Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wink Wink Nudge Nudge....
SOTD is a british comedy about a man with no ambition in life who lives with 2 men one who is cocky and sure of himself the other a lazy slob with no intrests except to annoy and harass anyone who may cross his path.
Poor Shaun suffers from the all too common middle man middle child syndrome living with these two men as well as being stepped on at his middle...
Published on Dec 18 2004 by Trauma

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not in the best condition
i personally love Shaun of The Dead but the steelbook isn't the best. As soon as i took it out of the packaging i saw the case had several dents and scratches. Overall the quality was very disappointing
Published 8 months ago by Poopy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wink Wink Nudge Nudge...., Dec 18 2004
By 
Trauma (Gotham City) - See all my reviews
SOTD is a british comedy about a man with no ambition in life who lives with 2 men one who is cocky and sure of himself the other a lazy slob with no intrests except to annoy and harass anyone who may cross his path.
Poor Shaun suffers from the all too common middle man middle child syndrome living with these two men as well as being stepped on at his middle management job.
Plus he competes with his stepdad who makes Shaun feel like a big wussy for being a spineless mommas boy.
Oh and he has a bossy girlfriend who wants Shaun to stand up for himself and take some kind of action in his life.
With all this commotion in his life Shaun fails to see the big picture including the fact that zombies have risen from the grave and started a bloody rampage in his hometown.
By the time he realises this fact two days have passed and those demanding people mentioned above are in danger becoming food for the undead.
Thus springing Shaun into action as he bumbles his way from here to there trying to save these people with no clear reason why or how.
The gore and horror aspect take a backseat here for obvious reasons but are very intense and realistic but funny as hell because we see it all happening in the background as in one scene where Shaun shuffles to and from the store without ever noticing the feeding frenzy going on up and down the street or even when in another scene he mistakes a zombie for a drunk girl in his own backyard!!!
The direction and pacing is all very linear for a movie that juggles horror comedy and romance without ever losing its main objective or your attention.
Smart Funny and bloody.
Hell Yeah!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somehow... I relate., Oct. 13 2007
By 
Joseph Kayne (Victoria, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
Have you ever been stuck in a rut? Stuck in a dead end job? Tired of dealing with all those brain dead Zombies? Then this is the movie for you.

Shaun wakes up one day to find he's screwed up his life, lost his girlfriend, disappointed his mum, oh, and the world's been overrun by the Undead!

This movie is pure comic/horror genius from start to finish. A perfect Halloween treat.

The transfer to HD is top notch. This movie truly benefits from the image depth and clarity this format presents. With this much detail, I feel I could easily navigate through north London by the movie visuals alone.

The sound was simply excellent. Heavily dialog driven, every word comes through crisp and clear. When the action really heats up, the Zombie hoard feels like they are shuffling and groaning through your living room. (Darn Zombies. Always shambling through my living room. And I just vacuumed!)

The special features are all here, and highly fun to watch. It's clear this crew had a blast making this film, and all the extras are there to invite you along, and include you in on the joke.

Absolutely worth the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Zombie Flick!, March 27 2005
If zombies are your bag, and you're looking for a good laugh at the same time, then this flick is for you.
The movie follows the standard zombie plot. Hero gets up one day, does his usual thing, and suddenly everyone is a zombie and it is up to him to save the planet. Only here, the catch is that Shaun is just your average everyday slacker in a dead-end job. He doesn't have a chiseled figure and is filled with self doubts. His best friend is disliked by many and is a slacker himself. In other words, these aren't the guys you would expect to be leading a group of people to safety.
But this movie works. Unlike other movies which focus on blood and gore, this movie focuses on humour. The gore and violence is kept to minimum, with more of a focus spent on the interactions between Shaun, his girlfriend, and his slacker buddy.
This is most definitely a zombie movie for the Gen-X'ers amongst us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What more could you ask for in a pointless zombie take-off??, Dec 15 2004
By 
Shaun of the Dead was definitely a great 13$ spent (ticket price). it was an awesome satiric comedy with a bunch of great new young english actors. I dont want to spoil the plot, or hilarious moments [and there are many in this ghoulish tale] but I will suggest if you're searching for a great laugh and don't mind some blood then look no further. 5 stars, and I'm first on the list to purchase the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to any "dead movies" collection, Feb. 15 2005
By 
Bittwister "belangw" (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
I own all the best dead movies, including this one. I'm happy to report it met all my expectations. It's clever, funny and has a healthy dose of gore. It's the same old dead movie and then it's not. SOTD made my wife laugh out loud and that's a feat I've seen few other movies attain, dead or alive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS FILM, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
what can i say? british humour, excellent editing, great story. superb actors. I LOVE this film. funny. clever. definitely worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shaun of the Dead (steelbook), Dec 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the multi-format of Blue ray / DVD and digital / ultra violet all in a steel case. Plus it could not have arrived in a better condition if I delivered it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best zombie movie ever! Finally, a reason to own a cricket bat., July 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Must see thriller! Simon Pegg is a comedic genius. This is the best zombie movie ever! Also loved his movie Hot Fuzz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie, July 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great movie..so funny and it has zombies. I have watched it about a hundred times and I laugh every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great package, shame about the menu., May 26 2012
By 
G. Bird (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shaun of the Dead (Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For those who love the film, there is no point in saying much about it aside from great picture and sound quality (you can't ask for better).

The only thing that was a disappointment on this was the bluray menu had not duplicated the dvd navigation menu (it was film themed, and added to the watching experience) - although the addition of D-Box functionality can be thankfully ignored (is a waste of time to me, its the worst idea to be attached to film watching).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaun of the Dead (Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray]
Shaun of the Dead (Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] by Edgar Wright (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 19.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews