Customer Reviews


1,213 Reviews
5 star:
 (888)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (132)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some amazing artwork with some unfortunate dents/marks.
I had previously owned both Vol 1 & 2 on VHS, so these were a much needed upgrade. The steelbooks have some really nice artwork and it was my main reason for purchasing them. Unfortunately I was slightly disappointed as both volumes had marks and dents on the case in spots that jump out at you while admiring the art.

I would very much recommend these...
Published 10 months ago by Matthew

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm Disappointed In Tarantino - Here's Why!
Too Much Blood! Sure, I like plenty of action, but not to the point where it's ridiculously boring while you're watching someone getting their head sliced off. I'M SORRY BUT THIS THING WAS WAY TOO OVERDONE. First of all, what the H*#% was the cartoon sequence all about. That is terrible directing. Go work it Disney, just don't put your Anime strips in a real movie. That...
Published on June 30 2004 by Nick Rocco


‹ Previous | 1 2122 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some amazing artwork with some unfortunate dents/marks., May 11 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Kill Bill Vol. 1 (Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had previously owned both Vol 1 & 2 on VHS, so these were a much needed upgrade. The steelbooks have some really nice artwork and it was my main reason for purchasing them. Unfortunately I was slightly disappointed as both volumes had marks and dents on the case in spots that jump out at you while admiring the art.

I would very much recommend these steelbooks, but the seller should really be taking better care as I've seen another buyer post a review with the same denting issues. If you'd like to avoid the risk I would avoid buying these online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kill Bill Vol. 1, June 30 2004
By A Customer
As a major fan of Quentin Tarantino's work, I was more than excited when I went to see this film in theatres. I had heard nothing but good things about. I was however a tad bit skeptical when I saw advertisements and I realized that it would be nothing like his other films I had loved so much.
While I was correct in assuming that this film was nothing like his others, there was nothing to be skeptical about. This film is amazing. It is the story about Uma Thurman's character known only as 'The Bride'. After Bill and four other members of the Deadly Viper Assassination Squad(DiVAS) shoot up her wedding and leave her in a coma for four years, she sets out to take revenge.
This is the first half of the film following The Bride as she sets her sight on her first two members of the DiVAS. It is an all out hardcore and bloody brawl that shows us a side of Quentin's abilities that we've as yet to see in any of his films thus far. While there are multiple scenes of mild, low key conversation, this film truly shines in it's well choreographed fight scenes. Another plus side is the short anime scene Quentin put in to add to the effect of the movie.
Clearly not a movie for everyone (especially those with a weak stomach) but truly a sight to behold, Kill Bill Vol. 1 is yet again another amazing film that Quentin Tarantion has supplied for us to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cool!!!, June 30 2004
By A Customer
This is by far one of the best movies you will ever see.Its cool,hip,fast,slow when it needs to.Its a movie with style.Writer-Director Quentin Tarantino just knows how to make great movies.The action is mesmorizing and incredible especially the scene of "The House Of Blue Leaves".The dialogue is not what you would expect from a Tarantino film but good inoff for this.Another thing that is Tarantino trademark of putting great music in his films the music helps move the film and get to feel the groove of the it.Also the acting is top nocth.There is graphic violence in this film but not as much as people say i mean ive seen worse.Trust me this not the movie that will make you stop the film because you feel sick.This not Tarantino best film but it is his coolest to me.So stop whatever your doing my friend and go buy this film,you wont regret it.But i have to tell you this there's a special edition of the dvd coming in the near future if you dont want to waste your money on buying it two times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kill Bill Vol. 1, July 11 2004
By A Customer
As a major fan of Quentin Tarantino's work, I was more than excited when I went to see this film in theatres. I had heard nothing but good things about. I was however a tad bit skeptical when I saw advertisements and I realized that it would be nothing like his other films I had loved so much.
While I was correct in assuming that this film was nothing like his others, there was nothing to be skeptical about. This film is amazing. It is the story about Uma Thurman's character known only as 'The Bride'. After Bill and four other members of the Deadly Viper Assassination Squad(DiVAS) shoot up her wedding and leave her in a coma for four years, she sets out to take revenge.
This is the first half of the film following The Bride as she sets her sight on her first two members of the DiVAS. It is an all out hardcore and bloody brawl that shows us a side of Quentin's abilities that we've as yet to see in any of his films thus far. While there are multiple scenes of mild, low key conversation, this film truly shines in it's well choreographed fight scenes. Another plus side is the short anime scene Quentin put in to add to the effect of the movie.
Clearly not a movie for everyone (especially those with a weak stomach) but truly a sight to behold, Kill Bill Vol. 1 is yet again another amazing film that Quentin Tarantion has supplied for us to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant homage to multiple genres, July 11 2004
By A Customer
To be honest, I thought Tarantino had played his talent out with "Pulp Fiction." I am pleasantly surprised how incredibly well made the "Kill Bill" series is.
This is truly an accomplishment that ranks among the greatest directorial comebacks I've seen. The production seems almost effortless at times, skillfully crafted and tightly edited.
The first installment is the perfect "way-in" to the series, featuring a decidedly PoMo amalgam of genres, techniques and media. The anime sequence is among the best I've seen.
Uma, as the Bride, represents one of the greatest femme fatales in recent film history.
In the end this is truly an homage to various film genres that play very prominently in Taratino's psyche. Where "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" was a perfection of the art form of Wu-Xia, "Kill Bill" is just as successful but in capturing the fun and artistry of films that have gone before.
Laden with pop-culture and indie-film references, "Kill Bill, Vol. 1" was simply a blast to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The revenge is not always a straight line, July 11 2004
By A Customer
This statement lies at the ending of this movie. I must state that Tarantino has made the most original and honest tribute to the great oriental tradition ; specially to the immortal Bruce Lee , (Kato style from the green hornet TV series from the sixties)
Quentin Tarantino made a brilliant film , inmersed in the middle soul of the revenge . In many ways when I watched the film I couldn't let to think about a modern adaptation of The Count Of MonteChrist to the modern times. The takes are elegant , and the camera handle is still better than Pulp Fiction .
Thurman is magnificient in this role. Her charismatic beauty however, is not an obstacle for her to show all the spirit of fury , rage and cruelty that this character demands.
The violence reachs poetic heights. Specially in the final duel.
An ovewhelming triumph from Tarantino ; the edition and special effects are first rate. And from now, consider the decisive multiple sword duel in the hall as a true classic sequence. It's a macabre coreografic dance filled with histamina.
Don't miss this tribute to all that generation of Kung Fu fighters : Bruce Lee , David Carradine , Jim Kelly, John Saxon and Karate gladiators too as Chuck Norris.
A superb picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original, overwhelming martial arts/western, July 11 2004
By A Customer
It has truly been a long time since a film has entered the theaters that provides the type of jolt to the system this film delivers. Kill Bill is without a doubt Quentin Tarantino's best work since Pulp Fiction was released a decade ago, and it is a devestating take on combining Asian and American cinematic styles, respectfully, the martial arts film and the western. This is no Pulp Fiction, which was a far better film, but there are undeniable moments (and many of them) of brilliance in Kill Bill, and in particular, in how Tarantino uses music to heighten the senses during the confrontational and fight scenes as well as the quieter moments of the film (The Bride's [Uma Thurman] glow of fascination as she gazes at Hattori Honzo's sword collection, for instance). In fact, Tarantino is the most musically intuitive film director since Stanley Kubrick. Just as people immediately think of "2001: A Space Odyssey" when they hear Strauss' "The Blue Danube", who could not connect Chuck Berry or California surf-rock after watching Pulp Fiction? I predict the same will be said of Kill Bill.
Essentially a live-action comic book, Kill Bill contains an animated section lasting several minutes towards the middle of the film, the piece explaining the development of a central character played convincingly by Luci Liu named O-Ren Ishi, leader of the Japanesse organized crime network and a member of a much smaller unit with international connections. I won't give away the numerous details splattered throughout the film, for space here doesn't allow for it. There are other numerous influences ranging from James Bond-spy films to Charlie's Angels (although think of it as the dark side of Charlie's Angels) that seamlessly intermingle and eventually combine with one another in a way that transcends Tarantino's original inspirations and creates something genuinely new, something film audiences haven't quite been exposed to before, done mostly in a hyperkinetic style which can only be attributed to Tarantino.
And this is just part one of a two-part feature!
Definitely one of the best films of 2003 along with "The Return of the King" and "21 Grams".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Effort, July 10 2004
By 
MSG (Tucson, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am very disappointed in this film. I have enjoyed some of Tarantino's other films like "Pulp Fiction" and "Reservoir Dogs" "From Dusk Till Dawn" and "Jackie Brown". However, this movie was a let down. I understand what he was trying to do with the violence and the blood splurting out or every wond. It seemed he was trying to make a real life movie resemeling Japanese animation. It may do that is some slight ways, but the plot and the writing are terrible. I do not have any desire to see "Kill Bill 2". I also find it funny that people think that this movie was originally made with the idea of making two movies and that a sequil was required due to the success of the first Kill Bill. The truth is that this series of movies was only suppose to be one complete movie. I am not sure if it was mere greed of the belief that people would not sit through the entire length of both movies combined, but Tarantino decide to cut the movie in half and try and make twice the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Effort, July 10 2004
By 
MSG (Tucson, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am very disapointed in this film. I have enjoyed some of Tarantino's other films like "Pulp Fiction" and "Reservoir Dogs" "From Dusk Till Dawn" and "Jackie Brown". However, this movie was a let down. I understand what he was trying to do with the violence and the blood splurting out or every wond. It seemed he was trying to make a real life movie resemeling Japanese animation. It may do that is some slight ways, but the plot and the writing are terrible. I do not have any desire to see "Kill Bill 2". I also find it funny that people think that this movie was originally made with the idea of making two movies and that a sequil was required due to the success of the first Kill Bill. The truth is that this series of movies was only suppose to be one complete movie. I am not sure if it was mere greed of the belief that people would not sit through the entire length of both movies combined, but Tarantino decide to cut the movie in half and try and make twice the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once again, Quentin and Uma do a fantastic job, July 2 2004
By 
According to Tarantino, Uma is his "muse". Whether or not that's true, I've come to the conclusion that the two make a remarkably resourceful team. Anyone who was entranced by Therman's unstoppable performance in the gritty Pulp Fiction will be equally amazed at the job she does in Kill Bill.
Once again, Tarantino pulls out all the stops and makes a film that hasn't one iota of modesty. Therman (The Bride) is beaten, shot in the head and left for dead while pregnant, and later becomes the target of two rednecks looking for action anywhere they can--even from unconscious hospital patients. But that is not to say that The Bride takes her misfortune lying down. The movie itself is a wonderful chronicle of her bloody, no-holds-barred revenge, a revenge which extends to anyone and everyone who gets in her way.
Her revenge is played to the tune of the good old days of film-making, with definite references to shoot-em-up westerns and sword-slinging asian kung-fu films. Those references being what they are, you have to take the unbelievable amount of blood and violence in this movie with a grain of salt. There's a reason that when a character's head is cut off, his neck becomes an almost laughable fountain of blood. Every bloody sequence is well-orchestrated and obviously planned piece by piece. If this movie had had ultra-realistic violence and an atmosphere that did not feel like an redone classic, this film would be worthless.
The film itself is a testament to how wonderful a director Tarantino is. No one could have pulled off a revenge movie this straight forward and received the box office acclaim that Quentin did. When I had first seen ads for this film, I was disheartened. I assumed it would be a bad flick that was just playing the name card with Tarantino, without living up to the prestige and magnificance of Pulp Fiction and Resevoir Dogs. I couldn't have been more wrong. Everything comes together in this film. The soundtrack plays like something from a Spaghetti Western with modern flare and a sexy edge, and it fits the story nicely. I absolutely loved the music transgression in the opening sequence of pulp fiction and this film definitely rivals it.
Along with the soundtrack, there is a wonderful amount of Tarantino flare. My only complaint here is that with that flare, the movie follows the same path that pulp fiction did: all the scenes are mixed up, and there are chapters. It's been done. However, it's been done very well once again. In addition, Tarantino finds various hooks from a seemingly endless bag of tricks that he apparently can still work from. An enormous fight scene involving the bride versus a veritable army is excellently choreographed and fun to watch. Also, there is a long anime segment halfway through the movie. I really don't care much for anime, as I know most people don't, but it fit fairly well into the story. I do have a complaint about that segment and that is that it was very very long and fairly overdone. You get the feeling that it was an excuse to show an exorbitant amount of blood and that they held onto that for too long. However, you must once again take the violence with a grain of salt.
In any case, Kill Bill should not be missed if you understand what Tarantino was trying to do here and you appreciate a good, well-written movie that doesn't care about being pretty. If you don't like blood and rediculously vile sex references, don't think about seeing this movie. if you're open minded and want to be taken on a good ride, you should check it out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2122 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill Bill Vol. 1 (Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray]
Kill Bill Vol. 1 (Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] by Quentin Tarantino (Blu-ray - 2010)
Used & New from: CDN$ 29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews