Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume 2 amazingly amazing
Kill Bill Volume 2 has continued Volume 1 amazingly. It doesn't let down the audience at all: more story, more character development, more Tarantino-ized but without a lack of action. Some people may think this one was too slow but keeping in mind they were meant to be watched together, if you do do that, it won't seem slow at all because Volume 1 ends with a huge battle...
Published on Sept. 6 2004 by elle_driver

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Volume 1 is much better...
This movie is really good but it is not as good as the first one. It's much slower and I found the ending a little dissapointing.
The high points were getting to know Pai Mei, The Bride's old Kung Fu Master and the fight scene with Elle Driver(Daryl Hannah), the only real fight scene in the movie. And it was good to see David Carradine after all these years, his...
Published on July 12 2004 by J. Prosper


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume 2 amazingly amazing, Sept. 6 2004
This review is from: Kill Bill, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Kill Bill Volume 2 has continued Volume 1 amazingly. It doesn't let down the audience at all: more story, more character development, more Tarantino-ized but without a lack of action. Some people may think this one was too slow but keeping in mind they were meant to be watched together, if you do do that, it won't seem slow at all because Volume 1 ends with a huge battle. So please, buy this DVD because it is the best thing in the world and please, watch Volume 1 and 2 together in one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, May 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The movie is simply stunning. It's my favorite Tarantino's film. What really amazing with Kill Bill (both part 1 and 2) is that the more I watch it, the more is getting better. I bought the steelbook case version. Even though it's more expensive, it really worths it. It's one of the most beautiful steelbook out there. It's a must for every Tarantino's fan or collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "That woman deserves her revenge... and we deserve to die.", July 5 2007
This review is from: Kill Bill, Vol. 2 (DVD)
All grown men have a little boy in their heart that still surfaces every now and again...some fellows more so than others, and it's always so much fun to go back. That is one of the many reasons I enjoy having a son waiting to greet me when I come home from a day of work or a long business trip. On the flip side, Quentin Tarantino gets to go back to being a boy every time he goes to work, and I say good for him.

The Kill Bill movies are a potent effusion of likely all the things Quentin grew up with. Westerns, Kung-Fu movies, Samurai movies and other action films that helped mold and create his robust imagination. Now, he can take the ideas that inspired him as a child and make them even better for the next generation of action-craving bloodthirsty little children. Kill Bill volume 2 is more than a derivitive tribute film, it is an elicitation of massive nostalgia, excentuated keenly by incredible dialogue. Other than function well as a conclusion to the series, it is actually quite different from Kill Bill volume 1 in a few ways. Kill Bill volume 1 contained mostly introductions, followed by bloody action as Beatrix Kiddo took on and took out Vernita Green, O-Ren Ishii, Go-Go Yubari and of course the Crazy 88 (yes, all 88 of them). But in Kill Bill volume 2, I felt like those were merely the supporting villains as Kiddo takes on the more resourceful and profound antagonists in this film; Elle Driver, Budd and of course Bill himself. The sequel, unintentionally perhaps as the two were written and filmed together, possesses more depth than the first part. There is more room for dialogue and that is of course a great thing because outrageous and unlikely dialogue is one of Quentin's strengths, and it serves here to make the characters even more unearthly and super-hero-like then in the first film.

Overall, in volume 2 we get to see how Beatrix learned her skills and we learn more about the relationship between her and Bill. It all leads up to an often criticized climax between Bill and Beatrix. Between the dialogue and David Carradine's performance, the climax helped me enjoy this film a bit more than volume 1. So, if you prefer action and violence you will like the first movie better, but if you just so happen to get caught up in the characters along the way and have an appreciation for the kind of concentrated cultural yearning crossed with mythical level characters that only a Tarantino film can deliver, then Kill Bill volume 2 is a great cap to the two films. For me, simply put, together they make one amazing movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some amazing artwork with some unfortunate dents/marks., May 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had previously owned both Vol 1 & 2 on VHS, so these were a much needed upgrade. The steelbooks have some really nice artwork and it was my main reason for purchasing them. Unfortunately I was slightly disappointed as both volumes had marks and dents on the case in spots that jump out at you while admiring the art.

I would very much recommend these steelbooks, but the seller should really be taking better care as I've seen another buyer post a review with the same denting issues. If you'd like to avoid the risk I would avoid buying these online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can a movie possibly get any better than this?, July 19 2004
By A Customer
First I'd like to say that Quentin Tarantino is the best film maker that ever lived period. I would say that KILL BILL VOL. 2 is the greatest film since Casablanca. This is by far my favorite of Quentin Tarantino's films. This is a must own Dvd. Buy this awesome mind-blowing classic movie today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb second chapter, July 19 2004
A radiant bride-to-be (and mother-to-be) who calls herself Arlene takes a few minutes out of her wedding rehearsal to talk to her former boss (and ex-lover) about the peaceful new life she's planned. She tells him she'll be working in a record store where she'll get to "listen to music all day, talk about music all day. It's really cool. It's going to be a great environment for my little girl to grow up in."
"As opposed to jetting around the world, killing human beings, collecting vast sums of money?" her one-time employer asks.
Yes, Arlene is actually The Bride (Uma Thurman), a.k.a. Black Mamba, one of the Deadly Vipers Assassination Squad (D.I.V.A.S., for short). And, yes, the man with whom she's sharing her future plans is Bill, the enigmatic, shadowy D.I.V.A.S. commander who never showed his face in "Kill Bill, Vol. 1."
Bill, played to diabolical perfection by David Carradine, is visible throughout "Kill Bill, Vol. 2," and that's only one of the many changes between the first and last installments of writer-director Quentin Tarantino's epic saga of revenge and retribution. "Vol. 1," which took place largely in Japan, was a magnificently gory, almost operatic homage to the Hong Kong and Japanese cinema of the 1960s and 1970s; "Vol. 2," set primarily in Texas and Mexico, is considerably more controlled -- although no less stylish -- and moodier, paying tribute to the unconventional Westerns of director Sergio Leone and, in its black-and-white flashback sequences, recalling such late-1940s/early-1950s thrillers as "Gun Crazy" and "The Big Heat."
No one ever accused Tarantino of being shy when it comes to laying out his catalog of influences.
Cinematographer Robert Richardson's all-seeing camera swoops, slithers and moves stealthily around each scene, just like our unstoppable heroine, then throws in some extreme close-ups that feel like a fist between the eyes. Editor Sally Menke and production designers David Wasco and Cao Jui Ping do wonderful work as they recreate everything from "In Cold Blood" to the washed-out-looking, jumpy Chinese chop-socky films of the 1970s.
But far from being merely imitative, "Vol. 2" features a few breakthroughs for its creator as well. A prolonged sequence involving a character who is pummeled, drugged and buried alive is one of the most gripping episodes of Tarantino's career, and The Bride's apprenticeship to merciless martial arts master Pai Mei (Gordon Liu), a deceptively wispy-looking type with a strong chauvinistic streak, is outrageously hilarious. "Your so-called kung fu is really quite pathetic," Pai Mei taunts as The Bride tries -- and fails -- to impress him with her moves. "Like all Yankee women, all you can do is order in restaurants and spend a man's money!"
The finale of "Vol. 1" was a blood-drenched, wickedly hilarious free-for-all, with The Bride dispatching scores of would-be hitmen in a showdown in a Tokyo nightclub, but the last half-hour of "Vol. 2" is a shocker of an entirely different kind, as Tarantino aims for the heart instead of the funnybone. He tried something somewhat similar in the bittersweet wrap-up of "Jackie Brown," with mixed results. He's much more successful this time out, partly because he's created a steadier build-up to the crucial emotional crescendo (set to a marvelously trippy remix of The Zombies' "She's Not There") and partly because the tension Carradine and Thurman generate in the pivotal scene, as bloodlust collides with memories of happier days, is utterly riveting.
Tarantino's cast fills out a classic rogues' gallery, dominated by Carradine's Bill, a psychotic who conceals his sadism beneath a calm, paternalistic exterior. Daryl Hannah's one-eyed Elle Driver and Michael Madsen's Budd, both of whom were briefly seen in "Vol. 1," get ample opportunity to prove their worth as antagonists of The Bride. The face-off with Elle, in particular, is so delightfully demented only Tarantino could have conjured it up.
Was the director wise in turning "Bill" into a double-bill? Absolutely. For one thing, he must have realized he had made an extravaganza that would have been too intense and certainly too emotionally exhausting for most audiences to process in a single four-hour sitting. Also, he obviously knew he had a second half that would be well worth the six-month wait.
"Gargantuan -- always liked that word; so rarely have a chance to use it in a sentence," the icy-hearted Elle murmurs at one point. Try this on for size: The frenzied, funny and unabashedly ultraviolent "Kill Bill" saga represents a gargantuan achievement in action cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first, July 17 2004
By 
Alan Soyars (Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've heard so many people say they didn't like 'Kill Bill, Volume 1' because of all the fake blood. Well first of all, this film collection was made to pay homage to old kung-fu films. Though I'm not a fan of kung-fu movies, I thought it was very creative to do so in the movie.
'Kill Bill, Volume 2' is a little bit different. The action has slowed down some, and the story has sped up. You find out a lot of details in this movie that tell you the backstory of the wedding where The Bride almost died, you see her being trained by a Japanese master, you see why the Black Mamba wears an eyepatch over her eye. And then you see the Bride kill Bill. I will not go into details on how she manages to do so. You know how they beeped out the Brides' name in the first one? Not in this one. You'll learn her name later in the movie. Hope you enjoy this film as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as volume 1, but still great., July 17 2004
This sequal seems to be completley diffrent from vol.1 so I undurstand why some people didnt like it. Its slower and has less action than the first, and it goes on for two hours and a half but I still like this film because it has great dialogue.
david carradines character Bill has a bigger role and has the best lines obviously. Dont expect a violent bloodbath in this one cause alot of people thought it was going to be that way, so if your a quintin fan your going to love this, plus theres a great fight between Elle driver and the bride....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some people still haven't got it., July 16 2004
By A Customer
Many who gave this movie a bad review were basing there review on their expectation that this was going to be a bloody action movie similar to vol. 1. It's funny because this is where the story starts to unfold. So if you sit there, not listening to a word thats being said and only paying attention to any blood thats shed, you will be bored. Many great movies are given bad reviews such as rosemary's baby, which is a 100% horror movie but people found it boring because they sat for two hours waiting for action. actions " speak louder than words" is a very inaccurate phrase. If you listen to whats being said you can find more action in kill bill 2 than you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you dont like this than you dont like tarrintino, July 15 2004
By 
Skrewl (vacaville, CA United States) - See all my reviews
First of all this is a far superior film to the first, and anyone who disagrees is not a fan of good cinema, but a fan of violence. Im tired of people writting that there is too much dialogue. That is what Quentin does and that is his speciality. He doesnt need action to make a movie exciting. In conclusion Kill Bill Vol. 1 is a great action picture, and Vol.2 is just a plain great picture and anyone who thinks otherwise needs to get off the Vin Dessil bus and open your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray]
Kill Bill Vol. 2 (Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] by Quentin Tarantino (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 16.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews