Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Très bon service et produit.
Merci,
Gabriel Daniel
Published 2 months ago by Gabriel Daniel

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie but..
This movie is full of fun and original humor for the 80s-90s kids. However, there's a big caveat: get it on bluray for only a little bit more and not only do you get the bluray, but the DVD, the digital copy, and an additional choice of another digital copy movie included! What a deal!
Published on Nov. 25 2010 by D. Gillies


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Epic Blu-Ray of Epic Epicness, Nov. 11 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs The World Blu-ray/DVD Combo (Blu-ray)
There is nothing more moving, and more real, than the fake world of Scott Pilgrim. You follow the ups and downs of this boy turning into a man. You follow the trial of carnage he leaves in his wake. You follow them both through the star door into subspace. Then you end up at the store, buying the Blu-ray. This particular bundle is packed with goodies. All the blogs are here as well as "Music Videos" for the 4 major songs in the movie as well as different commentaries and special pre-production features. Well worth the money and I am surprised they were able to get this much content bundled together so quickly after the movie was released. This is well worth even the full price tag of $45 once it clears the initial sales boost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, although very niche movie, Dec 28 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs The World Blu-ray/DVD Combo (Blu-ray)
It's difficult to believe, for the people that this movie caters to, that this didn't do very well during it theatrical run. I guess that's what was so good about it. That it knows its audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Joy to watch, March 11 2011
By 
Charly Pazdor "Charly" (Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs The World Blu-ray/DVD Combo (Blu-ray)
At the end of 2010, I read a reviewer's top 10 list for the year. His number 1 was Scott Pilgrim. His point was that no movie in 2010 gave him more enjoyment to watch. That's how I felt about this movie. My two sons ages 18 & 21 both loved the film, the younger one almost as much as me. I loved that there was no hiding Toronto in winter and some of its landmarks, but that was only worth a few points. I loved the humour -- the mere fact that there were characters called "Lady Dudes"; the recurring joke about the bad haircut, are just two examples. The story, the music, the images, the acting performances, the action, the colours and sounds were all part of the enjoyment. (The Blu-ray with the 7.1 sound helped too.) It was a movie that I was happy to watch 3 or 4 times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Those who like it, like it a lot!, Feb. 2 2011
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs The World Blu-ray/DVD Combo (Blu-ray)
This movie seems to be aimed squarely at me. I'm a 30-something gamer, and this movie pulls obscure references from all over the gaming spectrum. The indie band influences, and hipster joking just add to the meat of the movie.

It's a great adaptation of the quirky 6-book comic set. As with any book to movie adaption, there were some things left out that I missed, but they only have so much time. The comic couldn't have the amazing soundtrack, or crazy visuals that the movie has.

The extras are great, and extensive, from the usual kinds of 'making of', commentaries, bloopers, deleted scenes and such, as well as a short cartoon chronicling one of Scott's highschool flashbacks that didn't make it into the movie. The extras FILL the blueray's free space. Which is a TON.

Having read the comic, I find the casting pretty darn good, except for the two main characters. I have nothing AGAINST either actor... they just don't look like the comics made me think of them. They did a good enough job though. The many musical performance segments in the story are pulled off amazingly.

To mangle a quote from the director, "In a musical, when feelings become too strong, people break into song. In this movie, when feelings get too strong, they break into fights." And fight they do. No bloody brutal fights, crazy impossible funny fights rarely seen in cartoons, let alone in live action.

If you like the movie, do yourself a favor and consider getting the soundtrack, or the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Top 5 Movies Of 2010, Dec 1 2010
By 
James D White (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs The World Blu-ray/DVD Combo (Blu-ray)
What a gem of a movie. I was very skeptical in regards to this movie, because I am a huge fan of the source material; that being the 6 book graphic novel series. But Edgar Wright did justice to all the fans of the series and made something really special, not for just the fans; but everyone who grew up in the last 20 years.

The story is about a 22 year old man named Scott Pilgrim. He has no job, plays in a band that's trying to get somewhere and just started dating a high school-er named Knives Chow. After he dreams about a girl than sees her at the library some days later he needs to know who this dream girl is. After running into her at a party he finds out she just moved her from America and works for Amazon.ca, she's Ramona Flowers. When he finally starts to date he finds out she has 7 evil ex's and he must beat them all to win her as his girl friend.

Edgar Wright did what many have tried and failed at. He made a comic movie that is within a comic world. When someone gets punched hard you see a BLAM and when the phone rings it make the noise and the words BRING, BRING, BRING come up. And it all works, and works well. It's fun and takes some of the major highlights of the series and makes it into one fun movie.

Michael Cera is great as Scott. Everyone else does their job and they do it well the casting is just amazing every single person works as who they are. Except for Kim the drummer for Sex Bo-omb, she does not look right and they don't show ***SPOILER*** how Scott dated her and their history that was a very important part of their relationship and why she is the way she is. And that there is another huge fight sequence that goes along with that. They did change the story but that is to be expected, but I did not expect to enjoy it so much it worked really well. And man was it funny, everyone in the theatre was laughing.

But what really made the movie was the music. If you read the comic you know it's heavily musically influenced and this movie is as well. With parts playing Zelda sound effects to full Zelda music to the songs done by Beck for Sex Bo-omb or the other bands it works so well and is extremely enjoyable and really adds to the colour and feel of the world of Scott Pilgrim.

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World gives mad prop's to everyone who loves entertainment, its funny and action packed and has huge influences from video games, movies and music. And I have to say this is now in the top 5 of movies this summer. Don't think about seeing this movie go see it you will have a fun time watching Scott fight for Ramona's heart; Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A veritable zeitgeist of pop-culture, Nov. 12 2010
By 
Steve Johnston "Bus Stop Boxer" (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs The World Blu-ray/DVD Combo (Blu-ray)
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is a veritable zeitgeist of pop-cultures mashing up against each other to deliver a romance unlike anything we'll likely see for the next decade.

A great comic book is made up of a delicate blend of artwork and storyline that leaps off the page. With comic books adapted for the screen already having made said leap, they must do more than simply use the source material as a storyboard - a vibe must be captured, some kind of sync between the creator and the director must be demonstrated, an evocation of nostalgia for the reader of the comic must be stirred and ideally, those not familiar with the material will be swept away onto the bandwagon. Edgar Wright manages to hit all of the above-mentioned notes to create a Torontonian experience unlike any other, blending elements of comic books, video games, indie music, and most importantly, movies.

Chances are, you've met a guy kind of like Scott Pilgrim (Michael Cera); a likeable slacker who is lucky and clumsy with the ladies, and plays bass in a mediocre indie band. Scott is taking some time off from serious relationships by spending his time with a high school girl 6 years his junior when he meets the girl of his dreams, literally. Ramona Flowers (the completely unrecognizable Mary Elizabeth Winstead), a roller blading courier for Amazon.ca, recently transplanted from the United States, has been taking a subspace shortcut through Scott's subconscious. When he finally meets her face to face, he is instantly smitten, and Ramona soon warms to his less awkward than usual Michael Cera-esque charms. There's only one problem, Ramona's got some skeletons in her closet. Skeletons covered in muscles, flesh and clothing with crouching tiger kung fu skills in the form of Ramona's ex-boyfriends (and girlfriend, rrrrraow!). Turns out that if Scott wants to be with Ramona, he'll have to defeat the League of Evil Exes...and maybe even clean up some of his own messes while he's at it. Fortunately, Scott is the number one rated fighter in all of Ontario, so he can handle them. (It might not say so in the movie, but trust me, it's in the books.) (Besides, the fights are just allegorical for the personal issues Scott and Ramona have to lay to rest before they can get together, so why does it matter whether this 98 pound weakling can nail a 64 hit mid-air combo?)

The first thing you'll notice about this movie is the pre-credit Universal logo, rendered in glorious 8-bit like a Donkey King table top at your favourite seedy tavern. And with that, the tone is set for the next two hours. Just about everything hat unfolds on screen, from the bathroom breaks to the high scores in the aftermath of each skirmish is coloured with the same playful Nintendo brush. Edgar Wright, the mad scientist behind such genre benders/blenders as Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead has proven himself to be positively soaked in the language of cinema. And I don't mean the techniques of Orson Welles or Jean-Luc Godard, I mean every pop-culture gem of the last 20 or even 30 years. He understands exactly how we glean information off the silver screen and he's devised his own cinematic shorthand to deliver that information faster and funnier than anyone else. It's the kind of style that comes in handy adapting a book that tends to express itself in images in feelings more than thoughts and words.

What is at the heart of its triumph, besides its innate sense of fun, is the tension/conflict/torsion between Toronto's reality in which it is so cozily nested with locations like Lee's Palace, Casa Loma and Pizza Pizza, and the fighting flights of fancy as Scott engages in fisticuffs that are one half Street Fighter 2 and one half Dance Dance Revolution. The mundane and the magical collide with each other to a deftly handled soundtrack as only a music lover like Wright could deliver.

With all of this bombast going on, it's easy to forget that this really is a love story. And that is perhaps where I find this movie's only shortcoming. Even if it's Wright's scrambled take on the "boy meets girl" story, there needed to be a tender heart to this take, and that is what Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is lacking. Everything is just too neon & plastic - and perhaps that's the point. Perhaps Wright was trying to make a statement of the transitory nature of young modern love... or perhaps Wright's directed a little too much bromance and not enough romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reminds us of a more simple time., Nov. 12 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs The World Blu-ray/DVD Combo (Blu-ray)
Come on everyone doesent this movie bring you back? make you remember playing all those 8/16 bit video games as kid and day dreaming about if they were real? Well that is this movie, Its about a slacker dude named Scott Pilgrim who just wants an easy life and to just do nothing. Untill he meets Ramona flowers and decides that she is the one for him even if at first she reacts as anyone would, weirded out. Though scott grows on her. Soon slacker 22 year old Scott finds him self having to fight all her past Ex's to the death for the chance to date her.

This movie has it all for nerds and geeks alike. This movie is extreamly well put togeather and is top notch in quality. If you just want a movie to remind you of how life used to be. or even a move that reminds you of haniging out with close friends. then please pick up this movie. You will not regret it not for a second. It is the best movie i have seen all year, maybe even of all time.

10/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking, Jan. 9 2012
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs The World Blu-ray/DVD Combo (Blu-ray)
Inventive and amazingly fun. My son recommended it and I wondered if his ecstatic reviews were overstated, but he is right. I can imagine watching this many times over the years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie!, April 23 2011
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs The World Blu-ray/DVD Combo (Blu-ray)
Really fast shipping. Great deal for a blue ray disc. This package also comes with a regular DVD and a digital copy of the film for your mobile or computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great and Origonal, Feb. 16 2011
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim Vs The World Blu-ray/DVD Combo (Blu-ray)
loved this movie. any fans of old school video games will definatly dig the style of this movie. the sound effects and random video game style effects make this movie a refreshingly origonal watch. there is also a good sense of humor as well especially if you watch it with a group of friends you will probably be chuckling the whole time. the movie is definatly out there and has a few weird moments but all in all you have to love how origonal the style is and the humor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World Blu-ray/DVD Combo
CDN$ 23.99 CDN$ 17.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews