Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest action movies ever?
I think so. It's violent, over the top and you'll feel satisfied. John Woo won me over with this one. The gun fights are crazy and Chow-Yun Fat proves to be a badass. Not a no-budget movie, but by no means is it a big-production film. It's gritty and fast paced and well... violent.
Published on May 17 2004 by Danny Carroll

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars great film, horrible transfer
This is simply a great action-packed, incredibly violent film. Woo is a master of the shoot-out scene and there are plenty of them in this flick. The camera work is amazing. It's smooth, it's poetic. Its influence on The Matrix is very clear. However, this DVD is one of the worst film transfers I have ever seen. The quality image is almost unwatchable, at least for my...
Published on May 29 2004 by V. Mejia


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest action movies ever?, May 17 2004
By 
Danny Carroll (Fairfax, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hard Boiled [Import] (DVD)
I think so. It's violent, over the top and you'll feel satisfied. John Woo won me over with this one. The gun fights are crazy and Chow-Yun Fat proves to be a badass. Not a no-budget movie, but by no means is it a big-production film. It's gritty and fast paced and well... violent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MOST VIOLENT MOVIE.......SURE IS, April 26 2004
This review is from: Hard Boiled [Import] (DVD)
ENTERTAINIG. If you like movies with guns and violence, guns and violence and more guns and violence and even more bloody Violence. Then 2 Simple Words for this film. RENT IT or BUY IT and most of all WATCH IT.
Brilliant. John Woo is magnificent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll run around your house making gun noises after this one!, July 13 2007
By 
M. Stuckart "Movie Guru" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I haven't actually seen the dragon dynasty version of this movie, I was lucky enough to discover a video store with a criterion copy of this movie, So I cant actually attest to the video quality of this one. But as for the movie itself?

HOLY BIGFOOT FLYING A FIGHTER JET...

In one scene Chow Yun Fat literally SLIDES DOWN A BANISTER WITH GUNS BLAZING IN EACH HAND AND TOOTHPICK IN HIS MOUTH.

Game over... whatever you thought you knew about awesome action scenes? Nope sorry, just doesn't compare.

Now I will admit the movie does slow down a little in the middle, but hang in there, the climatic hospital shoot out scene is more than worth it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Woo's "other" classic, June 21 2004
By 
Wheelchair Assassin (The Great Concavity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hard Boiled [Import] (DVD)
While not quite as tightly plotted or emotionally compelling as John Woo and Chow Yun-Fat's magnum opus "The Killer," "Hard Boiled" is still sure to please fans of that movie. Much of what made "The Killer" such a great film is to be found here: flawed heroes, murky allegiances, and ambiguous morals are once again the order of the day in this tale of cops and criminals living on the edge. At the same time, "Hard Boiled" manages to ratchet up the violence even further from its "sister" film, resulting in the most prolonged and intense action scenes I've ever witnessed, all filmed in Woo's signature frenetic style. A tea house, a warehouse, and ultimately a hospital all become battlegrounds in all-out war as the cops face an enemy that makes the Mafia look like a group of middle-school bullies.
Once again, Chow takes the lead in the protagonist's role, this time portraying relentless Hong Kong inspector "Tequila" Yuen. In true Woo-hero fashion, Tequila can shelter a baby with one arm while shooting up a small army of bad guys with the other. Joining him in his fight against the triads is Tony (Tony Leung) an undercover cop who's spent so much time working among gangsters that the line between the right side of the law and the wrong one is becoming blurred. However, Tony looks like a choirboy compared to the cartoonishly villanous Johnny Wong, an up-and-coming Triad boss who would probably kill his own mother if she got in his way. Johnny also has himself an extremely menacing sidekick in the form of a glowering, nameless enforcer who spends much of the film with a patch on one eye and still manages to give Tequila and Tony a few runs for their money.
It all comes to a head in the climactic showdown in the hospital-turned-arsenal, with the scene gradually evolving from tense standoff to full-scale shootout as the lives of hundreds of hostages hang in the balance. As most of Hong Kong's police force provides support, the two detectives lead the way against Johnny, his cycloptic colleague, and dozens of other gun-wielding menaces. And did I mention they have to make sure no harm comes to the adorable newborn babies in the nearby maternity ward? Yeah, Tony and Tequila sure have their work cut out for them as they fly through the air and unleash zillions of bullets, but it makes for some scintillating watching.
On the whole, "Hard Boiled" is definitely an engaging experience that's more than worth the money I shelled out for it. Much like "The Killer," this movie manages to pack much more psychological depth than the typical Hollywood shoot-'em-up with its portrayals of compromised heroes in harrowing circumstances. And of course, it goes without saying that Woo is nearly unparelelled when it comes to putting together action set pieces. Woo has made some moderately entertaining movies here in the States, but he hasn't managed to reach the level of his twin Hong Kong masterpieces. So check them out, if you dare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars FOX LORBER EDITION IS TERRIBLE!, June 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hard Boiled [Import] (DVD)
You are looking at an edition by Fox Lorber Films. I love this movie but this particular transfer onto DVD is TERRIBLE. The picture looks horrible and the audio is the WORST I've EVER seen on a DVD. Will SOMEBODY please issue a decent edition of Hard-Boiled or The Killer on DVD (yes I know about the criterion collection but I don't have $250.00 to spend on it now that they are out of print!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars great film, horrible transfer, May 29 2004
By 
V. Mejia "OSB" (Glendale, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hard Boiled [Import] (DVD)
This is simply a great action-packed, incredibly violent film. Woo is a master of the shoot-out scene and there are plenty of them in this flick. The camera work is amazing. It's smooth, it's poetic. Its influence on The Matrix is very clear. However, this DVD is one of the worst film transfers I have ever seen. The quality image is almost unwatchable, at least for my taste. Dirt, scratches, burn marks are everywhere. The film looks like it was dragged across the floor, stepped on, dumped on, then left to sit a few days for the rats, cockroaches, racoons, and other wildlife to trample all over it before it was transfered onto the DVD. Do not buy this DVD. Rent it, or if you can afford it (and find it), buy the Criterion Collection edition instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ferociously Violent Gun Epic, Jan. 11 2004
By 
OverTheMoon (overthemoonreview@hotmail.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hard Boiled [Import] (DVD)
"Give a man a gun and he is a hero. Give him two and he is God"

Nothing can quite prepare you for the amount of bullets that are used in this film - all done to an impeccable action style that has still not been beat. If there was ever a Guinness Book of Records for the "Most bullets shot in a film" John Woo's Hard Boiled would be first place for a very long time. It is a terrible shame that this director has only been toned-down by Hollywood. There is not a hope that he would be allowed to do what he has done here with Hong Kong actors to the Hollywood cream of the crop. It seems that it is okay to have a Hong Kong Asian to shoot the hell out of everything but this same action when applied to Western culture would only shock and shame. The same can be said for the star of Hard Boiled - Chow Yun-Fat (Crouch Tiger, Hidden Dragon) who since moving to the West has fired less bullets in all his Hollywood films put together than he does in the first five minutes of this film. Does that really matter? In many ways - Yes it does. Unlike THEIR Hollywood films the gun violence here is not gratuitous. It is artistic and warrented. No one can come away from this film to say that have seen unjustified and unnecessary amounts of actions. It is all integral to the style and plot of this movie. Yes, innocent people do get mowed down in a hail of hot lead and yes the violence is bloody, but is that not what gun violence is? Here you see exactly what guns do to people. Forget Michael Moore's "Bowling for Columbine" - The true message of gun control is right here! The plot is even about the dangers of gun smuggling!
One thing for sure is that there is more gratuitous gun violence in most Hollywood productions than there is here. Here we have a hard boiled cop who is assigned to tracking down gun smugglers. He is a hard boiled cop because he knows how to use his guns. His superiors are using him to fight fire with fire. The action gets going from the word go as the hard boiled cop busts a gun dealing operation. His buddy cops and innocent people get killed in the process. He then goes to extract some revenge and put the big gun runners out of business - only problem is there are literally thousands of them he must cut down. Cue unrelenting battle sequences from start to finish all done in excellent style and slow-mo. You have not seen anything like Hard Boiled before, nor will you again. The ending in the hospital is like DIE HARD with ten thousand times more suspense.
Hard Boiled is also a wonderfully acted movie with excellent first rate action direction. The story is also coherent and good, especially for an Asian production. This is every action fans wet dream. Believe me if you have not seen Hard Boiled then it is about time that you did.
Majestic Filmmaking, not to mention John Woo's greatest film. This is the stuff of Legend with an action hero to root for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars When a gun shows you know someone is going down, Oct. 20 2003
This review is from: Hard Boiled [Import] (DVD)
This is one hell of an action movie, but I think its alittle overdone at times, the bloodless deaths in the shootouts kinda let me down but these shootouts put almost any action movie to shame. The plot Kinda went goes this, Chow yun fat (Cop) is avenging his friends death/investigating a smuggling operation, where he finds a deep insider/undercover cop (Tony Leung,the same one from bullet in the head). Thats it, besides Tequila (Chow) pissing off his superior, but from there on in its all gunfights and violence. Here you'll find Anothey Wong in a solid role as the main bad guy (he hated the role though). Chow is intensely stylish as usual, the best part is in the tea house shootout is when he slides down the rail with a toothpick in his mouth while gunning down numours bad guys. Tony Leung is actually better then Chow acting wise in his role as the undercover cop. John Woo did a pretty fine job for one of his last HK films that he directed. Even though he could have done a bit better this movie is still a great action film for you and your friends to sit back and enjoy the ride. But there is only one version available right now and its the media asia release with no special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hard Boiled is Hard ..., June 25 2002
By 
kurlebj "kurlebj" (Hackettstown, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hard Boiled [Import] (DVD)
I've been watching Hong Kong films for several years now, but til now it was mostly kung-fu oriented films. On a whim, I picked up "Hard Boiled" with Chow Yun Fat after seeing him in Crouching Tiger and taking a liking to him. I'm a big fan of explosive action films and this one is just that. If you're a fan of a lot of action, violence and explosions and want to see it stunningly choreographed, then this movie might just be for you. There is plenty of it and it is all done very well. John Woo is an excellent director and proves his skills in this film as far as the high octane action goes. My favorite scene is near the beginning when Tequila (Chow Yun Fat) is getting shot at and he slides across a table filled with flour. Excellent!
However, there was a few things I didn't like about the movie: I think the story was a little weak and a little hard to follow at times. (Keep in mind that I watched the English dub version, so the story could have lost a lot in the translation [I hate subtitles])
The dvd: The dvd is not very good. The picture is very grainy and has a lot of artifacting and scratches. The sound is low and slightly muffled. For a Hong Kong movie I guess it's not that bad, but looking at it alone, it's not very good. There are several extras to wet your whistle with though and that's always a plus.
All in all, a very enjoyable shoot'em up blood fest with the body count higher that Snoop Dogg in Columbia. 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A DREAM COME TRUE!!!!!, June 4 2002
By 
Nelly (Connecticut) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hard Boiled [Import] (DVD)
I had seen all of John Woo's US films (MI:2, Face Off, Broken Arrow and so on) and I needed something new to tide me over. What I chose was what must have been one of the greatest action movies I have ever seen! John Woo shows off his true skills in this excellent Hong Kong shoot'em up with of course the great performance with the legenndary Chow Yun-Fat, playing the role of rogue cop Tequila. In just one minute I was completely blown away! I couldn't keep my self from drooling while just staring in astonishment! The whole movie was everything I could ever hope for in an action flick. Endless gunfights, great choreography and Chow Yun-Fat just being one bad ..., one man army! Tequila shoots it out with Triads magnificently wheather in a restaurant, warehouse and even a hospital. This movie really shines though in it's high-octane finale in the huge hospital. Tequila and his buddy Tony (Tony Leung Chiu Wai) cleaning house side by side with Tequila mowing guys down with my personal favorite pump-action shotgun. There's also a great scene involving a human wall of hostages used by the baddies that Tequila and Tony save brilliantly! After watching it once I went right back to the beginning just to see it again because it was just so damn good! If your looking for something to just blow you right on your [rear] with classic hardcore action except no substitutes, Hard Boiled is a rare gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf2c1174)

This product

NEW Yun-fat/wai/mo - Hard Boiled (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 16.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews