Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make 'em this good anymore!
A brilliant and engrossing movie which closely follows Peter Benchley's novel on treasure hunt in the carribean. Spectacular views and under-water footage, all accented by one of John Barry's finest musical scores which lends mystery and expectation to various scenes and sustains an atmosphere of suspense throughout the movie. Top performances by Robert Shaw and Louis...
Published on July 26 2002 by Hussam A. L. Olama

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photography, and that's about it
The Deep grabs your attention in the first ten minutes, which shows Jacqueline Bisset and Nick Nolte scuba diving, and Bisset's wearing a.....well, you probably already know. The underwater photography throughout this movie is gorgeous, but the action that happens on land, I felt, was kind of fake and somewhat improbable. The story is interesting, though, but it could've...
Published on May 16 2002 by zircona1


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make 'em this good anymore!, July 26 2002
By 
Hussam A. L. Olama (cairo, Egypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A brilliant and engrossing movie which closely follows Peter Benchley's novel on treasure hunt in the carribean. Spectacular views and under-water footage, all accented by one of John Barry's finest musical scores which lends mystery and expectation to various scenes and sustains an atmosphere of suspense throughout the movie. Top performances by Robert Shaw and Louis Gosset. Even Nick Nolte and Jaqueline Bisset were at their best, the latter sporting a semi-transparent underwater mask so that you're positive no stuntwoman was employed for the under water scenes. Elli Walsh is at his usual sleezy best. Great movie and great music. See it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, Dec 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deep [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
I have loved this movie for years, in fact it inspired me to move to the British Virgin Islands where a lot of the under water scenes were filmed on the RMS Rhone. The new Blue Ray format is beautiful and the colours and cinematography are really evident now, versus the old VHS version I had.

Great story and acting...a must see in my opinion!

Paul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Movie, Jan. 30 2003
By 
Zeki Atamer (Istanbul , Turkey) - See all my reviews
A pair of young vacationers (Romer Treece as Robert Shaw & Gail Berke As Jacqueline Bisset) are involved in a dangerous conflict with treasure hunters when they discover a way into a deadly Caribbean wreck ...
Very good underwater scenes if you think 70's ...
A must for Horror , Mystery , Adventure , Thriller lovers ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photography, and that's about it, May 16 2002
By 
"zircona1" (Columbia, MO United States) - See all my reviews
The Deep grabs your attention in the first ten minutes, which shows Jacqueline Bisset and Nick Nolte scuba diving, and Bisset's wearing a.....well, you probably already know. The underwater photography throughout this movie is gorgeous, but the action that happens on land, I felt, was kind of fake and somewhat improbable. The story is interesting, though, but it could've been told in the film better. The book by Peter Benchley is good, though. The film's worth watching for the underwater photography.....and the first 10 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The true sequal to JAWS., April 20 2002
Forget Jaws II, III, or IV. This film by Peter Bates was about as close to a good sequal to Jaws as they could get. Also based on a book by Peter Benchley, with Robert Shaw pretty much carrying the whole movie with his performance, great underwater photography, and enough of a story to keep a person watching to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This DVD is missing some footage, Feb. 7 2002
By 
rockland6674 (Massachusetts, USA) - See all my reviews
There is a scene in this film wherein Robert Shaw's character, Romer Treece, discovers the body of a friend strung up in a shed, gently lowers it to the floor, and covers the body with his coat. Treece, overcome with grief, then drops to his knees and hugs his friend's lifeless body. On this DVD, the scene ends after Treece covers the body with his coat. The footage that is supposed to follow is missing from both the widescreen and full screen presentations on this disc, so viewers don't get to see a very powerful and emotional moment. Also, this DVD is a no-frills release, with just the widescreen version on one side and the full screen version on the other--no trailers, nothing. Perhaps at some point there might be a special edition or director's cut which will restore the missing footage. I can't recommend this title in its current DVD incarnation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well Shot, March 24 2001
By 
Roy Levins (san antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep, the (VHS Tape)
This movie is well shot its photography is outstanding. Bisset is gorgeous, in this movie watch it even for her. Quint from JAWS shows up but his performance not as good as in JAWS. Nick Nolte is real 70's. The plot though is O.K. Its not the greatest movie I think youll ever see but enough to keep you awake. Even a guy from JAWS 3 shows up in this flick I think his name is Louis Gosset Junior I dont know this guys name but he is in it. Alot of stars in it but an O.K movie about some treasure underwater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous ocean scenery, and Bisset in a wet shirt to boot!, June 26 2000
By 
John Smith (Parts Unknown) - See all my reviews
The Deep is a very interesting little yarn about deep sea treasure that Peter Benchley released hot off the success of "Jaws" So again we get a sea monster (moray eel) and a clean shaven, back from the dead Captain Quint, as Robert Shaw basically plays that character again with as much gusto as he did in Jaws. In the place of Dreyfuss and Scheider, we get a young looking Nolte, and an incredibly sexy Jacqueline Bisset...wet t-shirt notwithstanding, "Gail" just oozes sexuality/sensuality just standing around. Powerful supporting cast with crusty Eli Wallach, and an evil Louis Gosset Jr. I believe this film would have been better off with a hard "R" rating, as Bisset parades around showing off her best assets the entire film anyhow! There was also a sexy scene with her and Nolte that could have been made more elaborate, and would have only added to the film...but overall, it was very enjoyable to see Robert Shaw chew up the scenery one last time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most suspenseful adventures ever, June 2 2000
This review is from: Deep, the (VHS Tape)
"The Deep" was made a few years before I was born, but I had always heard it was a good movie. I finally watched it and I liked it....a lot. From what I heard, I was just expecting it to be full of great underwater photography, but it has an amazing plot tagged alongside it. Nick Nolte and Jacqueline Bissett are a couple that are on vacation in Bermuda. They go deep sea diving one day and find a small bottle of morphine from a ship that sank in the 1800's. They go to a man who's a known treasure hunter (Robert Shaw) and he tells them what they found. But they are also pestered by Louis Gossett, who is a serious collector that will do anything to get his hands on one of those tiny bottles of morphine. Robert Shaw teams up with Nolte and Bisset after they decide there might be more bottles of the treasured substance and possibly some treasure deep in the sunken ship. All the while, they must stay away from Gosset and his fearsome gang.
There are also more exciting sequences such as an encounter with a deadly eel and of course, the wet t-shirt swim at the beginning.
"The Deep" is one of the most exciting and suspenseful adventure movies ever made. Yes, it does have great underwater scenery (mostly at the beginning) and the background music goes perfect with the movie. Although the wet t-shirt by Jacqueline Bisset might be what's best known about the movie, this is actually a great movie. It's one of my favorites.
As for the DVD, it's not big at all on extras. You do get to select from subtitles in several different languages, there's a scene selection, and best of all, both the widescreen and full screen versions are included in this DVD's one disc. Unfortunately, the sound quality isn't very good. While your current volume setting might be too loud or just right on one of your DVDs, it will probably be too low for "The Deep". The picture quality is good enough though. If you're a fan of the movie, "The Deep", I do recommend adding the DVD to your growing collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS MOVIE!, June 18 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep, the (VHS Tape)
The Deep was one of the first movies i ever saw at the cinema, and i loved every minute of it, and twenty years later i still watch it and get the same enjoyment i did all those years ago. The film has everything in it you could want if you love or even just like the sea. The under water scenes, the romance between the two leading characters and the whole escapism of this movie is wonderful. The film rolls along at a very good pace and its just too easy to sit back and really believe your there, yes REALLY! I was David Sanders the lead character in the movie, and Jacaline Bisset still takes my breath away, pwrooooooor. Do they still make movies like this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep [Blu-ray] [Import]
Deep [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 20.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews