Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lullay, Lullay ... Christmas Is Truly Here
This album has truly captured the essence of what this time of year is all about and Annie has done it in style. The production, the vocals,the choirs and the choice of songs has gone far beyond what I was expecting and I am delighted with the result.

When I heard back in August that Annie was planning to record an album full of Christmas Carols I was...
Published on Dec 13 2010 by Drew Mar

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with Annie
I was never much of a fan the Eurythmics, but there were a few numbers I liked, especially their Walking in a Winter Wonderland. I thought I'd hear more music like that on Annie's Christmas cd, but was disappointed with what I heard. Her voice is harsh and too exposed at a volume that makes me cringe. I'm sure there must be some interesting instrumental accompaniment...
Published 22 months ago by Margotd1


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lullay, Lullay ... Christmas Is Truly Here, Dec 13 2010
By 
Drew Mar (Whitstable, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Christmas Cornucopia (Audio CD)
This album has truly captured the essence of what this time of year is all about and Annie has done it in style. The production, the vocals,the choirs and the choice of songs has gone far beyond what I was expecting and I am delighted with the result.

When I heard back in August that Annie was planning to record an album full of Christmas Carols I was admittedly very skeptical. After all there are so many artists out there who do this each year ...go and record an album of festive songs except they come away with an end product full of lacklustre results.

Like 'Medusa' from 1995 this albums sounds as is if Annie had written these tradtional songs herself. How she has the ability to make the hairs on your neck stand up just listening to these songs is sensational. 'Lullay, Lullay' is truly haunting and yet so beautiful. 'The First Noel' is majestic and yet timid starting off with just a piano and soprano backing vocals from Annie. This is then followed by the most beautiful encore of Annie and the choirs reciting 'Noel, Noel born is the King of Israel' until the song ends. Absolutely stunning.

'As Joseph Was A Walking' starts off in a rather unusual but yet cheeky manner which builds to the most majestic bridge forming another beautiful Cathedral like encore of Annie singing an almost operatic 'Hallelujah, Hallelujah' which just builds and builds with each line gaining more power and beauty, The ending of this song of Annie with the Choir is absolutely stunning. You just don't want this too end...sooooooo beautiful.

'Silent Night' is another gorgeous number filled with tenderness, beauty and seasonal passion. The song starts almost like a lullaby with Annie and the piano in the 1st verse rising to to a choir and full orchestra in the second verse.
Absolutely wonderful, Annie!

This album for me has been the most perfect Christmas album I have ever encountered and will treasure for many many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Annie's album is angelic and glorious, Dec 23 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Cornucopia (Audio CD)
I'm a longtime fan of Annie Lennox's work (including her Eurythmics songs). I still felt leery of her creating a Christmas album, as it's certainly a project which can go right off the tracks (pun intended) and end up making listeners cringe. No fear this time; A Christmas Cornucopia is an unqualified success. The results are extraordinary. Annie has always been a humanitarian as well as a sort of 'secularist' if one must label her outlook -- and indeed, in the liner notes she makes clear her view of religion. The listener knows, going in, that the production of these songs is not going to be filled with smarmy self-righteousness or self-congratulatory feel-good sentiment. Yet what Annie Lennox delivers should delight the believers as well as the secular-minded. She takes very traditional and long-beloved Christmas songs and, with her unique and crystalline vocals (never shrill and never faltering) she imbues each song with respectful emotion. It's not only her voice, it's the production itself which is remarkable. She has truly made these gems distinct and yet fully recognizable, and can certainly fill the 'nostalgia stockings' up to the brim for those who want to hear some element of the familiar. With high standards evident, she has creatively and subversively given the "old chestnuts" a clearly universal appeal combined with a totally modern and frankly humanist glow. It's subversive in its lack of bland, easy-listening schmaltz and false sentimentality. And it's powerful and alluring in its revival of older Christmas hymns, carols and melodies: I personally don't know "all" the words, yet they seem intact, and I really like that the album includes the lyrics printed in the accompanying 'booklet' -- marvelously stunning, full of brilliant bits of phrasing, emphasis, melodic delicacies and subtleties. She delivers us a Christmas feast which is both gorgeous to look at (the packaging contains beautiful lino-block elements, artwork and lettering) and a sumptuous enjoyment of many musical flavours. This isn't just an exceptional Christmas album, it's one of Annie Lennox's classic and classy endeavours. I know I will be listening to it each Christmas from now on, and giving it as a holiday gift as well. Excellence like this is too rare, with Christmas songs in particular, to not rave about in a review like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most memorable Christmas album in years, Dec 21 2010
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Christmas Cornucopia (Audio CD)
In a world full of Christmas albums that sound pretty much the same, Annie Lennox has given us a singular recording indeed, a nice mix of well-known and less familiar Christmas songs delivered with her unique vocal stylings and musical arrangements. It is difficult to explain the vocals on this album -powerful, focused, intense, and very well enunciated all come to mind. This is one of those occasions when I wish I had purchased the CD rather than download the album online. I understand that Lennox played a variety of instruments herself, but I have no way of knowing those details. Make no mistake about it, though - Annie Lennox puts her own personal stamp on even the most familiar of songs, making the old new again with bold new arrangements, yet somehow staying true to tradition at the same time. As a traditionalist myself, I usually have no use for anyone mucking around with the sounds of classic hymns and traditional Christmas carols, but I love what Lennox has done here. It's uncannily pleasing.

If you want to sing along to some Christmas favorites, this isn't your album. I wouldn't really recommend A Christmas Cornucopia for parties or small gatherings, either. This seems to me to be a Christmas album designed for quiet contemplation, with the hauntingly beautiful music almost demanding the listener's constant attention and concentration. Many will love it, some will hate it, but none dare call it conventional or unassuming. There is a mournful and reverent quality to every song. I personally find inspiration in even the darkest of tracks, such as God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen and Lullay Lullay (Coventry Carol), but there is regal majesty in Angels From the Realms of Glory, quiet beauty in Silent Night, and wonder of various kinds to be experienced throughout the entire album. The overall theme is one of hope and peace, a message which is epitomized in the final track, Universal Child, which Lennox wrote herself. A Christmas Cornucopia is simply an amazing Christmas album like no other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for those who love the Hallmark version of Christmas, Dec 16 2010
By 
J. G. Figueredo "JGF" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Christmas Cornucopia (Audio CD)
This is a collection of Christmas songs for those who are not really into Christmas, and not for those who like the Hallmark saccharine-loaded version of Christmas. The selection of carols is beautiful, and being arranged by Annie Lennox nobody can expect the worn out schmaltzy renditions we are used to. Instead, Ms. Lennox infuse the songs with a contemporary flavor, and sprinkle them with ethnic notes, provided by the African children choir. Her voice has changed a little, and now it sounds more crystalline than before. I love the medieval sound on "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen"...it's a powerful version, she uses the AutoTune as a especial effect to highlight the lines in which the angel sings (she hasn't forgot her Eurythmics days), which has not been understood by some music reviewers. The only track I do not really care for is "Universal Child"..a bit to sappy for me. As a whole, this is a beautiful collection of Christmas carols, performed and arranged by one the most talented female pop singers since the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just your average Christmas album, Dec 14 2010
By 
Louis (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Cornucopia (Audio CD)
Over the course of her lengthy career, both as half of the legendary duo Eurythmics and as a solo act, Annie Lennox has established herself as a creative artist. Her voice is distinctive and instantly recognizable, her songwriting skills are outstanding, and she always brings originality and style into the production and arrangements of her music. Thus it should come as no surprise that "A Christmas Cornucopia", her very first seasonal album, is a cut above the rest.

This is a collection of traditional Christmas carols, some of them well-known ("Angels we have heard on high", "God rest ye merry gentlemen", "The first Noel", "Silent night"), and a few of them not as much ("As Joseph was a walking", "Lullay, Lullay"). Most of them are spiritually inclined and remind that Christmas is NOT, contrarily to popular belief, just a commercial event. The arrangements are traditional and centered on the piano and Annie's ever-expressing voice; however, flutes, tribal percussion, accordion and African choir are sprinkled here and there, keeping the album from sounding like yet another Christmas album. As a result, "God rest ye merry gentlemen", "As Joseph was a walking" and "Il est ne le divin enfant" (which Annie performs in fully fluent French) are clear highlights on an album that features no filler. As a matter of fact, you'd need a heart of stone not to be moved by the majestic choir featured in the conclusion of "As Joseph was a walking", certainly worth the price of the album itself. Other highlights include the beautifully spare "In the bleak midwinter", the joyful "The holly and the ivy" and Annie's own "Universal child", a very moving self-penned song that she initially performed earlier this year as part of the "Idol gives back" charity event.

Obviously, this album might take a little time to grow on the listener. There are no obvious crowd pleasers such as "Let it snow", "Jingle bell rock", "White Christmas" or "Have yourself a merry little Christmas" here, and it might be too solemn for some people's tastes. However, the distinctive nature of this album is also what makes it so endearing. By selecting songs that reflect upon the spiritual nature of Christmas, and by performing them in such a gorgeous manner, Annie Lennox has come up with one of the best Christmas albums in a long time. Both the casual fans and the diehard fans will enjoy this extremely appealing album, and will likely listen to it for Christmases to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word...Wow!, Dec 4 2010
This review is from: A Christmas Cornucopia (Audio CD)
Annie has taken quite a fresh approach to these classic Christmas carols. All you need to do is read a few reviews to see that overall this is well received and will be back for many years to come.

God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen is so innovative. A strong and powerful single! The CD is filled with both darkness and light. See Amid the Winter's Snow, In the Bleak Midwinter and Lullay Lullay add a chillier winter feel to the album. Joseph was a Walking and the Holly and the Ivy are full of Christmas joy. The arrangements for O Little Town of Bethlehem and the First Noel are quite beautiful.

If your looking for the standard canned Christmas carols, don't look here. If you want a CD that takes a fresh approach to old classics give this a whirl. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with Annie, Dec 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Cornucopia (Audio CD)
I was never much of a fan the Eurythmics, but there were a few numbers I liked, especially their Walking in a Winter Wonderland. I thought I'd hear more music like that on Annie's Christmas cd, but was disappointed with what I heard. Her voice is harsh and too exposed at a volume that makes me cringe. I'm sure there must be some interesting instrumental accompaniment going on, but I was too put off by her voice to listen to a single cut from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Annie Lennox - Cornucopia, Jan. 20 2012
This review is from: A Christmas Cornucopia (Audio CD)
Annie Lennox has a voice that is incomparable. Since her emergence with Eurythmics nearly four decades ago, her voice has enchanted everyone from rock fans to pop fans to 'easy listening' fans. Now she knocks us all out with her version of our favourite Christmas songs. Cornucopia is a must-have for all Annie Lennox fans as well as all Christmas fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sort of Shrill, Dec 6 2010
By 
Suzanne R. Barner (Victoria, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Christmas Cornucopia (Audio CD)
We think Annie Lennox is great but her voice was too strident for us on most of the carols she chose for this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, Dec 4 2010
By 
Mom Bear (B.C., Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Christmas Cornucopia (Audio CD)
Annie Lennox is one of my favorite artists. Sadly, this CD does not live up to her previous work. Poor Annie sounds like she's lost her vocal range - she spends most of the time singing in the basement. And the musical arrangements sound very strange and overworked. I really disliked this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Christmas Cornucopia
A Christmas Cornucopia by Annie Lennox (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews