Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Interpretation that stays true to the original stories
I have to wonder if Duchess has even read the stories because this show is a very faithful adaptation. There was lots of violence and danger in them! Many times Holmes asked Watson to bring his pistol along with him during an investigation. Many times they were in life or death situations involving guns and murder attempts and violent criminals. Perhaps she is thinking...
Published on Nov. 4 2010 by Nicole K.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Returned
Though this said Region Free it would not play anything but the Company Logos. When attempting to contact the provider there was no response. 5 stars to Amazon for addressing my concerns, accepting the return and refunding my money promptly. I will now be avoiding anything that says its Region free and also anything being sold by Fulfillment Express CA.
Published 14 months ago by MICHELLE DERMODY


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Interpretation that stays true to the original stories, Nov. 4 2010
By 
Nicole K. (Western Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I have to wonder if Duchess has even read the stories because this show is a very faithful adaptation. There was lots of violence and danger in them! Many times Holmes asked Watson to bring his pistol along with him during an investigation. Many times they were in life or death situations involving guns and murder attempts and violent criminals. Perhaps she is thinking of the mid-century tv and film adaptations. Well, those weren't always faithful to the stories. Holmes is never, ever described as wearing the deerstalker cloak and hat you always see. As a Holmes purist, I think Sir Arthur Conan Doyle would be well pleased with the BBC's adaption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unstoppable Modern Sherlock Holmes!, Oct. 17 2010
By 
This review is from: Sherlock: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I had often wondered how would Sherlock Holmes fare in these present times.How would he handle all the smart phones, computers, fast cars, and increasing reliance on technology? It's all so very different from the 1800's.
Well, wonder no more! What is perhaps our most favorite and popular "consulting detective" is now working in present day London. A modernized Sherlock in BBC's latest adaptation does not disappoint; it fact is leaves you wanting more. Sherlock Holmes is here, and is unstoppable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Strong Version, Dec 20 2011
By 
R. Widdowson (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock: The Complete First Season (DVD)
A bold revisioning of a classic. And its superb!

The fact that the creators of this version remained true to the original characters--Holmes and Watson--was essential to make the show viable. They didn't mess in any essential way with the duo; if they had it would have spelled disaster.

But, rest assured, Holmes is still a self-centered ego-maniac and a superior thinking-machine. And we still find him absoltuely enthralling! And Watson is still a veteran of the Afgan war whose growing respect for Holmes' abilities is fresh with each case. The London they sleuth around is still hard-boiled, dirty, and overwhelming. The criminals are still ruthless and ingenious.

Some changes: Watson now blogs, Holmes uses the internet to gain certain facts about weather conditions and transportation schedules, and they ride in cabs rather than horse drawn coaches. But these are hardly fatal departures from the FORM of the story or character.

The actor who plays Holmes, Benedict Cumberbatch, is perfect. It must be a hard job to portray a character who is self-absorbed, emotionally distant, and intellectually over-bearing AND who is also charming and, at times, even warm. Cumberbatch pulls it off admirably. He is Holmes. I am a huge fan of Jeremy Brett's interpretation of Holmes (see Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Granada Television Series (12 DVD)) and Cumberbatch is, in my humble opinion, every bit as good as the master. Martin Freeman as Watson is excellent, too. He mixes the right amount of bewliderment at Holmes's antics with a dogged determination to experience every adventure that comes his way.

One of the writers scripted the new Tintin movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series!, Nov. 25 2010
By 
Ree Maria (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sherlock: The Complete First Season (DVD)
This series impressed me. Very intelligent and well created. The acting was superb and it left viewers eagerly demanding a second season, which thankfully, is going to be made next year. Benedict Cumberbatch has the mannerisms of Sherlock Holmes, and the perfect voice. I can think of no better actor to portray him in a modern telling of the classic stories. Martin Freeman as Watson was perfectly casted. He was believable as an army doctor, and very expressive yet able to be so in a subtle manner.
A fun series I'd recommend to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game is on!, Jan. 28 2011
By 
P. Corbett (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: The Complete First Season (DVD)
This update of the favorite Sherlock Holmes characters is well made and a lot of fun. Details I'd forgotten from the original stories take on a new life and sometimes new meanings in the twenty-first century setting. It took a little while to get used to the use of first names but it was soon part of the characterization. Amusingly, Dr. Watson is still just back from Afghanistan but now he's in therapy for post-traumatic stress. He doesn't write stories but keeps a blog as part of his therapy; Sherlock has a web-site. They both seem to be glued to their cell phones.
The addition of the original pilot is a great extra. Seeing the variations in the story from the original hour-long version to the final one is fascinating. It made me pull the original story off the shelf to compare.
The actors are all great in the various roles and the use of words on-screen to follow Sherlock's racing thoughts helps keep the pace up by skipping the need for constant verbal explanations.
Having the DVD allows one to watch more than once and each time there's another detail noticed. The blogs and Sherlock's web-site have also been set up on-line and it is fun to read the public version given out by the characters after having seen the events in full. John wonders who shot the cabbie when we already saw who did it.
The only problem is having to wait until next fall for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing!!!!, Feb. 5 2011
This review is from: Sherlock: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I'm not a huge Sherlock Holmes fan and I love this so I feel that anyone will adore this show. My friend, who is a Sherlock fan, recommended it to me because she loved it. The writing and acting is simply terrific. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman make a great pair as Sherlock and Watson. The relationship between them is portrayed wonderfully. The show is very addicting and I have obssessed over it ever since I first saw it. Each episode feels a bit like a mini-movie due to their 1 1/2 hour length so more complex story lines are dealt with. Be warned though, the ending is one of the biggest cliffhangers I've ever seen - I can hardly wait for the next season!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Returned, Aug. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Though this said Region Free it would not play anything but the Company Logos. When attempting to contact the provider there was no response. 5 stars to Amazon for addressing my concerns, accepting the return and refunding my money promptly. I will now be avoiding anything that says its Region free and also anything being sold by Fulfillment Express CA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable modern version of Sherlock Holmes, Nov. 29 2010
By 
Arthur Hattrick (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thoroughly enjoyed the three BBC television movies that comprise the first season of Sherlock. The three features are A Study in Pink, The Blind Banker, and The Great Game. As you've probably already read some of the previous descriptions and reviews, I'll simply say that this is an intriguing update on the characters, stories, and location (London looks great with both its historic and modern look). Many interesting and amusing details from the original short-stories and novels have been incorporated and the cast is very good. My few quibbles are more a matter of personal taste than flaws in this version. However, I get the feeling that this new look will not be appreciated by those who don't want to see any modern changes. I also enjoyed the special feature Unlocking Sherlock-The Making of, and will be looking forward to the second season (due to be released/broadcast in late 2011) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No words, Dec 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not happy about the product being locked to the uK. It by far isn't Region Free. Shipping was fast but let down by the misleading description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic re-imagining, May 15 2012
By 
Catherine A. Thompson (Kingston, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Imagine, if you will, that Sherlock Holmes was a product of the 21st century, not the 19th. No gas-lit evenings on foggy London streets, hailing hansom cabs drawn by horses. Instead, he hails black taxi-cabs. Instead of telegrams, he sends text messages. John Watson is a veteran of Afghanistan, yes, but of the most recent version of that war. Instead of a diary, he keeps a blog.

Now, imagine that this Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson come not from the mind of a literary-minded physician but of the fevered brains of two of Britain's reigning television writers, Steven Moffat (of the re-booted "Doctor Who") and Mark Gatiss (actor, screenwriter, and novelist). Both men are fans of the original Sherlock Holmes stories, and it shows in how they write their re-imagined Holmes and Watson. For this Sherlock is an original himself; he is the only consulting detective, ever. He has no precedent, no antecedent. He simply is.

Now cast the inimitable Martin Freeman ("The Hitch-hiker's Guide to the Galaxy", "The Hobbit") as the steady John Watson, Holmes's only friend and his rock. And cast the spectacular Benedict Cumberbatch ("Atonement," "War Horse") as Sherlock Holmes, the brilliant yet socially awkward (he describes himself as "a high-functioning sociopath") detective. What you have is something that is at once familiar and utterly original.

One of the things I liked about the episodes is the way Moffat and Gatiss worked elements from the original stories into the teleplays. I'm a Sherlock Holmes buff, and I've read Conan Doyle's stories dozens of times over the years. You don't need to know the originals at all, however, to enjoy "Sherlock." Cumberbatch and Freeman have excellent chemistry on the screen; you believe they are Holmes and Watson and that they are friends. Once you've seen them together, you'll have trouble imagining Holmes and Watson any other way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock: The Complete First Season
Sherlock: The Complete First Season by Benedict Cumberbatch (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 43.98 CDN$ 33.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews