Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's about time we had some stability around here."
This film received 11 Oscar Nominations back in 1985, won none of them(Shame on you, Academy voters!), and really should have won Best Picture over "Out of Africa." Whoopi Goldberg never got another role like this one, showing her incredible and untapped acting talent by way of Steven Spielberg's inspired and altogether ambitious direction. Mr. Spielberg was not even...
Published on July 13 2004 by D. Knouse

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I was disappointed that it is recorded on both side of this one DVD disc. However the picture is clear.
As I mentionned above, I thought it would have been 2 discs DVD, not just one. The picture is clean. I don't know if this is a trend, but this is the first time that I received a long movie recorded on both side of the discs.
Published 2 months ago by hpv


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's about time we had some stability around here.", July 13 2004
By 
D. Knouse (vancouver, washington United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film received 11 Oscar Nominations back in 1985, won none of them(Shame on you, Academy voters!), and really should have won Best Picture over "Out of Africa." Whoopi Goldberg never got another role like this one, showing her incredible and untapped acting talent by way of Steven Spielberg's inspired and altogether ambitious direction. Mr. Spielberg was not even nominated for Best Director(Shame on you, Academy voters!). It was great to hear that he did win the Director's Guild Award(handed out by his peers), but this horrible oversight still needles me to this day. Back to the acting. Oprah Winfrey was given an Oscar nomination, as was Margaret Avery, but there are so many stunning performances here from the entire cast that pointing out any standout performances is nearly impossible. There is also some clever film editing(certainly the most under-rated facet of filmmaking), that keeps the film constantly fresh and the story moving forward with some fantastic cinematography. The only thing that breaks the continuity is that the character "Celie" is played by two different actresses, while her sister "Nettie" is played by a single actress both at a young age and when she is older. It is really a small discrepancy given that both actresses that play "Celie" are excellent(in particular, Whoopi Goldberg). For those who know only Whoopi's fairly lame films like "Burglar," I guarantee you will be pleasantly surprised by her amazing work here. There are many moments in the film that are so genuinely touching and heartfelt that by the end of the final scene I suddenly realized that it never felt so good to cry. This is easily one of my favorite "Spielberg" films. Everything about this movie is gorgeous! Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
watched it several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Color pirple, June 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Color Purple (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love the show when it first came out & love more now i own it so thanks for letting me buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars movie, May 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Color Purple (Bilingual) (DVD)
Wonderful and I have to watch it again asap. Whoopie is amazingly talented and this character was a grabber. I totally enjoyed it. Why didn't I watch it sooner!!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I was disappointed that it is recorded on both side of this one DVD disc. However the picture is clear., April 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Color Purple (Bilingual) (DVD)
As I mentionned above, I thought it would have been 2 discs DVD, not just one. The picture is clean. I don't know if this is a trend, but this is the first time that I received a long movie recorded on both side of the discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quel beau film!, March 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ce film de Spielberg est selon moi un de ses meilleurs et la prestation des acteurs excellente. J'avais vu ce film il y a bien des années et ce fut un pur plaisir de le visionner à nouveau.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all time greatest film achievements, Nov. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Color Purple [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
This movie is incredible no matter how many times I watch it, it is so moving, so brilliant I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars souvenir d'enfance, May 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ce film est un souvenir d'enfance que je me devais d'avoir. Je pourrrais qui sait le partager avec ma famille. De plus cette histoire montre bien le portrait cliché et tabou qui existe dans la communauté noire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite movies, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My mother really loves it and both fried green tomatoes and the colour purple are her two favourite movies she could just sit there and watch them over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies ever!, Nov. 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are not many movies with an all African-American cast. It just shows great talent and makes the viewer have very strong emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Color Purple [Blu-ray] [Import]
CDN$ 27.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews