Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur C. Clarke Fans Rejoice....
What can I say? The book is always better than the movie. However, the movie does not have to be worse than the book. It can be different. This is the case with this movie. 2001 was a watershed in many ways in terms of science fiction both in book and film form. Either movie can stand on its own merits and terms. If you are a fan, watch both of them back to back. I don't...
Published on May 1 2009 by Nick B.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not 2001, but interesting and enjoyable
This is not on the same level as 2001... but it is a good film for those who were mystified by 2001, since it answers some of the questions posed by the first film very nicely. Unfortunately, the silly cosmic greeting card from Europa at the end of the film is a major disappointment and the casting of an overly emotional Roy Scheider instead of William Sylvester (who...
Published on March 28 2004 by classicmoviefan


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur C. Clarke Fans Rejoice...., May 1 2009
By 
Nick B. (Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
What can I say? The book is always better than the movie. However, the movie does not have to be worse than the book. It can be different. This is the case with this movie. 2001 was a watershed in many ways in terms of science fiction both in book and film form. Either movie can stand on its own merits and terms. If you are a fan, watch both of them back to back. I don't know if anyone has the energy or desire to do it, but it would be fantastic if the rest of the books were turned into movies as well as the story does not end with 2010. Buy the books that continue the story to its conclusion and for that matter, buy the whole set and read them. They are well worth it. Arthur C. Clarke is one of my favourite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive!, March 17 2014
By 
Tom Turvey "Priscilla Turvey" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2010: The Year We Make Contact [Import] (DVD)
Classic even though it wasn't also done by Kubric like 2001 was. They did it justice in making it flow well and not seem incredibly out of place in the film series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2010 we make contact, Feb. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A PERFECT FINAL STORY AFTER 2001 A SPACE ODYSSEY, VERY CLASSY STORY COMPLETING THE 2001 MOVIE,

YOU MUST FIRST SEE 2001 A SPACE ODYSSEY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great classic, Jan. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Had to complete the set. Can't have 2001 without 2010 now can you?

Also looks great at 1080p.

Don't make movies like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2010: The Year We Make Contact, Oct. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I don't know how many times I have seen this movie and it never gets old. Very well made and the movie itself moves along at a good pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jupiter and Beyond..., Jan. 4 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Was there ever a film that needed a sequel less than 2001: A Space Odyssey? If any movie had ever defied sequel making, it was the original 2001. It is impossible to talk about 2010 without mentioning Stanley Kubrick and the groundbreaking film that started it all. With that in mind, 2010 is still an excellent science fiction film, intelligent and exciting, while feeling miles away from the original.

Dr. Heywood Floyd (the late Roy Scheider) has taken the fall for the disasters in 2001. The supercomputer H.A.L. 9000 (Douglas Rain) has failed and Dr. David Bowman (Keir Dullea) has disappeared and is presumed dead. Four astronauts have been killed by H.A.L. and nobody knows why. The Discovery is in orbit around Jupiter and the Americans plan on sending a team there to find out just what happened. Problem: The orbit is mysteriously decaying, and the Russians will get there first. Floyd has been offered a ride on the Russian ship, the Alexei Leonov, to help in their mission.

The premise itself shows us that the universe has changed. Politics were inconsequential in the first film, but by 2010 the Soviets are deep into a cold war with the Americans, and the war threatens to go nuclear at any time. The president's finger is literally on the button. Dr. Floyd, however, needs to go to Discovery and find out just what happened for his own sake. Along for the ride are Dr. Chandra (Bob Balaban), the creator of H.A.L., and Curnow (John Lithgow), the man who built Discovery and can reactivate it. The Russian crew, portrayed excellently by mostly Russian actors for authenticity, are distrustful of the Americans. Their commander, played by Helen Mirren, is also an officer of the Russian air force and finds her loyalties tested when Dr. Floyd tells her that they must leave Jupiter in just two days.

In a haunting turn of events, David Bowman has returned, or at least something that refers to itself as having once been David Bowman. Keir Dullea, not looking a day older even though nearly 20 years have passed, is eerie in his portrayal of Bowman. It is he that has given Dr. Floyd the warning that they must leave in two days, but with no explanation other than "something is going to happen. Something wonderful."

Cameos by Arthur C. Clarke and (sort of) Kubrick himself act as a nod and a wink to fans. Also look for the late Natasha Schneider from Queens Of The Stone Age and Eleven when she was young.

Arthur C. Clarke's novel, an essential companion piece, includes much more detail, but this film as directed by Peter Hyams is a suitable sequel for the sci-fi fan. Such science as "aerobraking" is shown on screen, and the possibility of life on Europa is explored. All this is done with the unfortunate use of space sound effects, a cliche which the first film avoided studiously. Also dropped from the first film is the soundtrack of classical music, replaced by a film score. And, finally, we get to see what life on Earth in 2010 actually looks like! (Not quite like the real thing, sadly!)

In an effort to "explain" all the mysteries of 2001, 2010 succeeds by leaving enough to the imagination. The monoliths and the beings behind them are never fully explained. There are many questions left behind, thus far only explored in the pages of Clarke's novels. (Tom Hanks once wanted to make a film version of 3001: Final Odyssey but that idea, thankfully, is dead.) This movie could have been a disaster in many ways, but fortunately was not. While nothing can ever equal or top 2001, or come even close to breaking the ground that it did, this film serves as a satisfying coda and it is good to watch them both together.

DVD contains a decent documentary called "2010: The Odyssey Continues".

4 stars. If this were any other sci-fi film franchise, it would have been 5. But when comparing to the original, nothing could be equal to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not 2001, but interesting and enjoyable, March 28 2004
By 
classicmoviefan (Rancho Mirage, CA) - See all my reviews
This is not on the same level as 2001... but it is a good film for those who were mystified by 2001, since it answers some of the questions posed by the first film very nicely. Unfortunately, the silly cosmic greeting card from Europa at the end of the film is a major disappointment and the casting of an overly emotional Roy Scheider instead of William Sylvester (who played Heywood Floyd in 2001) was a major miscast in my opinion. William would have played the role with more "cool" and "control" as an authentic scientist-astronaut would have really been for such a mission. Still, the effects and visuals are good and the film is enjoyable. Keir looks great as Bowman and the metaphysical touches are interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No classic, but still very good, Feb. 5 2004
Obviously, this movie does not compare to 2001: A Space Odyssey. But I still greatly enjoyed it. It is better than the average movie. The movie has some very tense scenes and has some nice shots of Jupiter. I would give in ***1/2 stars out of four. Especially good for readers of the book. A very good movie!
(I just wrote a big, long review for 2001, so I'm too wiped out to write a good one for this one.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WELL-CRAFTED SEQUEL TO "2001: a space odyssey"!, Oct. 17 2001
By 
Steven Hancock (Winston Salem, NC United States) - See all my reviews
The visual effects are awesome. The storyline, although totally fictional, is exciting and dramatic. The acting is superb! The way that Peter Hyams envisioned the adaptation of Arthur C. Clarke's bestselling novel (which was written very well, and meant to be a sequel to both the novel AND the movie "2001: a space odyssey") is very unique, incorporating a possible nuclear war and re-working the ending to make this movie more exciting. The incredible film is, in my opinion, far superior to 2001. The DVD is interesting. It is well worth the price. Grade: A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my opinion, better than 2001!, Sept. 5 2001
By 
SharpX13 "Jeremy" (Warwick, NY United States) - See all my reviews
theres a differnce between a movie being memorable and being entertaining. 2001 was a landmark in film history but it puts you right to sleep at times! the sequel has a fast paced story and a very enetaining plot. Of coarse critics would say 2001 is soo much better but dont listen to what critics say, watch what you think is intersting and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb42b9f48)

This product

2010: The Year We Make Contact [Import]
2010: The Year We Make Contact [Import] by Peter Hyams (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 6.62
Usually ships in 3 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews