Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the technical details
Since most of us are very familiar with this film I figure we are just interested in the technical specifications to make sure it's worth spending the cash on. This is a bare bones release no extras and not the directors cut. The packaging and amazon description says the audio is just DTS but in actuality it is DTS-HD MA!

I live in the USA shipping just took 6...
Published on Dec 5 2008 by Mr. X

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as pictured! wrong version
This is NOT the Extended Uncut version! Could've got this version much cheaper.I didnt notice till i opened it and started watching.
Published 5 months ago by calvin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Oct. 2 2014
Super cast great story a wild ride all the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This isnt the 147 min cut., Nov. 22 2013
By 
Pierre Cyr "Pierre Cyr" (Grand Falls NB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sin City (Premium Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Id still rate it 4 stars out of 5 because that movie is so good but this isnt the recut extended unrated version at 147 min. Its the 124 min standard version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only slightly better than the DVD, July 7 2009
I already had the DVD recut version and decided to get the Blu-ray version as well since this is one of those movies that I like to watch periodically. Unfortunately I didn't find the video quality significantly better than the DVD version. It turns out that by watching the DVD version again I realized the DVD quality is already top-notch. Chances are that on a smaller TV I would not have noticed the difference at all. With the exception of two bonus features, you get the same ones as the DVD version (and in the same standard definition). The movie itself is certainly worthwhile, as it is the best graphic novel adaptation I have seen to date. And one nice little feature on the Blu-ray disc is that you can play the four stories of the recut version in chronological order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great on Blu-Ray, Feb. 12 2009
Beautiful film and an awesome HD picture with this movie. I would definitely recommend picking one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sin City (Premium Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Perfect, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, but not quite..., May 23 2009
By 
Sin City, might be one of my favourite movies. The story and acting are great of course, but what makes the whole movie even more unique is that it's always in Black & White (for most of the time). The entire film was shot behind a green screen. The movie was directed by Frank Rodriguez (From Dusk Till Dawn, Planet Terror, ...)

First, this Blu-ray is the U.S. edition. The Canadian edition, (cheaper), is a 1-disc edition, and have only the Theatrical Cut of the movie with no bonus feature. The picture and sound quality are the same. (I own both)

So, in this U.S. 2-Disc edition, you get both Theatrical & Uncut version (which is 20 minutes more). Also, you get a tons of bonus features. Like per example: Picture-In-Picture feature, 3 audio commentary tracks, 5 featurettes, interactive Comic Book, Quentin Tarantino's on the set, and many more. So, YES, this version worth every penny for it.

The only reason, why I don't give this Blu-ray a 5 stars rating, is because... Both U.S. & Canadian edition have an audio problem. Sometimes, when a character speak, (like in the beginning of the movie with Bruce Willis) you can hear a audio hiss over his voice. Very Annoying!! It doesn't happen to often, but enough to make a comment about it so you guys know what to expect. (I tested the DTS Lossless Track). But, the movie and picture are so good, don't let "that problem" stops you from buying.

Sin City might be a Comic Book adaptation, but the flick is good enough on it's own, that everybody can enjoy it. Highly Recommanded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but..., Jan. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this after doing some searching about which version of the movie was included, since there's very little in the way of indication on the subject. I found a few places which indicated that this contained both the theatrical release, and the extended cut, which was exactly what I wanted. Sadly, this one appears to not have that. It is the theatrical release only.

That said, it's a gorgeous movie in blu-ray and the box is very, very pretty, so I'm only a little disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film , love the steelbook, June 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sin City (Premium Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Because there are tons of reviews for the movie Sin City. I will just say I bought the Steelbook because I liked the design. The discs are the same on the standard blu ray and contain both versions of the film, the same extras etc. I just loved the Noir-esque atmosphere that this film had. A little sci fi, a little horror, dark Noir, great photography ...just a brilliant film.
How can you go wrong with Bruce Willis and Jessica Alba ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Aug. 30 2011
This review is from: Sin City (Premium Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Sin City is the most visually inventive comic book adaptation to make its way to a movie screen. While other directors have attempted to remain faithful to the look and "feel" of their source material, Robert Rodriguez has taken things a step further, by using Frank Miller's graphic novels as storyboards and immersing the audience neck-deep in the noir currents of Miller's den of iniquity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, Feb. 17 2009
By 
D. Rippee "dave" (Fresno, CA US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you liked the movie sin city you should definitly buy it on blue ray. good quality but no extras. not availible in the US so i bought it from canada. it's in english or french. good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sin City (Premium Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray]
Sin City (Premium Steelbook Edition) [Blu-ray] by Jessica Alba (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 23.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews