summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars35
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$38.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on July 28, 2011
Those Criterion people really know what they're doing. The box art is beautiful, and so is the booklet and the menu screen. Plenty of special features - basically what was in the 2-disc DVD put out by MK2 - that are all worthwhile, and then there is the movie itself. Chaplin's Modern Times is a classic, which is a cliche term but the only one that fits. It is still hilarious, still beautiful, still clever, and still relevant. The Hi-Def transfer that was done for the blu-ray is a piece of art in itself. The images are as crisp as any black-and-white footage shot a decade ago, but this was filmed 7 decades ago. Amazing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon February 18, 2016
Criterion films are expensive and hence re-wachability is one of the criteria I use when buying them. This is a film that I can watch over and over again (I have almost watched it 10 times). Criterion Hi-Def transfer is excellent and images are crisp. For me all Charlie Chaplin films restored by Criterion are invaluable. As always criterion box and artwork is amazing and it comes with plenty of special features and very nice booklet.

It's an incredibly funny, clever and beautiful film and still relevant. The film covers almost every aspect is human life such as humanity, love, inhumanity, tragedy, laughter, greed nicely intervened in very nice story while successfully balancing that with very cute love story between the tramp and the orphan girl. This is a comedic masterpiece which finds the iconic Little Tramp (Charlie Chaplin) employed at a state-of-the-art factory where the inescapable machinery completely overwhelms him, and where various mishaps keep getting him sent to prison. In between his various jail stints, he meets and befriends an orphan girl (Paulette Goddard). Both together and apart, they try to contend with the difficulties of modern life, with the Tramp working as a waiter and eventually a performer.

Thanks Criterion for this release (and others: City Lights, Lime Light, Great Dectator, Gold Rush, The Kid) and salute to Genius film maker and actor Charlie Chaplin!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2003
It helps that Modern Times is one of Chaplin's best films, period, running a close second behind City Lights (I hope that's next on the re-release list). And happily, unlike The Gold Rush, which was ruined by awful sound choices, the Modern Times DVD offers a clean transfer of the film with all the beloved original elements intact as far as I could see and hear, plus a host of extras.
The film itself is the most briskly paced of Chaplin's feature-length films. And his writing is sharp, unhindered by the sermonizing which permeates his last works. The dilemma facing our Little Tramp this time is something all of us can relate to: For the first time, we see him thinking ahead, wanting to have a future, to form a family, and working towards that end. Chaplin's physical-comedy skills are at their peak: Witness the extended takes of the rollerskate scene, and the factory assembly line. Even if the 18fps (sometimes 16fps) film speed made everything look faster than it really was, it's still impressive physical co-ordination requiring flawless execution, since Chaplin rarely edits using coverage.
In Modern Times we see one of the first truly well-rounded Chaplin heroines. The radiant Paulette Goddard was Chaplin's best leading lady, her high spirits and lively presence being a much better foil for Chaplin than the starry-eyed icons of perfection that were Georgia Hale, Edna Purviance, or Virginia Cherrill. She just has more star quality and brings a quirkier, more animated personality to Chaplin's films, balancing them nicely.
And the gags -- some of the best in the Chaplin canon. The eating machine always has me rolling on the floor; the nonsense song is terrific (the DVD offers a "karaoke" version which, though a novelty, does tell us finally what the lyrics actually are); and all the machine gags are fast-moving gems.
The bonus materials include a long outtake and several documentaries. "Chaplin Today" features guests Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne, the French filmmakers behind the film Rosetta, and though their film-historian banter is not entirely to my taste, they do bring up some insights that I hadn't observed about Modern Times.
In all, a great release, and a great DVD to have for movie nights. It's a wonderful presentation of a comedy classic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Modern times was a smart comedy in the previous years to WW2.
Charlot made raptures images in several sequences.
Our unlucky or disadapted little man , definitively wasn{t made for working with the industrial process. This kinetic introduction in the middle of the complex mecahnism of machine systems is a issue to develop unforgettable laughable situations. The sense of alienation in front the no ending belt , causes in him an insane loss of the reality. And the machine who feeds you without waste of time for your employers is a classic.
Obviously Charlot inspired himself in Metropolis, the bitter nightmare of Fritz Lang from 1927. (Watch for instance for the employer who works around the machine control) .
So our beloved anti hero goes out from this the factory to the hospital and over and over he tries to get a job but he fails , by one reason or another.
In the middle of the film will appear a deep inspiration. The eternally beauty Paulette Godard represents exactly that weird mix teenager-woman who will work out as link for him later.
He is a guy with good feelings. He acts always as humanity benefactor but the long arm of the fate runs behind him and the results are not succesful.
The sequences in the dinner hall with the chicken that never comes to the impatient client is a masterpiece. Literally it's a funny coreography dance in the purest sense of the word.
Smile ; no matter what's wrong with you. We'll keep ahead , overcoming all the possible obstacles.
A remarkable film and one of the landmark pictures of this timeless genius.
Haven't you seen it? Make yourself a favour and buy it as a gift for you or your wife or fiancee or kids. This film will never dissapoint you , at least in the next three hundred years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2004
Until I saw "Modern Times" I only knew Chaplin from clips and impressions rather than from his films. I didn't see the talent. I understood that he parlayed his popularity into power and control over his work and that he made a huge contribution to American cinema. But I found Chaplin the performer, cloying and sentimental.
After watching "Modern Times" however, I understand why he is one of the great performing talents of the 20th century. The film is nearly silent and mostly a series of comedic set-pieces, each one a virtuoso display of Chaplin's boundless talent.
What struck me most in watching Chaplin was both his ability to come up with a routine; strapped to an eating machine, skating blindfolded in a department store and amusing hardened diners as a dancing waiter and executing the concept with grace, humanity and humor. It is also a great testament to his acting that we never question Chaplin's "little tramp" an average, slightly ludicrous character who has amazing talent that deeply undercuts his character's supposed mediocrity.
My other surprise was how effective and nuanced the satire is in "Modern Times." Chaplin's little tramp is the perfect protagonist in a story about the perils of automation and technology. The little tramp is never defeated and always optimistic. He is like a cartoon character in that each travail is new and he doesn't carry with him the baggage from the previous experience. But he is also terribly human; frail, self absorbed, eccentric and resilient so that we the audience don't feel the oppressive weight that automation and technology has upon the working person. Without a strong, human protagonist, the attack against modern society could seem more global and distancing. Instead we witness the pain from an individual perspective that connects to our own lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2003
I love old movies and own several Criterion Collection DVDs from the 1930s, but in terms of picture quality, none compare with the new Chaplin Collection restoration of "Modern Times" (1936). The restoration looks pristine, with no graininess whatsoever and only the very occasional artifact. They even have a remastered Dolby 5.1 soundtrack. My only complaints about the first disc: no audio commentary to accompany the film, and more than five minutes of warnings from FBI, Interpol, etc. in every language. I didn't sit all the way through, but my "Forward", "Next" and "Menu" buttons were disabled. I had to hit "Stop" then "Play" again to get back to the main menu.
The second disc has an introduction by biographer David Robinson documentary, in which Robinson explains that Chaplin was very concerned with and educated about economics and the role of industry in causing the Great Depression. His ideas became the driving force behind "Modern Times".
The documentary features a commentary by two French directors. I didn't find it particularly insightful. However, there is also footage of Chaplin (without his Tramp costume) with Gandhi and talking to a camera. Though brief, it gave me my first look at Chaplin the man (I had only seen him as the Tramp).
Overall, an excellent work, and highly recommended. Oh yeah, the film's good too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2003
Modern Times (1936) is quite possibly the defining picture of Charlie Chaplin's career. I've been renting Chaplin movies lately and Modern Times is by far the best one that I've seen. The Little Tramp (Chaplin) is a factory worker who has been working on the assembly line a bit too long. Even not on the line, he finds his hands making the movements that he did when working. He goes a little kooky and finds himself taking the blame for stealing bread to protect a young woman (Paulette Goddard). The Tramp also inexplicably steals from a couple of merchants and requests that the police officer nearby pay for it. This lands him in jail. He gets out, but lands himself right back in jail when he appears to lead a communist workers revolt.
The film focuses on the Tramps relationship with the woman as well as his attempts to work in the factory (several different jobs). The funniest stuff is in the factory as Chaplin lets loose with his trademark physical humor. I think this is Chaplin's best and most well-crafted films and if he is only remembered for one film, it should be this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2004
Modern Times is the last silent film that Charles Chaplin created in a time when talking was common on the silver screen. Once more Chaplin takes roll as the Tramp where he is exploited as cheap labor that can be used whenever needed, since the Tramp's options are rather limited due to his monetary needs. However, even an honest hard worker such as the Tramp can suffer from burn-out and go astray as he is sent to a mental institution. Cured and recovered he departs from the institution, but ends up in the wrong place at the wring time and is sent to jail. Modern Times displays the socio-economic needs and vulnerability of the poor who fall outside the system. At the same time, the film displays gentle love and care that provides a base for hope and dreams for those who are struggling for a happier and better life. Overall, Modern Times presents an excellent cinematic opportunity that gives both laughs and tears, which will leave some pondering the structure of the society.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2003
This Feature is Chaplins last silent movie. Even though the title is Modern Times chaplin wasn't so easy on letting silent movies go.
This is a movie thats great for all ages and should not be resented at any cost.
This is a movie about a factory worker being fired and gone to jail. A lady that lives with her Dad starts to live with the factory worker after her dad has been shot. The two fall in love. Through the movie the two find themselves looking for work,food,and shelter. They also get in trouble with the law. I have one real big piece of advice abut this movie watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2003
This Feature is Chaplins last silent movie. Even though the title is Modern Times chaplin wasn't so easy on letting silent movies go.
This is a movie thats great for all ages and should not be resented at any cost.
This is a movie about a factory worker being fired and gone to jail. A lady that lives with her Dad starts to live with the factory worker after her dad has been shot. The two fall in love. Through the movie the two find themselves looking for work,food,and shelter. They also get in trouble with the law. I have one real big piece of advice abut this movie watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse