Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror and definately not for everyone
I was looking for something shocking, horror out of the ordinary and just break the limits. This movie does all of this.

If you have 'enjoyed' the movie The last house of on the left, this is about the same category, but I found more gory and gruesome.

The story is a bit slow paced but once it gets started you are on. I was surprised at this small...
Published on Feb. 14 2011 by Stefanie Beaudin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Newer, But Not Better
In this age of rampant 're-imaginings' of previous horror films it seems inevitable that the notorious 70's seminal female revenge flik "I Spit On Your Grave' would get 'the treatment'. Such re-hashings always beg the question of "why?!?" (that's an easy one: for the money!) and invite comparison to the original version. Like several of the '70's vintage re-makes that...
Published on March 10 2011 by DVD/OCD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror and definately not for everyone, Feb. 14 2011
I was looking for something shocking, horror out of the ordinary and just break the limits. This movie does all of this.

If you have 'enjoyed' the movie The last house of on the left, this is about the same category, but I found more gory and gruesome.

The story is a bit slow paced but once it gets started you are on. I was surprised at this small twist, but then I could see it coming. Even so, I was still shocked at the level of human beings and what htey are capable of.

Revenge is very soughout and hell it was deserved! The way the main character tortured her attackers was just beautiful and you can simply condone after the hell they have put her through. I thought the hard scenes (rape) was worse than that of the previous movie I mentioned (The last house on the left)

It had been years since a horror movie had me looking away from my tv screen or just pause to like take a minute. You want something shocking, breaking the rules and be surprised but yet open minded to this hardcore stuff, pick this title up! I enjoyed it to its fullest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Epic Movie!, March 25 2014
By 
Brittany (wainwright, ab, canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great revenge movie. I loved how the girl went after each and everyone of them that raped her. She got her revenge big time. If you have a weak stomach, probably not the best choice of movie to want. But if you like a good revenge movie, it's a gooder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Depraved Revenge Story, Dec 26 2013
I have not seen the original but really enjoyed this movie. Intense scenes that give you that uncomfortable feeling and take it up a notch from most movies in this genre. Most humans enjoy stories of revenge, especially when it's justified......and thats why this movie strikes a chord with me. Somehow you get sucked into enjoying the depravity because the term "eye for an eye" lives within most of us whether we want to believe it or not. This movie brings it to the forefront in everybody who enjoys it. I will now check out the original which was supposed to be shockingly uncharted territory for it's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Nov. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Spit on Your Grave (Unrated) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Awesome Movie wont regret it ! great but sick movie anyone who likes scary movies this is the movie for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Newer, But Not Better, March 10 2011
By 
DVD/OCD - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In this age of rampant 're-imaginings' of previous horror films it seems inevitable that the notorious 70's seminal female revenge flik "I Spit On Your Grave' would get 'the treatment'. Such re-hashings always beg the question of "why?!?" (that's an easy one: for the money!) and invite comparison to the original version. Like several of the '70's vintage re-makes that have recently gone before it (such as Last House On The Left & The Hills Have Eyes) this new version of ISOYG 'benefits' from a slightly larger budget and a glossier look but does it really offer anything 'new' worth noting/watching? From my perspective, the short answer is: "No"... but there are, of course, always some intriguing elements to compare. The basic story line is identical to the older version - an attractive young single woman rents a secluded cabin in the country to get away from the city and write her novel - she is targeted by a group of local country low-life males who viciously rape her & leave her for dead, but she survives to wreak horrible vengeance upon them all....roll credits. Everyone loves a good revenge flik and the original version broke some ground by: 1) having the initial transgressive act be a very graphic rape scene, 2) showing a lot of full female nudity, and 3) 'empowering' the female victim to commit some atrocious acts of retribution. This new version varies in some minor, but telling, ways: the rape scene has a lot more 'humiliating' aspects to it but way less nudity - the original 4 ner-do-well country boys are joined by a fifth character representing the forces of law & order gone bad, and the vengeful acts of the heroine upon her attackers are considerably more graphic and perverse. Call it a 'sign of the times' but in a filmic universe that now holds the likes of the 'Hostel' & 'Saw' franchise 'torture porn' genre - audiences & film producers/directors are constantly perceiving the need to up the ante on the nature of the violence portrayed... and this seems to instill a sense of contrived manipulation that makes them seem much more mean spirited than their predecessors. Combine this with some gaping plot-holes & sloppy continuity elements and one is still left wondering 'What WERE they thinking?!"... (Oh yeah - I already answered that one: "make money"!) More of a 'renter' than ' keeper' in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mehhhhhh alright, Aug. 2 2011
i guess it was alrivght it just didnt seem like they added any new good ideas to the origonal, when i watch remakes i usually dont like them unless there was something new that blew me away, it always falls into "bin there done that" territory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very shocking, Feb. 16 2011
By 
Kevin Barton (Whitby, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Spit on Your Grave (Unrated) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a wonderful movie I would enjoy as much as I enjoy the original 1978 version. I would watch this on blu-ray like I got the original 1978 version on blu-ray because I would get use them anyhow. Both the original 1978 and remake versions are great to watch even if they are very shocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Spit on Your Grave (Unrated) [Blu-ray]
I Spit on Your Grave (Unrated) [Blu-ray] by Steven R. Monroe (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 21.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews