Customer Reviews


765 Reviews
5 star:
 (378)
4 star:
 (139)
3 star:
 (118)
2 star:
 (59)
1 star:
 (71)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Comprehensive Study of a Film Masterpiece on DVD
This 5 disc edition of Ridley Scott's 1982 Blade Runner is the most detailed celebration of a single Sci-Fi Film Masterpiece on DVD so far!

The set is contained in a facsimile of Deckard's briefcase which originally contained his Replicant finding equipment, the Voight-Kampff Test in the film.

The set contains FIVE versions of this creepily prophetic...
Published on Jan. 1 2008 by Michael Tanaka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not sure if i saw the original version or director's cut(disappointing,either way)2.5/5
i don't think i have see nthe director's cut of this movie.whatever version it was,i know i wasn't really impressed.the only thing i did like was the visual style.it was very nice to look at.other than that though,i can't say much stood out.i found the movie much too sublime for this type of movie.there's some action for sure,but it's all passive.that's not always a bad...
Published on July 28 2007 by falcon


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Comprehensive Study of a Film Masterpiece on DVD, Jan. 1 2008
By 
Michael Tanaka "akatanaka" (Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This 5 disc edition of Ridley Scott's 1982 Blade Runner is the most detailed celebration of a single Sci-Fi Film Masterpiece on DVD so far!

The set is contained in a facsimile of Deckard's briefcase which originally contained his Replicant finding equipment, the Voight-Kampff Test in the film.

The set contains FIVE versions of this creepily prophetic and ultimately moving film of what it is to be Human, and humane:

1) The original Workprint version which was shown to test audiences before the film's 1982 general release. It contains over 70 scene differences to the other four versions as stated by Paul Sammon, author of "Future Noir"-The Making of Blade Runner", who gives an interesting and informative optional commentary throughout. One of the most interesting differences in this rough-cut version is the use of musical "temp" tracks - music used from other past film scores to back key scenes. Thus, in major scenes like the love scene and the climactic duel between Ford and Hauer, we hear music from "Planet of the Apes" by Jerry Goldsmith, as well as some music by "Titanic" composer, James Horner, NOT the final unique music by Vangelis! A fascinating insight into the filmmaking process.
In addition, there is an interesting documentary on this disc detailing the many versions of the film, as well as an amazing section with actor Joanna Cassidy, who returned in 2007 after 25 years to digitally re-shoot her death scene whereby replacing the head of the original stunt woman in the film with her own, thus finally correcting one of the famous flaws of this cult movie.

2) The original Theatrical U.S. version which contains the controversial "voice-over" narration by Harrison Ford's character, Rick Deckard, and the bizarre upbeat ending.

3) The 1982 International Cut, which is similar to the U.S. version but contains extended scenes of graphic violence. This is the version that was originally released on VHS tape in the 80's.

4) The 1992 so called "Director's Cut" which was put together without the direct input from Ridley Scott as a result of an accidental (?) showing of the workprint version at a film festival. This is the first version released without the voiceover and including the director's unicorn sequence.

5) Ridley Scott's "Final Cut" of the film which was completely supervised by him, and has crystal-clear digital picture restoration, and is by far the best sounding version of the film in 5.1 Dolby Surround which sounds incredible and showcases Vangelis's amazing music as no other version does! In addition to Ms. Cassidy's revised death scene, the infamous "flight of the dove" shot that ends Rutger Hauer's moving "tears in rain" death scene is finally digitally corrected in this Final Cut.
As Ridley Scott says, this version is really "cool"!
This version also has THREE separate commentaries: one by Ridley Scott, one by the writers and producers, and one by the special effects technicians. All contain fascinating insights and anecdotes by the participants.

ALL the versions contain a brief introduction by Ridley Scott. It is obvious that the director put a lot of time and detail into the making of this DVD set. All archival versions are made from the best available sources and look and sound remarkably good; even the rare Workprint is good - a bit contrasty, but clear and was made from the only existing print.

The documentaries are exhaustive and detailed, the main one being over three hours long. There is even an audio interview with "Electric Sheep" author Philip K. Dick, on whose story Blade Runner is based, made shortly before the author's death.

Why get this 5 disc DVD set? I got it just for the Workprint, which is the ONLY version of the sets that has it! In the briefcase, there are a number of collectibles, only found in this set, such as Gaff's origami unicorn, made of plastic (!) , a little model of the Spinner vehicle whose doors open, an interesting moving sequence of frames from the film encased in thick plastic like a little paperweight, and a colour portfolio of production artwork by the film's futurist designer, Syd Mead.

In addition to this 5 disc set, there is a 2 disc set that has the Final Cut and three hour documentary, and a four disc set that has the Final Cut, the two 1982 versions and 1992 version (minus the Workprint) and most of the documentaries, minus the one on the various versions with Joanna Cassidy (which is on the Workprint disc only).

If you are a fan of this film, you MUST have this set; nothing less will be satisfactory. It's also available in Blu-Ray and DVD-HD versions. If you are a student of film, get this set just for the Workprint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Set! Blade Runner Done Right!, Dec 29 2007
By 
Andrew Salmon (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just finished watching the final cut of the film and want to give this set my highest recommendation. I opted for this 4-disc version because of price and because it had everything the 5-disc version has except the rough version and the toys, which are both nice, but I can live without.

The first thing that jumps out is how stunningly clear the picture is! I don't have blu-ray of HD, just standard DVD and the picture on the final cut really was cleaned up frame by frame. No scratches, no dirt. I won't say bright color because it's not that kind of movie, but clearly defined color and a sharp image. For the night scenes and interiors, the sharpness really helps as you can clearly see what's going on and the neon highlights frame every outside shot. When Zhora goes through the window, the neon framing is spellbinding. And, yes, they did fix the shot. It looks great if you haven't seen the movie, but if you're familiar with the scene your brain gets into a tug of war because the new insertion looks real but you've got the mental image in your mind of the stunt woman with the bad wig. Messes with your head a little. Also they claim they did the same restoration on ALL the versions available but I watched the 1982 US Theatrical version first and, although it looked great, it looked nowhere near as good as the Final Cut version.

One of the things I noticed for the first time on this super clean version is the jerk of a camera cut I never noticed before. I really wish they could have fixed this because it jars the viewer out of the scene. When Deckard pulls his gun on Leon and gets it slapped out of his hand, the image jerks for a fraction of a second. I had to go frame by frame to solve this little mystery and found the cut: When Deckard pulls the gun, his tie comes up with it. When Leon slaps it out of his hand, his tie is down. As the tie, in the up position is right in the middle of the frame and can be clearly viewed now, when it snaps down it affects the scene. They clearly combined two takes of the scene and did it very well -- just not seamlessly. I mean they got rid of the spinner cables, fixed Zhora, but left this little camera jerk during a great scene. It sounds minor, I know, but when you watch the movie, it'll get you. I don't know if this has been something Blade Runner fans have been talking about for years or not, but it was the first time I noticed it.

The narration is gone. This was my first time watching it without the narration and it played fine. I DO like the narration as well because I'm a sucker for old film noir and love the elements from The Maltese Falcon, Double Indemnity, The Big Sleep and countless other classics that are woven into the film. I didn't think I'd like the movie without the narration but I did though I'm also glad to have both versions on the set. And Scott went with "I want more life... father." Which I think works better but they were not able to synch Hauer's mouth to the word.

The sound is also incredible! And that's, again, on a standard TV. No home theater of surround sound. If you've got these things, the movie will rock!

What's added only enhances the movie. There are no big additions. Just fixing of effects, changing Zhora, giving the bird something a whole lot better to fly up to at the end. All of the effect additions are subtle. They make everything look real, which is the whole point, right?

If you're thinking of picking up one of the several hundred version that just came out, I think you'll come away with a new appreciation for the film. The clarity of image and sound reveal things you've never seen before no matter how many times you've seen the movie. They did a stellar job on the restoration. Plus the 3 and a half hour making of, 45 minutes of deleted scenes never shown in ANY version of the film, and featurettes on just about anything you can imagine related to the film. And you find out, once and for all, how Scott wanted us to view Deckard -- human or replicant.

If you've been waiting to see Blade Runner done right, the wait is over. It's not perfect (see above), but it's the best it's ever been. This is a great set, well worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The packaging alone is worth the price!!, Dec 20 2007
Finally, we get treated to a real director's cut of this fabulous film.
I've just barely started to watch the final cut and some of the documentaries in the box, but so far I am very pleased.
It's great to have 5 versions of the movie so we can see how different the feel and interpretation of the story is with each one.

The packaging is just great... just what this big kid geek needed! It's (almost) worth the price in itself :-) :-) The Deckard briefcase is cool, and the little Spinner replica and unicorn origami figurine are great.

Overall, a great gift for anyone who loves Blade Runner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The price is unbeatable! Stop the ripoffs from ebay sellers., Aug. 20 2012
By 
S. K. L. Ip "Stephen" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We all know the movie and all different versions. So there is no point to repeat again. But, I'm really pleased that Amazon slashes the price to such a great extent. With 1 disc less and without the unnecessary steel briefcase, the price is almost $500 cheaper than what those ebay people are ripping off on the 5-disc set. I didn't even think twice and I have placed order right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the 5-disc set, May 20 2014
By 
Richard Wakefield (Burnaby, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The product description and all the reviews show this as a 5-disc set, however be aware that the one I purchased (the Bluray version) is ONLY a single disc of the Final Cut version only. The other versions are not included. While that's great, I was looking forward to getting the theatrical and other versions also on Bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, July 7 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What can I say. I have eight different copies of this movie, and could be considered a cult fan of Blade Runner. This copy is in Bluray, which gave me a new experience in that the movie almost jumps off the screen in this media. It is still the same Blade Runner that I know and love, but so much more vivid and viewable. I saw things that I had not seen in prior viewings, and am very impressed with Bluray. I don't know what they will follow this media with, but it will need to be impressive. The movie? What the hey, I ain't no film critic, but I love it. There are only a few movies that I watch more than once and this is one of them. Give it a go. You also may love it like I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A milestone movie, July 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Blu-ray DVD quality is excellent, showing more detail than I've seen in other formats. Blade Runner Final Cut differs from the original 1982 theatre release in that Harrison Ford's voice-over narrative is deleted and a few minor scenes added.

If you're not familiar with this movie, it is arguably one of Ridley Scott's most imaginative and visually-stunning films. There are no bright or happy daytime scenes here. But night time, rainy weather, old buildings and atmospheric lighting and props never looked this beautiful before. This movie set new standards in set design and lighting.

Very stylish, the movie is taken in the future and is about a group of rebellious human-like androids, called Replicants, who return to earth in hopes of finding a cure for their short, predetermined life-span from their human engineers.

I won't engage in the debate over which version of this movie is best. But, if you haven't seen it before, you may want to see the Final Cut version (Scott's favourite) before the original release. That way you will have the benefit of forming your own ideas and meanings without the narrative compass provided in the original release. The original version can then be used to maybe fill-in some blanks and provide a happier ending. Both are good and most people will benefit from at least 2 viewings, anyway. (My total is already well over 20-30 times).

The music by Vangelis is remarkable. Rarely has a movie and its soundtrack been so well-calibrated.

Though over 30 years old, the movie is as watchable today as it was back then. If you are a serious movie buff, then Blade Runner is likely on just about every respectable must-see list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not sure if i saw the original version or director's cut(disappointing,either way)2.5/5, July 28 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
i don't think i have see nthe director's cut of this movie.whatever version it was,i know i wasn't really impressed.the only thing i did like was the visual style.it was very nice to look at.other than that though,i can't say much stood out.i found the movie much too sublime for this type of movie.there's some action for sure,but it's all passive.that's not always a bad thing,if you have some compelling dialogue,which i didn't feel this one had.i also thought the screenplay could have been better.when you add this all together,you get a movie that moves too slow and doesn't really fully ecxplain itself.i won't say it's a bad movie,just disappointing,considering how people rave about it.my advice is to watch the original version and the director's cut and draw your own conclusions.by the way,apparently Ridley Scott is working on the definitive version(whatever that means) of the film which will be released sometime in 2008 in 2,4 and five disc incarnations.anyway for me,this edition of"Blade Runner" is a disappointing 2.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well....., June 28 2004
.......I take no credit for the Deckard = replicant issue. This comes directly from Ridley Scott as stated before. If no one believes me than search for the interviews yourself; the interveiws in which Scott states point blank that the guy's a replicant. Ridley Scott didn't "rewrite" anything. The director's cut is the original version. The version before the studio got a hold of it. I have no idea why Tyrell wouldn't tell Deckard straight up that he was a replicant. But Scott laid out the clues and the clues make sense. Why go through all the trouble filming a horse galloping around with a prosthetic horn if it wasn't supposed to mean something? Why the origami unicorn? It is because it represents a controlled memory. And the Director's cut ending fit perfectly with the rest of the movie, did it not? The happy ending just felt so out of place it was obvious that Scott didn't get final cut. I'm seriously thinking that Blade Runner would have done better in the theaters if it was released as it should have been.
But hey...I do agree that the theatrical version should also be released simply because so many people want it so bad. Even if I feel it's an inferior version, I don't like the idea of good movies not existing on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Give Us a Break!, June 25 2004
By 
Steven L. Kimmell (Bradenton, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Give us a break! You can see any film several times over and read more into it than really exist. Maybe the theater release version of "Blade Runner" might not have been the original story that Ridley Scott wanted but what movie is?
So many people are claiming that Deckard (Harrison Ford) is a replicant. Well, if you want to rewrite the story then be my guest. Considering that Tyrell, who created these replicants, pointed out to Deckard that: "Rachael is an experiment. Nothing more."
Now, how can Deckard not know that he is not a replicant if he was around way before Rachael even existed? You are making Deckard a very far advance replicant compare to the others including Rachael.
I am watching the DVD version of Blade Runner at the same time I am typing this letter. Memories are the main factor here. The previous versions of replicant do not have memories of their childhood like Deckard does. Rachael is an experiment. She the first replicant to have memories! Now, why would Tyrell, knowing that Deckard is an replicant lie about Rachael? Tyrell didn't lie to Roy right before Roy killed him so why would Tyrell lie to Deckard?
I don't want to remove the uncut version I would just like to see the original be release on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blade Runner Final Cut (Bilingual)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews