Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Mark me well - I will tell you, sir!"
Yes, 'Camelot' is a flawed movie, but a MAGICAL one, nonetheless. It is too long, and Franco Nero's dubbed singing voice as 'Lancelot' is laughable, and YET! Yet, we have RICHARD HARRIS, so perfect as the failing King Arthur, Vanessa Redgrave, never lovelier than in her role as the torn Guinavere, and David Hemmings, a dastardly 'mod' Mordred reeking havoc on the...
Published on July 13 2000 by Amanda HALE

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Widescreen version best available
As with CAROUSEL, not many people liked the film version of CAMELOT. There were some superb actors in the cast, but only competent acting. The singing - in a "natural" style - toned down the grand tragedy aspect and as much confused audiences as alienated them. On initial viewing, the story and the songs are moving and impressive, but this is not a film...
Published on March 16 1999 by A. Andersen


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A good movie, but somewhat long, March 28 2000
By 
Amazon Customer (Hoosick Falls, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Camelot (VHS Tape)
This was a good movie, but at times it became long and tedious, and the watcher just sits there wondering when it will be over. The characters were very appealing, however, and you can connect with them. It is a good telling of the traditional Arthur story, though, I think, and I would definitely recommend it to people who enjoy the legends. Peace out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but enjoyable version, Dec 11 2002
By 
Stephen J. Teller (Pittsburg, KS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camelot (Special Edition) (DVD)
This is a very well done version of the Arthurian legends, and despite the fact that it has bad choreograhy, DESPITE the fact Franco Nero's acting is sub Ed Wood, and DESPITE the fact it IS a little long, it STILL has quite a few good moments, and as a whole is a good film for the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I was displeased with this film, April 27 1999
By 
Shane J. (Nashville,TN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Camelot (VHS Tape)
I prefer fiction. I wanted something to do with the sword. I mean come on, were talking about excalibur here! The greatest sword there ever was. I prefer either a mystical movie such as Legend, or an action movie like DieHard. That's what I thought about it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT MUSICAL AND LOVE STORY, Jan. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
WHAT A GREAT MOVIE. THE MUSIC, THE STORY AND THE ACTING IS VERY MEMORABLE. THEY DON'T MAKE MOVIES LIKE THIS ANYMORE AND THAT IS A SHAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful musical!, Dec 8 2001
This review is from: Camelot (VHS Tape)
I highly recommend this movie musical of "Camelot." It is a very beautiful story, with wonderful songs and costumes. I'd give it more stars if I could. It's a beautiful love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Bright, Aug. 2 2001
By 
"ktcym" (Kent, Washington United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Camelot (VHS Tape)
If I'd reviewed this a few years ago, I would have given it a 3 instead of 5, but over time, it's grown on me, and is now one of my favorite cinematic tellings of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Richard Harris IS King Richard., Jan. 5 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Camelot (VHS Tape)
This is a beautifully moving film. Wonderful music. Worth the price just to see/hear Richard as he confronts his wife's betrayal with his beloved Lancelot. Great scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Aug. 2 2009
By 
Musical Fan (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Camelot (Special Edition) (DVD)
Beautiful movie - great music - great color photography - great scenery and re-creation of the period - great story! Wonderful experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Oct. 13 2014
By 
Island man (Mayne Island, B.C., CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camelot (DVD)
good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ugh!!!!!, July 7 2004
By 
Nicholas A. Ziinojr (ridge, new york United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camelot (Special Edition) (DVD)
This is the worst movie musical ever made.It's hard to believe
that this piece of junk was made by the same producer who did
the magnificent "My Fair Lady".I've read that Jack Warner spent
$18 million on the production.Yes,it looks good.But the script
is terrible-not that the show was great,anyway.And the entire
cast overacts badly.One critic called it "an appalling film with
only good orchestrations to recommend it".Well,he's right.At
least Alfred Newman and Ken Darby did a great job with the score.
Their work makes the soundtrack listenable.Other than that,a poor
script,atrocious direction(Vincente Minnelli and George Cukor
weren't available???),and SEVERE MISCASTING add up to a complete
misfire.Forget it-listen to the soundtrack CD or the Broadway
cast album and watch "My Fair Lady " or "Gigi" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Camelot (Sous-titres franais)
Camelot (Sous-titres franais) by Richard Harris (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 18.70 CDN$ 16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews