Customer Reviews


370 Reviews
5 star:
 (262)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing classic
the entire cast shines in this production of Shakespere's Taming of the Shrew. The jokes are amazing, and all the actors fit their parts well. Thanks in part to the USA network, this movie is ingained as a classic in countless teenagers' minds. I adore this film
Published on May 14 2004 by wannabebando

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Barely acceptable
Well, this is a nice showcase for Julia Stiles and Heath Ledger, the romance has some charm to it, and the location shooting in Washington State is pretty cool, but this movie ages poorly--the first time I thought it was interesting, the second time I was easily offended by how unrealistic it is. Somehow, the movie 'Clueless' seemed to effortlessly weave between reality...
Published on Aug. 19 2001


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing classic, May 14 2004
By 
the entire cast shines in this production of Shakespere's Taming of the Shrew. The jokes are amazing, and all the actors fit their parts well. Thanks in part to the USA network, this movie is ingained as a classic in countless teenagers' minds. I adore this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I don't hate anything about this movie, Sept. 9 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
No matter how old I get, I'll never be too old to enjoy a good teen movie. Yes, it's rather formulaic, but 10 Things I Hate About You is smart and funny and more intelligent than your average teen comedy. It also stars Julia Styles, which is a definite plus in my book. I can't say my high school was anything like Padua High (how many high schools take place in a huge castle?), and I certainly never had an English teacher like the one teaching here, but every high school is pretty much the same when it comes to cliques, romances, misunderstandings, sibling rivalries, and the like. One of the things I really liked about this film is the fact that it didn't break down according to the overused formula of rich kids vs. poor kids and never the twain shall meet (unless you're, say, Molly Ringwald).

It's true that this film is loosely inspired by Shakespeare's The Taming of the Shrew, but don't make too much of that. How many teens would even know what a shrew is? Personally, I don't look at Kat Stratford (Julia Styles) as a shrew; she's just a bitter, disillusioned teen who can't stand the thought of doing what is expected of her - and she does have reasons for taking on this persona. Her sister Bianca (Larisa Oleynik) is her exact opposite, a vivacious girl who just wants to be a normal teenager. Her problem is the girls' overprotective father, who refuses to let Bianca date until Kat starts dating (which doesn't look like it will be happening any time soon given Kat's nature). The new kid in school, Cameron (Joseph Gordon-Levitt), is smitten with Bianca, and he puts together a plan to make her date-eligible by having someone else take out her sister - ingeniously using the school's pitifully shallow cool guy (and Bianca admirer) as the middle man. The chosen one is the school's mysterious new tough guy, who has to earn the money he's being paid to win the reluctant Kat over. Obviously, he ends up falling for the girl, which puts everything in place for the predictable conclusion. Will Kat and the designated dater become a couple, or will everything explode in the guy's face? Will Bianca ever win the right to get out of the house and spread her perkiness all around? And who will Bianca choose - the hot, brainless Mr. Cool or Cameron, the nice boy who looks like he should still be in junior high? And, since she's already taller than the guy, will Bianca ever stop putting her hair up when she goes out with him?

Cliches abound, but the script really is rather witty. For those keeping score at home, the film does feature one wild dance party and the required minimum of one barfing scene, but it never crosses the line into a completely dumb teen comedy. 10 Things I Hate About You isn't quite as good as the classic John Hughes films of the 1980s, but it's easily better than most of the teen films produced in recent years. With its PG-13 rating, it's also a teen movie suitable for teens of all ages - a little table dancing is about as racy as this one gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars shakespeare with a twist - classic teen flick, March 3 2004
This movie is the only movie that I actually have fully memorized. I'm not talking the kind of memorization where you can recite it only if it's playing at the same time. I'm talking the kind of memorization where you sit and recite scenes when you're bored.
This is because I've been absolutely hooked on this movie ever since I first saw it in theaters. It could have been the plot that got me. Sophomore Bianca Stratford (Larisa Oleynik) wants to date. In particular, she wants to date Joey Donner (Andrew Keegan). The only thing stopping her is the ulimate rule in her house: NO DATING UNTIL YOU GRADUATE. Bianca appeals to her single father (Larry Miller), who finally concedes and makes a new rule just as challenging as the first: Bianca could date when her sister did. The roadblock? Bianca's sister, senior Kat Stratford (Julia Stiles), could quite possibly be more against dating in high school than her dad. Enter Cameron (Joseph Gordon-Levitt), new kid to school with a major crush on Bianca, and his friend, Michael (David Krumholtz), who plot to get Kat dating so that, in turn, Bianca will start dating. The rest of the movie involves Cameron and Michael doing just that, with Patrick (a brown-haired Heath Ledger) engaging in their little game along with the less knowing mega-hotshot Joey.
Maybe it was the characters. Kat Stratford has an unchanging, bitter attitude about being yourself and not doing something just because everyone else is. Bianca loves to conform and be popular - basically the exact opposite of Kat. Larry Miller does a great job in his role as the sisters' overprotective dad who's "up to [his] elbows in placenta all day long" in his career as a doctor and is obsessed with keeping his daughters from growing up. Cameron is easily likable, a boy who becomes fixed on making Bianca his own (pure intentions). Joey is just as easily not likable as a boy who is also fixed on making Bianca his own (impure intentions). Michael is perfect as an awkward teenager who, I suppose, most would describe as being the "geek" of the movie, while I would disagree (ex., being the one who comes up with the "Joey's just a pawn" plan). Patrick is hilarious in his attempts to capture Kat's attention. Other noteworthy characters include Ms. Perky, the unhelpful guidance counselor secretly writing a dirty romance novel; Mr. Morgan, the Shakespeare-rapping English teacher; and the gym teacher/soccer coach who is the perfect comedic tool.
Maybe it was the memorable scenes: Bianca at prom, the detention room, the stadium serenade, Boogie's party, the motorbike, and Kat in English class, just to name a few.
I'm not sure what exactly it is about 10 Things I Hate About You - the characters, the plot, the scenes, the catchy Letters to Cleo tune - but it's a movie for anybody who wants a good laugh and wants to see how crazy somebody else's life can get.
DVD NOTE: Besides surround sound and a trailer, there are no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, for a teen flick, Jan. 20 2004
Based on Shakespeare's comedy "The taming of the shrew", this movie is well off in plot because it was created by a literary master, so you don't have to worry about loose threads or faults in the plot.
The actors and actresses did a wonderful job in this movie. Health Ledger and Julia Stiles are favourites of mine, and they can truly act. Julia Stiles isn't a stranger to Shakespeare, she was also in the movie "O", based on 'Othello' and "Hamlet", with Ethan Hawke. The characters in this movie were drawn well and had more depth than the usual teens that dance around in teen movies.
I really like how Patrick (Heath Ledger) is able to show his soft and sweet side around Kat (Julia Stiles), and vice versa, instead of how they are both angry outcasts to everyone else. Because of these personality changes around each other, I can really see how their relationship developed so quickly on an intimate level.
This movie is witty, and entertaining, with a strong plot and although it's a teen flick, there is a still a bit a of depth to the characters. Great Movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not as good as i expected, Nov. 9 2003
By 
S. Lin "SL" (Wellesley, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had read the reviews as well as heard my friends' opinions on this movie and had thought that it would be great and witty and funny...and it was a great disappointment.
Kat and Bianca are sisters in the same school, Bianca being popular and Kat the polar opposite. Popular boy Joey wants Bianca and she feels likewise. However, their dad won't let Bianca date unless Kat does...which seems impossible to him. In order to have Bianca, Joey pays Patrick to woo Kat and date her. Seeing the money, Pat goes for it, only to fall in love with Kat...even though he's still taking money. Cameron is also in love with Bianca and had planned to tell Joey to pay Pat so that when Bianca can date, she would choose him. However, his plot is foiled until the end, when Bianca realizes what a bastard Joey is.
When I had seen the trailer, with Heath Ledger singing, I had thought this was when their true feelings are revealed. Little did I know that he was still taking money from Joey. This just seemed very much like betrayal to me and I didn't like that in a romantic comedy. I would never be able to forgive the guy as quickly as Kat did.
Also, I felt that there were so many subplots that the movie was all over the place. It felt as if the director was trying to ram all this information into and hour and something of film. As a result, many of the subplots are underdeveloped. Such as the romance between Cameron's geeky friend and Kat's Shakespearean addict friend. Also, Cameron and Bianca barely had any chemistry and Cameron's reasons for transferring are never referred to...he was just there one day, saw Bianca and wanted her. Joey and Bianca's "relationship" was also very fuzzy. Not to mention the part where Kat reveals to Bianca the very reason why she hates Joey and Bianca storms out of the room in anger.
The only redeeming qualities of this movie is the hilarious counselor and Kat and Bianca's father, who's comical talent is seen in this film, which is why it received two stars instead of one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Are You Saying I'm Not A Pretty Guy?, Aug. 4 2003
By A Customer
After seeing this movie about a million times on cable, I decided to finally write a review for it. I'm always a fan of teen comedies, but lately they have been going off the deep end in terms of sick humor. This is where 10 Things I Hate About You differs because it's not a gross-out movie. It's also not a movie that you can take seriously, yet it has some serious moments that will remind you of the great teen movies of the 80's. This movie doesn't really try to be realistic most of the time....... I mean Patrick follows Kat around everywhere, shows up at her house and waits by her car, and it is outlandish to think that this kind of stalking would attract her to him. Then there's the school faculty which behave in a manner that would get them instantly fired in real life, yet here it is all a joke. The party scenes are also way overdone, but these are things you will get used to early on. The story is acted out quite well, and the comedy is very light-hearted as it should be. I have seen the DVD for this movie and though it looked fairly good, it was not worth the purchase for me. The picture needs an anamorphic transfer, and there are no extra features. I would wait on this one until they release a better edition which I'm sure they will. With as many times as this movie runs on cable each month, there are bound to be lots of fans willing to demand a special edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute Teen Movie, July 20 2003
By 
Kala (Ft Lauderdale, FL United States) - See all my reviews
I like this movie a lot. I saw it in the theaters and have the DVD. It's a teen love story based on Shakespeare's Taming of the Shrew (loosely based!). The story is about the shrew (Kat/Julia Stiles) and her sister Bianca. The new boy in town wants to date Bianca, but Bianca can't date unless Kat does. So he hatches a plan to get Kat hooked with someone so that he can date Bianca.
I think the story is cute, and I completely fell for Heath Ledger's character, Patrick (the guy who gets paid to date Kat). He and Julia Stiles are great in this movie - the other characters, however, leave a lot to be desired. I can't for the life of me figure out why anyone would WANT to date Bianca. Sure, she's pretty - but she's got no personality until the very end. It's not bad though, since most of the story revolves around Kat and Patrick who are well developed characters with a lot of chemistry.
Not the greatest movie on the planet, but definitely fun as a light-hearted and humorous date movie. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A yummy slice of ultra-pallatable teen life, July 5 2003
By 
Ms. V. Hoyle (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: 10 Things I Hate About You (VHS Tape)
Generally speaking I abhor most of the films sheltering under the umbrella-genre of "teen comedy". The idea of a film made specifically to gratify the insecure and the horny makes me kind of queasy. In an entertained sort of way.
But...10 Things I Hate About You, despite its cringe-worthy title, is a cut and a jump above the rest. Lay to rest the ghosts of "She's All That" and other related Freddie Prince Jnr cast-offs and worship at the altar of a truly funny slice of teen life.
You know the drill. 10 Things is based loosely around the lesser-known Shakespeare play "The Taming of the Shrew". And, against all expectations the adaptation is intelligently done. The interaction of Shakespearian dialogue and ultra-trendy American teen speak is blended without hesitation. "I burn, I perish, I pine..." proclaims the love-struck Cameron in the words of the bard himself. "Put her in your spank-bank and move on" replies his Tranio-a-like sidekick Michael. The more you know about the Shakespeare play, the more you'll appreciate the subtleties of 10 Thing's referencing. Of course the plot isn't exact, but its themes are maintained in healthy condition throughout.
So, this is a production that didn't take its script-writing according to formular. Some of the one-liners are literally classic, and the supporting cast, particularly Miss Perky, school councillar and erotic novelist extroadinaire, are different and lively.
That doesn't mean, however, that the star acting suffers. The cast has strong leaders in Heath Ledger and Julia Stiles, both of whom transcend and epitomise the teen hero/heroine simultaneously. Refreshingly, Stile's character doesn't succumb to being objectified by her inevitable good lucks. Ledger doesn't just convince her that wearing a dress is going to make her a more convincing "girl". Of course guy does get girl, but in the same way girl thoroughly establishes herself as equal to said guy. And looses none of her expressive capacity.
The scaffolding sub-plot also turns out some cracking performances from the likes of Joseph Gordon-Hewitt as Cameron (you'll recognise him as the kid from 3rd Rock from the Sun), and the pretty Larisa Oleynik as Bianca.
Mix all of the above ... with the likes of Letters from Cleo enjoying several cameo moments and you've got a movie that could very well join "Empire Records" as teen classic material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, June 8 2003
By A Customer
Well, I'd heard a lot about this movie before I actually saw it, and all were good comments. When I actually did see it, I loved it! I loved the storylines, the pickup lines, the one liners, the witty humour and the sarcastic comments! My favourite character was Kat Stratford- a true individualist who doesn't care what people think of her; a hard shell surrounding a truly good person. I loved Kat and Pat, and Bianca and Cameron, and I also loved how Bianca got less shallow when she and Cameron got together. My favourite scenes (no particular order): 1. The paintball scene w/ the kiss (so adorable) 2. when Bianca kisses Cameron in the car 3. when Mr. Stratford slams the door on Joey 4. When Kat's fave band plays at the prom and Pat kisses her 5. Pat singing to Kat! 6. the final scene next to the car w/ Kat and Pat 7. Where'd you get the tux/dress? Oh, just something I had lying around. 8. Where's you come from, Planet Loser? As opposed to Planet "look at me, look at me". 9. the swingset scene at Bogey's party 10. Kat flashing the teacher to get Pat out of detention! Go see the movie now- it's truly amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the average teen movie, April 29 2003
"10 Things I Hate About You" is one of maybe two or three films that rises to the top of the heap in that whole fad back in the late '90s of taking classic novels and plays and adapting them into teen movies.
You know all the basics: based on "Taming of the Shrew", Julia Stiles, Heath Ledger, yadda yadda yadda. What makes "10 Things" rise above its more drecky cousins ("Cruel Intentions", "Drive Me Crazy", and anything -- whether based on classic literature or not -- that had Freddie Prinze, Jr. within 50 yards of it) is the fact that this film came with a well-written script, and the director and producers put actors in who could handle the comedy. In addition to Julia Stiles, major kudos go out to Darryl "Chill" Mitchell (the wise-cracking English teacher) and Allison Janney (the erotica-writing guidance counselor) for their performances.
Definitely one to add to the collection, even if it's as a guilty pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

10 Things I Hate About You / 10 choses que je déteste de toi - 10th Anniversary Edition
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 6.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews