Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rate the product, not the seller
If you're that upset about the seller (Amazon) then please don't right a review and rate the product low. The product itself is great, if the price is wrong move on like 100's of others do. If you want to buy from FutureShop, good on ya. Go there.
Published on Nov. 17 2010 by A. Curtis

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars avatar
Avatar in blue ray is worthwhile. The problem I had was that the DVD kept cutting out. Very difficult to follow story. The extra DVDs makes it a great purchase. To actually show how it was made. Great cinematographic s...P.S. Amazon refunded my money no question ask and I got to keep all DVD"s.
Published on Nov. 14 2011 by kasi-modo


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rate the product, not the seller, Nov. 17 2010
By 
A. Curtis (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you're that upset about the seller (Amazon) then please don't right a review and rate the product low. The product itself is great, if the price is wrong move on like 100's of others do. If you want to buy from FutureShop, good on ya. Go there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so much a review, more like what you get in the box..., Oct. 12 2010
This review is from: Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Avatar Extended Collection's Edition: 3-Disc Collector's Edition Blu-ray:

Disc One

* Original Theatrical Version
* Special Edition Re-Release
* Collector's Extended Cut

16 more minutes and exclusive alternate opening

Family Audio Track (All Objectionable Language Removed)
* Original Theatrical Release
* Special Edition Re-release

Disc Two

* "Capturing Avatar" An in-depth feature length documentary with James Cameron, Jon Landau and cast and crew
* Deleted Scenes - including over 45 minutes of new never-before-seen deleted scenes
* Production Materials

Disc Three

* Open "Pandora's Box" and go deeper into the filmmaker process
* Interactive Scene Deconstruction: Explore the various stages of production through 3 different viewing modes
* Production Shorts: 17 featurettes covering performance capture, scoring the film, 3D fusion camera, stunts and much more
* Avatar Archives including original scriptment, 300 page screenplay and the extensive Pandorapedia
* BD-live Portal with additional bonus materials

Source: [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars But will we remember this in 30 years?, Feb. 22 2011
By 
Paul Mackinnon (halifax, nova scotia, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
(This is a review of the film itself, not the BluRay)

When a movie blockbuster arrives (what the industry calls an "event") with the kind of hype that "Avatar" has, you want to have a strong reaction. At least I do. You either want to ride the wave of that hype yourself, because somehow it is a bonding experience with the rest of the human race, or you want to separate yourself from the idiots swept up in the hysteria of what is essentially a terrible film. In a way, the worst thing that can happen, is that you see the movie, find it likeable, but walk away with a complete lack of understanding about why people are going nuts for the thing.

So, in a way, my reaction to "Avatar" is disappointing to me. I wanted to love it. Or hate it. Or, at the very least understand why other people would feel those extremes. Actually, my initial reaction to "Avatar" is similar to the way I've felt about other James Cameron films, such as "Aliens", "True Lies", or the "Terminator" films. "Titanic", I place in a different category, because I can understand why it worked so well. A classic story of star-crossed lovers, set against the backdrop of the most famous disaster of all time, seen in a way that only CGI can provide. This doesn't always work (see Pearl Harbor), but I got why Titanic did. Every demographic liked it, and, let's face it, it is an entertaining film. Cameron is a crowd-pleaser, but a pleasant kind. He's not catering to the lowest common denominator (oh yes, I am talking to you, Michael Bay), nor is he pretending to be highbrow. He makes movies that are technically sound, and entertaining. It's not a stretch to compare him to Spielberg (if you discount Spielberg's "serious work").

I won't bother to discuss the plot. It's simple, but that's not necessarily bad. I call it a sci-fi cross of "Dances with Wolves" and "Braveheart". Each of those was groundbreaking in its own genre-redefining way. What elevates "Avatar", or should, is the CGI environment/characters and the 3-D. There is no question that visually the film delivers. I am certain that 80% or more of the film is completely animated. The fact that I am not sure speaks to how good the CGI is. I assume that because Zoe Saltana is listed as a star (and not just providing the voice) that her Na'vi character was a result of motion-capture techniques (like Gollum in "Lord of the Rings") done on a soundstage and then completely augmented by CGI environs. But I don't know. Maybe parts of Pandora were shot in a real jungle. Maybe there were actual sets. I do know that while the planet-bound sets appear to me to be completely CGI, the aerial shots in the floating mountains, for instance, look like real places. If Cameron had actually shot on location on Pandora (it's a real place, right?) it would not have looked much different. This has real implications moving forward, because it negates the necessity of actually shooting anywhere but in a soundstage. The same geniuses that created Pandora could create Egypt, or South America, or outer Mongolia for that matter. So, while the jungle scenes in "Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull" did in fact look like they were shot against a green screen in an LA warehouse, the folks Cameron has working for him did create a whole new realistic world. And all it cost was $300 million!

The implications for filmmaking are staggering, perhaps. But is all of this ground-breaking from an audience perspective? Well not really. We just get a movie that looks like it was set on Pandora, no different than believing Braveheart was shot in Scotland (even though much of it was actually shot in Ireland!).

Which brings everything back to story. We'd like to think that the entire success of Avatar isn't just predicated on great effects and 3-D wouldn't we? If that were the case, then "Transformers 3-D" could very well become the next all-time box office champ. I could give in to my iconoclastic urges and talk about the shallowness of the story, the blandness of the lead character (a real drawback, given how Zoe Saltana lights up the screen, as she did in "Star Trek", and how dependable Sigourney "Ripley" Weaver is, back in action. Is it intentional that Cameron's female characters always outshine his males?), or point to the obvious, pre-meditated audience-pleasing moments. The bottom line is, it's fine. It's a classic story, which includes revisionist American Indian history, and an environmental message. But neither of those messages overshadow the action, which moves along nicely. Pandora is beautiful. The bad guy is right out of a World Wrestling Federation show. And it's fun. This is what Cameron has been doing since the original Terminator, and if he keeps doing it for his whole career, he's done a lot better than many filmmakers.

As to why he is the king of the world again, I don't actually get that. But I'm not going to let it bug me. To dislike a movie just because it's so successful is as bad as liking one just because it is popular with the popcorn-munching yokels. I'm ready to proclaim "Avatar" one of the top ten movies of the year and leave it at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price for a great product., Nov. 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Pros: Good price. Good quality. Looks great on blue-ray. Great picture inserts on the packaging.
Cons: Don't have too much anticipation for the extra content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avatar Collector's Edition, March 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is such a great movie. Beautiful on Blu-Ray. Exactly what I was expecting and more.
You get 3 versions of the movie on Disk 1 (have already watched 2 of them!), with additional extras on the other 2 disks.
The quality is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Avatar --> Sci-Fi Dances with Wolves, March 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie has an excellent cohesive plot, making the real time length of the movie seems "relatively" short.

The fallen war veteran given the second chance to make something real and tangible of his existence.
There is a smattering of hidden scientific fact (for those who might care...) regarding the true nature of intelligence, family and the interconnected consciousness of the universe.

The computer graphics are outstanding and the whole show is visually spectacular, beginning to end.

Don't want to give anything else away. The five stars make it a "must own" in my books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, March 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Excellent movie. At first I delayed watching this movie because of all the hype. I eventuality broke down and finally watched it and kicked myself for not watching it sooner. Great story line and the special effects are fantastic! Well worth watching this movie in the Blu-ray edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great blu-ray package, Feb. 12 2014
By 
K. Chu - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Extended cut of the movie plus a ton of bonus features. Pristine picture quality and sound makes this Blu-ray set a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An epic, visually stunning work of art!, Jan. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
You wonder if movies can get any better. The painstaking details, the creative talents, the story setting, the exquisite blending of fantasy and reality: it all comes down to a mind-blowing experience in movie watching. This movie is really a testament to the creative talent of mankind. It just makes you wonder what would happen if we could actually use the other 80% of our brain's capacity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service from Amazon.ca, Dec 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My only complaint is that when I ordered this movie, it did not mention what languages were included with the movie. Apart from that, movie is great and it was delivered before the expected date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xba0e4114)

This product

Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 43.99 CDN$ 19.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews