do) and similar to what you would have expected on the old Super Nintendo titles. The levels are extremely fun and addicting, although I find the mine carts a little more difficult to get used to.

If you are a Nintendo fan, or a Donkey Kong fan, this is a must have title! Super fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good game., Jan. 31 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Video Game)
This game is great. It recaptures the look, feel, and sound of the old Donkey Kong Country games back in the SNES days, but with enough new elements to avoid feeling like a rehash. Also, I can't say enough good things about the soundtrack; it's all the old songs from the first game (with one or two original pieces), but played in great new arrangements. For example, a few levels are set to an ultra-cool version of the main theme played on jazz flute and piano. This game is everything we were waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Challenging but fun, Jan. 29 2011
By 
Troy (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Video Game)
Lots of fun. Only 2 negatives: (1) The remote shaking for rolling and attacks is not as responsive as I would like; (2) there are certain levels that are frustratingly difficult, namely the cave levels featuring riding the cart. This is mostly due to having to memorize the level and constant trial and error to get through. Aside from that it is just as fun as the originals and I don't regret the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brought my back to the Wii, Jan. 21 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Video Game)
Fun game. Plays just like the old SNES game. A lot of the levels are creative, exciting and challenging.

One star removed because it doesn't work with the classic controller since it gets annoying to have to shake the controller to perform certain moves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just like old times!!!, Jan. 3 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Video Game)
great graphics. Elements of the old game. Challenging and fun. My only complaint is figuring out what all I am supposed to be collecting that is hidden in the game and what they are for. Not much explanation. Overall tho? Lovin' it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great game, March 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Video Game)
is a very goo d game to play like the old donlkey kong on the super nintendo.buy it you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Donkey Kong Country Returns
Donkey Kong Country Returns by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
CDN$ 49.99 CDN$ 32.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews