Customer Reviews
10


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The Hendoistic '70s at its Funniest!
Blake Edward's film "10" is probably among one of the funniest movies to come out of the 1970's.It is both a celebration and condemnation of the sexual antics (post pill/pre-aids)of our society during the "Me Decade".In the story, Dudley Moore (in one of his best roles)plays George Webber, a Burt Bachrach style composer, who seems to have everything including wealth,...
Published on Sept. 4 2002 by Kenneth M. Gelwasser

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One of THE definitive sex comedies of our time
The late Dudley Moore plays George Webber; a famed playwright, songwriter and multiple Oscar winner who has success practically oozing out of his ears. But one day while out for a drive he spies a gorgeous blonde (Who else but Bo Derek?) en route to her wedding, so he follows her to the church and predictably makes a fool out of himself. Undetered by this setback, George...
Published on May 12 2003 by BD Ashley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars One of THE definitive sex comedies of our time, May 12 2003
By 
BD Ashley "vidiot_y2k" (Otago, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
The late Dudley Moore plays George Webber; a famed playwright, songwriter and multiple Oscar winner who has success practically oozing out of his ears. But one day while out for a drive he spies a gorgeous blonde (Who else but Bo Derek?) en route to her wedding, so he follows her to the church and predictably makes a fool out of himself. Undetered by this setback, George embarks on an obsessive quest for this beautiful woman; thus placing further strain on his relationship with his girlfriend, played by Julie "Goody Two Shoes" Andrews; which already isn't helped by George's voyeuristic spying on his permanently randy Exhibitionist neighbours through a telescope.
Special highlights include the hilarious aftermath of George's first visit to a dentist in years, and of course Bo Derek in THAT swimsuit massaging suntan oil all over her thighs. She's enough to make any red-blooded male's saliva congeal to thick foamy goop. She definitely gets a "10". The story isn't that great, but in terms of laughs the movie delivers. This may be Blake Edwards' funniest movie since A SHOT IN THE DARK. Well worth a look, though it wouldn't surprise me in the least if in the name of Political Correctness and "cultural sensitivity" this movie gets retitled "Teko" (Maori for "10") in NZ in the near future. It's a strange country I live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Hendoistic '70s at its Funniest!, Sept. 4 2002
By 
This review is from: 10 (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
Blake Edward's film "10" is probably among one of the funniest movies to come out of the 1970's.It is both a celebration and condemnation of the sexual antics (post pill/pre-aids)of our society during the "Me Decade".In the story, Dudley Moore (in one of his best roles)plays George Webber, a Burt Bachrach style composer, who seems to have everything including wealth, fame, talent and a wonderful girlfriend (marvelously played by Julie Andrews). Unfortunately George has just celebrated his 42nd birthday and is having a huge mid-life crisis.He does this by fixating on a just married beauty(played by the ravishing Bo Derek)who is the "10" of the film's title.George, hilariously chases her down to a Mexican vacation resort, where he learns the lesson, that one must be careful, what one wishes for.The "10" might be a beautiful girl, but she is ultimately an empty person, who lives for nothing more then self-gratification. This is a really funny movie farce that seems to give us a little of everything.The scenes of physical slapstick probably can only be rivaled by Blake's own "Pink Panther" movies.The dialogue is witty and delivered with the best of comic timing.But what ultimately makes this movie is the performances by Dudley Moore and Julie Andrews.Both actors play their characters with both heart and emotion. These two have such a wonderful chemistry together (even when they are fighting) that you wonder how Moore's character can even have such an idiotic mid-life crisis.Finally, I must mention the movie's funniest scene and it's use use of Ravel's 'Bolero'. In the scene, Moore tries to seduce the beautiful Derek, who infuriatingly insists, that he keep re-starting the "mood music". Never has a piece of classical music been put to such comic effect.It led to the real life '70s fad of using 'Bolero'as "make-out music". This is a really a funny movie that will provide you with a great night of comic entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant little outing for Dudley Moore and Bo Derek, April 3 2002
By 
Junglies (Morrisville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 10 (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
Buying this DVD shortly after the unfortunate demise of Dudley Moore brings home how little of the artists work is currently available on DVD and CD.
Growing up in England in the 1960s in England it was hard to miss the revolution that was taking place in comedy as well as in other areas of the arts. Dudley Moore was an integral part of that revolution along with his friend and colleague Peter Cook. Sadly much of their recorded output is no longer available. Even sadder is the growing number of those performers who were part of that revolution who are no longer with us.
10 is the story of a wealthy composer who has everything that money can buy and a long-suffering girlfriend played by Julie Andrews who has a mind of her own.
Moore sees Derek, in her first starring role, and pursues her through a series of misunderstandings from the moment he first sees her on her way to a wedding to finally being alone with her in her hotel room where he discovers her to be a hedonist only seeking self-gratification.
The movie is notable for the consideable degree of nudity and for it's moralising on the relaxed social attitudes, if in fact there were any, following on from the nineteen sixties social revolution. There is a moralising tone throughout as we follow Dudley's escapades and although there are a number of humourous situations it is hard to tell whether it was intended as a comedy or whether there was a more dramatic intent.
It is nevertheless a warm nice movie and in some ways is more representative of Dudley Moore the person than his other silver screen appearances. Bo Derek gives a faultless performance as the pleasure seeking girl but that is all her role is limited to. Julie Andrews will forever remain to me the way she was in the Sound of Nusic and that is all I can say about it.
This DVD is a pleasant way to remember Dudley Moore. He would be better remembered if his catalogue of films and music were once again to be made available for public pleasure and enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cast Gets a "10" But Director Blake Edwards and DVD Stumble!, Oct. 2 2000
This review is from: 10 (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
After viewing "10" on VHS, our family purchased the DVD specifically to determine the noise decibal reading on that old woman passing gas, and to hear Dudley Moore play the piano (not necessarily in that order). In addition, I secretly wanted a better glimpse of those butt naked "9's" that (Peeping Tom) Dudley had located via telescope. Although sometimes heralded as a "mindless comedy", any movie featuring the exploits of an uninhibited Dudley Moore character (especially one going through a mid life crisis) is bound to have some priceless moments. Moore provides delightful hysterics, especially as a pick up artist with a novocain-numbed mouth at the local coffee shop. His less than tragic slide down a hillside, and then scampering back up to catch his wife's (the incomparable Julie Andrews) telephone call (before the emergence of cell phones) is a classic among classic scenes! But the luster fades as this film moves along, and we are left with just one obvious and bittersweet conclusion: Only the pairing of Moore and Andrews as husband and wife allows the film to reach marginal success. Bo Derek is beautiful, provacative, enchanting, and a genuine "10" for the role, but her presence is just icing on the cake. For those of you still wondering about the noise meter level: The sound didn't even register. For a while, we thought maybe the woman had recently passed, and was just a ghost or apparition. Then I went back and read the "technical details" section on amazon.com, only to discover that DVD sound quality was rated a microscopic 1.5! I will always read technical details BEFORE purchasing the DVD when this situation arises again in the future. ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Skin Deep, Sept. 6 1999
By 
Peter Letheby (Adelaide, South Australia Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 10 (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
Dudley Moore showed us what he can do when given a good script and strong support. With Julie Andrews as his on-again off-again love interest, Moore creates a believable, if not entirely sympathetic, character: George Webber. George is unsure of himself - after all, turning 42 does do something to a man's self-esteem; in his case he becomes obsessed with Jenny (Bo Derek), a fleeting vision of perfection (11 on a scale of 1 to 10). Giving way to his baser impulses George (unwittingly) becomes sexually entangled with Derek, but realises that lust is a castle of sand.
Blake Edwards draws George as a rather shallow individual, prone to voyeurism and egocentricity - but who, in his quest for perfection, gives the viewer a hint of our own moral eccentricities. The writing is especially strong in the film's second half as George agonises over his lack of direction and moral compass. His rebuke of Jenny - decrying her amorality after their illicit consummation - is the film's highlight; stinging, yet poignant.
Dudley Moore, for once, played a seriocomic figure with maturity and humanity, traits not evident in subsequent films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars "Arthur"-ian realism.... funny but dissapointing, May 4 2000
This review is from: 10 (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
title- funny, but dissapointing
Although Dudley Moore was a funny and talented actor...it seems that he is playing a sober Arthur here. He's just a lot hornier.
It could be said that in this film, Moore represents the common man obsessed with the "perfect" woman... That's just not conveyed here. And Bo Derek just isn't my taste in women anyway.
I thought this film, with it's shrug-your-shoulders "eh, so what?" plot, really wasn't anything special. It wasn't bad, but not great. It's funny, but it's almost exactly the same film as "Woman in Red" with Gene Wilder. Both films are equally boring.
MY HONEST ADVICE: If you want to see a great Dudley Moore film, see "Arthur". His comedy style is personified there.
If you want to see Bo Derek, go out an rent a swimsuit video of her or something. I'm not being sarcastic. It's not worth seeing this film if you're seeing it just because you think Bo Derek is hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars for Dudley and Julie, April 25 2000
By 
William T. Parnell (Sherman, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
In 10, Dudley Moore gives a five star performance on two fronts as both a comic and music genius. Film fans may be unaware that Moore scored several films and performed as a concert pianist in his career in addition to his acting talents.
Moore plays a fortyish songwriter who has developed the mother of all mid-life crisis's. Julie Andrews (who looks fantastic here BTW) shines as his impatient love interest and Bo Derek is lovely as Dudley's fantasy girl. Brian Dennehy and Dee Wallace-Stone are very good in supporting roles.
The DVD transfer is good especially for a film that has a little age. The sound is mono only which is disappointing but understandable. This is one of Blake Edwards best films and a must see for fans of romantic comedy. It is sad and sobering to realize that both Moore's and Andrew's gifts have been diminished by illness. Grab this DVD and take time to remember how really talented they both are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mid Life Crisis Comedy or Comedic Prophecy ?, Dec 25 2003
By 
Mark A. Smiddy (Benton, Kentucky United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
At the time the film was made it was simply a truly funny film about male mid life crisis. Bo started a craze with both men and women with her cornrow hairstyle and perfect body and Moore became everyman. What's most telling to me about the film isn't so much what it had to say about the time in which it was filmed, but rather, how much truth the film still reveals today. It's been twenty years since it's release and western men and women are still obssessed with youth, beauty and physical perfection, as if possessing these traits either ourselves or in our mates, we will somehow possess the key that unlocks the door to sexual, spiritual, and emotional bliss. Moore's character learned his lesson...too bad society as a whole is still stumbling down the beach in pursuit of a fantasy "10" that never exsisted in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dated and Overrated!, Sept. 28 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ten (VHS Tape)
I saw 10 for the first time in a theater and this movie had it's moments so that's the only reason I'm giving it 2 stars instead of 1, but I have to agree with the guy who said it gets tiresome after awhile. It was ok when I first saw it but after watching it again I found it to be a dull movie that had a few funny moments! I like Dudley Moore, Julie Andrews and Blake Edwards, but this movie now seems dated. It's about a middle-aged man who has a nice caring girlfriend but during a mid life crisis chases after a young bimbo and I feel that this movie is dated and overrated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not 70s, Sept. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 10 (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
This is a good movie but ignore those who say it is some movie that started a trend in the 70s, this movie came out in the last 6 months of the 1970s, way too late for it to have started any trend, it is best actually seen as a prelude to the 1980s rash of sex comedies. Moore is very funny in this and does a good job, but the director is clearly mostly interested in Derek's body, so the comedy suffers a little bit. Still, not bad at all. This like the later Arthur are both under-rated now though they were over-rated at the time they came out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

10
10 by Blake Edwards (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews