summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars131
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 7, 2003
The Time Machine is an excellent science fiction movie about time travel that was one of the first to use special effects in great detail. An inventor, played by Rod Taylor, builds a time machine and begins to travel through time. He sees both WWI and WWII as well as 1968 during the Cold War in which he experiences a nuclear attack. The movie really picks up when he travels far into the future to a time when people are ruled by Morlocks, cannibalistic creatures who basically breed humans so they can eat them. Seeing how horrible it is, the inventor tries to free them from the wrath of the Morlocks.
This is a very exciting movie that has some very good commentary on our society as a whole. Throughout the movie, the inventor sees the mindset of people as he travels through time and often how ridiculous things really are. Rod Taylor is excellent as the inventor while Yvette Minieux is gorgeous as Weena, the young woman he befriends while trying to save the Eloi from the Morlocks. The DVD offers a documentary about the film as well as a widescreen presentation which looks very good. Fans of the sci-fi genre will enjoy this classic that has great characters and even better special effects! Don't miss this sci-fi classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2003
I have always been a fan of classic horror and sci-fi, but this was a movie I have always slept on. I never watched it, I thought it wasn't my type of movie. I wasn't planning on watching it, I heard how good it was, but it never came across me. One day at the store I picked it up on dvd, I popped it in the player and wow was I amazed. This movie never slows down, it's really entertaining and makes you ponder about the the future and the posibility of time travel. Of course not through that type of device he used but just time traveling general. The scenery is stunning and the effects are pleasing. Nobody has the right to dislike this movie, the story is great, the events that happen during the film are interesting and you won't be stopping it while your watching it. Nearly everyone who put down this movie either had problems with the visual/audio or have a very short attention span and no imagination. The morlocs are one race you won't forget and the same goes for the main character and his stunning lady from the future Weena, I believe that was her name. Watching this and getting back to regular life is hard because it makes life seem so dull and boring, it leaves you curious and wanting more. That's what a film should do to someone, this is a classic and in my eyes one of the best sci-fi films ever made. Great for the whole family, this is a must-have whether you're into science fiction or not. One of the most memorable films I've seen in my life! Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2003
George Pal was the man who brought us the science fiction classics "When Worlds Collide" and "The War of the Worlds". George did an equally good job with "The Time Machine".
Herbert Wells wonders about the evolution of society and looks forward into the future at the great things man will accomplish. The drive to see that great future has driven Herbert to create a machine to get there. One aspect I enjoyed about this movie and "Time after Time" is that Herbert in each movie was interested in the progress of society and man. Their action with the time machine was the equivalent of turning to the last chapter of a novel.
In this movie, Herbert finds that society has been destroyed by a nuclear war, which in 1960 seemed like a very real and imminent possibility. Mankind was driven underground by the need to escape the effects of the war, leading ultimately to the evolution of the peaceful Eloi and the predatory Morlocks. The Morlocks principal source of food seems to be the Eloi, while the Eloi eat fruits and vegetables, which inadvertently becomes a commentary on what happens to vegetarians.
George Pal tries hard and generally succeeds in exploiting what happens when a society no longer has a need to drive itself to achieve a goal, whatever that goal may be. The Eloi have everything provided, so they see no need to strive to be any different. Things are the way they have always been, and life if good. If some disappear occasionally, well, we can still go play by the rocks and do whatever. Obviously some of this story is difficult to believe because we know that even "peaceful" animals such as rams and bulls sometimes fight to the [end] over females and territory, and it would seem like there would be some point of contention even in this "perfect" society. However, given that the movie has to present a viewpoint in a relatively small time frame, it succeeds well by the very exaggeration of the characteristics of such a society.
The end of the movie is most satisfying, as Alan Young (playing George Well's best friend Philby), speculates on three books that George took with him to help re-build the civilization of the far future.
While the movie suffers from many of the cliches and the now dated styling of the late 1950s, it creates a very believably little tale with award winning special effects. At the end of the movie you are left with the sense that mankind has the ability to triumph over the odds. I am admittedly partial to these classics, which did so much with so little, requiring much plot creativity. However, when the end credits roll, you walk out satisfied that you were treated to a real movie experience.
While I should give this movie 4 stars for its weak points, it gets 5 stars for standing the tests of time and being better than the 2002 re-make.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2002
If you asked me what my two favorite science-fiction movies were, I'd have to say Forbidden Planet and The Time Machine. As anyone who has read the book can tell you, it's not the kind of story that really lends itself to a movie. Why? Well...
The book was about the seperation of the social classes. About the futility of human achievement, and ultimately, about how human kindness is the one thing that survives when all else is lost. In that story, one human being was just a cog in the wheel of time, and had little power to change anything.
But the movie...ah the movie was about something else entirely. Look past the excellent special effects and the (in my book anyway) great acting and flow of plot. What do you have? A story about the suffering of humanity. The striving for knowledge and improvement. And the idea that if people allow themselves to stagnate, to become complacent, and to forget the mistakes of the past, they may allow their world to turn into a nightmare rather than the Utopia they long for. In this movie, one human being CAN make a difference. The time traveler helps the people of the future to rediscover their courage, their compassion, their humanity. As long as one person still clings to the ideals of humanity, there is always hope.
This is a great movie, and the dvd certainly does it justice. It features one of the nicest film transfers I have ever seen. The picture quality is absolutely perfect, and the widescreen is really appreciated. If you are a sci-fi fan, or a movie buff, you NEED to own this movie. It IS different from the book. But it has merits of it's own. And they are not to be overlooked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Time Machine is a Science Fiction classic. George Pal too H.G. Wells�s classic story and made it a reality. From the costumes to the intricately detailed Time Machine itself, the movie is a stand out in special effects, art direction and make-up.
Rod Taylor was fantastic and played his character with a real sense of amazement. (If you have seen the new version � it lacks a real important element � characters anyone cares about.) This movie has a charm and romance that Yvette Mimoeux could only portray.
Even George Pal�s visions of what the 80� and 90�s would be like are not far off. Who could forget the classic mannequin in the window sequence � watching fashion styles change before our eyes. The key to most of the special effects in the film was of course � stop motion animation. Whereby, elements and props and sets are shot one frame at a time while slight movements were made between each exposed frame. Thanks to CGI technology these days � this has almost become a lost art form. When it is done well, like in this movie � it really is effective and shines.
The DVD extras on this one are great. A television retrospective shot in the mid 90�s with some of the original cast is really well done. The behind the scenes and event he history of what happened to the original Time Machine are on this documentary.
This is a must DVD for Science Fiction fans. A true classic and a very good DVD for anyone's collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2002
I've had the Time Machine on VHS forever it seems. Taped it off the TV years ago. But when I saw this DVD, it blew me away! I had NO IDEA! Never have I seen every colour in his jacket, every grain of dirt, every hair on his head with such clarity. The time machine absolutely shines with beauty too. I sat with my jaw hanging open and goose bumps on my arms even as soon as the opening credits when I heard the surround sound kick in. My VHS copy always had a really bad audio track, but on the DVD, you can actually hear the faint electrical buzz of the machine running in the lab before he hits that crystal lever. I saw and heard things I never knew existed in this movie. And it has a fabulous documentary with it, hosted by Rod Taylor, that explains everything we always wondered like what happened to that little model of the machine that he put the cigar in, and the full scale machine itself has a story that you won't believe! All in all, it's a wonderful movie, and everything a DVD should be. Brilliant, vibrant, with gut vibrating audio. (and still better than the remake that was just in theatres) Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2002
Skip the godawful remake that's in theaters right now, and get the original instead. This is one of the greatest science fiction movies of all time, and the DVD restoration is great.
The movie itself has much to recommend it. It follows the book very closely, Rod Taylor was an excellent choice for the lead, and the special effects (which won an Oscar in 1960) have aged surprisingly well.
It takes place in 1899, and a great deal of effort was taken to ensure historic authenticity. The time machine itself is a beautiful Victorian contraption that wouldn't look out of place in, say, 12 Monkeys. The Eloi of the 800k century look exactly as I would have pictured them, and the Morlocks are suitably creepy.
Much has been said for the special effects, which use some very effective stop-action photography. They are judiciously used here, and with only a couple of tiny exceptions, do a great job of suspending disbelief.
The DVD transfer is stunning, rivaling that of North by Northwest. The colors (originally done using Metrocolor) are deeply saturated and vivid, only looking slightly washed out in a couple of places. Artifacts from the original print are present here and there (noticeably in the rotting fruit sequence), but for the most part have been well cleaned up. This certainly doesn't look like a 40-year-old movie.
The DVD includes a documentary which is really interesting in parts, but really drags in others (the special effects explanations are *exhaustive*), which isn't a problem since it has its own chapter stops. What's really informative is to watch the original movie footage in the documentary and compare it to the restored footage in the movie itself. Night and day. Oh yeah, and Michael J. Fox and Carl Sagan make appearances!
All in all, a classic movie that's aged well, and a brilliant transfer to match.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2002
The sight of Jeremy Irons as the Morlock leader was enough to drive me to the local video store to buy this mid-priced selection.
While the new version of the H. G. Wells novel plays to the contemporary youth market with the emphasis on the special effects to create the Wellsian idyll and the deformities of the Warlocks, it does miss the point a little.
This, the original, won an Oscar for the special effects and given the technology of the day it was clearly well deserved. The movie itself set the tone for science fiction movies too with it's original setting and the ability to show the passage of time through several devices such as the circulating sun and the tailors dummy.
It is the conception of the novel however, which for me emphasises the differences between this movie and the newer version. The central difference lies in the somewhat ordinariness of the society of the Eloi. They are living a simple, almost idyllic lifestyle, knowing nothing much about the world around them except what they need to know. They live in ruins with food and clothing provided for them. In the newer version there is some complex structures which do not make a whole lot of sense as they are still susceptible to raids from the Morlocks.
The Eloi suggest a socialist society where each according to ability each according to need whereas the Morlocks represent the evils of the capitalist machine. In the end of course, the victory over the Morlocks is achieved with the aid of our hero who's single minded devotion to rescuing the heroine culminates in defeat of the capitalist machine.
Thus the original time machine remains as true to the concept of the novel as perhaps it can be whereas the message of the new is obscured.
Certainly the original Time Machine is a little dated but it is worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2002
In 1960, filmmaker George Pal brought to fruition a visionary concept for a film based on a novel by H.G. Wells, about an inventor who builds a machine that enables him to travel through time, specifically into the future, where he learns a timeless, universal truth about the machinations of society and some of the basic tenets of human nature. "The Time Machine," which Pal produced and directed, stars Rod Taylor as George, the inventor/time traveler/hero, who, born into a time and world that doesn't suit him, decides to do something about it.
...
Going into this project, George Pal had a definite vision of what he wanted to accomplish with this film, from the way the time machine itself looked, to the way he wanted to present the future of mankind and the world. And working from the intelligent, imaginative screenplay by David Duncan, he succeeded by delivering a film that has since become a classic of the Science Fiction genre. The nature of the story demands that the viewer suspend disbelief, of course, but Pal develops his story in such a plausible, straightforward manner that it is easy to do just that. He puts George on the journey of a lifetime, and he takes his audience along for the ride. He does an exquisite job of establishing the Victorian era in which the story begins, as well as the world of the Eloi and the Morlocks. The F/X he employs to convey the sense of George's movement through time-- like the swift arcing of the Sun and Moon, and the quick, subtle (and sometimes not-so-subtle) changes George observes-- are entirely effective. Pal obviously had a devotion to detail that pays off handsomely here. A dedicated filmmaker, he refused to settle for less than what he knew was right for his picture, and it shows. The result is a film that is entertaining, timeless and memorable.
As George, Rod Taylor is perfectly cast and gives a solid performance in which he embodies the boldness, the imagination and tenacity of his character. Most importantly, he makes George believable and his motivations credible, which enables the viewer to be swept along with the story. Taylor has a commanding presence that serves his character well, and he is, in fact, the veritable personification of the explorer/adventurer, a man willing to take a chance or face unbelievable odds to accomplish his goal. Taylor is a fine actor who has made a number of movies, but of them all, this is the role for which he will probably be best remembered.
Also perfect in her role is Yvette Mimieux, as one of the Eloi, Weena. A talented actress-- now something of a '60s icon, in fact-- her fair beauty, along with the innocent demeanor and vulnerability she manages to convey, makes her character entirely convincing. And the way she plays it makes George's actions more likely, as well. Granted, her character is well written to begin with, but Mimieux's the one who sells it in the translation from page to screen.
The supporting cast includes Doris Lloyd (Mrs. Watchett), Bob Barran (Eloi Man), James Skelly (Second Eloi Man) and Paul Frees (Voice of the Talking Rings). A transporting flight of fantasy, expertly crafted and imaginatively presented, "The Time Machine" is captivating entertainment that will make you believe that time travel is possible. it paints a bleak picture of the future, to be sure, but it gives you and leaves you with that which has kept Man putting one foot in front of the other since Time began: Hope. That's the legacy of H.G. Wells and the promise of George Pal. And it's the magic of the movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2002
I've become a bit of a skeptic, and even more of a cynic over the years whenever I hear of a major production company doing a remake of an original movie. I've come to realize that 'remakes' rarely live up to the original, except perhaps in special effects (which they often surpass). But special effects does not a classic make, unless that's all you look for in a movie. I have no doubt that the 2002 release of 'The Time Machine' will trounce the original in this department, but everything else being equal, I doubt it will become a classic, as this movie has.
Having said that I must say the original 'Time Machine' is perhaps one of my favorite Sci-Fi movies of all time. What makes this movie special is the great attention to plot and characterization, as well as keeping scrupulously to the H.G. Wells novel, both in content and in characterization. By contrast I've heard that the remake was quite revisionary.
Rod Taylor does a splendid job in portraying the inventor with a consciense, the man who must wrestle with questions that have no easy answers. The viewer can sympathize with his predicament of using his invention for the betterment - or detriment - of mankind, no easy task since he is surrounded by friends who can only think in terms of the material.
At the core of this movie is his friendship with David, played splendidly by Alan Young (Mr. Ed). One of the most noticeable things about this film is the commaraderie between these two men, as well as their differences: George, the idealist, and David, the pragmatic. Yet in SPITE of the differences, their friendship endures. This is especially seen in 'Time Machine: The Journey Back' a sequel (or followup) to the original movie and which is featured on the DVD.
The music score by Russell Garcia is another factor that makes this movie so special. It fits perfectly into each scene so seamlessly that you can't imagine another music score for this film.
In closing, the remake my be more exciting to watch, but I doubt if it will be as thought-provoking as the original, which in my opinion is the one, only, and future 'Time Machine'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$14.96