Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasia/Fantasia 2000 blu ray...a fantastic audio/video experience
FANTASIA:

This was the first movie to incorporate beautiful classical music into the movie form with pretty colourful pictures. Nowadays, other people have the same idea, like "A View From Space with Heavenly Music" blu ray disc where classical music was played while spectacular scenes were displayed (e.g., playing of Ride Of The Valkyries during a Space...
Published on Dec 2 2010 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What happened?
I remember seeing Fantasia in the theatre when I was a kid. I loved it. I saw that it was out on DVD and thought I'd like to own it. I don't know what happened in the intervening years, but I didn't like it at all! The part with Mickey and the brooms/water was as good as I remembered, but the rest was awful. I FF through 90% of it looking for familiar things, and never...
Published on Feb. 2 2011 by AnnieG


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasia/Fantasia 2000 blu ray...a fantastic audio/video experience, Dec 2 2010
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
FANTASIA:

This was the first movie to incorporate beautiful classical music into the movie form with pretty colourful pictures. Nowadays, other people have the same idea, like "A View From Space with Heavenly Music" blu ray disc where classical music was played while spectacular scenes were displayed (e.g., playing of Ride Of The Valkyries during a Space Shuttle launch). So Fantasia was way ahead of its time.

The musical segments in Fantasia included: Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, The Nutcracker Suite, The Sorcerer's Apprentice, The Rite Of Spring, The Pastoral Symphony, Dance Of The Hours, Night On Bald Mountain, and Ave Maria.

Video: It was 1080p 1.33:1 with all-new digitial restoration. For a seventy-year-old film, the result was simply outstanding. Colours were extraordinarily vivid and punchy. (4.5/5)

Audio: In my over-sized Fantasia laser disc box set, the sound was only Dolby Surround. Now we have DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1. Wow! The sound made you feel that you were in front of an orchestra inside your home theatre. Simply outstanding (5/5)

A few trivia about Fantasia:
In the Sorcerer's Apprentice sequence, as Mickey walked toward a stone wall his shadow grew slowly larger. Instead, it should grow smaller. The dancing ostriches in "Dance of the Hours" were portrayed as females, but it was only the male ostrich that was black and white. The females were grey brown. The animators also secretly modeled elements of the Sorcerer in "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" on their boss, Walt Disney. The raised eyebrow was regarded as a dead giveaway. They called the character Yen Sid, which was "Disney" spelled backwards. The orchestra that appeared in the interstitial segments of the film was not the actual The Philadelphia Symphony Orchestra, but rather a collection of local Hollywood musicians and Disney studio employees. Lastly, when Fantasia, with a budget of $2.38 million, was first released into the theatre, it was considered a financial flop.

Bad point: It was really unfortunate that the original version of Fantasia was used, which was the "censored" version, which eliminated a lot of the film's un-p.c. elements.

FANTASIA 2000:

The musical segments included Beethoven's Fifth Symphony, The Pines Of Rome, George Gershwin's Rhapsody In Blue, Dmitri Shostakovich's Piano Concerto No. 2, Carnival Of Animals, Sorcerer's Apprentice and Pomp and Circumstances.

Video: It was 1080p 1.78:1. If Fantasia was amazing, Fantasia 2000 was simply outstanding. It was completely flawless. Colours and details were top-notched. (5/5)

Audio: Again the DTS-MA Master Audio 7.1 has great fidelity and presence. Simply outstanding (5/5)

Trivia: In "Rhapsody in Blue" in the young man's room. The first shot showed the whole room and pans left showing him in bed with the alarm clock upright. The very next close-up showed the clock to be face down. In "Rhapsody in Blue", a sign inside Monica's cafe read "2 EGGS ANY STYLE 25c". A sign outside the cafe read "2 EGGS 10c".

Did you also know that George Gershwin himself featured in the Rhapsody in Blue segment? He was the slender man seen playing the piano through his apartment window, above Rachel and her piano lessons.

In summary, this Fantasia/Fantasia 2000 blu ray collection is worth its weight in gold. Thank you to Disney to put the two films in one set with very reasonable price. Both audio and video are top notch. The whole family, young and old, will enjoy these two movies, again and again. I feel that they are also a good attractive way to introduce classical music to young children. Just like you can have Lord Of The Rings trilogy marathon, or Toy Story Night (1, 2 and 3 in a row), a Fantasia evening will be simply FANTASTIC. Both discs are highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, May 19 2014
By 
Dalton C. Bilsky (regina, sask Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Both Fantasia movies have never looked better than this. While some of the special features from the dvds are missing(do not toss those away yet), there are new features to ease the pain.

For anyone wondering, yes these are region free and will work in Canada. The one is labeled Region B but I played both in a PS3 which is known to be picky with blu-rays and has no issues with either. Since the North American version is back in the Disney vault and cost a fortune, save some money and buy these ones - they are exactly the same other than the covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best DVD version by far!!!, Feb. 10 2012
This review is from: Fantasia/Fantasia 2000 (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
Fantasia is my all-time favourite Disney animated film and also one of my all-time favourite movies in general. I also like Fantasia 2000, even though I don't think it's quite up there with the original. It's still worth multiple viewings.

When I first found out that these two movies were being re-released in December 2010, I was really excited because I had bought the Fantasia Anthology 3-disc DVD set before, which had disc issues with each disc (I tried 5 different DVD players and they all were uncooperative).

After I bought this new 2-disc set, I watched both of the movies and checked out some of the special features. The biggest improvement I noticed was with the dark backgrounds in Fantasia. They're enhanced so that you can see more of the details. Check out the "Tocatta and Fugue in D minor" segment and you'll really notice the improvements.

As for the Fantasia 2000 disc, the video quality is spectacular and the special features are pretty good. It's been a while since I last checked them out, but I usually don't have a problem with special features on a Disney DVD.

If you like Fantasia and/or Fantasia 2000, I highly recommend this DVD set. It'll be some of the best $30 (average price) that you've ever spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney's best, restored and updated, Dec 17 2010
By 
Gary Fuhrman "gnox" (Manitoulin Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fantasia made a strong impression on me when i saw it on TV as a child, half a century ago. Since then, i've come to associate Disney with the watered-down kitsch of "family entertainment" -- and with overpriced releases of old animation classics. This Blu-ray release has changed all that; the price is quite reasonable for the content. I will start with some things that haven't been adequately covered by previous reviewers.

First, the Fantasia 2000 disc includes a short animated feature, Destino, which began as a collaboration of Disney (or rather one of his best animators) with Salvador Dali. After several months of work on the project, which began not long after the release of Fantasia, Walt pulled the plug, and it all went into the archives -- where it was rediscovered a few years ago, and turned into the little masterpiece it should have been all along, complete with the original (restored) soundtrack, a Mexican song. In case you think a Dali/Disney collaboration doesn't sound promising, i would have agreed with you, but this unique little film works beautifully. There's also a long documentary (perhaps too long) about the Dali-Disney relationship and the completion of the film, which is worth watching.

Fantasia 2000 itself, which i hadn't seen before, is truly spectacular, as imaginative as the original, but of course with much better sound and high-def picture.

As for the original Fantasia, it's better than i recall it from childhood: the digital remaster looks wonderful, the sound is about as good as you could expect from a 1940 recording, and best of all, at 125 minutes it's about one third longer than the original theatrical release! Most of the restored footage seems to reflect the more daring flights of the Disney animators, and they certainly weren't cut because they weren't up to the quality of the rest. There's also about 15 seconds from the Beethoven Pastoral Symphony sequence that is not restored here (or as some reviewers would have it, is "censored"), but you can see it on YouTube if you really want to. Here too i think Disney made the right choice -- that 15-second bit really is in excruciatingly bad taste and would be a major distraction from the beauty of the sequence.

Of course, you have to wade through a series of Disney adverts to get to the good stuff, but it's well worth the effort, on both discs. At around $30 for two blu-ray and two DVD discs, this is really a good buy for anyone who appreciates good animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic with previously deleted segments added, Dec 17 2010
By 
Dean Wirth "Mcdean" (Calgary Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We all know how incredible this piece of animated history is. Here are a few things I noticed that weren't on the video I previously owned,
- on the dinosaur sequence there is a bit of footage with the dinosaurs and the planets
- in the centaur sequence there is a rainbow/pixie frolicking in the water sequence
- Hippo / Ballerina sequence there is the bubble / elephant sequence
- Night on Bald Mountain there is some extra dancing of the minions in flames sequence

The Fantasia 200 disc includes an excellent feature length film about the not so surprising influence of Dali on Walts animation and their friendship and collaboration on "Destino" .

The film has been restored to perfection, now it seems all the more amazing, as Walt said "I never regretted doing Fantasia, but I don't think I could do it again..."
I can't help but imagine if the film had ben more successful in its time what direction the studio would have taken instead of regressing with Dumbo and Sleeping Beauty.
Walt won a well deserved Academy award for advancement technology for work on the the sound enhancement for the theatrical release of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Problem with the Fantasia 2000 blu-ray, Dec 12 2010
By 
Alexandre Rodrigue (Qc, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hi, someone has problem with the Fantasia 2000 blu-ray. I want to watch it but it can't play on my blu-ray player (which is, by the way, updated to the last version). The problem is: I put the blu-ray disc in the player and I can view the previews and the menu. But, when I play the movie, nothing happen, only black screen. If someone can help me, Let me know;p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasia 2000, Nov. 26 2011
By 
Jean-Pierre Boulais (Otterburn Park, QC, CA) - See all my reviews
My wife is a classic music fan and I bought this DVD for her.
She simply adores it and that special edition contains 4 discs with a lot of special features and extras
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasia, Sept. 14 2011
This review is from: Fantasia/Fantasia 2000 (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
Great family entertainment. Matchless Disney images light up your tv screen, while beautiful classical music played by the Philadelphia Harmonic Orchestra, take unexpected turns amplifying your home theatre speakers. Adults will love it. Kids will be amazed by it. Everyone will remember how beautiful, evocative and exciting classical music is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful movie show it your kids, Jan. 7 2011
This review is from: Fantasia/Fantasia 2000 (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
It's just magical and so beautiful. Kids get to leaner to listen to music. A great way for them to learn while being entertained
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Service, March 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received this product well within the time limit specified and found the product to be as advertised. Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantasia/Fantasia 2000 (2-Disc Special Edition)
CDN$ 65.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews