Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the story, and get it right
The mystery is a mystery no more. We now know "Deep Throat" is W. Mark Felt, who was deputy director of the FBI at the time. Some call him a hero, others a traitor. I think Felt had a lot of guts, and in the end he did the right thing and in so doing became one of the world's first whistleblowers. The fact that Hal Holbrook (who plays Deep Throat in the...
Published on June 5 2005 by Robert Pavlacic

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nod your head if we're not wrong: A tense but long film.
"All the President's Men" is an interesting film that manages to hold its tension throughout the entire movie. My only complaint is that the film is a bit long and tedious. Robert Redford and Dustin Hoffman both do a superlative job bringing journalism to life and humanizing a profession that generally receives nothing but criticism from me. Their chemistry together is...
Published on Nov. 30 2003 by Daniel R. Sanderman


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars remembering the times, Feb. 17 2014
By 
Ken Walker (Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All the President's Men (DVD)
I remember when this story broke and how it developed.
I remember Nixon leaving office in disgrace.
I remember leaving the US for Canada as all this was going down.
It was just that the mighty fell.
And for those who love democracy:
remember that one person (like 'deep throat')
can change history if they choose to get involved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic gets the blu book treatment, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another great movie gets a great blu ray treatment with a blu book. The transfer is flawless and the book itself is very well done. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal on Watergate, Feb. 5 2012
This review is from: All the President's Men (DVD)
This is an excellent movie for those who like to think. The story is spell-binding, the acting is admirable. And...no one can run like Robert Redford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The power of an independent media!, May 8 2004
Should one pursue truth at whatever cost? This is essentially what this movie is about if we divorce it from the reality it is meant to represent. At what price should one stop one's pursuit and accept the world as it appears to be? Thankfully, Bernstein (Dustin Hoffman) and Woodword (Robert Redford), or Woodstein as they were 'affectionately' called by their superior, did not put a price on truth, and in their search brought down the highest power in America. This is a great testimony of the power of the media to affect and even change society.
If, like me, you are not completely familiar with the Watergate scandal then watching this movie would be a great way to familiarize yourself with some of the facts. We follow Woodword and Bernstein as they get on the trail of something bigger than anyone expected. Unfortunately, the adrenalin that must have been pumping through both men as they followed leads and made discoveries does not come through in this movie. Most of the time is spent trying not to miss the conversations or squinting to see what is written on the little pieces of paper scattered about.
Some reviewers have called it an American classic and the consensus is that this movie deserves a five star rating. Although I would in most cases agree with the majority opinion I have to dissent here and these are three of my reasons.
Firstly, although the acting was great, there is that missing element of suspense and excitement. Secondly, toward the end, some of the information is presented to the viewer through a typewriter with very small print which makes it quite difficult to read. I should have used subtitles I guess, but this shouldn't have been necessary for a movie in English. Lastly, the extras on the DVD should have at least included a documentary type piece to supplement the movie; instead of assuming that everyone knows all there is to know about Watergate. You may argue that this is just quibbling for its own sake, but to give it 5 stars would be lying to you. That being said, if you can put up with some of the 'faults' that I have listed and have an interest in politics or journalism, then I would recommend this movie to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Aug. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
competitive pricing, fast delivery, great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Can't go wrong with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "...Woodsteeeein!!", July 30 2011
BLU-RAY review

Did the media change since "Watergate"?
This is what journalist Linda Ellerbee had to say:

"The media today, much of it, is heavily into self-censorship. They do not pursue stories that they do not believe will be popular with the readers or viewers, particular television. Television is about offending the fewest because it's about filling the seats. In television it's important to remember that the product is not the program. The product is the audience and the consumer is the advertiser."

quoted from: "Telling the Truth about Lies", (BD-bonus feature)

Film: 8/10
Picture quality: 7.5/10
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1 (Orig.: 1.85:1)
Runtime (24fps): 2 18'21"
Audio: English
ST: English
Chpt.: 33
Extras: all in SD
- Audio commentary by Robert Redford
- "Telling the Truth about Lies"; 28'
- "Woodward and Bernstein - Lighting the Fire"; 18'
- "Out of the Shadows - The Man Who was Deep Throat"; 16'
- "Pressure on the Press"; 10'
- Talkshow "Dinah!" feat. Jason Robards, 1976; 7'10"
ASIN: B001SARO9Q
Studio: Warner

BD has wrong aspect ratio: !.78:1 instead of original 1.85:1.
Contrast is a bit weak, rather dark on some shots. Although this might have been intentional, (DP: Gordon Willis, aka 'Prince of Darkness' (P. Biskind) "The Godfather", "Klute") to accentuate contrast between political DC ("dark") and neon-lit Washington Post office rooms ("enlightenment"??)
Sharpness varies from satisfactory (e.g. TC 00:13:52, 00:30:52, 01:12:53 (close ups) and 01:37:19-33 (long shots) to more DVD-like levels (e.g. TC 00:08:42, 00:12:22, 00:23:26, 00:41:40, 01:12:19 (medium long shot).
Probably picture was zoomed in to fit 16:9 full-screen?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Investigative Journalism Takes no Prisoners, June 23 2009
By 
Neil Olsen (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fascinating insight into the whole Watergate scandal, it is sometimes not the most gripping cinema, but well acted and well researched. Hoffman and Redford work well off each other as two opposites brought together by a common determination to find the truth. Later movies such as the Insider perhaps do a better job of the more emotive aspects of journalists fighting to tell the truth but this is still a benchmark film. The extras are not as interesting as they could be, and you could take them or leave them. The movie itself can be a bit dry at times and the supporting material also tends to reflect that same feeling. However an important addition to any collection, and apart from Papillon, probably one of the best things Hoffman ever did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "I don't mind what you did. I mind how you did it.", March 9 2004
Alan J. Pakula's "All the President's Men" chronicles the investigation that exposed one of the darkest chapters in American history. So profound was the impact of Watergate on the national psyche that the public's trust in its government has never been completely restored since President Richard Nixon resigned from office. Politically and historically, Watergate is a fascinating subject. However, as a subject for a feature film, it is decidedly less captivating.
Washington Post reporters Bob Woodward (Robert Redford) and Carl Bernstein (Dustin Hoffman) are working on a story about a break-in at the National Democratic Headquarters. Nothing seems out of the ordinary at first but the duo soon learns that the Nixon Administration may be involved. Woodward and Bernstein's investigation gains steam and eventually an enormous cash slush fund and mysterious payments to government officials come to light. When all the pieces of the puzzle finally come together, both men discover that they have been pursuing the biggest national story in recent memory.
The life of a reporter is typically not glamorous. Big-time stories rarely fall ready-made into a reporter's lap. Endless hours must be spent chasing leads which might lead to paydirt or might lead to a dead-end. "All the President's Men" captures the life of a reporter perfectly - and that is its problem. Watching Woodward and Bernstein running from one source to another hoping to uncover that one crucial clue that will unlock the mystery that is consuming them generates only minimal excitement. Furthermore, knowing beforehand that the identity of Deep Throat has still not been revealed works against the film because you know in the back of your mind that you are not watching the whole story behind Watergate. In the final tally, Redford, Hoffman and Jason Robards are all great but all three actors are stuck in a film that has few electric moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Talk, talk, talk, talk.... Oh Look! They're talking again!, Feb. 27 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: All the President's Men (VHS Tape)
I am not old enough to have even been alive when the Watergateincident occured. As a project for school, I was forced to watch Allthe President's Men, as we are studying the '70s. I found that it was the most boring movie I have ever seen. The entire movie was spent watching Robert Redford and Dustin Hoffman talk to each other, talk on the phone, and talk to people. They threw out so many names that my head was spinning. I found myself just wishing for the movie to end. The highlights of the movie, in my opinion, were the one guy's afro, and the incredibly outdated technology. The movie had only one joke in it, which was funny, but the rest of the movie just dragged on and on. I found that I could not get engrossed in the movie. It was everything I could do just to keep my eyes open. When it was over, everyone was wondering the same thing: did all the movies suck so badly that THIS was the best they could come up with? How else could it have won so many awards? Maybe I am not a fan of journalism movies. If you're really interested in the Watergate scandal, if you like watching people be arrogent, nosey, snobs, or if you want a movie that'll put you to sleep within minutes, then I'd suggest watching this movie. Otherwise, read the following, and then see a better movie: There was a big scandal in Washington. Two reports linked people from all levels of the government to the break in, until they linked the president. (Actually, they don't mention the president as being connected.) The president resigns. End of story. Now you have just saved yourself 2 or more hours. The only thing you've missed is a lot of boring talk. If you really like to listen to that much talking, I'll write the word 'talk' 800 times, and you can read it. Otherwise, take my advice, and don't even bother with this movie. On a scale of 1-10, I would rate this movie -8. It was SO horrible! I'd rather watch Barney, or the Teletubbies for an hour than watch this again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All the President's Men
All the President's Men by Alan J. Pakula (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 14.96 CDN$ 7.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews