countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
157
2.9 out of 5 stars
Price:$47.86+ $5.53 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 22, 2013
Canadians ......Stay away from NetTalk which never worked in Canada.

If I was to rate their service in the last 16 months I would give them 0/5 with lack of communication and poor customer service ........STAY AWAY... there service has not been working in Canada for over a week with NO 911 service or NO incoming calls been received and outgoing calls rarely work. You have to log in on their Internet forums to discover why the service constantly doesn't work from other user complaining since they don't inform you.

However you will get constant junk emails requesting that you activate auto renewal payments .. I will be porting out..

Here is a example of forum post about their network issue.

"Canadian incoming issues as of 4/18/2013

We are currently experiencing an outage that is currently affecting some of our Canadian Customers. Our underlying carrier had a fiber cut which is affecting incoming calls. The technicians are currently in the field repairing the cut fiber connection. We apologize for the inconvenience."

"This notice is to inform you that currently you are still able to send and receive calls, but due to an error by our vendor that provides our 911 service, you will be required to use an alternative method to make 911 calls."

.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
Product was easy to setup. Area codes are limited. I live in North Bay, Ontario but locals recognize my number as Sudbury, Ontario and question me about it all the time. They are correct from North Bay this is a long distance number. When I make long distance calls I can expect good quality maybe 60% of the time on the first try. It usually takes 2 or 3 tries to get a clear line. When I make long distance calls longer than 1/2 an hour they get cut off with no warning. Currently it has been one week since anyone has been able to call into this phone. NetTalk acknowledges there is a problem and engineers are working on it. Most of my family members have Rogers cellphones and they have never been able to call this phone and have it connect. 90% of the time I have issues calling them using this product. I just spent 38 minutes on the phone calling customer service, I was told by whoever picked up that he was located in Florida. They have no idea how much longer this is going to last. Best he could tell me was that all customers will receive an email once it is fixed. NOT IMPRESSED I never received an email to inform me in the first place that there was a problem.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2015
A more honest advertisement for this company would be, "Sure, we have glitches... but only $35/year, we think they're tolerable". Sometimes, you dial out to nothing and it takes a few tries to actually get your call out... I've tried to call home to kids and not been able to get call through for an hour or more... other times, you can't call toll free numbers (I've been trying for 3 hours now as I'm trying to book a vacation and still can't get through). Also, their technical support is horrible.... been on hold now for 45 minutes and I called right at opening (10am). These issues represent about 15% of the actual call time we have but it's enough to make me move on to something more reliable.

If you really need to keep your monthly costs down and $50 would put you over the edge, then I guess you have no choice. Otherwise, spend the $50/mth and get a real phone service.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2011
The good points

Use any standard phone and it works flawlesly, good QoS, called UK fine first time, and you have a limited choice of numbers first time out, excellent value for money and only $30 per year for service after purchase. I was with Shaw paying $660 per year for effectivly the same service, for $30 I get all of North America an pay perhapsanothr $30 per year for international calls, eg UK was 300+ minutes for $5 so Im expecting to save $600 per year moving forwards. I use a wireless phone set, and just plug in the base station and have 3 more phones around the house with no additional cableing.

Works like the MagicKey USB units but a better solution than the MagicKey USB phone that required the computer it plugs into be always on if used as a home / business phone. The DUO Plugs directly into the router enableing service availability when all PC's / laptops are off, small enough to take away on vacation with your laptop so you can have your land line number travelling with you

Also has incuded is call forwarding so you can have the calls sent to a cell if travelling at no additional cost

The Bad points

Ordered from Amazon.ca, got a US version, told only fix was to send back and order another one, not happy with that as Amazon.ca should not hace US version in stock in the first place and there was no guarentee another US one would not be shipped. NetTALK initially lousy at resolving this, said could not be fixed at thier end (assuming from conversatiosn the devices MAC address is used to define its "location" in a pre determined DB, to pick up either US otr Canadian number selection). In the End Amazon did a great job and arranged with NetTALK to do a soft fix, so I could pull a local Canadian number on this unit and save another 3 weeks sending one back and awaiting delivery of its replacement. 20 minus on the phone with NetTalk fixed it and allwas good afterwards

Bad point 2, can only top up credit via paypal. you then have to pay fees, a $5 top up for international calls cost $.50c, thats a 10% hit against the customer to buy service, NetTalk need to hide this (slightly higher per minute costs) and accept direct CC payments so buying $5 or $10 or $xxx gives that amount of credit. Also less anopting but given they charge more for a Canadian unit only US funds are accepted, not Canadian for account credit.

Bad point 3 the device is $79.99 in Canada, and $69.99 in the US, ??? why, its the same unit, either works in either location,looks like gouging to me and offering a lower level of service(see abouv comment on only taking US funds)

Overall

The savings and future cost reduction for home phone service significantly outweigh the initial pain and minor moans I have. In short the unit works, I can pick up my phone and make a call anywhere any time and not have to worry about the costs.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2014
After having Vonage and Magic Jack for many years, NetTALK is by far the worst service I have received. Their advertising is false and misleading in that "free" calls does not mean unlimited???? Nothing in their advertising tells you that you are unable to make outgoing calls after you have used 1500 minutes in a month. You can not upgrade from at all at any price. Their fine print before you buy it says there are limits based on average usage blah blah which no one can decipher.

Customer service is rude and condescending, and I have saved a log of that chat to provide to other review agencies and the media. The rep told me that clicking the 'accept' box on the terms should have told me the terms. He went on to tell me about the law, which was funny as I am a retired lawyer. He was unable to tell me what law school he went to.

Bottom line is that this company is a total dud and I wish Amazon would stop carrying their product and i am happy to document all the above information via my recorded live chat with anyone that is interested.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2014
The device itself is okay if you just want a backup to your cellphone for making long distance calls or if your minutes are limited. You do need a decent internet connection and at times it needs to be reset and call quality isn't consistent. Sometimes you have to call people back to get a better connection or redial a number that doesn't go through. I've had this for a few years now and it's come time to renew. They did give me a generous extension on my account due to the problems in April 2013, so I'll give them that. However, I have been trying to renew my service for 2 weeks now with no result. The website will not accept the billing address for my credit card (tried 2 different cards) and there is no way to talk to a real person through their phone number. The only way to talk to someone in real time is through online chat. I connected early in the morning and was informed that there were 30 people ahead of me. After 30 minutes, the chat session timed out and I was informed that there was no one to help me and to email a request through a web form. If I can't even get a hold of them to give them money, imagine if I had a problem with my service! This device is turning out to be my transition phone from home phone to no home phone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2011
I've been using VOIP for 6 years, so I'm rating this as 3/5. 5 being the top score I would give an established VOIP provider, like my current one I will not name here.
Set-up: somewhat challenging if you're not uncomfortable updating firmware on your router, should you need to do so. Also, there are several Canadian Postal codes to choose from, but the hitch is that you need to understand the city code after your area code, as Nettalk will not guide you through this. In my case I selected 289 as the area code, and 644 (Oakville) for the city code. Visit Wikipedia for these city codes as you select your number.
Performance: I work a lot from home, while logged onto VPN, and on a lot of conference calls. My first experience with Nettalk was ugly, the device hung up the conference on me. I've also had other calls crackle, or sound hollow, when my spouse is downloading something large.
Overall: I think it's a decent product if you use it for non-critical stuff, like talking to friends. Do not use it for work... unless you want an excuse for hanging up on your boss. we still keep it as a second line device but it's simply not our number one. The limitation of this product is likely bad design. Instead of bypassing the router, like most VOIP products, this one plugs directly into it -- hence your phone line quality is held hostage to any other traffic passing through the router. I'm confident Nettalk will eventually get this product right... but it's not a primary phone line for now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
I bought this product a couple of years ago.. things keep coming up as I used the product.
1. They don't tell you there is a limited amount of minutes that you can use monthly.. if you even paid for an international package, you still usage a common pool of minutes.. so if you ran out of minutes on local calls.. so as the international ones.
2. I doesn't like routers, so you need to configure and reconfigure to make it work, if not it will keep resetting itself, I found a workaround but I still have to reset it at least once a week, the best I could do. They will keep blaming your router and since there are different brands, you are on your own.
3.Back to international package.. 'rates' changed with their provider so they would suddenly stop my international minutes, even if you paid for a year, they will not stick to their part of their contract, good luck.
4. This week (fighting the international package) they pushed a new firmware over the wire (to see if that fixes the issue), they kill the device and said I have to buy another device.. also, they will not refund my money for both the local and international package.. so I lost everything.
5. when support gets you to second tier , they only support you by phone.. if you are like me and bough the phone as home line, the only support you are going to get is by getting a call from US into your cellphone.. kiss your minutes goodbye. To fix your broken phone, they dont have another kind of support (remote or chat) when you get to the second level of support.. is stupid! like if your internet brakes and the only available support they can give you is by email :p
6. To get initial support, you can create a ticket (no luck ever getting back from there), canadian 'phone line' is broken, and the chat, you get stuck with 20 people infront of you and when they finally answer, they will not try to help you at all.. its like they dont care..

for this an more, I would try to get another IP phone services, there are some other options out there.. hope you dont get into the same troubles..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2012
I have it connected in London, ON; there are only limited area codes available. I have it connected via Rogers internet. It is good when it works - sound quality is reasonably good and clear - better than the cell phone at times.

The problem is that there are times when we cannot dial out - we have noticed that this is typically when calling a Rogers phone number (such as cell phone, landline) - you just hear an engaged tone when we know that the cellphone is not engaged (I have tried to call my own 2 Rogers cell phones). There is no problem calling other numbers at such times or receiving calls including Rogers incoming. Not sure what the problem is - I wonder if Rogers somehow blocks these outgoing calls. (And there are no issues with out internet connection at these times.) As a result the reliability is questionable and it cannot be relied on as the sole phone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2011
Ordered this to compare against Magicjack .I prefer the call quality of netTalk DUO and the fact it can be connected to router directly not needing a computer on at all times .Setup was very simple .There's not alot of area codes available yet for Canada , Here's the list of Canadian area codes for nettalk duo as of March 2011 :

BC : 778 ( Vancouver)
AB : 587 - 403
ON : 647 - 289 - 613 - 705 ( Toronto,Mississauga,Ottawa,Sault Ste. Marie )
QC : 438 ( Montreal)

Only gave 4 stars simply because of the lack of canadian area codes or else would easily be 5 .
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question