Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Forgotten Pearl
38 studio did a good job by making this master piece, however not many people know about this pearl because compare to other RPG game company, 38 studio is not a big name at all (too sad, this company bankrupted as well). I'm a big fan of Diablo series and World of Warcraft, so I have been looking for a comparable title for my PS3. I tried Dragon Age I, II, Two World II,...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More isn't always better
Big Huge Games is certainly an appropriate name for this game company since Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is an absolutely massive game with hundreds of hours game play. Unfortunately, more is not necessarily better.

The world is vibrant, the voice over and music is descent and the core mechanics, especially the combat, work pretty good, but KoA feels like a...
Published 23 months ago by ArchangelMIKEY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Forgotten Pearl, Dec 21 2012
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
38 studio did a good job by making this master piece, however not many people know about this pearl because compare to other RPG game company, 38 studio is not a big name at all (too sad, this company bankrupted as well). I'm a big fan of Diablo series and World of Warcraft, so I have been looking for a comparable title for my PS3. I tried Dragon Age I, II, Two World II, Skyrim, Dungeon Alliance, Dungeon Hunter, Mass Effect 1, 2, and 3 but none of these can hold my breath until I tried Kingdom Of Amular: Reckoning. To save you time, I will go straight directly to pro and cons to help you make your decision.

Pro:
- Realistic action (you can dodge, sprint, parry like God of War)
- Excellent art work/graphic (like World of Warcraft, Skyrim)
- Classes are customizable (you can build your own class, Warrior Mage, Rouge Mage, Warrior Rouge), you decide your own path.
- 100+ hours of game play with hundreds of side quests, faction quests and other interesting tasks
- Game play is solid and well design (third person point of view)
- World is big (not as big as Skyrim, but bigger than Diablo III and may as big as Dragon Age)
- Lots of place for exploration and loot
- Items are socketable (like Diablo series where you can insert a gem(s) to your favorite weapon)
- Equip different weapon types will have different moves so you wont be bored quickly like when you play other RPG games
- 2 Expansions for more story

Cons:
- Sometime crash (make sure you save before and after a big quest)
- No online play (single player only, I wish I can do PvP in this game because the game play of this game is totally designed for PvP)

In summary, if you like Diablo style game play, World of Warcraft's artwork and God of War's action, this game is right for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great action RPG, May 23 2012
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We have a really good try at a new ip here (I hope there is a sequel)with its imaginative world and great action. The central plot revolves around a person (can be created as a customizable man or a woman) with no fate and the mystery of what that means. By setting on a massive (and this is a massive world) journey to a variety of locales you will fight many different monsters(using a really great combat system) with swords, hammers, bows, daggers, chakras (sharp metal rings) and magic. You will pick locks, open magically sealed chests, search out treasure, buy/sell items and upgrade your weapons and armor. I had a lot of fun with this, I highly recommend this to any RPG fan. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, May 3 2012
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's fun. Quick to get into. Story could be better, but gameplay is solid. Go ahead and give it a try :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More isn't always better, May 2 2012
Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdoms Of Amalur: Reckoning (Video Game)
Big Huge Games is certainly an appropriate name for this game company since Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is an absolutely massive game with hundreds of hours game play. Unfortunately, more is not necessarily better.

The world is vibrant, the voice over and music is descent and the core mechanics, especially the combat, work pretty good, but KoA feels like a half-hearted clone of other better games. Numerous elements seem to just be lifted from other games. Foe example, there's lockpicking, of course, since loot is important in an RPG, but unlike Fallout or Skyrim the core mechanics of this game element are weak. I invested nothing in this skill and still managed to open every chest.

The main story starts off with some promise, but never seems to build any really momentum. Part of the problem is that you can get lost in side quests for so long that you kind of forget what it is you were aiming at to begin with. The other issue is the way that conversations play out. You press on a word, just one word of text, and other characters respond as if you'd formulated a full sentence or question. You can talk to just about everyone, but you just won't want to, because conversations feel like lectures. It's just not immersive and thus the world and characters never feel real. You also keep being told what a big deal it is that you've come back from the dead and have no fate, but none of your decisions seems to have any real weight or consequence.

The ocb gamer who must check off every quest and get every achievement will get lost in this game for a long time, but others will just want the bloody thing to end. If you pick it up on sale and have nothing else to play and feel like grinding and grinding and grinding, give this a go. It's not a horrible game, but it's not nearly as good as it could have been. They should have focused a bit more on quality over quantity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, March 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdoms Of Amalur: Reckoning (Video Game)
Surpasses Oblivion in its detail. Hours of fun with thousands of choices to be made. Highly recommended to all my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, March 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pros:
- Combat system (GOW like)
- You can play the main et sides quest in a vast open world
- Graphics
- Possibility to play the game over and over again with different character and class

Cons:
- Variety of weapons and armor (character all look the same in the end)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skyrim's got nothing on this!, Feb. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like the fantasy genre, then this game is a must buy for you. I personally found the quests more entertaining than skyrim( I own both). One drawback is that I feel dizzy after long gaming sessions because of the flashy color art. That's just me though

Btw nice shipping from amazon on this. Came in 3 days despite being free regular shipping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great RPG, Dec 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this game. It's extremely long if you do all the side missions, I like a game to last a good long while so that's a huge plus. I enjoy games like Final fantasy, Elder scrolls, etc. and this one is now right up in my top 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ..., Oct. 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdoms Of Amalur: Reckoning (Video Game)
This game is like a combination of Fable and Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, and it doesn't work for me. I suggest only picking it up if you a hard-core fantasy and rpg fan who has a compulsive need to play every game that falls into either genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE RECKONING KINGDOMS OF AMULUR, June 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
MIGHT AND MAGIC, LOTS OF HOURS TO PLAY. FAST TRAVEL FROM TOWNS TO SAVE TIME. EQUIP MAGIC ITEMS. FUN. COOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3e60d80)

This product

Kingdoms Of Amalur: Reckoning
Kingdoms Of Amalur: Reckoning by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 15.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews