countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
152
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 4, 2010
I have to wonder if Duchess has even read the stories because this show is a very faithful adaptation. There was lots of violence and danger in them! Many times Holmes asked Watson to bring his pistol along with him during an investigation. Many times they were in life or death situations involving guns and murder attempts and violent criminals. Perhaps she is thinking of the mid-century tv and film adaptations. Well, those weren't always faithful to the stories. Holmes is never, ever described as wearing the deerstalker cloak and hat you always see. As a Holmes purist, I think Sir Arthur Conan Doyle would be well pleased with the BBC's adaption.
0Comment| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2010
I had often wondered how would Sherlock Holmes fare in these present times.How would he handle all the smart phones, computers, fast cars, and increasing reliance on technology? It's all so very different from the 1800's.
Well, wonder no more! What is perhaps our most favorite and popular "consulting detective" is now working in present day London. A modernized Sherlock in BBC's latest adaptation does not disappoint; it fact is leaves you wanting more. Sherlock Holmes is here, and is unstoppable!
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2011
A bold revisioning of a classic. And its superb!

The fact that the creators of this version remained true to the original characters--Holmes and Watson--was essential to make the show viable. They didn't mess in any essential way with the duo; if they had it would have spelled disaster.

But, rest assured, Holmes is still a self-centered ego-maniac and a superior thinking-machine. And we still find him absoltuely enthralling! And Watson is still a veteran of the Afgan war whose growing respect for Holmes' abilities is fresh with each case. The London they sleuth around is still hard-boiled, dirty, and overwhelming. The criminals are still ruthless and ingenious.

Some changes: Watson now blogs, Holmes uses the internet to gain certain facts about weather conditions and transportation schedules, and they ride in cabs rather than horse drawn coaches. But these are hardly fatal departures from the FORM of the story or character.

The actor who plays Holmes, Benedict Cumberbatch, is perfect. It must be a hard job to portray a character who is self-absorbed, emotionally distant, and intellectually over-bearing AND who is also charming and, at times, even warm. Cumberbatch pulls it off admirably. He is Holmes. I am a huge fan of Jeremy Brett's interpretation of Holmes (see Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Granada Television Series (12 DVD)) and Cumberbatch is, in my humble opinion, every bit as good as the master. Martin Freeman as Watson is excellent, too. He mixes the right amount of bewliderment at Holmes's antics with a dogged determination to experience every adventure that comes his way.

One of the writers scripted the new Tintin movie.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2016
I really enjoyed this season. I was skeptical about it at first, and was disappointed with how many episodes there are per season, but the story and the acting shone through and made me a fan. For a retelling, this show does an amazing job. The shaping of the story and each character's personality and backstory to fit in with the modern world, all while holding true enough to a lot of the original source, was done really well. The show doesn't rely on fans of the books to enjoy it, it holds its own light and can capture the attention of many people regardless of their familiarity with the original Sherlock Holme's stories.

Each episode is a perfect amount of time. It can almost feel a bit long compared to other shows out there, but there is no story that doesn't end in that episode - and each episode also isn't so self-contained as to not make the whole season come together. The last episode does end on a cliffhanger and that made me so impatient to watch the next season. The hype didn't die until then because of the speculations that arose and the plot and characters kept everyone intrigued and entertained enough so that the ridiculously long wait didn't kill off watcher interest.

The product itself is in good condition, the subtitles are good (I enjoy watching everything subtitled), and the pilot episode is also included so you can see how the show got the attention of producers and how things changed from the initial idea to the final cut. If you want to see a well done modern retelling of a great classic, this show is tiers above the rest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2010
This series impressed me. Very intelligent and well created. The acting was superb and it left viewers eagerly demanding a second season, which thankfully, is going to be made next year. Benedict Cumberbatch has the mannerisms of Sherlock Holmes, and the perfect voice. I can think of no better actor to portray him in a modern telling of the classic stories. Martin Freeman as Watson was perfectly casted. He was believable as an army doctor, and very expressive yet able to be so in a subtle manner.
A fun series I'd recommend to anyone and everyone.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2016
Since 2010, the quality of scripted television has often surpassed that of films. Sherlock is a prime example of this. Everything about this BBC production is top notch. The 3 feature length episodes will be sure to leave you wanting more. This is a Sherlock Holmes for the 21rst Century, but at the same time the show has a timeless feel to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2011
This update of the favorite Sherlock Holmes characters is well made and a lot of fun. Details I'd forgotten from the original stories take on a new life and sometimes new meanings in the twenty-first century setting. It took a little while to get used to the use of first names but it was soon part of the characterization. Amusingly, Dr. Watson is still just back from Afghanistan but now he's in therapy for post-traumatic stress. He doesn't write stories but keeps a blog as part of his therapy; Sherlock has a web-site. They both seem to be glued to their cell phones.
The addition of the original pilot is a great extra. Seeing the variations in the story from the original hour-long version to the final one is fascinating. It made me pull the original story off the shelf to compare.
The actors are all great in the various roles and the use of words on-screen to follow Sherlock's racing thoughts helps keep the pace up by skipping the need for constant verbal explanations.
Having the DVD allows one to watch more than once and each time there's another detail noticed. The blogs and Sherlock's web-site have also been set up on-line and it is fun to read the public version given out by the characters after having seen the events in full. John wonders who shot the cabbie when we already saw who did it.
The only problem is having to wait until next fall for the next installment.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2011
I'm not a huge Sherlock Holmes fan and I love this so I feel that anyone will adore this show. My friend, who is a Sherlock fan, recommended it to me because she loved it. The writing and acting is simply terrific. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman make a great pair as Sherlock and Watson. The relationship between them is portrayed wonderfully. The show is very addicting and I have obssessed over it ever since I first saw it. Each episode feels a bit like a mini-movie due to their 1 1/2 hour length so more complex story lines are dealt with. Be warned though, the ending is one of the biggest cliffhangers I've ever seen - I can hardly wait for the next season!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed the three BBC television movies that comprise the first season of Sherlock. The three features are A Study in Pink, The Blind Banker, and The Great Game. As you've probably already read some of the previous descriptions and reviews, I'll simply say that this is an intriguing update on the characters, stories, and location (London looks great with both its historic and modern look). Many interesting and amusing details from the original short-stories and novels have been incorporated and the cast is very good. My few quibbles are more a matter of personal taste than flaws in this version. However, I get the feeling that this new look will not be appreciated by those who don't want to see any modern changes. I also enjoyed the special feature Unlocking Sherlock-The Making of, and will be looking forward to the second season (due to be released/broadcast in late 2011) .
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This update to (arguably) literature's most famous character is absolutely exceptional. The design and production are rich and smart. Perhaps some of the texting displayed on screen and other devices meant to look current day may soon look dated but they were the right call. All of that aside, it is the enigmatic Holmes and his relationship with Watson that has driven the interest in Doyle's original series and every subsequent imagining.

The humour that radiates from two men living together strikes just the right tone. They are the original Odd Couple, Batman & Robin and Crockett and Tubbs (okay maybe not the latter). It has been said before but Benedict Cumberbatch is a fantastic Holmes imbuing him with a near psychotic aloofness (plus the actor has the best name since Dickens named a character). Yet, Holmes needs a Watson and Martin Freeman delivers beautifully. I believe Freeman has the best timing in acting today. I have rewatched the original The Office mostly for his performance.

The style takes some getting used to but soon I found myself running around London with this duo attempting to solve the layered mysteries while enjoying the inside jokes and wry jabs Holmes and Watson inflict in each other.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse