Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "It's our time at the edge."
Seven recent college graduates begin the transition to adult life in Washington, D.C. They face job challenges and the ups and downs of romance while remaining best friends and partying at St. Elmo's Bar.

This 1985 movie starred many members of the infamous "Brat Pack" such as Emilio Estevez, Judd Nelson, Rob Lowe, and Demi Moore. They are all well-cast as...
Published on May 23 2009 by Kona

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars From Joel Schumacher, America's worst film director...
I beg all of you to listen to the directors audio commentary. It's the funniest (unintentionally of course) thing you're ever likely to hear.
The man is an utter pea brain.
Published on July 27 2003 by Stephen Jenkins


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "It's our time at the edge.", May 23 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
Seven recent college graduates begin the transition to adult life in Washington, D.C. They face job challenges and the ups and downs of romance while remaining best friends and partying at St. Elmo's Bar.

This 1985 movie starred many members of the infamous "Brat Pack" such as Emilio Estevez, Judd Nelson, Rob Lowe, and Demi Moore. They are all well-cast as preppies struggling with independence, careening wildly in search of love and stable careers. Andrew McCarthy, Ally Sheedy, and Mare Winningham also give pleasing performances. Each one has a distinct personality and each has their turn in the spotlight as the story rotates quickly between them.

While the movie was once considered very chic and hip, it's now relatively sanitized compared to the debauchery so common on the screen today. It's also common now to see similar best-friends-forever plotlines, but this was the granddaddy of them all and it's still pretty good. A nice story, sometimes a bit saccharine, but entertaining and it's fun to see so many familiar faces when they were very young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but in reality..., July 6 2004
By 
Emmeaki "Emmeaki" (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love this movie for nostalgic reasons, I saw it back in '87 when I was twelve, but now as an adult, I have to give it a reality check.
How is it that these 22 year olds who were fresh out of college had nicer apartments than most of us ever will? It was a bit much, even in the age of excess. I also can't believe that a woman as virginal and innocent as Wendy would be caught dead with Bad Boy Billy and the other hipsters (and vice versa). And why was Dale Biberman so calm when Kirby was practically stalking her? Wait--maybe that term hadn't been invented yet, but you get the picture. And I can't get over Leslie walking arm in arm with Kevin and Alec at the end of the movie, as if this love triangle never existed (not to mention Alec's infidelities).
Other than those things, the movie is good for nostalgic value. I still feel like a seventh grader as I drool over Andrew McCarthy everytime I see this movie. You won't discover the meaning of life from this movie, but you will be entertained for an hour and a half, or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brat Pack, here we come, July 12 2004
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Real World of cinema I call this. Definitely influential to MTV starting that series. Seven best friends recently graduate from Georgetown Univ. Trying to find their way in life for the future. They all hang out at St. Elmos bar in downtown Washington DC. The characters are somewhat stereotyped the conservative, the artsy journalist, the rebel badboy, the party girl, the niave virgin etc... But that's true to life in a way we all can be put into some category sorry to say. They all have their own set of problems to deal with but end up helping each other out in their own way. Defining 80's coming of age film about relationships & hardships of facing an uncertain future after college. Entertaining script written by Joel Schumacher & an ensemble cast showcasing talent to come. One of my favorite brat pack films. Essential to anyone who grew up in 80's cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: St Elmo's Fire [Import] (DVD)
Great video, quick delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not one likeable character!, July 7 2004
By 
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
All right, let's take 'em one by one:
Emilio Estevez as Kirby: Obsessed with and stalking an older woman, who finally is forced to sic her fiance on his pathetic punk a**.
Judd Nelson as Alec: Pathologically cheats on his live-in girlfriend, then pressures her to marry him because he thinks marriage is the magic pill that will make him stop cheating. When she refuses, he beats her up.
Rob Lowe as Billy: Tortures us with his gratuitous sax-playing.
Andrew McCarthy as Kevin: Thinks that wearing sunglasses at night and chain-smoking makes him a cool existentialist instead of a dateless poseur. Consumed by lustful thoughts about his best friend's girlfriend.
Ally Sheedy as Leslie: Living with Judd Nelson. Need I say more?
Mare Winningham as Wendy: Passive doormat who is shocked and horrified to find, upon becoming a social worker, that not all welfare recipients are noble, misunderstood living saints.
Demi Moore as Jules: Parties with Arabs, maxes out her credit cards and barricades herself in her fabulous-yet-bare (the furniture's been repossessed) loft apartment, finally attempting suicide by opening all the windows and letting her floor-length curtains blow oh-so-artfully about in the cold winter wind as she rocks back and forth on the floor.
Now tell me...are these people you want to spend 110 minutes of your life with?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Brat Packs., May 31 2004
By 
Ryne Williams (Cleveland, TN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is definately the best of the brat pack films. It has more sophistication and dramatic acting. You dig deeper into the characters, and you feel for them more. This has some good acting in it. Rob Lowe, Demi Moore, Mare Winningham, Andrew Macarthy, Ally Sheedy, and Judd Nelson all do wonderful. The movie is great, see it. I highly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone knows someone like these guys and gals, April 23 2004
By 
K. Stuckey "kateling" (Port Huron, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
You know, a drama queen who always has to be the center of attention; the screwup who really means well; the niave do-gooder and the seemingly 'it' couple. Everyone can relate to the characters in this movie and that's what makes it fun. I call my boyfriend Billy because he reminds me of Rob Lowe's character - he's a perpetual frat boy and returns to his alma matter to party still (a year after graduation).

The everyday struggles and triumphs portrayed in St. Elmo's Fire are all too common. I feel especially bad for Kirby and his unrequited love for Dale Biberman, he becomes obsessed with her and really embarasses himself a couple of times. This movie seems a bit cartoonish and almost mockery of itself sometimes, but it is almost 20 years old, so...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No fire...It left me cold, Jan. 20 2004
By 
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (VHS Tape)
Just another movie about some young adults facing their usual problems with relationships, college life and future choices. Nothing new here, not too interesting or enjoyable either, so it did nothing for me. It's not very funny and at times turns into weak melodrama, revolving around tired, been-done-to-death cliches with lifeless characters. The director Joel Schumacher can do better than this (the somewhat innovative "Phone Booth" or the gripping "Tigerland") or downright bad stuff ("Batman and Robin"). This is just bland and forgettable, I guess I`ll pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brat Packers abound!, Nov. 21 2003
By 
momazon "cjd" (Astoria, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (VHS Tape)
Three of the five Brat Packers featured in "The Breakfast Club" as people who never talk to each other at school (Judd Nelson, Ally Sheedy and Emilio Estevez) star here as part of a group of 7 recent Georgetown graduates trying to make it in post-college life in Washington, DC.
Sheedy and Judd play Leslie and a young couple who have moved in together --he would like to marry her so that he will finally stop cheating on her. Andrew McCarthy is Judd's best friend who has a hard time finding a date and has to admit to himself he is in love with Sheedy. Estevez is a waiter/law student in love with an older doctor (Andie MacDoweel) whom they knew in college. Demi Moore is a party-girl full of self-made drama, a counterpoint to the doomstruck irresponsible father/husband played by a punked-out Rob Lowe. Mare Winningham is the virginal social services worker who can't figure out what she wants, although sh eknows it's not what her father tells her to want.
Set in DC, the film features a lot of incidents endemic to the city (Jules partying in a hotel with some Arab royalty.) The Georgetown streets where the bar St Elmo is still there, although the actual bar scenes were shot in a restaurant called The Round Table in another neighborhood. Funny how the same problems that affect these young people are what they call a "quarter-life crisis" today, as when Jules says "I never thought I would be so tired at 22."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still on Fire all this time later, Nov. 14 2003
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
I still recall the first time I saw this movie. I sat down in a friend's living room and two hours later, I was blinking in wonder. Spellbound by the cast of characters and their circumstances... all this time later, they are still THAT interesting. Why, oh, why did the BRAT PACK go south? They made some fine movies together and this is one of them.
Personal growth, growing up, letting go, and moving on. All central themes here. Excellent flick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

St Elmo's Fire [Blu-ray] [Import]
CDN$ 19.84
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews