Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAVER REDUX
Brendan Fraser is remarkably good in this good-natured comedy about a young man born and raised in a fallout shelter. Fraser manages to parlay his rugged good looks and youthful exuberance into an intensely likeable hero named Adam. Once released into the modern world, Adam is gleefully joyful to watch. Alicia Silverstone is fine as his "Eve" who is both enamored and...
Published on June 14 2004 by Michael Butts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as engaging as I had hoped ...
I actually plunked down the cold, hard cash for this DVD before I had even seen it, based on the generally favorable reviews. Although there were a few good laughs, the time between their delivery was substantial. Twenty minutes could have been shaved off the running time if the story had been tightened up a bit, and a better film would have been achieved in the process...
Published on Jan. 25 2003 by Whodathotit


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAVER REDUX, June 14 2004
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brendan Fraser is remarkably good in this good-natured comedy about a young man born and raised in a fallout shelter. Fraser manages to parlay his rugged good looks and youthful exuberance into an intensely likeable hero named Adam. Once released into the modern world, Adam is gleefully joyful to watch. Alicia Silverstone is fine as his "Eve" who is both enamored and repelled by Fraser's childishly kind behavior. Dave Foley as her gay friend is marvelous as well. I also liked Joey Skolnik as the bartender who metamorphoses from a happy teenager to the self-proclaimed monk of a new religion. Kudos also to Nathan Killion (Firefly series) as Alicia's macho boyfriend who gets put in his place by Fraser. Also to the delightful dance scene where Fraser and two girls jitterbug to high heaven. But one cannot overlook the truly marvelous performances from Sissy Spacek and Christopher Walken as Fraser's paranoid parents. They are both brilliant, and one can see how these two won Oscars for previous performances. Director Hugh Wilson keeps it all together and I found myself smiling and chuckling all the way through. A delightful find!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Blast, Feb. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love all of Brendan Fraser's movies. The innocent Adam plays well against the more experienced Eve. His manners in this movie carries me back to when children use to behave. A comedy with a little love interest. A blast!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Romantic Movie, Sept. 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was probably one of the best comedy's I've seen. I haven't laughed like this for awhile. A Little romance in their was also nice. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, Witty and Extremely Likeable Comic Fantasy, Feb. 23 2004
Calvin Webber (Christopher Walken) is a slightly mad genius living in Los Angeles at the height of the Cold War. Paranoid about the communist threat, he has made a vast and elaborate nuclear bunker under his house. And, at the height of the Cuban Missile Crisis, he takes the precaution of going into it with his pregnant wife Helen (Sissy Spacek). By bizarre coincidence, just as they get down underground, a military aircraft crashes on their house. Convinced this is the dreaded nuke, he locks in and they prepare to stay there for 35 years until the radiation reaches safe levels. Finally come the 1990s and son Adam (Brendan Fraser) is sent out to reconnoitre and get look for fresh supplies in what they are convinced is a nightmarish and disintegrated post-apocalyptic world. (The neighbour has gone badly downhill in a way that makes this a more than understandable mistake.) Out he goes armed only with an indefatigable innocence and decency, an unshakable conviction that Perry Como is at the cutting edge of popular music and what he does not yet realize is a huge fortune in vintage baseball cards. After a few hours he is seriously at sea and hopelessly lost. Then he meets Alicia Silverstone's wordly and cynical Eve...
The central conceit of this film is the clash of what is basically a 1950s sensibility with the harsh and cynical realities of 1990s America. That way it strongly recalls 'Pleasantville', made a year earlier. But this is a much better film. While 'Pleasantville' rather condescended to the past, with its knowing modern kids teaching stuffy old 50s types how to be cool and have sex, this film is much more intelligently ambivalent about the blessings of modernity and has a very nice satirical edge. Not to mention much funnier. It is Eve who learns from Adam far more than the reverse. It's essentially an unusual romantic comedy with a bizarre fantasy premise. But it's an unusually sharp, witty and unintelligent romcom. A certain mismatch between British and American senses of humour may partly explain why I seldom laugh out loud at American movies. Several lines in this were notable exceptions. Its best moments recall, as very very few contemporary films manage to recall, the sharply observed intelligence of the great Hollywood romantic comedies of the 30s and 40s. Fresh, entertaining and extremely well-acted, it's well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blast from the past, Aug. 22 2011
This review is from: Blast from the Past (DVD)
Works great no skips, came in the condition stated. No complaints at all, I recommend this buyer for DVDs anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!, Oct. 13 2009
By 
Deborah Hoy (Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I just love this movie but could not find a copy anywhere. Thank You Amazon for having a wide selection of movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just a nice movie..., Jan. 5 2004
By 
Michael H. Moore "M2" (World Traveler) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK, you can read the 128 other reviews, many of which feel compelled to tell the plot of this movie when Amazon has already done so, or you can take 60 seconds and hear my opinion for what it's worth...
This is not a complex movie, it is meant to be a funny look at the culture shock Brendan Fraser gets when he emerges from 30 years in a fallout shelter into modern-day L.A. And guess what, it is funny! All the actors give fine performances, the criticism of Alicia Silverstone is unwarranted because she is SUPPOSE to be playing a whiney, self-centered, shallow Los Angelan. The cussing is necessary to prove a point, and it is kept to a minimum. All in all it is a lighthearted movie with a good ending. Sure, it may be somewhat predictible, but it is entertaining and well worth renting and buying.
OK, I asked for a minute of your life to hear my opinion, and that is it. Thanks for your time, I hope it was worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, Jan. 3 2004
By A Customer
Feel Good Movie....made my day a heck of a lot better!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Adam & Eve in Modern Day, Sept. 13 2003
I've seen this film a lot of times, more than I'd care to admit to, and I never tire of it. The first five minutes are pretty dull, so I tend to skip past them, as it really starts when the plane crashes into the house.
Christopher Walken & Sissy Spacek are the perfect people to play Brendan Fraser's parents, both as quirky as each other. Sissy plays the perfect wife, drinking to escape her husband and life below ground. Christopher is perfect as the Dad, teaching his son everything he knows.
Alicia Silverstone is kooky, "psychic", and is a perfect match for Adam's character, and of course she has to be called Eve. How original.
Troy's character is brilliant, playing the stereotypical gay guy, which Adam thinks means "happy". Troy and Eve live together, and have a very similar relationship to Will & Grace in the TV show. The girl who has a gay guy for a roommate - tell me, how many times has that been done?
The first fifteen minutes go quickly through the first 35 years of Adam's (Brendan Fraser) uneventful life, cutting back and forth between what's going on above the family.
I couldn't imagine anyone else in the part of innocent Adam, apart from Brendan. He comes out with the funniest expressions! He is brought up to be the perfect gentleman - opening doors for women, calling them ma'am, doing all those things, the guy who every girl would like but then quickly get fed up of!
Some parts of the film aren't explained, leaving you wondering how they had enough supplies to last 35 years, how none of them got seriously ill, until the dad does twenty minutes in, forcing Adam to go up into the big bad world, and how the money hasn't changed in 35 years!
The funniest bits of the film are when Adam talks to complete strangers, in his off-hand way. The best sequence in the whole film is The Mask-reminiscent dance scene, when Adam goes to a club and dances with the two women. It's very similar to when Jim Carrey & Cameron Diaz dance together in The Mask; both are great & memorable. And like any dance scenes in films (Grease, The Mask, Saturday Night Fever) the crowd instantly makes a circle around the main people dancing and watches them. This wouldn't happen in real life, so why do they keep repeating this in films?
The storyline is pretty predictable: boy meets girl, boy loses girl, and boy gets girl back.
There aren't many extras on the DVD. There are trailers; cast & crew biographies; deleted scenes and a B-roll. They're your basic extras - not worth watching more than once, if you can last through them. According to the back of my DVD, there's a "Love Meter" but I can't find it amongst the extras so god knows where it is.
This is definitely for sentimental fools, like me, who love a good romance, and think Brendan Fraser is so cute - just not when he sings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny movie, Aug. 2 2003
By 
Lynne H. Schultz (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
and I have to disagree with the reviewer who said that the foul language wasn't necessary. It provided a stark cultural contrast between Adam, who didn't talk that way, and most of the modern people who did. We also got to see Adam's reaction to it. Unlike most movies that use foul language, the use of such language in this film was used very effectively to allow Adam to stand out from everyone else, and to tell us something about his character. It was used for characterization, and not gratuitously. Overall, it was very funny-which is always a good thing- and as usual, Brenden Fraser is hot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blast from the Past
Blast from the Past by Hugh Wilson (DVD - 2014)
CDN$ 14.96
Available for Pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews