Customer Reviews


536 Reviews
5 star:
 (341)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 Stars....but still one HOT element!!
This review is for the new "The Fifth Element:Ultimate Edition".
This new two disc set includes a wonderfully crisp transfer and an extra disc full of extras aimed to please.
I recall viewing this movie on VHS when it first came out and I am amazed at the difference in picture and especialy sound quality.I recall on the tape having a devil of a time...
Published on Jan. 31 2005 by Robert Badgley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing Extras
Sadly, the extras on the Blu-Ray are missing compared to the Ultimate Edition DVD. I bought both but I prefer the DVD. The picture quality is almost the same on both.
Published 12 months ago by Movie buff


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 Stars....but still one HOT element!!, Jan. 31 2005
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is for the new "The Fifth Element:Ultimate Edition".
This new two disc set includes a wonderfully crisp transfer and an extra disc full of extras aimed to please.
I recall viewing this movie on VHS when it first came out and I am amazed at the difference in picture and especialy sound quality.I recall on the tape having a devil of a time understanding what the shape shifting alien marauders-for-hire were saying,but in this edition I understand every syllable quite clearly.
This is a movie I never tire of even after repeated viewings.It's one of those films that the best thing you can do is just sit back and let IT do the driving.It's a wild space/earth/alien/armageddon/pure evil vs pure good high adrenaine romp that never lets up when it gets going.
Cab driver Dallas(Willis) is an ex special forces member who is suddenly thrust into becoming the ersatz guardian of Leeloo(Jovovich) the pictures' title.It's a race against time to make sure she accomplishes her mission.....to save earth.The back story and the colourful characters that we meet along the way propel the movie along without stopping for a breath.
The main drawback of this set,and it isn't exactly a minor one,is its' issuance ONLY in DTS.There is NO Dolby 5:1 surround or any other sound options available at all in the menu which is highly unusual, as opposed to any DVD I've encountered so far which usually has mulitple options thereof.So please be warned to make sure your DVD player is able to play DTS encoded audio,as some older models may not be able to.This is something I have to manually adjust to everytime I play it,which can be annoying.
In concluding if the only-in-DTS sound is a problem then you will want to give this set a by-pass,which is why I have given this set a three and half star rating when it should have been higher.
But if the sound is no obstacle I recommend you pick up this highly entertaining two disk set which is the only way to own this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun film, gorgeous blu-ray, uncompressed audio, Dec 29 2009
By 
Cheryl - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The Fifth Element is a fun action film, comprised of vividly colourful and imaginative visuals which look fantastic on blu-ray. Thankfully, the audio is uncompressed (no excessively loud sound effects contrasted by super soft dialogue) - a feature I wish was noted in product description on all blu-rays. Also, as a bonus on this disc there is a sometimes-interesting trivia text track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fifth Element (Blu-ray), Oct. 6 2009
By 
Oh my my!!
What eye candy! This movie brings the old style adventure sci-fi pictures into an exciting modern version with of course better effects and what props! The scenes were absolutely gorgeous. The space liner had an astounding interior. Beson, is unbeatable when it comes to showing off his vision of antiquity in a modern setting. An absolute marvel. Let me not forget the acting, was way above board for everyone including the secondary rolls. Get this one because seeing it once is not enough. Whether blu-ray or standard DVD it's astounding. Antonio Di Donato.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fifth Element: Sci Fi Classic Of 1997, June 7 2004
By 
Rudy Avila "Saint Seiya" (Lennox, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The 90's will be remembered fondly for its many special effects masterpieces of action/adventure such as this highly entertaining film starring Bruce Willis, Gary Oldman, Milla Jovovitch and Chris Tucker. About a year earlier, in 1996, the blockbuster Independence Day took the world by storm and made it big at the box office. This over-the-top sci-fi fantasy is at times bordering on comic book style or reminiscent of the hit Sci Fi channel cable show FarScape. It's composed of a lot of stunning visuals, special effects and a tongue-in-cheek script. Bruce Willis stars as Corbin Dallas, a taxi-cab driver in a futuristic New York City whose flying cars are still causing an immense amount of traffic. He happens to be caught in a great battle- the perfect woman, a god (Milla Jovovitch)must save Earth from destruction by the collision of another planet and from the devilish Zorg (Gary Oldman). Bruce Willis pairs up with the comedic Chris Tucker who plays a wild, comedic radio host who dresses mostly in drag but is a ladies' man. A lot of good scenes and comic writing. Corbin's mother seems to be constantly annoying him and nagging him. The scene in the space cruise in which an alien soprano diva entertains the audiences in the theatre is also superb. The diva sings the aria of the Mad Scene in Donizetti's Lucia Di Lammermoor and later begins to sing a pop/techno alien sort of remix. She was dubbed by the soprano Inva Mulla. This movie is becoming a sort of campy classic of science fiction from the 90's, and is not as serious-minded as Independence Day. But it's enjoyable cinema. On DVD, and particularily on this Superbit Collection, the sound is incredibly restored and the bonus features are worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing Extras, July 17 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Sadly, the extras on the Blu-Ray are missing compared to the Ultimate Edition DVD. I bought both but I prefer the DVD. The picture quality is almost the same on both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent production quality, May 23 2013
By 
Sunshine gal (smithers, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Looks and sounds spectacular in Blu-ray. Great production quality, only wish they had extras or blooper reel, because it must of been a fun movie to make
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the Superbit version!, Jan. 20 2003
By 
Joe Vanderbilt (Irving, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First, I owned the original non-Superbit version and watched it on my 35" non-HDTV. I thought it was an excellent film with a little bit of something in there for everyone: action, adventure, romance, comedy. To this day, even after having watched it at least 50 times, the roach scene still makes me laugh.
The acting was excellent, too. Every one of the actors played their parts with character. Nobody overacted or got melodramatic, something I absolutely hate. They all stood out, they all made you feel something different, but they didn't overdo it. Gary Oldman, Ian Holm (and his apprentice), Milla Jovovich, they were all excellent. Bruce Willis, surprisingly, didn't overplay his tough-guy act, no doubt because Luc Besson held him on a leash the entire time. I see alot of complaints about Chris Rock's part, but I just took his bit for what it was: a talk show / variety host that has evolved over 300+ years to doing whatever is necessary to get ratings, which in this case means acting like a complete fool.
Later, I came to own a 73" HDTV, still using the non-Superbit version. My main gripe, not with this DVD but with my DVD collection in general - on a TV that size and with that detail, is that the mpeg compression artifacts suddenly start to become very obvious. They're fairly invisible on the 35" but are distractingly obvious now. The edges of colors tend to "bleed" into one another sometimes, too.
Finally, I watch the the Superbit version of Fifth Element. No more mpeg artifacts. Everything about this DVD looks better. I was expecting an improvement, but nothing like this. The whisps of steam coming from the ship in the opening scene, the off-in-the-distance detail of the chase scene in the city with the sparks coming off of Korben's taxi, the detail of the explosions on the cruise ship, etc etc etc. No mpeg artifacts at all there, artifacts that were clearly visible on the non-Superbit version.
There are, of course, no extras, but with a picture like this I don't care. I only wish every DVD could look this good. Sadly, it will probably be some time before they do since a) the detail of a Superbit version might be harder to see on a smaller TV which leads to b) instead a more detailed picture, most people want extras instead, so that's what the studios give them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUITE A TRIP, July 19 2004
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fifth Element (DVD)
It's entirely possible that Luc Besson was on some kind of drugs when he scripted this way-out, wacky, but extremely entertaining scifi thriller. His vision of the future is both impeccably original and wildly humorous. Cars spinning through space; police cars that still squeal tires when there's nothing to squeal them on! Like a wild video game, the vision of this future is great.
Bruce Willis is fine as Corbin Dallas; he evinces his usual cool macho, with that underlying bit of sensitivity. Milla Jovovich, red hair and all, does a good job in conveying the enthusiasm, innocence and naivete of the newly born. Notice the sadness in her eyes as she views the word "War"; her reactions are poignant. Gary Oldman as Zorg is all out ham and he pulls it off, showing what a versatile actor he is. The usually stoic Ian Holm has never been livelier than in his role as Father Cornelius. He looks like he's having the time of his life and after all the stuffy, laconic roles he's played, he cuts loose and is wonderful. And Chris Tucker---what a character. Tucker is manic, frantic and annoying---but he is also very very funny. I haven't laughed like that in a long time. Note too the capable performances of Tiny Lister (usually a mindless body bag) and Brion James (also a lot looser than in his usually villainous roles).
THE FIFTH ELEMENT is a strange movie indeed, but I found it to be one of the most unusual scifi films in some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is one of my favourites but I only had it on VHS. This is a real treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Très satisfaisant !, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Je trouve que c'est un très bon prix. L'expédition rapide a été fait selon les délais prévus. Le produit est excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fifth Element [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) [Import]
Fifth Element [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) [Import] by Luc Besson (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 29.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews