Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the technical details
Since most of us are very familiar with this film I figure we are just interested in the technical specifications to make sure it's worth spending the cash on. This is a bare bones release no extras and not the directors cut. The packaging and amazon description says the audio is just DTS but in actuality it is DTS-HD MA!

I live in the USA shipping just took 6...
Published on Dec 5 2008 by Mr. X

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as pictured! wrong version
This is NOT the Extended Uncut version! Could've got this version much cheaper.I didnt notice till i opened it and started watching.
Published 1 month ago by calvin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Sin City on Blu-Ray, Feb. 10 2009
By 
Tom G. Jordan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently purchased Sin City on Blu-Ray format in hopes it would benefit from the high definition format. I have the DVD and I'm glad I upgraded to the high definition format! The movie looks great and this is a movie I really like. It's one of those movies you either love or hate. It's a must have for my collection. The unusual way it was photographed mixing black and white with partial color gave it a unique look and feel. There are multiple stories going on that end up tied together and good acting by Bruce Willis, Mickey Rorke, and Clive Owen. The blu-ray format didn't offer much of anything as far as extras but I bought it for the movie so that didn't matter to me. If you are on the fence I say go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars blu ray the only way, Feb. 10 2009
By 
Blu ray adds an element of excellence to this already fantastic film. The limited use of colors are highlighted with blu-ray plus the bone crunching, skin slicing, bone smashing sound effects are squeemishly delightful.

Great revenge movie with more violence and tittilation than you can ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sinful city, May 21 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
The nights are cloudy, the alleys are dark, the men are dangerous, bars are smoky and femmes are fatale. "Sin City" is a thing of dark, bloody beauty.

It certainly says something if a graphic novel author helps out with a movie... especially if that creator swore he'd never let it be adapted. That is only one of the things that makes "Sin City," the adaptation of Frank Miller's comic, such a fascinating film.

"Sin City" is actually made up of three stories: In the depths of Basin (Sin) City, scarred hulk Marv (Mickey Rourke) sleeps with a beautiful prostitute, Goldie (Jaime King), only to find her dead beside him the next morning. Enraged, he goes on a killing spree to find her murderer, and learns that sinister cannibal Kevin (Elijah Wood) is responsible. But there's a powerful figure behind Kevin, who calls the shots.

Elsewhere in Sin City, Dwight (Clive Owen) does his best to defend Gail (Rosario Dawson) and the other Old Town prostitutes. But when Dwight kills a crooked cop, he has to somehow cover up the crime. And Hartigan (Bruce Willis), a cop with a failing heart, goes out of his job with a bang: He rescues little Nancy Callahan from a child molester who happens to be a senator's son. Hartigan is jailed, and when he gets out, he finds that Nancy (Jessica Alba) has grown into a lasso-twirling stripper. But the senator's son -- nicknamed Yellow Bastard -- is still after her.

"Sin City" is one of those few comic book adaptations that doesn't seem... well, cartoonish. Sure, it's the very image of noir, but the grim tone and grey characters are very real. It's not a movie for the fainthearted, but whoever enjoys the films of Quentin Tarantino (who directed one scene here) will surely be blown away.

Like "Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow," this film is done almost entirely digitally. But unlike "Sky Captain," it has substance as well as style. All the sets and props are done with computers, and nearly everything is in black and white. Here and there we get a splash of colour -- red lipstick and matching dress, Yellow Bastard's face, green eyes.

The contents of three "Sin City" comic books are interwoven here, and Rodriguez is constantly faithful: A lot of these shots could have been lifted straight from the comic's pages. He also preserves the stark, black-and-white style that the graphic novels are known for. You can't get much more faithful than that.

"Sin City" is not quite a "Kill Bill" bloodfest, though -- surprisingly, this brutal movie has a dark sense of chivalry. Each story is about an outcast man defending a woman's honor, safety, or memory, even if he sacrifices himself in the process. "Sin City" wears its heart on its sleeve, even if that sleeve is bloodstained and torn.

Most of the actors do wonderful jobs -- Owen's dark photographer, Rourke's scarred strongman, Stahl's revolting Yellow Bastard, and Alba's surprisingly sweet stripper. Only a few, like Brittany Murphy, have lackluster performances. But perhaps the most memorable performances come from Bruce Willis and Elijah Wood. Willis plays his aging cop role with unusual grace, even when shooting the genitals off Yellow Bastard. And Wood plays Kevin with both creepy evil and spiritual ecstacy... all without saying a word.

"Sin City" is a remarkable, bleak, intense movie -- a halfway point between Tarantino and Raymond Chandler. An outstanding piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sin-ful, March 22 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Sin City-Marv & Goldie (DVD)
The nights are cloudy, the alleys are dark, the men are dangerous, bars are smoky and femmes are fatale. "Sin City" is a thing of dark, bloody beauty.

It certainly says something if a graphic novel author helps out with a movie... especially if that creator swore he'd never let it be adapted. That is only one of the things that makes "Sin City," the adaptation of Frank Miller's comic, such a fascinating film.

"Sin City" is actually made up of three stories: In the depths of Basin (Sin) City, scarred hulk Marv (Mickey Rourke) sleeps with a beautiful prostitute, Goldie (Jaime King), only to find her dead beside him the next morning. Enraged, he goes on a killing spree to find her murderer, and learns that sinister cannibal Kevin (Elijah Wood) is responsible. But there's a powerful figure behind Kevin, who calls the shots.

Elsewhere in Sin City, Dwight (Clive Owen) does his best to defend Gail (Rosario Dawson) and the other Old Town prostitutes. But when Dwight kills a crooked cop, he has to somehow cover up the crime. And Hartigan (Bruce Willis), a cop with a failing heart, goes out of his job with a bang: He rescues little Nancy Callahan from a child molester who happens to be a senator's son. Hartigan is jailed, and when he gets out, he finds that Nancy (Jessica Alba) has grown into a lasso-twirling stripper. But the senator's son -- nicknamed Yellow Bastard -- is still after her.

"Sin City" is one of those few comic book adaptations that doesn't seem... well, cartoonish. Sure, it's the very image of noir, but the grim tone and grey characters are very real. It's not a movie for the fainthearted, but whoever enjoys the films of Quentin Tarantino (who directed one scene here) will surely be blown away.

Like "Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow," this film is done almost entirely digitally. But unlike "Sky Captain," it has substance as well as style. All the sets and props are done with computers, and nearly everything is in black and white. Here and there we get a splash of colour -- red lipstick and matching dress, Yellow Bastard's face, green eyes.

The contents of three "Sin City" comic books are interwoven here, and Rodriguez is constantly faithful: A lot of these shots could have been lifted straight from the comic's pages. He also preserves the stark, black-and-white style that the graphic novels are known for. You can't get much more faithful than that.

"Sin City" is not quite a "Kill Bill" bloodfest, though -- surprisingly, this brutal movie has a dark sense of chivalry. Each story is about an outcast man defending a woman's honor, safety, or memory, even if he sacrifices himself in the process. "Sin City" wears its heart on its sleeve, even if that sleeve is bloodstained and torn.

Most of the actors do wonderful jobs -- Owen's dark photographer, Rourke's scarred strongman, Stahl's revolting Yellow Bastard, and Alba's surprisingly sweet stripper. Only a few, like Brittany Murphy, have lackluster performances. But perhaps the most memorable performances come from Bruce Willis and Elijah Wood. Willis plays his aging cop role with unusual grace, even when shooting the genitals off Yellow Bastard. And Wood plays Kevin with both creepy evil and spiritual ecstacy. All without saying a word.

"Sin City" is a remarkable, bleak, intense movie -- a halfway point between Tarantino and Raymond Chandler. An outstanding piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Dec 4 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sin City (DVD)
Great movie! I have didn't read the comics, and don't really like comics but this was an amazing movie, it was very well done very original and different, Excellent movie, a must own film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very unexpected, Aug. 23 2005
By 
"metzger_lisa" (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sin City (DVD)
I have never read any of the comics this movie is based on, in fact I don't read comics period. But I loved this movie anyway. It was gritty and in-your-face and completely shocking. Even though most of the movie is black and white, there was just so much going on. It kept you on your feet from intro to credits. So take an awesome storyline, add a power cast of heavy hitter actors and you've got an equation for one kickass movie!!! Buy it, this is a must-have to anyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Film from the books!, Aug. 20 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sin City (DVD)
This was a great film, a true book to film. Also look for a book called "Behind the Dark Curtain" by Adam W. Gibson, a great thriller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but watch out for studio double dipping, June 8 2005
By 
This review is from: NEW Sin City (DVD) (DVD)
Excellent comic adaptation in a time when comic to movie flicks usually fall flat with the exception of a chosen few. Wait for early 2006 for an extra special edition jam packed with extra discs, extra special goodies amd everything else a body needs!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sin City, May 31 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: NEW Sin City (DVD) (DVD)
Absolutly amazing! i loved it! three stories that intertwine slightly. i liked the black and white it added a film noir feeling to it, especially the small amount of colour. not for kids!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but..., Jan. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this after doing some searching about which version of the movie was included, since there's very little in the way of indication on the subject. I found a few places which indicated that this contained both the theatrical release, and the extended cut, which was exactly what I wanted. Sadly, this one appears to not have that. It is the theatrical release only.

That said, it's a gorgeous movie in blu-ray and the box is very, very pretty, so I'm only a little disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sin City (Premium Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray]
Sin City (Premium Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] by Jessica Alba (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 21.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews