Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best Predator sequel in years
'Predators' is an attempt to resurrect the precise formula that made the 1987 Schwarzenegger original such a classic action hit. Neither the Governator nor his ultra-muscled compatriots is around for this latest installment, but that's Ok. Predators stands on its own two feet as a shining example of careful attention to detail and franchise continuity. Nimrod Antal...
Published on March 12 2012 by Derek Draven

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A tepid kick at the Predator franchise-
Predators(released July/10)is a very luke warm addition to the Predator franchise by producer Rodrigues.It stars,among others,Adrien Brody,Topher Grace,Alice Braga,Walton Goggins,Danny Trejo and Lawrence Fishburne.Unless someone has a bit more imagination than this and the last group of writers of the series,then this franchise is essentially dead in the water.And what a...
Published 17 months ago by Robert Badgley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A tepid kick at the Predator franchise-, Nov. 5 2013
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
Predators(released July/10)is a very luke warm addition to the Predator franchise by producer Rodrigues.It stars,among others,Adrien Brody,Topher Grace,Alice Braga,Walton Goggins,Danny Trejo and Lawrence Fishburne.Unless someone has a bit more imagination than this and the last group of writers of the series,then this franchise is essentially dead in the water.And what a shame as it has SO much potential.I thought at least Rodrigues would do a half decent job,but boy was I wrong.
The story starts as Brody is free falling to Earth.Just in time his parachute opens,but his landing is still a rough one.Eventually eight others join him.Some are former armed forces personnel but others range from a death row inmate to a doctor.None know why they are there or where "where" is.They wander around the jungle-like environment until they come to the edge of the forest and discover three planets in the sky.They are definitely not on Earth.It is soon after the group get attacked by dog-like creatures that sport deadly spikes.They manage to kill most of them,until the last ones are recalled back by a high pitched sound.Brody comes to the conclusion they are in a game preserve of sorts and they are the prey.
The group later enter a clearing in which they find a Predator tied up to a tall stake.Suddenly a bigger Predator attacks and the second victim from the group falls.Later in the jungle, Fishburne appears offering the group shelter.He takes them to an abandoned space craft where he has lived for about 10 years.He talks to an imaginary friend,but reveals that the predators have a feud going between the bigger and smaller ones.During the night he tries to kill the group,but Brody attracts the predators who kill Fishburne.They escape into the jungle and while fleeing three of the group die by sacrificing themselves and killing the same amount of predators.They go back to the clearing and cut down the small predator on the stake.Brody motions that he wants the predator to help them all escape by piloting the predator ship.The alien sets the ship on automatic pilot but then is killed by a larger predator.
While running to the ship, the doctor gets injured but Braga won't leave him.Brody carries on and appears to leave on the alien ship.The large predator sees the ship leaving and remotely blows it up.The doctor meanwhile has incapacitated Braga and is about to kill her when Brody shows up and saves her.Brody uses the doctor as bait(loading him with explosives)and lures a predator in,but the resultant explosion only stuns the predator.But it's enough for Brody to eventually get the upper hand and kill it.After the fight more people start parachuting in,as the scenario seems to be starting all over again.Brody tells Braga that they should keep looking for a way off the planet.Fade out.
Right,as if that will ever happen after what they have just been through!The plot is a meandering fiasco,is it goes from one pointless moment to another,and none of them generating any kind of excitement.Remember,we have had two other predator movies before,not counting the Alien VS series.We KNOW what they look like and how they hunt.In fact the only thing we didn't know was that there was an in-fighting thing going on between different parts of their species...big deal.Other than that,it was all old territory;the attack with their razor claws,their cloaking in and out,their mimicking of human speech,their ability to see in different light spectrum's,etc,etc.It is all been there,done that stuff;no originality in a truck load.There was a quick reference by Braga back to the first movie;said the Volkswagen about the Cadillac!Boy,how I yearned that this stinker was half as good as that.
Technically speaking this film is in its original w/s a/r of 2:35:1 and is clear and crisp.Extras include a featurette,commentary and some prequel motion-comics.
In conclusion the Predator franchise continues to speed up in its downhill descent.The efforts by Rodrigues and his crew fail to slow its speed.This is a dull sequel that no more furthers the series than I do.2 1/2 - 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so movie, Nov. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
Not nearly as good as the first and worse than the second one. Sorry I bought it but now have all three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best Predator sequel in years, March 12 2012
By 
Derek Draven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'Predators' is an attempt to resurrect the precise formula that made the 1987 Schwarzenegger original such a classic action hit. Neither the Governator nor his ultra-muscled compatriots is around for this latest installment, but that's Ok. Predators stands on its own two feet as a shining example of careful attention to detail and franchise continuity. Nimrod Antal (who names their kid Nimrod, seriously?) takes over the director's chair from John McTiernan along with the backing of action-vet Robert Rodriguez, and the pairing is perfect. Under the Troublemaker Studios banner, Antal and Rodriguez have independent financing and are free from executive interference. The result is a film that breathes easy and is a rollicking good time from start to finish.

The premise of the film is straightforward. Royce (played great by Adrien Brody) is a disillusioned mercenary who wakes up to find himself parachuting down into a jungle below. With no recollection of how he got there, Royce begins exploring the surrounding area, only to realize that he's not alone. Mexican drug enforcer Cuchillo (Danny Trejo), Spetsnaz killer Nikolai (Oleg Taktarov) and Israeli sniper Isabelle (Alice Braga) have all arrived in the same manner. They soon come into contact with a death row inmate named Stans (Walton Goggins), RUF officer Mombasa (Mahershalalhashbaz Ali), a silent Yakuza named Hanzo (Louis Ozawa Changchien), and the odd man out, a doctor named Edwin (Topher Grace). Putting aside their wild distrust and paranoia, they eventually form a team to investigate just what has happened. They soon realize that they're no longer on Earth, but in fact an alien jungle planet where a group of alien warriors steeped in hunter culture have assembled them for sport. The silent, invisible hunters begin to toy with the team before setting loose to pick them off, one by one. Realizing that they're outgunned by superior opponents, the team of human predators decides to go on the offensive against the alien predators that seek to take them out.

Looking at Predators, it's no stretch to see what's really going on here. Jungle. Soldiers. Big guns. Predators. We get it. It's a nod to the original, as well as an attempt to recapture the spirit of said film. Fortunately, it's done right. The decision to add in human "predators" from various parts of the world is a nice way to craft a unique team, instead of making them fully American uber-Hulks with bulging biceps and raging testosterone. Predators is more subtle in delivery, making its characters a bit more physically realistic in relation to their real life military counterparts. Yes, we see guys like Adrien Brody in the military. Yes, there are women in the Israeli special forces. It's not quite as immediately exciting as typical 1980s action movie clichés can be, but we're living in the 2010's. Time to get with the times.

As much as the humans have changed, so have the Predators. There are now two distinct strains of Predator creature, and this film focuses largely on the new strain with seemingly superior strength, cunning and technology. They're also a lot more feral and aggressive than their traditional counterparts. Nevertheless, the "hero" Predator is alive and well here, looking every bit as menacing as his 1987 counterpart. In fact, Troublemaker did a MUCH better job of crafting the Predator than Amalgamated Dynamics did with the ones in the recent 'Aliens Vs. Predator' series. I'm doubly impressed. For those who haven't seen the film, there are some interesting new additions to Predator lore here that are very welcome, including a direct dialog reference to the events of the first film, which is something I always like to see for the sake of continuity. Things tend to slide a bit in the third act, though. I was surprised to see someone like Laurence Fishburne in a Predator film, and although he's put into the shoes of a character who simply doesn't suit the actor, it was pretty cool nonetheless. There are still some missteps, though. For all it's effort in trying to emulate the first film so closely with musical, sonic and visual cues, there is no classic "Predator view" mode to be seen here. It was a glaring annoyance in the first Alien Vs Predator film, and something that, ironically, was rectified in Alien Vs. Predator: Requiem. Not so here. I guess technology has to evolve at some point, but there's no getting away from how eerie and absolutely riveting the original Predator's infra-red view truly was.

There are some issues with the plot, however. While I can certainly understand a Predator landing on Earth and stalking an elite commando team, I have a harder time swallowing the notion that they abducted these men for the purpose of dragging them to a backwater jungle planet to set up a hunt. In fact, one character is so completely unassuming that I had to wonder if there was a Predator on stakeout just gathering evidence as to whether he could actually be a cold-blooded killer or not. And if he was, certainly his physicality would prove no match for a Predator in a one-on-one battle. Similarly, I was a bit irritated to see Danny Trejo's character check out so early in the film, especially given how significant a presence he has in action films. These were absolute stumbles, but given how good the film is on the whole, I guess I can let 'em slide.

On Blu-Ray, Predators is as good as one can expect. I was hoping for a bit more color saturation for the jungle environments, but it's a well-done hi-def transfer with little to complain about. Sound is a bit of a miss, with a somewhat quiet voice channel flanked by ragingly loud sound effects during battle scenes. I tend to expect this sort of thing nowadays, unfortunately. Extras include some good commentary tracks by Rodriguez and Antal, as well as several backstory motion comics, deleted scenes, and a solid behind-the-scenes documentary.

Predators is the best on-screen representation of the terrifying alien killer since the 1987 original. It borrows a lot from that film in an attempt to lure fans back to the setting that they were so upset to see jettisoned for Predator 2, but it runs the risk of appearing a bit too much of a carbon-copy for some. Personally, I thought it was great despite the oversights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, July 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
This completes my collection, great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back to the jungle, Feb. 23 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
One of the biggest problems I had with "Predator 2" was that it abandoned the atmosphere of the original "Predator" movie. As for the AvP movies, forget it.

Well, "Predators" has a completely different cast and setting from the original... yet it successfully captures that grimy, sweaty, blood-stained jungle quality. The difference this time is that all the humans are also vicious killers of one kind or another, and strong performances by Adrien Brody, Alice Braga, Laurence Fishburne and the rest keep us invested despite the nastiness of some characters.

Eight people find themselves parachuted into an unknown jungle: Royce, an American mercenary (Brody); Isabelle, an IDF sniper (Braga); Hanzo, a yakuza enforcer (Louis Ozawa Changchien); Nikolai, a Spetsnatz soldier (Oleg Taktarov); Mombasa, a Sierra Leone death squad member (Mahershalalhashbaz Ali); Cuchillo, a cruel cartel thug (Danny Trejo); Stans, a serial killer on death row (Walton Goggins), and a seeming harmless doctor named Edwin (Topher Grace).

At first, the eight people have no idea who they are doing there, or how they came to be there. They have even more questions when they realize that this jungle isn't even on Earth.

But that isn't their biggest problem: someone is following them through the jungle, and slaughtering these seasoned killers one by one. Also, there's a crazy guy (Laurence Fishburne) who may be a lot more dangerous than he seems. Their only chance of survival is to somehow kill the alien Predators that are following them -- assuming they don't kill each other first.

When I first heard of "Predators," my first thought was that it sounded more like a remake than a sequel. But it does successfully twiddle the original formula -- the humans are all professional killers, none of them know each other, and there is no safe haven for them unless they are able to somehow get a spaceship. Even the "obfuscate the heat vision" scene is turned on its head.

But at the same time, director Nimród Antal and producer Robert Rodrieguez GET it. They know why the original movie worked, and they successfully twiddle the formula without losing what makes it good. The story is simple and mostly straightforward (with a few easy-to-predict twists), with the sweaty, bloodstained atmosphere of people trapped in the jungle.

The one big problem? Well, halfway through the movie we're introduced to the idea that there are different breeds of Predator, and they hunt each other as well as other species... it's never explained enough. It's a bit confusing.

I was initially skeptical of the casting of tall, skinny Adrien Brody as the lead character, but he's frankly pretty awesome -- a lean, wiry, cold-as-ice guy who has a soft spot for "nice" people. The gravelly Batman voice is a little off-putting, though. We get it, you're tough.

And the other actors all do brilliant jobs, fleshing out their characters -- each one gets pros and cons to their personality, no matter how repulsive they may be. Braga and Taktarov are especially good as the only "good" people in the group, who seem to have stable compassionate personalities, while Changchien manages to make a likable, interesting character out of only a handful of lines and a truly awesome kendo duel. And yes, Grace has a wonderfully chilling performance set apart from the assorted soldiers and enforcers.

"Predators" catches the tone and atmosphere of the original "Predator," then twists around the entire formula. Brilliant acting and a simple, solid story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Predators Bluray, Oct. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought this one some time back to sort of complete my Predator series.
I enjoyed it contrary to what others have said about it.
I will watch it again and would recommend it to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUCCESS! -- A Good Predator Sequel!, Jan. 13 2011
I think I went on a cheap night one Tuesday and saw it... And I remember being surprised that I enjoyed it so much. This movie actually is what inspired me to watch Predator and Predator 2 for the first time! I think it was fast-paced, well-acted and visually enjoyable. I was impressed and since then have purchased the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Predators blu ray...who is the real "Predator"?, Oct. 26 2010
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Predators is the fifth of the "Predator" franchise, starting with Predator, Predator 2, Aliens vs. Predator, and Aliens vs. Predator Requiem. Before you watch this movie, you must read the following in order to understand what's going on during the movie. There are four Predators, two larger sized ones hunting the humans: "Berserker Predator", identified by an alien mandible attached to its helmet, and "Falconer Predator" controlling a flying reconnaissance drone. The "Tracker Predator", identified by a pair of tusks attached to its helmet, which controls the quadrupedal hunting animals. These larger Predators attacked in threes. The "Classic Predator", designed to resemble the creature in the original Predator film, is the smaller sized Predator, held captive by the three larger Predators, and later turning against its own kind.

The essence of the plot is that a bunch of humans dropped into a distant planet, to be hunted by these Predators. The irony of the film title is that these humans ended up hunting down these aliens, becoming "Predators" themselves.

Video: This 1080p AVC MPEG-4 transfer (2.35:1) is top notch, unlike the poor transfer to blu ray for its older brother "Predator" earlier this year. The moody darkness of the film comes through excellently via solid colour accuracy and black levels. You feel like you are actually in the jungle yourself. (4.5/5)

Audio: The DTS-HD MA 5.1 sound is just as energetic as the video: loud. The sound score by John Debney is aggressive and panoramic, that blanded with the story. The subwoofers also had a great work-out. (4/5)

It is not a great movie. To most, the plot can be very confusing: alien predators hunting humans, humans hunting alien predators and also alien predator fighting against its own kind. But if you leave your analytical mind behind, this blu ray disc comes with excellent video and audio transfers. Just turn up your system, turn off the lights and wait for that Laurence Fishburne cameo. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My Two Cents..., May 20 2011
By 
Adam (Saskatoon, SK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
Is it a Sequel or a Remake?

I struggle to find words for this movie. I have grown to dislike strong language, which this movie has in spades. The action sequences were pretty good, but the special effects could have been better (I watched it on Netflix, so quality might have been an issue).

This movie has an entertaining story line. A bunch of "predators" from planet Earth (soldiers, killers, thugs, psychos, etc...) are abducted by the Predator aliens who then take them to their hunting range planet. Blood, guts, corpses, alien technology, betrayal, double cross, crazy people and more blood and guts... pretty much summarizes the majority of the movie.

Here's my big problem. This is way too similar to the original Predator. The guy with the mini-gun, the knife/sword showdown between the Japanese guy and the predator, the jungle, the music, the two lone survivors being the main protagonist and a girl, etc... are all too similar to what happens in the first movie. It's like the production team couldn't decide whether to make a sequel or a remake, so they said yes to both and squished them together.

If you're a die hard fan of the franchise, worth the buy. If you just want some entertainment, rent it or borrow it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Right On., April 2 2011
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Predators was exactly what it needed to be: A wicked homage to the original film. While Predator 2 certainly has its fans and detractors, and the AVP series were, well...anyway, suffice to say that Predators is the best movie in the franchise since the original. That doesn't mean it's as good, or even half as good, but I bloody well liked it. I had a great time with it. Adrian Brody was cool but underachieving. I liked a lot of the backing characters a lot more. There was a cool mix of characters from different origins, but the concept was, we're back to a group of people stuck in the jungle.

Blu ray special features are nice. There is a little profile on each of the characters, and a bunch of making-ofs. Cool stuff. I was very impressed with the locations. They really made it look like this jungle was no place on Earth, even though it was. Director Nimrod Antal guides you through the making of the film in an interesting way. Even my mother-in-law, who hates action movies, stopped and watched the making-ofs with me one afternoon because she thought they were interesting.

I doubt there will ever be a movie as good as Predator. I mean, you've got the magic cast there. You've got Arnold at his very peak right there, Carl Weathers, Bill Duke, the whole bunch. There was a chemistry there that won't be repeated. Brody and his counterparts here have created characters with enough depth that you can get into the story and their plight. Some are, shall we say, inspired by characters from the original film. (Watch both, you'll see what I mean.) By the time the Predators show up, Robert Rodriguez and Nimrod Antal have thrown so many homages out to the original film that you will either be won over or peed off. But that's the direction they went into, and I imagine future sequels (all but guaranteed) will expand upon the storyline and planet a great deal.

4 stars. Can't complain, I enjoyed this one a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Predators (Bilingual)
Predators (Bilingual) by Nimród Antal (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 11.98 CDN$ 9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews