Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop watching...
WOW! Watched a few episodes of this on it's T.V.broadcast, and couldn't even take my eyes off the screen long enough to have a drink. Excellent production, watches like a novel reads...
Published on Dec 5 2010 by DAVe O

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the book
The movie was okay, but could have been better. As always, recommend the book over the movie. Not a movie to watch more than once.
Published 3 months ago by Maureen Britton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop watching..., Dec 5 2010
This review is from: The Pillars of the Earth (DVD)
WOW! Watched a few episodes of this on it's T.V.broadcast, and couldn't even take my eyes off the screen long enough to have a drink. Excellent production, watches like a novel reads...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, April 12 2011
By 
Jessie (Cochrane, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pillars of the Earth (DVD)
I couldn't stop watching. I watched the whole thing in one day! The acting, character growth, screenplay, cinematic is all amazing! I love the love story and battle scenes and they fit together so well. The family drama, church politics and architecture many not seem like they can go together, but they do and it is wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done, Dec 31 2010
This review is from: The Pillars of the Earth (DVD)
Not quite an exact replica of the book but phenomenal all the same. A story that will go down in history along side of other greats such as Gone With the Wind and North & South. Great acting and awesome story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pillars of the Earth, Jan. 30 2011
This is just about the best mini-series I have ever seen. Everything about it is perfect. The adaption is faithfull to the book. The acting is topnotch. The costumes and setting made the story come to life. This is not for children but it makes a spectacular viewing for adults. We ended up watching the last four episodes none stop as we were hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite novel now favourite DVD, Jan. 5 2011
By 
G. Belsher - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pillars of the Earth (DVD)
This series was just as gripping as the original novel. Although the screenwriter didn't follow the book exactly, it flowed like a Ken Follett novel always does, leaving you wanting more at the end of each "chapter", in this case "episode". And what a pleasant surprise and treat to see Ken Follett himself in a minor role in one of the episodes. Highly recommended for Follett fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Pillars" does not disappoint., May 13 2012
By 
Mary Anne Drew (Tecumseh, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pillars of the Earth (DVD)
I read the book and loved it. It was highly detailed...a long read...but worth it. I purposely didn't watch the series on TV because I didn't want to be interrupted by commercials. The video really captured the vision I had from the book. Obviously, many smaller details were left out and I missed those but for first time viewers, it would be a great series to watch.
I did miss the "golden" eyes described in the book as belonging to the beautiful "witch".
Wonderful acting by everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ken Follet brought to the small screen, April 23 2012
By 
Paul Graves (Parksville, BC CAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent cinematic adaptation of Follet's, "Pillars of the Earth". Follows the book story line very well. The series is well scripted and acted with major and minor Hollywood stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!, Aug. 5 2011
This series was epic!!!

It followed the story line from the book quite well. Definitely a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars impressed, Jan. 15 2011
This review is from: The Pillars of the Earth (DVD)
Arrived in time for Christmas. What a great way to spend New Years .... a "Pillars Marathon" Very, very well done . As good an interpretation of the book as you could ever expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pillars of the Earth is a great read and a great miniseries, March 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pillars of the Earth (DVD)
The mini series was remarkably true to the book. Any differences did not alter the story. The story is powerful and the actors and filmmaking did it credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaefaff90)

This product

The Pillars of the Earth
The Pillars of the Earth by Ian McShane (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 16.49
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews