Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Classic
This video DVD is a have to own classic. Although the story is disturbing the acting is absolutely marvellous. I recommend this to watch many times, so well worth the price.
Published 4 months ago by Becky Dailey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad Sad Story
My initial response to this film was total shock. I was amazed at the method of communication between the two. They are two miserable individuals who have become comfortable in a total failure of a marriage. The hate each other but are afraid to be apart. They have created a an imaginary child as a glue to somehow keep the marriage in tact ( the child being the sole...
Published on April 26 2001 by Gloria Menifee


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad Sad Story, April 26 2001
By 
My initial response to this film was total shock. I was amazed at the method of communication between the two. They are two miserable individuals who have become comfortable in a total failure of a marriage. The hate each other but are afraid to be apart. They have created a an imaginary child as a glue to somehow keep the marriage in tact ( the child being the sole reason for them to stay together). Unfortunate for both Martha and George, she shares with Honey, their young guest, the most sacred and fantical part of their marriage - the baby. She allowed someone else into their fantasy. This was the beginning of the end of their illusions. When George "killed" the baby, he infact, killed what was holding their marriage together... or did he? I felt very sad for the both of them. They represent to me, two miserable people are afraid of life and living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Classic, Dec 2 2013
By 
Becky Dailey "Bennet lover" (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This video DVD is a have to own classic. Although the story is disturbing the acting is absolutely marvellous. I recommend this to watch many times, so well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All time favourite, Feb. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who's Afraid Of Virginia Woolf? (DVD)
I used to have to try to catch this incredible movie on the late night movies on Saturday night. Now I actually own it! A stellar performance that will keep you riveted to your seat no matter how may times you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful movie that will grab you!, June 8 2004
I saw this movie with my parents and let me tell you...this movie really grabbed me into being part of the story, part of the movie! Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton play exceptionally well! I couldn't help but drop my jaw on their powerful performances between eachother. They made me want to further
become a great actor. This a great movie for anyone who wants to be a
successful actor, director, or anything else that goes with movies. Teenagers (like myself) should see this kind of movie that really makes you think about life and just overall observe the movie and be touched. Nowadays, as other reviews here have said which I totally agree is that many people just watch non-thinkable trash movies. This is a masterpeice which everyone should love! When the movie will be over, it will literally take days to talk about the ending...because it is THAT good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic movie!, Oct. 17 2011
By 
Amazon User - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the classic movie of the love-hate dynamics in this marriage from hell! Even though they spend the whole movie at each other's throats, it is painfully obvious that they love and understand each other as well. Good story, although very dated...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Un Succès manqué, Oct. 10 2011
By 
Stephen John Vogel (Manhattan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who's Afraid Of Virginia Woolf? (DVD)
Songeons un peu à la distribution souhaitée par Edward Albee, l'auteur de la pièce, avant que les Warner Brothers ne l'aient transformée en film. Dans le rôle de George, il a voulu voir James Mason. Dans celui de Martha, l'incomparable Bette Davis. Certes, une distribution de rêve.

Mais au lieu de cela, on a eu droit au couple Taylor-Burton, alors au sommet de leur renommée parfois scandaleuse, et un moyen sûr d'obtenir de bons résultats au box office. Parfois, ça a donné aussi de bons résultats artistiques, parfois pas. Ici, je trouve les résultats mixtes.

Burton incarne à merveille George, prof un tantinet ringard mais sournois et plein de lucidité, capable de se défendre au besoin des assauts verbaux, et parfois même physiques, de sa femme. Taylor a moins de succès à jouer Marthe, cette femme parfois caline, parfois violente, et dévouée malgré tout à un mari dont elle n'a cesse de bafouer, tant elle est déçue de sa manque d'ambition et de réussite dans le monde académique. C'est un rôle complexe qui dépasse les talents de Taylor à l'époque du film. Elle avaient presque 20 ans de moins que son personnage et avait du mal à cacher sa fabuleuse beauté physique, qui pour la première fois dans sa carrière ne lui était d'aucune utilité et consituait même un certain désavantage pour jouer ce rôle. (Cela aurait été un rôle en or pour la Davis, qui avait alors tous les atouts pour jouer Martha à la perfection.)

Dans l'ensemble, le film est très bien fait. Le réalisation de Mike Nichols (ce film marquait ses débuts au cinéma) est remarquable de tout point de vue. George Segal, et surtout Sandy Dennis, jouaient les rôles sécondaires avec une parfaite maîtrise de tous les aspects divers de leurs personnages. Le scénario, lorsqu'il ne s'écarte pas trop de la pièce d'Albee, est excellent.

Ne serait-ce que pour une Liz Taylor pas faite pour son rôle, ce film serait un succès. (Il lui a pourtant valu un Oscar. J'accepte de tenir un avis minoritaire quant à elle dans ce rôle.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Atomic Bomb in Your Living Room, July 7 2004
By 
Brennon A. Slattery (Somerville, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The title of this film is derived from the classic childhood rhyme, "Who's Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf?" and is used to illustrate the immaturity of the characters and the fright of confrontation. The addition of "Virginia Woolf" into the title is not only a play on words, but a reference to the author's suicide - basically, the question asked is: who's afraid of going insane?
Apparently everybody. "Woolf" is an emotional roller-coaster of a film. The premise is simple: Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor are husband and wife. Burton is a somewhat washed up University professor, and Taylor is the University president's daughter. They invite the new math professor and his squeaky, drunkard wife over for a few glasses, which quickly turns into a few bottles, which leads to an escalated, violent verbal assault on everything the four characters hold dear.
Egos are shattered. Relationships are ruined. Children are murdered. By the end of the film, the actors sulk away to their dark corners, exhausted and fragile. The same happens to the audience. If there ever was a "draining" film, this one is it. You feel like you just watched your parents fight for a whole evening. You physically feel tired, upset, angry, sad ... just about every emotion exercised in the film is exercised on your well-being.
"Woolf" is based on a play by Edward Albee, which takes place in the living room. Mike Nichols, in his stunning directorial debut, ventures only a few places other than the living room, knowing full-well that the powerhouse performances by Taylor and Burton especially (as well as the most convincing drunk ever played by Sandy Dennis) will keep the audience captivated. All dialogue in this film, save for two or three lines, are directly taken from the play. Albee said the added lines were "all garbage" - but you won't notice.
This is arguably Nichols best film, and yes, I am including "The Graduate." The cinematography (glorious black & white by Haskell Wexler, who provides commentary on the DVD), the performances, the violence, the suspense, the mind-bender at the end ... everything about this film is absolutely perfect.
Note that this isn't just a marriage disaster film, and there's a great deal of intelligent humor involved. This film also broke censorship standards, with the passionate involvement of the then-married Taylor and Burton, and featured the very first "goddamn" every uttered. Without "Woolf," the perfect TV sitcom family would still exist today. Now deviant relationships in shaky households has become the norm for modern films.
Burton was shafted again by the Academy for this film, but Taylor won a much-deserved statuette, in what is called her best performance.
Check it out. You will not forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mike Nichols made his masterpiece with this one!, June 23 2004
By 
Hiram Gomez Pardo (Valencia, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to make a hazardous statement and I really hope you to think carefully about the fact that somehow, Mike Nichols and Artur Penn were two american film makers powerful influenced by European directors.
If you agree with this , I would say that Mike Nichols has had a clear influence in his first stage of his brilliant career of Ingmar Bergman. Think for instance in three excellent future films of Nichols (Four easy pieces , Carnal knowledge and Black widow)
This long introduction is necessary for understand the weird presence of a dark and even bitter film like Who's afraid...
The film undoubtly has deep roots related with two important films of the swedish director like The silence and The hour of the wolf.
This comment doesn't deserve a bit about the great level of this magnificent picture.
First at all, watch for the resource economy . The film runs at night hours and with two locations .
Two very different couples, one of them extremely young almost teenagers , and in the other side a midle aged marriage. He's a patetic man , extremely weak character (Richard Burton) and she is the unsatisfied woman , and domains the relationship in every little detail.
The meeting with this young couple will allow to Elizabeth Taylor exhibit her monumental skills for acting and give a tour de force performance , that became in her well deserved Second Academy Award.
The script is extraordinary. The dialogues are pregnant of crude realism , the horror, the multiple facets of a woman who has kept in silence so many dissapointments , the countless consequences as result of a poor comunication , the anguish of her about knowing and being the axis of the relationship.
And this is the ocassion for her to eject her most hidden thoughts ; she exploits like a earthquake , literally without a drop of prudence with all the violence that you can imagine and even more , the past phantoms emerge from the deepest dark shadows of her soul .
The hopeless, the loneliness , the sense of going nowhere and however not be able to separate instead the inferno in which she lives.
All this micro universe exploits before us and you feel its impact and the tragedy.
That film is a challenge for any director in any age, but Nichols is a master who besides had the presence of these two giants actors as Taylor and Burton. The house and the garden are the silent background in which this disgraced marriage reveals its intimacies before the young marriage.
You'll be disturbed but plenty of admiration by this splendid work .
A timeless masterpiece .
(With this film Nichols became the first director to reach the one million dollars by this picture.)
Excellent transfer to DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless. All the way through., May 21 2004
There are only a few movies one get to see where a 10 out of 10 is really warranted after you've seen the film several times. It's easy to jump to conclusions shouting "This is the best I've ever seen" just after seeing one particular film. This one, however, is my fave movie, and I've seen a lot of both contemporary and old movies. Countless viewings after my initial, I still stand tall and proclaim this to be the best drama ever made.
Martha's and George's relationship is that of a long married couple who have grown weary of each other. Yet they cannot leave each other, it's the only life they know. It's the only reality they've set for themselves and they dare not get out. The fights and arguments are, at the end of the day, worth the trouble of keeping your identity, your everyday life, your grasp of reality.
The cast, all four of them, are meticulous in their performances. They complete each others presence, nurture the rivalry, fill the gaps and most importantly-delivers to the maximum of their potential.
Watching this is more like seeing it performed on stage than in a theatre or on your TV in your home. Early on, you get the feeling all is not well between George & Martha, and as the guests arrive, the story is just about
to begin. The presence of the characters adds to the overall authenticicty of the story and the parts they play. It's a clichee, but I know many plays of "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf" has been set up: none can match the original.
If Citizen Kane is regarded as the best story ever told on the screen, this has to run very, very close.
In a heart-beat, I will give this 10 out of 10. That is saying A LOT, because I am a ferociously discriminating b***ard when it comes to movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get Ready to Be DEPRESSED!, May 5 2004
By 
Daniel E. Miller (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've only got a few things to say about this movie: BEAUTIFULLY ACTED, AMAZINGLY CRAFTED & DON'T EXPECT TO BE HAPPY AFTER SEEING IT!!!
This movie is amazing in every sense. The script is fabulous and the actors couldn't have done anything better with this movie. Liz Taylor was absolutely "the limit" with this role - her best one ever. Richard Burton was marvelous, too - he played the downtrodden husband better than anyone could hope for.
The basic guts of this movie are that Liz and Richard invite a young couple over to have dinner and drinks but PLAY WITH THEIR MINDS throughout the entire show. You have to watch the movie to understand the level of this ugly game that they are imposing on their guests. To put it plainly, this movie is a mind f***.
Beware ye, all extremely sensitive viewers, you may watch this movie and be depressed for a few days straight! That's not a joke - it has a tremendous effect on all who watch it.
This movie should be seen just for the fabulous performances of the actors. See it and be depressed, weep, WHATEVER!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaff56c48)

This product

Who's Afraid Of Virginia Woolf?
CDN$ 10.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews