Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the story, and get it right
The mystery is a mystery no more. We now know "Deep Throat" is W. Mark Felt, who was deputy director of the FBI at the time. Some call him a hero, others a traitor. I think Felt had a lot of guts, and in the end he did the right thing and in so doing became one of the world's first whistleblowers. The fact that Hal Holbrook (who plays Deep Throat in the...
Published on June 5 2005 by Robert Pavlacic

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars won't play in canada
I've seen this movie a couple of times and really enjoyed it so when it came out in blue ray I jumped all over it. Was totally disappointed that the product had a sticker stuck on the back of sleeve making it look like it was produced in United States but it was actually made in Mexico and won,t play in my blue ray player. I bought this off amazon.ca about 6 months ago...
Published on Feb. 24 2012 by mike nicholls


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie - good detail., Dec 20 2001
By 
Kwai Chang Finkleberger (West Hartford, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All the President's Men (VHS Tape)
While this movie is about Watergate, what really gives it strength is its portrayal of life in a newsroom.
Here is where the news is made, here is where it is decided what we read and what we don't.
All in all, it was a very good movie meant for historians, conspiracy theorists and budding journalists alike!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is There Anywhere You Don't Smoke?, Dec 11 2001
By 
David Bradley "David Bradley" (Sterling, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All the President's Men (VHS Tape)
A great movie, but tough for anyone familiar with the book it came from, or the actual events both were base on, to watch because it skims over huge hunks of material.
Still, it is a mostly accurate portrayal of the events that brought Nixon's reign to an end and really put the Post on the journalistic map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Movie!, Dec 10 2002
By A Customer
This movie has it all. The media, what really goes on? Things have changed since then in ways that were never even imagined! Check it out to experience the thrill and adventure as Redford and Hoffman take you on an incredible journey behind the scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic gets the blu book treatment, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another great movie gets a great blu ray treatment with a blu book. The transfer is flawless and the book itself is very well done. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was so happy I ordered this movie, Aug. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was so happy I ordered this movie.I got in a timely fashion.The price was great! I had taped it years ago from tv but the VHS tape
disintigrated into nothing.Thank heaven for DVD'S. Betty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal on Watergate, Feb. 5 2012
This review is from: All the President's Men (DVD)
This is an excellent movie for those who like to think. The story is spell-binding, the acting is admirable. And...no one can run like Robert Redford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love the cast of actors, Jan. 1 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All the President's Men (DVD)
A true classic, never get tired of watching it....love the cast of actors....absolutely TIMELESS 1111
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The power of an independent media!, May 8 2004
Should one pursue truth at whatever cost? This is essentially what this movie is about if we divorce it from the reality it is meant to represent. At what price should one stop one's pursuit and accept the world as it appears to be? Thankfully, Bernstein (Dustin Hoffman) and Woodword (Robert Redford), or Woodstein as they were 'affectionately' called by their superior, did not put a price on truth, and in their search brought down the highest power in America. This is a great testimony of the power of the media to affect and even change society.
If, like me, you are not completely familiar with the Watergate scandal then watching this movie would be a great way to familiarize yourself with some of the facts. We follow Woodword and Bernstein as they get on the trail of something bigger than anyone expected. Unfortunately, the adrenalin that must have been pumping through both men as they followed leads and made discoveries does not come through in this movie. Most of the time is spent trying not to miss the conversations or squinting to see what is written on the little pieces of paper scattered about.
Some reviewers have called it an American classic and the consensus is that this movie deserves a five star rating. Although I would in most cases agree with the majority opinion I have to dissent here and these are three of my reasons.
Firstly, although the acting was great, there is that missing element of suspense and excitement. Secondly, toward the end, some of the information is presented to the viewer through a typewriter with very small print which makes it quite difficult to read. I should have used subtitles I guess, but this shouldn't have been necessary for a movie in English. Lastly, the extras on the DVD should have at least included a documentary type piece to supplement the movie; instead of assuming that everyone knows all there is to know about Watergate. You may argue that this is just quibbling for its own sake, but to give it 5 stars would be lying to you. That being said, if you can put up with some of the 'faults' that I have listed and have an interest in politics or journalism, then I would recommend this movie to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like new., Sept. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All the President's Men (DVD)
Took a few days to get to my home in Southern Ontario. Good movie too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Aug. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
competitive pricing, fast delivery, great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All the President's Men
All the President's Men by Alan J. Pakula (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 14.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews