Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale Grimm
If anyone wants to know where the dark, creepy fairy tales of old went, here's a hint: Guillermo del Toro is doing a pretty good job with the fairy tales for adults.

"Pan's Labyrinth" ("El Laberinto del Fauno") is a sequel of sorts to "The Devil's Backbone," a magical realism film about the Spanish Civil War. But this movie takes us deeper into a world that is...
Published on March 27 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing picture quality, amazing sound. Spanish Only.
While I must agree with everyone on the quality of this recording (the picture is clear and the sound is fantastic), I must say I am mad at Amazon for this false advertising. I bought it mainly because it said "Version française" (French version) and I could not find any other dubbed version anywhere. I was left in anger when I opened the package only to find out that...
Published 14 months ago by Damien Dube


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale Grimm, April 3 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth (DVD)
If anyone wants to know where the dark, creepy fairy tales of old went, here's a hint: Guillermo del Toro is doing a pretty good job with the fairy tales for adults.

"Pan's Labyrinth" ("El Laberinto del Fauno") is a sequel of sorts to "The Devil's Backbone," a magical realism film about the Spanish Civil War. But this movie takes us deeper into a world that is half real, half ominous fairy tale, with a unique and imaginative story and some really excellent acting -- in short, a triumph.

Time and place: 1944, Spain. Ofelia (Ivana Baquero) and her very pregnant mother travel to meet her new stepfather, the brutal and murderous Captain Vidal (Sergi López). Ofelia loathes her new stepfather, but is transfixed by the eerie forests around them -- and one night she is visited by a fairy, and encounters a giant faun who tells her that she is Princess Moanna of the netherworld, and must return there.

To do so, he tells her that she must do three things, and gives her a strange book. Ofelia menages first task, but is frightened out of her wits by the second task, which involves a hideous monster with eyes in its hands. Even worse, her mother's pregnancy is getting more dangerous. As the guerillas and the fascists clash, Ofelia faces being trapped outside the netherworld forever...

Fairy tales have become cleaned-up and cutesy over time, so that children can read them without nightmares. But del Toro knows that the best fairy tales are the eerie, bizarre ones for adults, that are connected somehow to the real world. That is what makes "Pan's Labyrinth" so brilliantly dark and heartfelt.

Del Toro obviously crafted this with care, directing it in a dreamlike style and brilliant visuals. The eerie atmosphere of Ofelia's wanderings -- the delicate yet menacing faun, the chalk doors, the monuments, and the pasty nightmare with eyes in its palms -- is both a contrast and a parallel with the everyday world, which Ofelia hopes to escape.

At first, it seems like the post-Civil War and fairy tale stories don't mesh, until you see that the "real world" story is Ofelia's motivation to escape from all the fear, pain and sorrow. But Del Toro's biggest triumph is an ending that is beautifully bittersweet, and which turns out to hinge on Ofelia's newborn brother.

But del Toro's biggest triumph is in the instant connection we feel to Ofelia, with her love of the fantastical and her desire to go somewhere "safe." Baquero is absolutely wonderful in this, as a girl who isn't entirely of this world -- in her heart, she belongs somewhere beyond. And López is the ideal villain -- you spend the whole movie wanting to see him gruesomely killed.

Half "Mirrormask" and half gritty war story, "Pan's Labyrinth" is one of the best fantasy stories in years -- dark, passionate and beautifully made. Definitely a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Title and Wrong description (Mauvais titre et mauvaise description), Aug. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pan's Labyrinth [Blu-ray] (Version française)

Ne surtout pas acheter, la description est doublement fausse!

Langue disponible sur le blu-ray: Espagnol SEULEMENT!

Pas de français, pas d'anglais non plus.

Je ne sais pas quel est l'imbécile chez Alliance Films qui a donné son accord pour sortir un blu-ray d'un si bon film en espagnol seulement au Canada, mais j'espère qu'il a été mis à la porte.

Et pour la description d'amazon.ca , ben réveillez-vous!!!

D'abord le titre devrait être Pan's Labyrinth [Blu-ray] (Spanish)

Ensuite dans la description (Infos du Blu-ray):
Language: Spanish
Sous-titres: English, English (SDH), Spanish

C'est la plus grosse arnaque que j'ai vu sur ce site jusqu'à maintenant, d'habitude, soit on a une image du blu-ray (L'arrière du blu-ray bien sûr), soit la description est à peu près fiable ou assez intrigante pour pousser plus loin notre investigation et s'assurer que la langue dont on a besoin se retrouve bel et bien sur le blu-ray, mais dans ce cas-ci, c'est le titre qui est très dangereux (Version française).

Ne surtout pas acheter, à moins d'être espagnol ou de parler cette langue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Into the labyrinth, Jan. 10 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: NEW Pan's Labyrinth (DVD) (DVD)
If anyone wants to know where the dark, creepy fairy tales of old went, here's a hint: Guillermo del Toro is doing a pretty good job with the fairy tales for adults.

"Pan's Labyrinth" ("El Laberinto del Fauno") is a sequel of sorts to "The Devil's Backbone," a magical realism film about the Spanish Civil War. But this movie takes us deeper into a world that is half real, half ominous fairy tale, with a unique and imaginative story and some really excellent acting -- in short, a triumph.

Time and place: 1944, Spain. Ofelia (Ivana Baquero) and her very pregnant mother travel to meet her new stepfather, the brutal and murderous Captain Vidal (Sergi López). Ofelia loathes her new stepfather, but is transfixed by the eerie forests around them -- and one night she is visited by a fairy, and encounters a giant faun who tells her that she is Princess Moanna of the netherworld, and must return there.

To do so, he tells her that she must do three things, and gives her a strange book. Ofelia menages first task, but is frightened out of her wits by the second task, which involves a hideous monster with eyes in its hands. Even worse, her mother's pregnancy is getting more dangerous. As the guerillas and the fascists clash, Ofelia faces being trapped outside the netherworld forever... and being offered a terrible choice if she wants to get in.

Fairy tales have become cleaned-up and cutesy over time, so that children can read them without nightmares. But del Toro knows that the best fairy tales are the eerie, bizarre ones for adults, that are connected somehow to the real world. That is what makes "Pan's Labyrinth" so brilliantly dark and heartfelt.

Del Toro obviously crafted this with care, directing it in a dreamlike style and brilliant visuals. The eerie atmosphere of Ofelia's wanderings -- the delicate yet menacing faun, the chalk doors, the monuments, and the pasty nightmare with eyes in its palms -- is both a contrast and a parallel with the everyday world, which Ofelia hopes to escape.

At first, it seems like the post-Civil War and fairy tale stories don't mesh, until you see that the "real world" story is Ofelia's motivation to escape from all the fear, pain and sorrow that her "real life" is full of. But Del Toro's biggest triumph is an ending that is beautifully bittersweet, and which turns out to hinge on Ofelia's newborn brother.

But del Toro's biggest triumph is in the instant connection we feel to Ofelia, with her love of the fantastical and her desire to go somewhere "safe." Baquero is absolutely wonderful in this, as a girl who isn't entirely of this world -- in her heart, she belongs somewhere beyond. And López is the ideal villain -- you spend the whole movie wanting to see him gruesomely killed.

Half "Mirrormask" and half gritty war story, "Pan's Labyrinth" is one of the best fantasy stories in years -- dark, passionate and beautifully made. Definitely a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pan's Labyrinth, Dec 30 2011
Excellent movie thanks for the speedy service and i will recommend it and your service to all that i know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Aug. 7 2007
This film was outstanding. It is the perfect blend of realism and fantasy. Some have written in other reviews that it had excessive violence and that nobody is a evil and cruel as the captain.....well, I can only say that those who feel that way are not aware of the realities of horror and war. War brings out all kinds of monsters and this was as realistic as it gets in it's portrayal of evil. Having family who have fought in the Spanish Civil War, the film portrays the violence completely effectively, in fact, it is downplayed.

See the film; it is excellent and completely original. It is in a category of it's very own.

A note to MH who left a review down below... the movie was never targeted for children, in fact, it was made very clear that it is a movie for adults. Also, the movie DOES NOT take place during WW2 as you have written- it takes place during the SPANISH CIVIL WAR which is an entirely separate war. It is a shame that this very important fact from the film was completely missed in your review. This is the setting and time frame which sets the mood for the entire film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an extraordinary masterpiece, Aug. 6 2007
By 
Spain. 1944. Ofelia, a girl fascinated by fairy tales, is sent with her pregnant mother to meet and live with her new stepfather, Capitan Vidal, a particularly sadistic character. One night Ofelia meets a fairy, is told she is a princess and encounters the faun Pan. To prove her royalty, she must execute specific albeit gruesome tasks.

Sergi Lopez as the Capitan is excellent, as are the two leading actresses, Maribel Verdu (playing Vidal's housekeeper, Mercedes) and Ivana Baquero (Ofelia). The faun is magistrally played by Doug Jones.

An intense, brutal, beautiful, magical world is what makes this movie A MUST SEE, for it is quite the masterpiece, visually and artistically. The film definitely deserved its Oscar for best cinematography: Guillermo Navarro used wonderful lighting and techniques.

Brilliantly directed and masterfully written by Guillermo Del Toro, this is a movie FOR ADULTS.

(Warning: English subtitles only so far available on the DVDs.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick beware, Feb. 6 2011
By 
L. Massé - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Simply be aware that this disk does NOT include an english audiotrack as stated by Amazon. The only language spoken is Spanish. The are english subtitles, though.

Excellent picture by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!!!, April 16 2008
By 
elfdart - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
this movie is a masterpiece! quite honestly i don't know how anyone could watch it and not get sucked in. this movie was told with the air of a classic fairy tale, the real ones, not the watered down versions we give our children today. there is an atmosphere of danger and suspense that constantly surrounds the girl, and in response to that there is a persistent arousal of hope, or fantasy. the girl's environment is not the best, to say the least. she is in some camp under the jurisdiction of some heartless man who has married her mother, and who only cares about producing an heir. everything around her is militaristic and hard and cold, and yet she continuously bumps into this other world of wonder and mystery, of fairies and fauns and the like. it's like the metaphor of the flower that grows out of concrete. finding the extraordinary in the ordinary.
it's debatable whether she is actually interacting with this other world and that it exists, or if she's creating this world to escape her less than ideal reality. i suppose your answer would come from what kind of person you are and how you perceive the world. i enjoy the experience of believing it is real with a constant skeptic in the back of my mind nay saying everything the believer says, so i guess my view would change depending on what day you chanced upon asking me. the bottom line is that story is very well put together and whether or not you believe the world the girl is interacting with to be real, you'll enjoy it either way.

a common criticism i hear circling this movie is that it isn't for children. to these people, i don't really know what to say. i'm not sure how it was advertised to you, but from the advertisements i saw i was well aware that the movie was rated R and was a 'fairy tale for grown ups', so to speak. i did still take my younger sibling, but that's something else. if a parent or guardian is not willing to take the time to research a movie or heed the ratings, they shouldn't be allowed to complain about what their children see, as this unwanted event could have been prevented with a little effort on their part.

this movie is wonderful. i tear up at the end every time. for me it really stands out as a work of art against the back drop of the standard of movies we have come to expect will be playing in theaters every friday night. i'd even go so far as to say that it's a classic in it's own time, or is at least something to be aware of. but it's definitely awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whoa. I'm impressed. One of the best since Lord Of The Rings!, Aug. 18 2007
Beautiful movie! I thought it looked cool the first time I saw a preview and I was right! This movie is amazing! It is a depressing but lovely story about good vs. evil, innocent vs. corrupt and love. Also the creatures look awesome! They remind of the ones in The Dark Crystal [another masterpiece] because they're really cool and unique. I wish there was a few more but the ones that are shown rock!

The story is about a little girl who is kind and pure. She and her pregnant mother have to move to live with a military captain [who is evil, violent and a real jerk] who lives in a wild dangerous place. One night the little girl goes into an ancient labyrinth and meets this awesome faun creature. He tells her that she is actually from his world and she has to return. I won't give any thing else away cause this movie is incredible!

So see this movie if you like fantasy, myths, drama or just good movies but don't watch it when young children under 12 are around. This movie has a lot of blood and gore in it. But that doesn't stop it from being the awesome movie it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long time ago, in the underground realm, where there are no lies or pain, there lived a Princess who dreamed of the human worl, Aug. 9 2007
Pan's Labyrinth is a wonderful allegorical tale filled with monsters of all kinds.

A young girl, Ofelia, travels with her pregnant mother to meet her Stepfather. Her Stepfather is a General in Franco's army and Ofelia soon learns that he is a violent and uncaring man. To escape the horror of her life, she steps into another world in which she is a Princess and monsters can be defeated.

There has been a lot of hype about Pan's Labyrinth (it was nominated for six Oscars and won three - practically unheard of for a foreign language film). Usually, when a film is getting this much good press, it's a letdown when you finally get round to watching it. This is not the case with Pan's Labyrinth. It is a bewitching tale that will keep you enthralled throughout.

Pan's Labyrinth is not a fantasy adventure filled with bright colours and cute and cuddly mythical creatures (it is more Jim Henson than Disney). The world of Pan's Labyrinth is dark and cruel, and at times the violence is relentless and startling. Despite this, it is a film filled with beauty, the kind of beauty that can only be seen in gothic art or on a stormy winter's night.

Whether you believe that Ofelia has created a world from her imagination or whether the visions she experiences are reality, you will be fascinated by her world and all that she encounters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pan's Labyrinth: Steelbook Edition [Blu-ray]
Pan's Labyrinth: Steelbook Edition [Blu-ray] by Guillermo del Toro (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 15.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews