Customer Reviews


224 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (73)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all reviews etc here are BS
All comments and reviews on this film are about other versions of the movie. this includes the write-ups for the previous Kino Video release of this film, which is also for other crappy versions of this film. Epic fail, Amazon! The Kino versions are the only ones worth owning. As proof that the reviews on this particular item are crap, it has not even been released yet,...
Published on Oct. 12 2010 by Rondini

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars How could they blow this?
Metropolis is one of my favorite movies of all time. Furthermore is one of my favorite stories of all time.
I was quite exited to see a Restored "Authorized" Edition, but when I saw it I was very dissapointed.
The restauration in this one is one of the most uncaring and unloving works I have seen. They did not care if the story in the movie was told...
Published on Dec 9 2003 by D. A


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Opinion Contrary to Convention, Jan. 24 2004
By 
I kept waiting for the great looking female robot (what really qualifies this as sci-fi), and she has all of a minute of screen time! All that work to design and create her, so why not find a way to use her? As to the poignancy of the narrative, it is basically angry communist propaganda. Time did not prove that philosophy relevant. There is nothing particularly groundbreaking about the story, the cinematography, nor the acting. And the entertainment value is fairly low for a film this deep into the silent era. I really don't think this film is at all entertaining or important. Fire away, but I think this is probably the overrated silent film ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars keep your cash, June 8 2002
This review is from: Metropolis (Full Screen) (DVD)
ce dvd est une horreur, je n ai jamais vu une aussi mauvaise copie de film, tout support confondu.
je ne sait pas ou l editeur a trouver le master pour la gravure mais ca devais certainement etre au fond d une cave humide.
la bande son est a pleurer et l image ...... et bien je ne prefere pas en parler on dirait un scopitonne des annees 40.
de plus l intro du film est manquante ainsi que certaine scenes.
enfin pour en finir garder votre argent jusqu a la sortie d une meilleur edition celle ci ne vaut pas un clou.
conseil pour ceux qui comme moi ont fait l erreur d acheter ce DVD: revender le le plus vite possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monumental movie but still *not* an original transfer., April 5 2003
Let me start by saying that a movie of this stature can't be praised highly enough. Having said that I beg to differ with all the five star rave reviews concerning the DVD transfer. I'm quite the Metropolis fan and my toes curled when I saw that the newest and latest official release has its intertitles translated into English up to the point of actually changing the original images as well.(The address card Freder shows Josaphas, the Hel memorial plaque, the tower of Babel sequence, a business card picked up by Freder, etc, are all English translations inserted by digital or other means into the film.) So, claiming that this version is original is dubious to say the least. Why not benefit from DVD's technology to leave it up to the viewer to choose between the (original) German or English intertitles? If it can be done with subtitles, I'm sure intertitles can't pose a problem. Imagine the frustration of the German movie buffs who have to watch one of their greatest movies of all time with English intertitles and German subtitles! What really made me frown is that in the scene selection section on the DVD you can make out the original German intertitles in some of the preview windows! The frustrating part about this is that even when using DVD's technological advantages to choose between intertitles, changes made onto the print by substituting English text over the images are permanent.
Furthermore I challenge any film technician or any of the members on the restauration team of the Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau Foundation to tell me that this version of Metropolis is transfered at the correct speed. And by that I mean the speed at which any normal human being walks, runs and can gesticulate without looking like an episode from Comedy Capers. Have a look at the final scene where Rotwang chases Maria up the Cathedral. It is actually comical and embarassing to see, taking into account the enormous effort the F.W.M. Foundation took in restoring this monument. Trust me, you don't have to be an animation student or an expert in locomotion to see that the actor's movements are sped up. Even the big clock's second hand in Frederson's office races by at exaggerated speed. When Joh Frederson stands opposite of Rotwang (Hal statue sequence), Rotwang waves his hands frenetically in Fredersen's face to gesticulate refusal. For a moment his hands elude me because of motional blur. Eureka's 1999 release of Metropolis had much better and natural movement of the actors. What very few people know is that Fritz Lang under-crancked the camera for some of the shots in his movie to add drama and weight to some scenes. These little moments of genius gave Metropolis some of its extraordinary atmosphere and appeal and are now completely lost with this release.
In 1927 the German production company UFA ordered the film to be cut for the US release. The American editor charged with this operation also exchanged the German intertitles and scenes with German texts for English substitutes. It's an irony that this release has been labeled "Restored Authorized Edition" for it perpetuates the act of defacing the original print as the editor did in 1927. The claim Kino makes this being a restored edition is at least misleading. Apart from footage that must be considered permanently lost, the claim holds no truth. The Merriam Webster dictionary defines "restore" as: "To put or bring back into a former or original state." Metropolis is a German movie. It used German text and titles. So let's get over the five star rave and try to be at least a little critical. I mean we're talking about one of the most influential and monumental movies of all time. Too bad its fantastic restauration is marred by such obvious flaws.
My first copy of Metropolis was Eureka's 1999 release which runs at 139 minutes on region 2 equipment. Although the image suffers from a very bad transfer and even more missing footage in comparison with this release, it is so much more the viewing experience you want and ultimately can't forget. Speeding up a film destroys the director's artistical vision together with the movies ambience and atmosphere. Needless to say I immediately returned my recently acquired Restored Authorized Edition for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie marred by poor DVD production quality, Sept. 26 2003
By A Customer
I was unable to completely view this DVD, apparently due to a bad pressing. Amazon cross-shipped a new DVD, but it had the same problem (any chapter after about 40 would not play or had multiple tracking and audio errors; none of the specials would play at all). I had to get a refund :-(. So terrific movie, but Keno seems to have continuing production problems...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Sept. 9 2011
I am glad I bought this. I have seen numerous references to the work, but had never viewed it. It is worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible!!, March 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Metropolis (Full Screen) (DVD)
This is one of the worst reproductions of this fine movie that I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THIS VERSION!!, May 1 2002
By 
Xxon Mill (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Metropolis (Full Screen) (DVD)
This is the worst print of Metropolis I have ever seen. A complete waste of your money. It is 6.99$ for a reason folks.
Do not buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Made it in time, Dec 28 2009
By 
The movie showed up a bit later then was planned but it made it before I needed it and it was it great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Barebones edition, only reason to buy is price., April 20 2004
By 
J. Blake (Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metropolis (DVD)
I picked this DVD up at a local store, because I've been meaning to see the movie and it was quite cheap. It's the original 1927 theater cut (I couldn't tell you if the tinting was added later or not), which means it's only a small part of Lang's masterpeice. The plot is, as it was, choppy and hard to follow without reading up on the movie itself. The scenes that were cut seem to have been important, in that you get the general gist of the story with this truncated version, but there are things you won't pick up on unless you watch it repeatedly.
It's a poor version of the classic, but the price is right. If you want to see the masterpeice, buy the restored, authorized edition as was recommended above. If you want to watch a mildly entertaining silent film that sounds like the soundtrack was put together by the Residents, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fritz Lang made better movies, April 1 2004
It's really unfortunate that this film is so well known, because director Fritz Lang made better movies than this - and he knew it. (He thought this movie was stupid.) The special effects are fabulous, and really weren't surpassed until the digital age. It helps that this restoration makes it all look fresh and new. But the story is total crap. It's sad because anyone coming to this film new won't be inclined to check out other, far better Lang films: like his first sound film M, with Peter Lorre, or his silent films Spies, Dr. Mabuse the Gambler, or Der Nibelungen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Metropolis [Import]
Complete Metropolis [Import] by Fritz Lang (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 34.95 CDN$ 23.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews