summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars21
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$18.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 28, 2016
Best Christmas album ever. Very moody but lovely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2016
Annie Lennox is always great. This CD came very quickly and in perfect condition, THX:)))
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
Great album ... becoming a Christmas classic for me and I was not particularly an Annie Lennox fan before buying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
I love Annie Lennox, but do not like this at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
I was never much of a fan the Eurythmics, but there were a few numbers I liked, especially their Walking in a Winter Wonderland. I thought I'd hear more music like that on Annie's Christmas cd, but was disappointed with what I heard. Her voice is harsh and too exposed at a volume that makes me cringe. I'm sure there must be some interesting instrumental accompaniment going on, but I was too put off by her voice to listen to a single cut from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2012
Annie Lennox has a voice that is incomparable. Since her emergence with Eurythmics nearly four decades ago, her voice has enchanted everyone from rock fans to pop fans to 'easy listening' fans. Now she knocks us all out with her version of our favourite Christmas songs. Cornucopia is a must-have for all Annie Lennox fans as well as all Christmas fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2011
Had just about enough of the traditional Christmas carols. Relief is just a CD away. Annie Lennox singing theses Christmas chestnuts brings a whole new sound to them. You won't feel like slashing your wrist after listening to her album; you may even sing along when you realize the song she is singing. A wonderful album for any time of the year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2011
Excellent interpretation of old Xmas songs but with stronger music ,better beat and Annies voice. Her interpreaation of a song in French ( Il est nèe...)is wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2010
I'm a longtime fan of Annie Lennox's work (including her Eurythmics songs). I still felt leery of her creating a Christmas album, as it's certainly a project which can go right off the tracks (pun intended) and end up making listeners cringe. No fear this time; A Christmas Cornucopia is an unqualified success. The results are extraordinary. Annie has always been a humanitarian as well as a sort of 'secularist' if one must label her outlook -- and indeed, in the liner notes she makes clear her view of religion. The listener knows, going in, that the production of these songs is not going to be filled with smarmy self-righteousness or self-congratulatory feel-good sentiment. Yet what Annie Lennox delivers should delight the believers as well as the secular-minded. She takes very traditional and long-beloved Christmas songs and, with her unique and crystalline vocals (never shrill and never faltering) she imbues each song with respectful emotion. It's not only her voice, it's the production itself which is remarkable. She has truly made these gems distinct and yet fully recognizable, and can certainly fill the 'nostalgia stockings' up to the brim for those who want to hear some element of the familiar. With high standards evident, she has creatively and subversively given the "old chestnuts" a clearly universal appeal combined with a totally modern and frankly humanist glow. It's subversive in its lack of bland, easy-listening schmaltz and false sentimentality. And it's powerful and alluring in its revival of older Christmas hymns, carols and melodies: I personally don't know "all" the words, yet they seem intact, and I really like that the album includes the lyrics printed in the accompanying 'booklet' -- marvelously stunning, full of brilliant bits of phrasing, emphasis, melodic delicacies and subtleties. She delivers us a Christmas feast which is both gorgeous to look at (the packaging contains beautiful lino-block elements, artwork and lettering) and a sumptuous enjoyment of many musical flavours. This isn't just an exceptional Christmas album, it's one of Annie Lennox's classic and classy endeavours. I know I will be listening to it each Christmas from now on, and giving it as a holiday gift as well. Excellence like this is too rare, with Christmas songs in particular, to not rave about in a review like this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items