Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Deal of the Day - The Beatles in Mono 14LP Vinyl Box Set SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$37.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 4, 2011
Just push play! Your ears are in heaven, your eyes widen, your jaw drops.. As soon as you think it can't get any better something or someone just blows your mind/ ears away again and takes it to another level. This concert is a dvd, one can easily press pause and attend to grabbing a drink, answering the phone, etc. The thing is, you won't.. This lineup will captivate you to the point of awe inspiring, mind numbing brilliance that you will be mad at yourself because you weren't there for the live show! The best concert movie I have seen in a really long time. Go ahead and treat yourself, and I assure you, what a wonderful treat it is..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 18, 2010
As the title states, this was slightly less enjoyable than the previous Festivals, but was amazing anyways.
It is still a must have, as are all Crossroads Festival DVDs.
DVD1 is good, DVD2 is REALLY good, the highlight for me was Susan Tedeschi & Derek Trucks, WOW :)

This may become a real classic if some of the really old guys don't make it to the next Festival, but in 2010 Hubert Sumlin & BB King are rockin' better than ever, two of my favs :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 28, 2010
Crossroads 2010 is great !! In saying that it took me a couple of viewings to totally enjoy it as it's LONG. The Blue Ray format is great picture perfect and outstanding sound. Always great combinations of talent at Crossroads. Every year Clapton has a few new guests at Crossroads and this helps make each Crossroads festival better and better.

Many people think Crossroads is just Blues.... well it's not, there are legends from all genres at Crossroads, like James Burton, Bert Jansch Earl Klugh to name a few. Be sure to check out [...] for a complete list of artists and bio's well worth the time to learn about some of the guests Clapton has on the stage. Clapton uses his name to introduce the masses to talent from across the music industry all for an outstanding cause.

Many outstanding performances, like Buddy Guy, Jonny Lang & Ronnie Wood, great songs together ... a really nice combination.

Of course Clapton plays throughout the day and he certainly tears the stage up with his pal Winwood on Voodoo Chile.....

Having seen some of the older legends like Hubert Sumlin, BB King & Jimmy Vaughn, in the back of my mind I wonder who will carry on the work of these masters, Crossroads shows without doubt there are many that can carry the torch forward

Crossroads continues to bring wonderful talent together to help people with addiction issues and Clapton is committed to this awesome event and brings talent together for a great cause, Crossroads indeed is on my bucket list of things to see live, I think it would be a awesome few days to spend soaking up the music and learning more and more of some of the greats in the music world.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 22, 2010
What I really like about a Live show, is the imperfections, that's what make all those great musicians come alive, like when Buddy Guy break a string... studio albums are great, but nothing beats the "real feel" of a live performance.
You like blues, you like guitar, you like great performances... you'll like this.

I have all Crossroads DVD's and enjoy them all, it's great to see those guy's and gals together having fun, like they're just jamming together and we're the lucky ones who can witness it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The following artists were part of this Fantastic event which benefits Crossroads Centre Antigua:

Albert Lee, BB King, Bert Jansch, Buddy Guy, David Hidalgo and Cesar Rosas of Los Lobos, Derek Trucks, Doyle Bramhall II, Earl Klugh, Eric Clapton, Gary Clark Jr., Hubert Sumlin, James Burton, Jeff Beck, Jimmie Vaughan, Joe Bonamassa, John Mayer, Johnny Winter, Jonny Lang, Keb' Mo', Pino Daniele, Robert Cray, Robert Randolph, Sheryl Crow, Susan Tedeschi, Sonny Landreth, Stefan Grossman, Steve Winwood, Vince Gill, Warren Haynes, and ZZ Top.

"While these concerts are benefits for Crossroads Center, Antigua, a nonprofit addiction-treatment clinic that Eric Clapton founded in the Caribbean, they are also rallies for what sometimes seems to be an endangered species: the guitar hero, the kind of player who can seize and hold an audience with chorus after chorus of an instrumental solo."

The old and the new guitar gods strutted their stuff before over 28,000 fans, from gospel to blues,futuristic synth solos, funky rythyms,and searing guitar breaks, jazz,and bluegrass. A virtual banquet for the ears. These concerts are always top list, classy and unforgettable, that's why I keep buying them.

Bill Murray co-hosted the events with some hilarious introductions that kept all present in stitches, the man's insane.

There is just too much to describe, I was very satisfied with this purchase, a must have for all serious collectors.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2010
The 2010 Crossroads Guitar Festival is the third in a series of outdoor concerts which Eric Clapton has produced at various venues in the USA. In keeping with the 04 & 07 shows, the 2010 concert showcases top guitar performers from various genre's of music. Customers who purchased the two previous concerts will find that the 2010 version is a somewhat different "kettle of fish". There are fewer sets that indulge in the hard-pounding, free-wheelin' style of the previous shows which creates a more subdued effect overall. The talent level has not diminished, the presentation is just different. Still highly recommended for any music video collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2011
What do you get when you take a handfull of the greatest living guitarists, add a crowd of thousands, and then film it all using super high def cameras? This DVD. There might be a couple tunes that don't really push my buttons (doyle bramhall II for one) but they are still amazing and more than made up for by Joe Bonnamassa, Derek Trucks, God himself and the rest.
The fidelity of this recording is unreal, pumped through the right home theatre, you really start to feel like you're present at the festival.

I can't think of anything I would change about this. Five Thumbs up.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2011
In my mind Eric Clapton is the best of all time white Blues Guitarist and his great work of assembling
all these great artists yearly for this festival is second to none.
I try to look for comparisons from year to year, but each year there's a difference and some
artists disappoint like John Mayer and Jeff Beck could not repeat his previous year appearance.
But in all the addition of new guests and Eric's true spirit of keeping Blues alive is the ultimate goal
along with supporting his charity.
Eric keep showing up every year and I will be buying this great legacy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on November 16, 2010
Listen and watched over the course of an evening, Lots of great guitar sounds. You really have to love guitars and the players to watch this DVD. Some the the songs were outstanding considering everything was just throw together, playing old standards we have all heard before. Earl Klugh was a plesant surprise, what great band.

The sound and picture was pretty good. Bill Murray gave me a few laughs. ZZ Top was a bit sloppy still great though, it didn't seem to bother the crowd. Sheryl Crow is a good artist, but she bugs me and what she does was entertaining. Same with John Mayer and he was alright.

Ron Wood was great to see with Buddy Guy and some other kid who bugs me (Johnny Lang). I found it to be similar earlier DVD shows. Very enjoyable. I find these show to come across very loose and I think that was the intension of this kind of show. I recommend it. I have all in this series and I find them about the same.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2011
This a great collection of fantastic players and a 1 day festival I would love to see. The 2010 DVD is not too different from the 2007 DVD, so if you own one, you may not need the other. It is a very enjoyable DVD and supports a great cause. It gave me exposure to some players I was not too familiar with, but are terrific!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 (DVD)
Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 (DVD) by Eric Clapton (DVD - 2013)
CDN$ 28.58

Crossroads Guitar Festival
Crossroads Guitar Festival by Eric Clapton (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 34.99