Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD St. Elmo's Fire
I enjoyed wathing the show with my kids. They got to see one of the movies that had such an impact on me when as an adolecent. Everything promised was delivered..
Published 12 months ago by Randall Sugden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars From Joel Schumacher, America's worst film director...
I beg all of you to listen to the directors audio commentary. It's the funniest (unintentionally of course) thing you're ever likely to hear.
The man is an utter pea brain.
Published on July 27 2003 by Stephen Jenkins


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars DVD St. Elmo's Fire, April 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: St Elmo's Fire [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
I enjoyed wathing the show with my kids. They got to see one of the movies that had such an impact on me when as an adolecent. Everything promised was delivered..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but in reality..., July 6 2004
By 
Emmeaki "Emmeaki" (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love this movie for nostalgic reasons, I saw it back in '87 when I was twelve, but now as an adult, I have to give it a reality check.
How is it that these 22 year olds who were fresh out of college had nicer apartments than most of us ever will? It was a bit much, even in the age of excess. I also can't believe that a woman as virginal and innocent as Wendy would be caught dead with Bad Boy Billy and the other hipsters (and vice versa). And why was Dale Biberman so calm when Kirby was practically stalking her? Wait--maybe that term hadn't been invented yet, but you get the picture. And I can't get over Leslie walking arm in arm with Kevin and Alec at the end of the movie, as if this love triangle never existed (not to mention Alec's infidelities).
Other than those things, the movie is good for nostalgic value. I still feel like a seventh grader as I drool over Andrew McCarthy everytime I see this movie. You won't discover the meaning of life from this movie, but you will be entertained for an hour and a half, or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "It's our time at the edge.", May 23 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
Seven recent college graduates begin the transition to adult life in Washington, D.C. They face job challenges and the ups and downs of romance while remaining best friends and partying at St. Elmo's Bar.

This 1985 movie starred many members of the infamous "Brat Pack" such as Emilio Estevez, Judd Nelson, Rob Lowe, and Demi Moore. They are all well-cast as preppies struggling with independence, careening wildly in search of love and stable careers. Andrew McCarthy, Ally Sheedy, and Mare Winningham also give pleasing performances. Each one has a distinct personality and each has their turn in the spotlight as the story rotates quickly between them.

While the movie was once considered very chic and hip, it's now relatively sanitized compared to the debauchery so common on the screen today. It's also common now to see similar best-friends-forever plotlines, but this was the granddaddy of them all and it's still pretty good. A nice story, sometimes a bit saccharine, but entertaining and it's fun to see so many familiar faces when they were very young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Talk about your loads of crap!, July 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
Like most others who grew up on the Brat Pack flicks, I couldn't wait for the next one. I loved the earlier flicks that had not only great writing and warm stories to tell, but characters you cared about and situations that we could ALL relate to, at least to some point. Pick your flick - 16 Candles, Breakfast Club - they had at least SOMETHING everyone could relate to. Not "St. Elmos's Fire." Talk about taking a red hot cast of actors and doing absolutely nothing with them. This movie wasted so much talent and threw unlikeable, pretentious morons at us with some of the corniest dialogue I have ever seen. There is not ONE likeable character in this movie. Rob Lowe's character is a moron - not in the directionless sense the movie tries to protray him sympathetically, but in everything he does throughout the film, particularly his acting. I actually laughed at the night club scene when Lowe and his band perform. His "sizzlin" sax performance with his band is one of the most contrived, directionless displays of music in movie history - ranks right up there with the final play scene in Travolta's pathetic sequal to "Saturday Night Fever" ("Staying Alive"). Even the extras in that bar scene are terrible actors who not only have no clue how to dance or even react to that "song" (I guess it was a song), but the scene's climax where Lowe and his wife embrace passionately to the adoring masses is contrived, soap opera worthy material. DeMI Moore... don't get me started on her character. And Ally Sheedy (a fave of mine up till this flick), Judd Nelson, Andrew McCarthy and all the rest of these stooges' over act so much they make Carrot Top seem like Orson Welles or Marlon Brando. Even the bit role players are hammy and cliched - the artistic gay neighbor of Moore's, the wealthy Japanese business man who for some reason trusts just out of college puds with his expensive pad. And the final scene when the gang all seems to come to grips with the reality of their situations while sending Lowe off is as corny as one of the epilogues from the "Charlies Angels" TV show in the 70s. It's sad when recent movies about the 80s seem more authentic than one like this that was made IN the 80s. The only thing I credit this movie with is instilling in me an insatiable appetite for Andie Mc Dowell, who I absolutely love to this day and give most of her movies at least a peak (though a lot of those come up short as well). I suppose I should a acknowledge the hypnotic theme song from the Soundtrack, which I'll admit is appealing, if only for the real life memories of the 80s it brings back. This movie was a lame attempt at using the Brat Pack we grew up with and trying to parallel their lives with where their legions of the fans who grew up loving them were now with their own lives. And in that it fails miserably. This movie is self indulgent and over the top, full of obtrusive characters. One thing I will admit - this is one of those movies that is so bad, you can't help but watch in when it comes on. Again, I thinks it's the way the theme song hooks you. Frankly, this movie sucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brat Pack, here we come, July 12 2004
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Real World of cinema I call this. Definitely influential to MTV starting that series. Seven best friends recently graduate from Georgetown Univ. Trying to find their way in life for the future. They all hang out at St. Elmos bar in downtown Washington DC. The characters are somewhat stereotyped the conservative, the artsy journalist, the rebel badboy, the party girl, the niave virgin etc... But that's true to life in a way we all can be put into some category sorry to say. They all have their own set of problems to deal with but end up helping each other out in their own way. Defining 80's coming of age film about relationships & hardships of facing an uncertain future after college. Entertaining script written by Joel Schumacher & an ensemble cast showcasing talent to come. One of my favorite brat pack films. Essential to anyone who grew up in 80's cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring Brat Pack Feature, July 9 2004
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
1985's St. Elmo's Fire is the film that created the Brat Pack. The film is about yuppie angst instead of the usual teen angst depicted in like kind films of the era. The seven stars, Rob Lowe, Emilio Estevez, Ally Sheedy, Andrew McCarthy, Demi Moore, Mare Winningham and Judd Nelson are all appealing, but the film suffers from an overall malaise. All seven are friends from Georgetown University and they trying to cope with the problems facing them in the real world. There is a lot of unrequited love between several of the friends, drug use and emotional baggage. Mr. Lowe's character is supposed to the one character that, instead of getting to the wrong marriage or job, just follows his dreams. His speech to Ms. Moore, who is on the verge of a serious mental breakdown or worse, in which he lights hair spray on fire is truly cringe worthy. Overall, St. Elmo's Fire is more of a cultural document, showing what yuppie life was like in the mid-80's and the state of the young and upcoming stars of Hollywood at the time. It also features the famed number one theme song by one-hit wonder John Parr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not one likeable character!, July 7 2004
By 
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
All right, let's take 'em one by one:
Emilio Estevez as Kirby: Obsessed with and stalking an older woman, who finally is forced to sic her fiance on his pathetic punk a**.
Judd Nelson as Alec: Pathologically cheats on his live-in girlfriend, then pressures her to marry him because he thinks marriage is the magic pill that will make him stop cheating. When she refuses, he beats her up.
Rob Lowe as Billy: Tortures us with his gratuitous sax-playing.
Andrew McCarthy as Kevin: Thinks that wearing sunglasses at night and chain-smoking makes him a cool existentialist instead of a dateless poseur. Consumed by lustful thoughts about his best friend's girlfriend.
Ally Sheedy as Leslie: Living with Judd Nelson. Need I say more?
Mare Winningham as Wendy: Passive doormat who is shocked and horrified to find, upon becoming a social worker, that not all welfare recipients are noble, misunderstood living saints.
Demi Moore as Jules: Parties with Arabs, maxes out her credit cards and barricades herself in her fabulous-yet-bare (the furniture's been repossessed) loft apartment, finally attempting suicide by opening all the windows and letting her floor-length curtains blow oh-so-artfully about in the cold winter wind as she rocks back and forth on the floor.
Now tell me...are these people you want to spend 110 minutes of your life with?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Brat Packs., May 31 2004
By 
Ryne Williams (Cleveland, TN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is definately the best of the brat pack films. It has more sophistication and dramatic acting. You dig deeper into the characters, and you feel for them more. This has some good acting in it. Rob Lowe, Demi Moore, Mare Winningham, Andrew Macarthy, Ally Sheedy, and Judd Nelson all do wonderful. The movie is great, see it. I highly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone knows someone like these guys and gals, April 23 2004
By 
K. Stuckey "kateling" (Port Huron, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (Bilingual) (DVD)
You know, a drama queen who always has to be the center of attention; the screwup who really means well; the niave do-gooder and the seemingly 'it' couple. Everyone can relate to the characters in this movie and that's what makes it fun. I call my boyfriend Billy because he reminds me of Rob Lowe's character - he's a perpetual frat boy and returns to his alma matter to party still (a year after graduation).

The everyday struggles and triumphs portrayed in St. Elmo's Fire are all too common. I feel especially bad for Kirby and his unrequited love for Dale Biberman, he becomes obsessed with her and really embarasses himself a couple of times. This movie seems a bit cartoonish and almost mockery of itself sometimes, but it is almost 20 years old, so...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No fire...It left me cold, Jan. 20 2004
By 
This review is from: St. Elmo's Fire (VHS Tape)
Just another movie about some young adults facing their usual problems with relationships, college life and future choices. Nothing new here, not too interesting or enjoyable either, so it did nothing for me. It's not very funny and at times turns into weak melodrama, revolving around tired, been-done-to-death cliches with lifeless characters. The director Joel Schumacher can do better than this (the somewhat innovative "Phone Booth" or the gripping "Tigerland") or downright bad stuff ("Batman and Robin"). This is just bland and forgettable, I guess I`ll pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab159dd4)

This product

St Elmo's Fire [Blu-ray] [Import]
CDN$ 20.19 CDN$ 19.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews