Customer Reviews


224 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (73)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all reviews etc here are BS
All comments and reviews on this film are about other versions of the movie. this includes the write-ups for the previous Kino Video release of this film, which is also for other crappy versions of this film. Epic fail, Amazon! The Kino versions are the only ones worth owning. As proof that the reviews on this particular item are crap, it has not even been released yet,...
Published on Oct. 12 2010 by Rondini

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars How could they blow this?
Metropolis is one of my favorite movies of all time. Furthermore is one of my favorite stories of all time.
I was quite exited to see a Restored "Authorized" Edition, but when I saw it I was very dissapointed.
The restauration in this one is one of the most uncaring and unloving works I have seen. They did not care if the story in the movie was told...
Published on Dec 9 2003 by D. A


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 523 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, must-have DVD for any film buff, March 13 2003
By A Customer
Metropolis was quite a stunning film for its time. It had "Star Wars" quality special effects which were unheard-of back then--all amazingly done by hand and combined with tedious optical effects. Considering the massive effort and talent required, it was far more ambitious and deserving of praise than Star Wars, which had the luxury of more modern technologies to fall back on. If you view Metropolis in this context, and consider the time period, you can't help but be impressed. In fact, as you watch it, imagine the amazed reaction it must have received in theaters back in the 1920's. Audiences at that time had never seen anything like it. For at least the next 50 years, this film held its own--quite a feat.
The Kino-produced DVD is in itself impressive. It is the absolute best version of the film ever to be made available in any form to the public. The video quality is astonishing considering the difficulty they must have had finding good prints to work with. The audio, too, is superb. You'll really enjoy the extra bonus material as well.
So get this DVD, pop up some popcorn, turn out the lights, and transport yourself back to the 1920's. You're really going to love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review for the serious fan, March 7 2003
By A Customer
For all those who have not yet seen the movie, this is definitely the version to see. For those who are die hard fans of the film, this review is for you.
I was disappointed that, although Kino International worked so hard to fix the major flaws in this version, they still left some minor flaws in. One that drives me insane is, on one of the titles which explains a missing seen, they misspelled Freder and instead write "Feder." AHHHHHHHHH. Anyone who knows German will know that suddenly the character is being called "feather." Speaking of which, I disagree on the choice of digitally translating Hel's monument into English, since this scene never even made it to the English audience anyway. They should have left the original and added a subtitle. Likewise for the phrase "Great is the world and its Creator. And great is man." above the ruined Tower of Babel AND the invitation to Yoshiwara to see the robot dance, which in all other versions I have seen has been in German, leading me to believe that Lang did not shoot a separate English version of this scene. Another glaring error is that, in the picture gallery, a sketch by Aenn Willkomm for Maria's constume is inadvertently referred to as a dress for one of the girls in the garden (!!).
As for the digital restoration, it seems they didn't completely restore some scenes, especially toward the end of the film. On the left side of the screen there is some dust or other markings which could have been erased, and a thin black line running down Freder's face in another scene. Why didn't they fix this??
I also think the film is run too quickly and do not believe for a minute that it was originally run at 25 fps. I have also read that the original score had to be played faster for this very reason. The premiere would have been played between 16 and 20 fps, and subsequent showings by greedy theater owners may have sped it up to get a faster turnover.
My last complaint is that, unlike the other recent restored version, from Munich I believe, this version does not make use of stills to replace lost scenes. I enjoyed the stills in Munich's version because it helped to visualize the missing scene. For example, the photo of the thin man dressed as the bishop. It's not as if these pictures don't exist. On the DVD of this version, there are many lost stills from the encounter between Josaphat and the Thin Man. Why weren't these used in the film?!
Lastly, I still recommend the other Kino International release of 1989. The score, written especially for that release, is also good. Comparing the two versions, this newest one gives an 'evil' feel to the city when you see it for the first time and the robot's dance at Yoshiwara doesn't seem to fit the music. It is, however, still the best release yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, March 6 2003
By 
Spitz (Midwest USA) - See all my reviews
Over the years, as an amateur film historian, I have dutifully watched this film several times in its various butchered incarnations (with the sound turned down to stop myself from cringing at the various, woefully inappropriate attempts to score the film). I knew the film was one of the most important films in cinema history, but for the life of me, I just didn't "get" it.
With this new Kino restoration, I finally get it. Metropolis, as it was meant to be seen, really and truly is an astounding film. This restoration is incredible, making the movie look for all the world like it was filmed yesterday. Yes, it still contains its dated pantomime overacting; but, my god, what a beautiful, stunning film! The incorporation of description cards and photo stills to fill in the missing footage really helps to flesh out the story, so it makes more sense. Best of all, the addition of the original 1927 score really enhances the film -- Finally, we have a score that matches the movie's action and historical significance! The score itself is magnificent and memorable, and hopefully will be made available on CD.
This DVD is definitely a must-have for anyone interested in science fiction or film history in general. If you already own one of the older, butchered copies of this film, keep it so you can make comparisons -- It will help you appreciate Kino's restoration even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The must-buy version!, March 2 2003
I've read over the reviews given here, after having viewed my own copy of this DVD, and must agree with all of you. This version is really stunningly fine, and a must-buy for anyone at all interested in the history of film, and in quality cinema in general.
My first experience of Metropolis was seeing the usual truncated version in a little community cinema in San Francisco some 23 years ago. The musical accompaniment was improvised brilliantly on the piano by an old friend of mine who had seen the original film in Germany as a teenager! It was an unforgettable experience. I especially remember as I greeted him at half-time him saying (probably about the actor who played Freder), "oh, that one actor is a real Westphalian ham! It's really hard to keep up with him!"
Anyway... this restored version is a great revelation for me. As a composer myself, and one who has been studying silent film music lately, seeing this film restored with the music originally written for it is hugely rewarding. The music is well-written, and perfectly carries across the film-maker's intentions, in a style in keeping with that of the film. It is a model of good silent-film music, worthy of study. It points up all the more how problematic it is when silents are released without proper music (e.g. the DVD of Eisenstein's "Battleship Potemkin", with a bunch of spliced-together extracts of Shostokovitch symphonies: fine music, but often incongruous with the film; a CD now exists of the original music by Edmund Meisel -- when will someone finally match this with the movie for a true restoration?).
Besides the music, the visual restoration is truly magnificent, often breathtaking in its beauty. Would that all great silent films could get this treatment (but the cost would be astronomical)!
As to speed: actually, there's reference in the DVD (or its booklet, I forget) to the original speed being 25 frames-per-second, which is pretty close to the modern 24 fps. But the action does sometimes look a little frantic, so I wonder about the 20 fps theory... If so, that's about the only flaw in this production.
Again, a must-buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Technical review of Kino Metropolis, March 1 2003
By 
Jose Elias (Santiago, Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
Ok, by now I assume you know what Metropolis is about, so let's go to the juicy parts: You want to know how it looks and how it rates to other versions.
First of all, the one thing you will notice inmediatelly is that the quality of this DVD is *OUTSTANDING* (when considering this is a 1927 movie). The digital wizards that restored the film not only got rid of the scratches, they actually went all the way and instead of using an automated process to restore the film they went BY HAND frame by frame and fixed all imperfections. They fixed the grainnes, the contrast, AND the shaking (common to old film). The film almost looks like if it was recently shot with a black and white camera, it is THAT good. They even went further and when they combined many reels from different sources into one scene they actually fixed the images on both reels so that you don't notice the difference between then (i.e.: the transitions occur seamlessly).
You can find out about all this in the included documentary on the restoration. They even mention that such a painstaking and expensive process is not used in most films, but due to the importance of Metropolis they went all the way.
I also recommend you read the small booklet included which has even more information.
As for the story, I have to admit that I was completely surprised. The movie now makes sense!!! For example, in previous "mutilated" versions of Metropolis, we were all told to believe that the robot was created to control the masses. Now we learn though that in the original film, the robot is really the creation of a scientist whose wife dies, and thus he tries to recreate her again.
Also note one quarter of the film is still missing (sadly, very likely forever), but thanks to deep research they restoration team actually found out what was missing, and for those missing scenes they include special "title cards" that explain in text what's missing when (when you watch the movie this does not distract you, since it feels that the titles are part of the movie, this being a silent film after all).
Also, you will find TONS of scenes you very likely never saw before in any previous version, and this also makes the film feel "complete". You will also be amazed at the grandeur of some of such scenes, giving any modern "monumental" movie a true run for their money. This also has to be said about the special effects, which in many cases hold up pretty fine even in today's age of digital wizzardly.
As for the soundtrack: WOW. Now finally the soundtrack follows the action on the screen!!! They actually went back and restored the original soundtrack and used the original written clues in the soundtrack notes to find out what went where. Now everything feels much more in place and the music sets the mood in many scenes, making the movie much more enjoyable.
Let me summarize this by saying that after watching this Kino Version of Metropolis, I went RIGHT AWAY and dispossed in the garbage of all my other Metropolis versions.
All I can say is that this is a true labor of love, and that my deepest humble thanks go to the team that did this restoration. If I were one of them, I'd be extremelly proud for acchieving something many thought impossible. It finally makes justice over 75 years later to an amazingly great film, very likely the film "that started it all" when it comes to science fiction and many other genres (I can see 2001-A Space Oddisey, Star Wars, Blade Runner, Terminator, and the Matrix all being directly and heavily influenced by this film).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best version yet, Feb. 25 2003
By 
Kindle Customer (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This DVD restored version is the best version of this classic movie that this reviewer has seen. It does has its good and not so good points, but what doesn't?
Firstly the picture transfer and restoration can be considered a success. I compared this version to the Laserdisc Moroder(spelling?) version. My conclusions are that the reduction in the frame rate speed and the inclusion of additional footage make this DVD preferrable. Whether or not the film was shown with color tints, I definitely think that this film works better with the tinting, which adds to the the effect of having two separate worlds - that of the workers and that of the elite who inhabit the surface.
The frame speed as played back here has been controversal. I tried several experiments using the variable playback speed. At 20 frames per second the action is still not true to life. One has to get to .65X to make it so. This speed would be the most preferrable. The audio, however, does suffer at these reduced speeds.
The audio is a disappointment. The score adds little value to this film. I felt myself not being drawn in emotionally as much as with the Moroder version. In this case - and I may be in the minority here - I think that a modern (read pop or rock)score, in particular the Moroder score works much better than the classical score, after all it is a futuristic vision we are being shown. Also, Moroder's use of silence and sound effects are much more effective and at times stunning.
The most useless part of this new release is the commentary. Granted I did not hear it all but what I heard was someone describing what they thought the religious symbolism was during a scene. This was, in my opinion, not appropriate. This is only someone's impression or opinion. Commentary on *how* the film was made or what happened during the shot is what should be the commentary subject.
I'm glad I bought this for the study but I'm keeping my Moroder version for the impact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Kino DVD, Feb. 24 2003
Released in 1927, amid the golden age of the silent film era, Fritz Lang's METROPOLIS is a stylistic tour-de-force that has remained influential for the rest of the century, inspiring films like 1931's FRANKENSTEIN as well as 1997's DARK CITY. With its imaginative set design, elaborate photography, bold editing, and its then groundbreaking special effects, this German silent classic exemplifies the highly inventive period of German Expressionism, which also include such film masterworks as THE CABINET OF DR. CALIGARI, NOSFERATU, THE LAST LAUGH, and DIE NIBELUNGEN (which Lang made prior to METROPOLIS).
This Kino Region 1-only DVD offers an almost pristine-looking video transfer of the film. The untinted, black-and-white image is clean and sharp throughout, the result of a mostly manual frame-by-frame restoration started in 1998 by Germany's F.W. Murnau Foundation. The included jacket essay gives a brief account of its efforts, as well as the work of other restorationists in the past, notably Munich Filmmuseum and film historian Enno Patalas. The DVD supplements also include an excellent mini-documentary that explains some of the technical details in the restoration.
The film's running time on this DVD is 118 minutes (not 124 as printed on the case). It is shown at the speed of 24 frames per second, an unusual frame rate for a silent film. But according to F.W. Murnau Foundation, this was the projection speed used at the film's premiere in 1927. Some viewers may find the motion a bit too fast at times due to the high frame rate. But some believe this was director Fritz Lang's way to intensify some of the action. (For those who want to watch METROPOLIS at a slower speed, there is a PC DVD player called WinDVD 4.0, which lets you extend or shorten a DVD's running time without affecting the pitch of the audio.)
This DVD only has English intertitles (supported by French and Spanish subtitles). The style, typeface, and the occasional animation in the intertitles were all re-created according to the original film. The original score by Gottfried Huppertz was also "adapted" from its 153-minute original length to the current, shorter length. This is the first time I have a chance to listen to Huppertz's elaborately orchestrated score, and it sounds terrific.
This latest restoration, unfortunately, did not recover a lot of film footage that had been missing over the years. Major sequences that were lost, such as Maria's escape from Rotwang, are still lost. To make up for this, and to make the film's plot more coherent, new intertitles were inserted to summarize the story lines of the missing footage. These intertitles are frequently seen in this restored version, a constant reminder of the large amount (a quarter of the film) of lost footage.
I did a brief side-by-side comparison between the Kino DVD and a few old video versions, and discovered the DVD actually has "alternate scenes" that were utilized for this restoration. In other words, Lang apparently shot some of the scenes *twice* (probably for domestic theaters and abroad), resulting in two versions of a scene looking slightly different. For instance, in the running competition early in the film, the winner wins by a big margin in all older video versions that I had seen. But on the Kino DVD, the winner only wins by a hair.
The DVD's audio commentary by Enno Patalas is mild disappointment. As in the Kino DVD of THE BLUE ANGEL, the comments are too sparse and not too in-depth. And long stretches of silence are frequent. The commentary is largely analytical, and it points out some of the key themes and visual motifs of the film.
The other DVD supplements include an involving 45-minute documentary that covers the making of the film, the German Expressionist period, the "unmaking" of METROPOLIS by censors and Hollywood, and a few interview segments of Lang. The still gallery contains about 90 production photos and design sketches, including about 27 photos taken from missing scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flawed Masterwork, Feb. 24 2003
By 
Heavy Theta (Lorton, Va United States) - See all my reviews
The cover says "Restored", while the inside liner notes explain how hard the current producers worked to salvage what's left of the film. The second paragraph of the notes breaks your heart by mentioning what scenes were cut from the original release and are now probably lost forever.
Coming on the heels of the DVD release of the recently discovered complete version of Die Nibelungen, the irony that Lang's best known work is the one that we'll never get to see all of is sad irony. Oddly enough, the original cuts were made by Paramount, which was interested in the German market and decided that it's initial stateside release would be this ... epic, prior to it's completion. Ufa withdrew the film after a short run in Berlin, and then agreed that the shorter version would be better received (despite the popularity of the lengthy Mabuse and Nibelungen). The film, of course, flopped, pretty much putting Ufa out of business.
So there's a half hour of material that is gone, and there's no way of getting around it. Kino has done a fine job here pulling together the best of what's available, while inserting cards to at least bring back the original plot lines. You finally get the full, rich story, and some chance to imagine how everything might have looked. The extra material is generous and quite interesting.
Let's hope a copy of the full version exists somewhere to be unearthed someday, though the odds don't look very good. Meanwhile, this is the best version that exists of one of the greatest of all films. Not a bad investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A labor of love!, Feb. 23 2003
By 
C. ANZIULEWICZ "Chuck Anziulewicz" (Spring Hill, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At last, the "Metropolis" film restoration project is complete, and the results are brilliant. One of the greatest and most influential science fiction films in history has been rescued from oblivion, and now it can survive in digital glory to amaze and capture the imaginations of future generations.
The first time I purchased a DVD of this film, it was the "Hollywood Classics" version, and I was so terribly disappointed by the scratchy print that I could hardly get past the first 20 minutes, and ultimately I donated the disc to my local public library. Sure, I knew that surviving prints of "Metropolis" had deteriorated badly, but I had assumed in the age of the DVD that something watchable would be available. The "Hollywood Classics" version is NOT watchable.
But now the definitive version is out, and it's FANTASTIC. I suspect most people who purchase this disc are already familiar with the film and venerate it like I do. But there's much more to recommend this DVD than just the fact that the film has been digitally restored as closely to the version that originally premiered in Berlin in 1927. The extras on this disc are amazing. You'll want to pore over the extensive photo galleries. You'll also enjoy the "Metropolis Case" documentary about Fritz Lang and the place of the film in German Expressionist film history. The short feature about how the film was digitally cleaned up is also interesting, though a bit academic.
But when you finally decide to settle in and watch the film itself, I would highly suggest watching it with the excellent commentary by Enno Patalas ON. It's very well-scripted and provides the film with a great deal of extra meaning and resonance. You've already seen the film a number of times, right? You'll enjoy the commentary, trust me. It doesn't distract from the viewing experience, nor is it like commentary tracks today in which cast and crew watch the film and just throw in offhand observations and an occasional chuckle. Enno Patalas' commentary in contrast is well-paced and highly respectful of both the film and the viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This version had to be a labor of love., Feb. 22 2003
By 
bobtec (United States) - See all my reviews
There are many things that make this version great, but I will mention only 3.
1. The film is painstakingly restored to (probably) the cleanest graphics since 1927 in Berlin (if even then). Gone is the graininess, dirt, smudges, water spots, and scenes that are too light, or too dark. According to the restoration documentary, many of the scenes were restored frame by frame. WOW. What a labor of love. Keep in mind that 1/4 of the film is gone forever, so...
2. The original script is used. This film has probably been the most butchered, massacred, botched, and misrepresented script ever. The 45 minute documentary that comes with the DVD explains why. What Keno did is use the original script, scenes that were gone forever were told via a storyboard (which makes this version probably the most coherant Metropolis ever). Example: If you watch the cheap PD production of Metropolis, it makes Rotwang look like a faithful servant of Joh Fredersen, whereas the Kino version not only shows that Rotwang dispises Fredersen, but why (It seems that they shared the same woman, named Hel (another fact not mentioned in all other versions). She was originally Rotwang's girl, but was lured away by Fredersen. She dies giving birth to Freder). There are many other small scenes that make the film look like a different, better & more complete movie.
3. It has the original 1927 Orchestral Score. All the other versions of this film have background music (lets see... The Media version is the same music over and over again. The Platnum version is mood music from standard classical music which abruptly changes when the scene changes. The Georgio Moroder one (which would probably be the lowest rated for tackiness alone) plays Dat Ol' Time Rock 'n' Roll). It is so refreshing not only to hear the original score (of course, newly recorded), but to be able to hear it in dolby 5.1 surround.
The only thing left to ask yourself is this. What do I do with my old cheap version? The only answer I can come up with is that fortunately, the cheap disk is still round and therefore has the perfect shape for skeet shooting.
If you've never purchased Metropolis, this is the one to get. This one may cost more, but is proof (just like many Criterion releases) that you get what you pay for.
Kudos to Kino, and Transit Films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 523 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Metropolis [Import]
Complete Metropolis [Import] by Fritz Lang (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 34.95 CDN$ 23.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews