Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the story, and get it right
The mystery is a mystery no more. We now know "Deep Throat" is W. Mark Felt, who was deputy director of the FBI at the time. Some call him a hero, others a traitor. I think Felt had a lot of guts, and in the end he did the right thing and in so doing became one of the world's first whistleblowers. The fact that Hal Holbrook (who plays Deep Throat in the...
Published on June 5 2005 by Robert Pavlacic

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nod your head if we're not wrong: A tense but long film.
"All the President's Men" is an interesting film that manages to hold its tension throughout the entire movie. My only complaint is that the film is a bit long and tedious. Robert Redford and Dustin Hoffman both do a superlative job bringing journalism to life and humanizing a profession that generally receives nothing but criticism from me. Their chemistry together is...
Published on Nov. 30 2003 by Daniel R. Sanderman


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Two Men Part Of A Major Legacy, May 14 2014
This review is from: All the President's Men (DVD)
The film All The Presidents Men is based on true life inspiration from the prominent Watergate Scandal of the 1970’s. Robert Redford and Dustin Hoffman star as two men who work for the Washington Post and become instrumental to gathering information that would dramatically shape political history. The two men that these actors portray in
All The Presidents Men are Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars remembering the times, Feb. 17 2014
By 
Ken Walker (Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All the President's Men (DVD)
I remember when this story broke and how it developed.
I remember Nixon leaving office in disgrace.
I remember leaving the US for Canada as all this was going down.
It was just that the mighty fell.
And for those who love democracy:
remember that one person (like 'deep throat')
can change history if they choose to get involved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic gets the blu book treatment, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another great movie gets a great blu ray treatment with a blu book. The transfer is flawless and the book itself is very well done. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal on Watergate, Feb. 5 2012
This review is from: All the President's Men (DVD)
This is an excellent movie for those who like to think. The story is spell-binding, the acting is admirable. And...no one can run like Robert Redford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was so happy I ordered this movie, Aug. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was so happy I ordered this movie.I got in a timely fashion.The price was great! I had taped it years ago from tv but the VHS tape
disintigrated into nothing.Thank heaven for DVD'S. Betty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The power of an independent media!, May 8 2004
Should one pursue truth at whatever cost? This is essentially what this movie is about if we divorce it from the reality it is meant to represent. At what price should one stop one's pursuit and accept the world as it appears to be? Thankfully, Bernstein (Dustin Hoffman) and Woodword (Robert Redford), or Woodstein as they were 'affectionately' called by their superior, did not put a price on truth, and in their search brought down the highest power in America. This is a great testimony of the power of the media to affect and even change society.
If, like me, you are not completely familiar with the Watergate scandal then watching this movie would be a great way to familiarize yourself with some of the facts. We follow Woodword and Bernstein as they get on the trail of something bigger than anyone expected. Unfortunately, the adrenalin that must have been pumping through both men as they followed leads and made discoveries does not come through in this movie. Most of the time is spent trying not to miss the conversations or squinting to see what is written on the little pieces of paper scattered about.
Some reviewers have called it an American classic and the consensus is that this movie deserves a five star rating. Although I would in most cases agree with the majority opinion I have to dissent here and these are three of my reasons.
Firstly, although the acting was great, there is that missing element of suspense and excitement. Secondly, toward the end, some of the information is presented to the viewer through a typewriter with very small print which makes it quite difficult to read. I should have used subtitles I guess, but this shouldn't have been necessary for a movie in English. Lastly, the extras on the DVD should have at least included a documentary type piece to supplement the movie; instead of assuming that everyone knows all there is to know about Watergate. You may argue that this is just quibbling for its own sake, but to give it 5 stars would be lying to you. That being said, if you can put up with some of the 'faults' that I have listed and have an interest in politics or journalism, then I would recommend this movie to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like new., Sept. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All the President's Men (DVD)
Took a few days to get to my home in Southern Ontario. Good movie too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Aug. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
competitive pricing, fast delivery, great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The best "real" thriller of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Can't go wrong with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All the President's Men
All the President's Men by Alan J. Pakula (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 14.96 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews