Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale Grimm
If anyone wants to know where the dark, creepy fairy tales of old went, here's a hint: Guillermo del Toro is doing a pretty good job with the fairy tales for adults.

"Pan's Labyrinth" ("El Laberinto del Fauno") is a sequel of sorts to "The Devil's Backbone," a magical realism film about the Spanish Civil War. But this movie takes us deeper into a world that is...
Published on March 27 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing picture quality, amazing sound. Spanish Only.
While I must agree with everyone on the quality of this recording (the picture is clear and the sound is fantastic), I must say I am mad at Amazon for this false advertising. I bought it mainly because it said "Version française" (French version) and I could not find any other dubbed version anywhere. I was left in anger when I opened the package only to find out that...
Published 5 months ago by Damien Dube


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale Grimm, April 3 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth (DVD)
If anyone wants to know where the dark, creepy fairy tales of old went, here's a hint: Guillermo del Toro is doing a pretty good job with the fairy tales for adults.

"Pan's Labyrinth" ("El Laberinto del Fauno") is a sequel of sorts to "The Devil's Backbone," a magical realism film about the Spanish Civil War. But this movie takes us deeper into a world that is half real, half ominous fairy tale, with a unique and imaginative story and some really excellent acting -- in short, a triumph.

Time and place: 1944, Spain. Ofelia (Ivana Baquero) and her very pregnant mother travel to meet her new stepfather, the brutal and murderous Captain Vidal (Sergi López). Ofelia loathes her new stepfather, but is transfixed by the eerie forests around them -- and one night she is visited by a fairy, and encounters a giant faun who tells her that she is Princess Moanna of the netherworld, and must return there.

To do so, he tells her that she must do three things, and gives her a strange book. Ofelia menages first task, but is frightened out of her wits by the second task, which involves a hideous monster with eyes in its hands. Even worse, her mother's pregnancy is getting more dangerous. As the guerillas and the fascists clash, Ofelia faces being trapped outside the netherworld forever...

Fairy tales have become cleaned-up and cutesy over time, so that children can read them without nightmares. But del Toro knows that the best fairy tales are the eerie, bizarre ones for adults, that are connected somehow to the real world. That is what makes "Pan's Labyrinth" so brilliantly dark and heartfelt.

Del Toro obviously crafted this with care, directing it in a dreamlike style and brilliant visuals. The eerie atmosphere of Ofelia's wanderings -- the delicate yet menacing faun, the chalk doors, the monuments, and the pasty nightmare with eyes in its palms -- is both a contrast and a parallel with the everyday world, which Ofelia hopes to escape.

At first, it seems like the post-Civil War and fairy tale stories don't mesh, until you see that the "real world" story is Ofelia's motivation to escape from all the fear, pain and sorrow. But Del Toro's biggest triumph is an ending that is beautifully bittersweet, and which turns out to hinge on Ofelia's newborn brother.

But del Toro's biggest triumph is in the instant connection we feel to Ofelia, with her love of the fantastical and her desire to go somewhere "safe." Baquero is absolutely wonderful in this, as a girl who isn't entirely of this world -- in her heart, she belongs somewhere beyond. And López is the ideal villain -- you spend the whole movie wanting to see him gruesomely killed.

Half "Mirrormask" and half gritty war story, "Pan's Labyrinth" is one of the best fantasy stories in years -- dark, passionate and beautifully made. Definitely a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pan's Labyrinth, Dec 30 2011
Excellent movie thanks for the speedy service and i will recommend it and your service to all that i know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant fairy tale for adults, March 10 2011
By 
John Woodward - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Far from the swords and sorcery that typify modern fantasy movies, Guillermo Del Toro's best work presents a fairy tale for modern audiences, complete with the darkness, mystery, and wonder that once typified that genre. The mystical realm is connected to the Spanish Civil War through the eyes of Ofelia (Ivana Baquero), a curious and willful young girl grappling with a monstrous stepfather. Themes of identity and obedience tie the two worlds together while the strong characters will keep you engaged throughout.

In another welcome departure from the norm, Del Toro's brilliant visuals are built (for the most part) on practical effects rather than CGI. Fanciful as all this is, be aware that it is also dark and often frightening. The violence is often gruesome (though it always serves the plot) and this movie is definitely not for young kids.

Extras
Guillermo Del Toro's commentary is the jewel of this set. The man has an incredible attention to detail and listening to him will make you aware of innumerable things you never noticed about the film while his obvious love of the material will keep you engaged throughout. The rest the extras do a good job exploring the practical effects and design process. The 'bonus view mode' recycles most of its material from the featurettes while the promotional material is (as usual) superfluous.

Presentation
Don't even consider getting this film on DVD. The Blu-Ray transfer is superb and the movie's visuals make 1080p completely worthwhile.

Bottom Line
Anyone looking for a mature fantasy story needs to check this film out while those looking for more family-friendly or action packed fare should take a pass. Solid extras and an excellent transfer make the Blu-Ray edition the one to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick beware, Feb. 6 2011
By 
L. Massé - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Simply be aware that this disk does NOT include an english audiotrack as stated by Amazon. The only language spoken is Spanish. The are english subtitles, though.

Excellent picture by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In your hands is your destiny, June 14 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Director Guillermo del Toro out did himself and created a film beyond any previous presentation. Although he purposely applied many layers both technologically and psychologically, the actual finished product is deeper and has many more facets. This could be the results of leaving loose ends and just implications. What looks like two stories is really one story where one reality intertwines with another reality until they both merge.

It is 1944 Spain, five years after the Civil War, ten year old Ofelia (Ivana Baquero) is going to meet her new stepfather Captain Vidal (Sergi López.) Vidal is a fascist pro-Franco officer. She is about to meet more than that as she encounters possible friends from another world. We also see how touchier and fantasy are juxtaposed. One of the major questions to answer is, is the magical creatures real and can only be seen because you have to have the right gaze or are they figments?

You will need to watch the movie several times to get the nuances and see the surrounding environments that you miss when concentrating on the dialog. See how the two world parallels in furniture. See out the two works hold similar tasks as both containing a key and a knife. And there are always more surprises waiting.

The acting is superb especially Ofelia's death scene. Ivana Baquero Won, Imagen Award Best Actress, Premio ACE Best New Actress, Newcomer Award Female (Categoría Femenina), Turia Award New Best Actress, and Nominated, Young Artist Award Best Performance in an International Feature Film - Leading Young Actor or Actress.

The Blu-ray version I watched ad English subtitles as option but I found them to be a tad inaccurate and wanting of some of the background conversations. However the director's voice over option helped point out the obvious that was not obvious until he pointed it out. As pointed out by the director the violence was not for violence sake in the story and they did not have cowboy type breakable props.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an extraordinary masterpiece, Aug. 6 2007
By 
Francesca Jourdan (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Spain. 1944. Ofelia, a girl fascinated by fairy tales, is sent with her pregnant mother to meet and live with her new stepfather, Capitan Vidal, a particularly sadistic character. One night Ofelia meets a fairy, is told she is a princess and encounters the faun Pan. To prove her royalty, she must execute specific albeit gruesome tasks.

Sergi Lopez as the Capitan is excellent, as are the two leading actresses, Maribel Verdu (playing Vidal's housekeeper, Mercedes) and Ivana Baquero (Ofelia). The faun is magistrally played by Doug Jones.

An intense, brutal, beautiful, magical world is what makes this movie A MUST SEE, for it is quite the masterpiece, visually and artistically. The film definitely deserved its Oscar for best cinematography: Guillermo Navarro used wonderful lighting and techniques.

Brilliantly directed and masterfully written by Guillermo Del Toro, this is a movie FOR ADULTS.

(Warning: English subtitles only so far available on the DVDs.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars great effects, April 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought this was going to be a kids show - NOT. Too spooky to show younger children. Great story tho, and effects. Enjoyed watching the show, but its too dark for me to watch it again unless company wants to see it. Arrived in good time and excellent condtion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Dec 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i enjoyed the product a lot... pretty much like it was advised and even more... i can say im satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely, Nov. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Absolutely !! I have completed my set now and can finally put the VHS away. I am very happy now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good flick., June 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The movie in blu-ray looks really good. A good movie overall, with a few minor imperfections that I cant mention without giving away some of the story. Still a good movie though. OK,OK, I need to say it. Spoiler alert, warning stop reading now... I think Mercedes should have killed the captain when she had the chance. It makes no sense that she didn't. There you go. Other than that its all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb46777c8)

This product

Pan's Labyrinth: Steelbook Edition [Blu-ray]
Pan's Labyrinth: Steelbook Edition [Blu-ray] by Guillermo del Toro (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 19.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews