Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great
This completes my collection, great movie
Published 1 month ago by BabyGirl

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so movie
Not nearly as good as the first and worse than the second one. Sorry I bought it but now have all three.
Published 9 months ago by Diane Edwards


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so movie, Nov. 10 2013
By 
Diane Edwards - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
Not nearly as good as the first and worse than the second one. Sorry I bought it but now have all three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A tepid kick at the Predator franchise-, Nov. 5 2013
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
Predators(released July/10)is a very luke warm addition to the Predator franchise by producer Rodrigues.It stars,among others,Adrien Brody,Topher Grace,Alice Braga,Walton Goggins,Danny Trejo and Lawrence Fishburne.Unless someone has a bit more imagination than this and the last group of writers of the series,then this franchise is essentially dead in the water.And what a shame as it has SO much potential.I thought at least Rodrigues would do a half decent job,but boy was I wrong.
The story starts as Brody is free falling to Earth.Just in time his parachute opens,but his landing is still a rough one.Eventually eight others join him.Some are former armed forces personnel but others range from a death row inmate to a doctor.None know why they are there or where "where" is.They wander around the jungle-like environment until they come to the edge of the forest and discover three planets in the sky.They are definitely not on Earth.It is soon after the group get attacked by dog-like creatures that sport deadly spikes.They manage to kill most of them,until the last ones are recalled back by a high pitched sound.Brody comes to the conclusion they are in a game preserve of sorts and they are the prey.
The group later enter a clearing in which they find a Predator tied up to a tall stake.Suddenly a bigger Predator attacks and the second victim from the group falls.Later in the jungle, Fishburne appears offering the group shelter.He takes them to an abandoned space craft where he has lived for about 10 years.He talks to an imaginary friend,but reveals that the predators have a feud going between the bigger and smaller ones.During the night he tries to kill the group,but Brody attracts the predators who kill Fishburne.They escape into the jungle and while fleeing three of the group die by sacrificing themselves and killing the same amount of predators.They go back to the clearing and cut down the small predator on the stake.Brody motions that he wants the predator to help them all escape by piloting the predator ship.The alien sets the ship on automatic pilot but then is killed by a larger predator.
While running to the ship, the doctor gets injured but Braga won't leave him.Brody carries on and appears to leave on the alien ship.The large predator sees the ship leaving and remotely blows it up.The doctor meanwhile has incapacitated Braga and is about to kill her when Brody shows up and saves her.Brody uses the doctor as bait(loading him with explosives)and lures a predator in,but the resultant explosion only stuns the predator.But it's enough for Brody to eventually get the upper hand and kill it.After the fight more people start parachuting in,as the scenario seems to be starting all over again.Brody tells Braga that they should keep looking for a way off the planet.Fade out.
Right,as if that will ever happen after what they have just been through!The plot is a meandering fiasco,is it goes from one pointless moment to another,and none of them generating any kind of excitement.Remember,we have had two other predator movies before,not counting the Alien VS series.We KNOW what they look like and how they hunt.In fact the only thing we didn't know was that there was an in-fighting thing going on between different parts of their species...big deal.Other than that,it was all old territory;the attack with their razor claws,their cloaking in and out,their mimicking of human speech,their ability to see in different light spectrum's,etc,etc.It is all been there,done that stuff;no originality in a truck load.There was a quick reference by Braga back to the first movie;said the Volkswagen about the Cadillac!Boy,how I yearned that this stinker was half as good as that.
Technically speaking this film is in its original w/s a/r of 2:35:1 and is clear and crisp.Extras include a featurette,commentary and some prequel motion-comics.
In conclusion the Predator franchise continues to speed up in its downhill descent.The efforts by Rodrigues and his crew fail to slow its speed.This is a dull sequel that no more furthers the series than I do.2 1/2 - 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, July 4 2014
By 
BabyGirl - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
This completes my collection, great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back to the jungle, Feb. 23 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
One of the biggest problems I had with "Predator 2" was that it abandoned the atmosphere of the original "Predator" movie. As for the AvP movies, forget it.

Well, "Predators" has a completely different cast and setting from the original... yet it successfully captures that grimy, sweaty, blood-stained jungle quality. The difference this time is that all the humans are also vicious killers of one kind or another, and strong performances by Adrien Brody, Alice Braga, Laurence Fishburne and the rest keep us invested despite the nastiness of some characters.

Eight people find themselves parachuted into an unknown jungle: Royce, an American mercenary (Brody); Isabelle, an IDF sniper (Braga); Hanzo, a yakuza enforcer (Louis Ozawa Changchien); Nikolai, a Spetsnatz soldier (Oleg Taktarov); Mombasa, a Sierra Leone death squad member (Mahershalalhashbaz Ali); Cuchillo, a cruel cartel thug (Danny Trejo); Stans, a serial killer on death row (Walton Goggins), and a seeming harmless doctor named Edwin (Topher Grace).

At first, the eight people have no idea who they are doing there, or how they came to be there. They have even more questions when they realize that this jungle isn't even on Earth.

But that isn't their biggest problem: someone is following them through the jungle, and slaughtering these seasoned killers one by one. Also, there's a crazy guy (Laurence Fishburne) who may be a lot more dangerous than he seems. Their only chance of survival is to somehow kill the alien Predators that are following them -- assuming they don't kill each other first.

When I first heard of "Predators," my first thought was that it sounded more like a remake than a sequel. But it does successfully twiddle the original formula -- the humans are all professional killers, none of them know each other, and there is no safe haven for them unless they are able to somehow get a spaceship. Even the "obfuscate the heat vision" scene is turned on its head.

But at the same time, director Nimród Antal and producer Robert Rodrieguez GET it. They know why the original movie worked, and they successfully twiddle the formula without losing what makes it good. The story is simple and mostly straightforward (with a few easy-to-predict twists), with the sweaty, bloodstained atmosphere of people trapped in the jungle.

The one big problem? Well, halfway through the movie we're introduced to the idea that there are different breeds of Predator, and they hunt each other as well as other species... it's never explained enough. It's a bit confusing.

I was initially skeptical of the casting of tall, skinny Adrien Brody as the lead character, but he's frankly pretty awesome -- a lean, wiry, cold-as-ice guy who has a soft spot for "nice" people. The gravelly Batman voice is a little off-putting, though. We get it, you're tough.

And the other actors all do brilliant jobs, fleshing out their characters -- each one gets pros and cons to their personality, no matter how repulsive they may be. Braga and Taktarov are especially good as the only "good" people in the group, who seem to have stable compassionate personalities, while Changchien manages to make a likable, interesting character out of only a handful of lines and a truly awesome kendo duel. And yes, Grace has a wonderfully chilling performance set apart from the assorted soldiers and enforcers.

"Predators" catches the tone and atmosphere of the original "Predator," then twists around the entire formula. Brilliant acting and a simple, solid story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My Two Cents..., May 20 2011
By 
Adam (Saskatoon, SK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
Is it a Sequel or a Remake?

I struggle to find words for this movie. I have grown to dislike strong language, which this movie has in spades. The action sequences were pretty good, but the special effects could have been better (I watched it on Netflix, so quality might have been an issue).

This movie has an entertaining story line. A bunch of "predators" from planet Earth (soldiers, killers, thugs, psychos, etc...) are abducted by the Predator aliens who then take them to their hunting range planet. Blood, guts, corpses, alien technology, betrayal, double cross, crazy people and more blood and guts... pretty much summarizes the majority of the movie.

Here's my big problem. This is way too similar to the original Predator. The guy with the mini-gun, the knife/sword showdown between the Japanese guy and the predator, the jungle, the music, the two lone survivors being the main protagonist and a girl, etc... are all too similar to what happens in the first movie. It's like the production team couldn't decide whether to make a sequel or a remake, so they said yes to both and squished them together.

If you're a die hard fan of the franchise, worth the buy. If you just want some entertainment, rent it or borrow it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's like Con Air meets the first few episodes of Lost., Jan. 23 2011
By 
Andre Farant (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
When watching a horror or action movie which includes a monster or creature effects, I use a simple litmus test to gauge the movie's value. The test is easy, usually applied within the first thirty minutes of the film, and helps not only rate the movie itself but the skill of the filmmakers involved in its creation. Here it is: When watching a movie of the sort, pay attention to the point at which the monster or creature first appears. Was it less than thirty minutes into the movie? Might as well stop now. You're watching a bad movie. More than thirty minutes in? Okay, keep at it; you might be watching a good movie. Still haven't seen the monster in full and, as far as you know, there're only thirty minutes to go? Congratulations, you're probably watching something pretty darned solid.

So, how did Predators fare? Actually, pretty well. The filmmaker, Nimrod Antal, takes his time, patiently unveiling hint after hint and clue after clue, actually treating the members of the audience as thought they'd never seen any of the preceding Predator movies and, as such, had never seen a Predator before. Instead, he focuses on a premise that, on its own, is fairly intriguing. Eight individuals awaken in mid freefall, landing in an unfamiliar jungle. They are all strangers but, they soon discover, have one thing in common: they are all killers. It's like Con Air meets the first few episodes of Lost. We all know what will happen next, but Antal pretends that we are just as mystified as his motley crew, and just as anxious to find out what is going on.

Most filmmakers would have assumed that the viewers wanted only to see the monster, see the Predators. It's what they paid for, right? The Predator would have popped out from behind a tree within twenty minutes, the hunt would be on, the hunt would be over, and we would all go home, wondering what was on TV. Antal, however, has experience building tension, and he's especially adept at doing so using the interactions within a fairly large cast of characters who don't quite trust each other. He did it well in his previous film, Armored, and he does it well here.

Eventually, of course, the Predators do show up and the movie becomes what these movies have always been. But for fans of the original Predator and its first sequel, myself among them, the last few minutes of the film will be familiar but welcome--comfortable, even.

So, exactly how well did Predators do with my test? Well, this could constitute a spoiler so, be aware: The first monster, a dog-like thing that seemed uncommonly ineffective, doesn't appear until 27 minutes in. Not bad. We first see an actual Predator, sans armour, at the forty minute mark. Pretty good. And the first look we get at one of the hunters, fully armed and masked, is about forty-five minutes into the movie. Again, pretty good.

One last thing and, again, this is a bit of a spoiler: Twenty-five minutes in, we learn that the characters are actually wandering through a jungle on an alien planet. This planet, we learn, is a game preserve for use by the Predators. It occurred to me that the Predators must be an insanely advanced race. In fact, they are so efficient in their use of natural resources that they can afford to waste an entire planet-full of lush jungle on sport. Of course, the same can be said of the Empire in the Star Wars movies. They blow up a whole planet, one we can only presume they could have invaded, drained of all its resources. Apparently, they didn't need to. Same goes for Endor. The thing is a condensed ball of natural treasure, but they use it only to build a force-field generator and . . . that's it. Taking this into account, it leads me to believe that the Predators, as a civilization, might be as powerful and far-reaching as the Empire. If this in fact is the case, their using us as game once in awhile seems pretty decent, given their apparent capability to do far, far worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Predators, Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
If you like the Predators series you're going to like this one. Plenty of action, cool location, predators hunting people as usual. There are too many characters for my taste, otherwise I have no problems with this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remake, April 7 2013
By 
Louise Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
though it was a remake but it does refer to the first predator ever made which makes the movie flow better - hope there is a sequel to this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, Nov. 19 2010
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
Not much to say here. If you liked the original Predators than don't see this movie. This movie sucked. Thats it. Spend your time knitting or something. You'll have a lot more fun doing that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Remake, March 16 2011
This review is from: Predators (Bilingual) (DVD)
Some may call this a sequel, but for my money it's just a remake of the original.
The whole story is basically the same. A bunch of people wind up in a jungle
being hunted by an alien, (aliens in this case) but eventually the tables are
turned and it's the aliens who become the hunted, and of course, in the end
guess who wins? This movie also ends in such a way that I'll be awfully surprised
if there's not a sequel in the works.
So, almost as good as the original and far better than anything else in the predator
series. Solid Entertainment!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Predators (Bilingual)
Predators (Bilingual) by Nimród Antal (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews