summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars26
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$12.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 22, 2004
i really do like Al Pacino, and this film has great satire on our country's leagal system, but i found the movie to be rather slow. the script almost seemed incohesive at times: at one moment, he is telling a woman of his frustration with the legal system, then he is taking a dangerous helicopter ride with a judge and then he is defending a drag queen who had last been seen at the very beginning of the movie. i also enjoy watching Jack Warden act, but his character in this movie did not seem real or natural at all.
the DVD doesn't have too many whistles or bells, but there is a director commentary, so that scores some points.
i did not enjoy this movie, but if you are a diehard Pacino fanatic and want to see everything he has done, go ahead and watch it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2004
The movie over all was good. Nothing I would want to see again. But Al Pacino's part is amazing. His character is strong and crazy. (Something that is perfect for Pacino.) I would recamend this movie, just for Al pacino's preformance. NOt really for the story line.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2006
This is a fun movie to watch - especially if you like Al Pacino. I loved it as a kid. It's a bit dated now, but that actually adds to the experience.

I was just a bit disappointed, however, because of the fact that it's a "full screen" not a "wide screen" DVD. This is a lawyer drama so the fact that it's not full screen is really not the end of the world. In this day and age, though, I wonder why "they" (whoever they are) are still releasing wide screen format movies on DVD. If I wanted full screen, I'd have saved a bundle and bought the VHS.

In any case, the movie itself is well worth watching. The fact that it is on a DVD and is in full screen format is only mildly disappointing. Fortunately I got bought this DVD at the supermarket for about $[...] or something.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2000
Al Pacino's eight minute grandstand that concludes And Jusice For All is one of the actor's most emotional and powerful performances ever captured on film. Pacino's tirade against a corrupt judicial system filled with inside deals is a representative statement for the underpriviledged and middle class who often do not have the financial resources or the political connections to achieve false innocence. When watching Pacino's oratory expose, I felt energized, empowered, and exalted that the underside of our legal system was revealed. It did not matter if the film's technical accuracy to proper courtroom and legal protocol was not strictly adhered to. The film's societal message of a dual system of justice, one for the rich and one for the poor, over-rides any cinimatic deficiencies in portraying accurate court procedings. The film focuses not on what transpires before clients,lawyers,judges, and the jury in an overt courtroom, but rather what occurs behind closed doors. Pacino's frustation, anger, and, salvation burn through his closing courtroom salvo. His emotions are sensitized when tears emerge during his fiery outburst. Pacino has never been better. Only Pacino's similar climatic defense of Matt Damon in Scent of A Women matches the intensity of this performance. The film's camera work, editing, script, and direction may not be cinematic wonders. But the film's message and Pacino's emotional performance overwhelm the viewer. The film's ending shows that justice (Hollywood's concept anyway) is indiscriminate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2000
Al Pacino in a Acadmey Award nominated performence is an idealistic lawyer who is caught up in the daily coruption of the justice system while defending a judge accused of [harasment]. This film spreads out alot during it's course from being a satire to sentimentality giving Pacino alot of emotion to lash out especally during the trial scene when he goes bersek and instead of defending his client who he knows is guilty ends up during the reverse and proscute him. With Pacino screaming out the words to the judge "Your out of order". Pacino's exhublent performence as the overworked stressed out lawyer is the main reason to see this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2000
This film is trying to make a statement about the American Judicial system. As far as political satires goes it is weak. Al Pacino plays a lawyer who loves being a lawyer until he witnesses a series of injustices that makes him question the law and the ethics of it. Then he is asked to defend a man he knows is guilty and he struggles with what to do. Yawn, Yawn, Yawn. This movie starts out interesting but fizzles. Pacino gives his usual inspired performance(he received an Oscar nomination), but this time in an uninspired film. He is reduced to being a witness of a bad film he cannot save.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2000
This movie is an excellent satire on the American Judical system. And even though many things that happen in the movie, may not happen exactly that way in real life. Such as, some of the legal dilemma's and the overlaping coinsidences, however in real life there are outlandish legal dilemma's. In this, the movie was right on target. Also the fact that the film uses lighthearted humor in the midst of very serious issues. Which is precisely why this film is as great as it is. And of course as always Al Pacino was outstanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2004
Ever since watching the Godfather films I've been a huge Al Pacino fan. His amazing over-the-top performance in the courtroom scene at the end is what makes this unsympathetic look at our criminal justice system so memorable. However, I agree with other reviewers that the plot is slow at times & the movie wavers uncomfortably between comedy & drama. The humor is at times a little too forced & the disco music doesn't help. One of the things I really enjoyed was seeing the great Lee Strasberg play Pacino's grandfather. Remember Godfather Part 2 when Pacino had Strasberg "taken out"? I only wish they could've made more films together. The great cast also includes John Forsythe (who plays a TOTALLY unlikable villian), & Jack Warden, whose suicidal antics get annoying after a while. Of course, it's Pacino that makes this movie so entertaining & so watchable 25 years later. While it's no masterpiece I still highly recommend it to Al Pacino fans (& especially lawyers!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2003
A farce? A comedy? No! Heck no?! I thought this was a great movie and I am connected to the legal world, and in the worst way too! Okay, I'm going to have to watch this one again, it's been a while, but I've always loved it and have no recollection of thinking it was dumb or "out there". The over-worked and underpaid criminal defense attorney always gets me. Yup, that is reality. Clients fall through the cracks, judges can be control freaks with their own agendas, who often times have horrible "I am God" issues, under those respectable looking robes. Plus I love the eighties feel (wow, or should I make that seventies?) of the movie. I liked the attorney going nuts, and the Chinese food date, and the men's bathroom laughing. I'm not a very big Al Pacino fan, I like this and Author! Author!, I guess I have terrible taste! I do think this perhaps simplistic and romantic and oft times over-dramatic view of the legal system is a good watch for a Saturday afternoon, when the weather's kinda rotten or you're still recovering from Friday's docket of indigent and yet still demanding clients, and a bit too much happy at happy hour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2002
Norman Jewison's 1979 ...AND JUSTICE FOR ALL is a satirical drama that looks at our judicial system. Lawyer Arthur Kirkland (Al Pacino)is put under considerable pressure to defend a well liked judge (John Forsythe), against charges of beating and raping a young girl. The only problem is that Arthur knows he's guilty and doesn't want to defend him. The final courtroom scene in the film will leave you with quite an impression. There is also a wonderful performance from the legendary Lee Strasberg as Arthur's Grandfather. Character actor Jack Warden plays an eccentric judge, who thinks suicide is the only answer. The script is filled with a lot of good moments. It was written by Valerie Curtain and future RAINMAN director, Barry Levinson. Jewison gets Oscar an nominated performance from Pacino that is tops and is among his most notable.
The DVD has an o.k. audio commentary from the director and a few trailers as extras. This film is a must have for fans of Pacino. This is not your typical courtroom movie and will leave you with lots to think about. Viewers have the choice to see the film in either the widescreen or pan and scan formats. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse