Customer Reviews


249 Reviews
5 star:
 (189)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why this Edition is a Better FILM.
There is a lot of very heated discussion of this edition of "Avatar" that concerns itself entirely with either the pricing or the packaging, and while that's all quite necessary, I thought it might be balancing to discuss the very reason for another edition ... the improved film itself.

Back in the summer of '10 the "Special Edition Re-Release" was shown again...
Published on Nov. 18 2010 by Richard S. Warner

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How about some info on this particular release?
Does this include extended edition or not? After being scr3w3d over on the first release and waiting such an unreasonable amount of time for it to finally be released to the public on 3D I am not willing to jump on the band wagon this time. If this release does not include both the extended and the regular releases in 3D and 2D I for one will not be going for it. And I...
Published on Oct. 3 2012 by Carl Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

120 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why this Edition is a Better FILM., Nov. 18 2010
By 
Richard S. Warner "Saraswati-Son" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There is a lot of very heated discussion of this edition of "Avatar" that concerns itself entirely with either the pricing or the packaging, and while that's all quite necessary, I thought it might be balancing to discuss the very reason for another edition ... the improved film itself.

Back in the summer of '10 the "Special Edition Re-Release" was shown again for a brief period in first run theatres to "give those who missed the experience of Avatar in 3D the first time the chance to see it ". Quite frankly I don't know how anyone could've missed it the first time, having run for such a long time, becoming the largest box office success to date ( 2 BILLION dollars U.S.! ) and being a movie that really polarized a lot of opinion. The "Extended Re-Release" featured 8 more minutes of footage than the original "Theatrical Release". So now, with this package we have included the "Collector's Extended Cut" which further expands the extra footage time to 16 minutes from 8.

While sometimes these extra minutes in "deluxe editions" are superfluous or indulgent, extra padding to "justify" a fancier, more expensive release to capitalize on, THIS particular release is worth it. Here are almost 9 hours of the film, in all 3 versions, with extra documentaries, deleted scenes and all the usual "toppings" on 3 discs. And I actually like the packaging, its layout and design. So I say not bad for under 30 bucks. ( DVD )

But what really made the purchase of this product completely justifiable, and especially enjoyable, for me was the inclusion of the extra 16 minutes. For that extra quarter hour significantly raises the narrative and character development in several meaningful ways, rounding out the film and filling in gaps perfectly.

Firstly we have the story starting back on Earth, the home planet of the desparate and evil "sky people". The film opens with the original flight over mist-cloaked jungle and Sam Worthington's voice over. Then after that initial shot, we are sent back to Earth for a really striking scene that much more deeply establishes Jake Sully's character as an angry, depressed, crippled marine who hasn't got much to live for. He sees directly how predatory the human race is, how the Darwinian survival of the fittest is lived out in our species in the seemingly endless forms of cruelty we seem to come up with.

In a bar, Sully watches as a large, burly man beats up his woman and not a soul steps in to help her. He observes how the strong always persecute the weak and seem to get away with it.... until he steps in, or, rolls up. In an act that seems crazy on one level, this parapalegic, depressed marine, becomes galvanized with purpose and bravery when he decides to do something about what he is seeing. He is still a marine and a man of honour. The disgusting situation Sully is witnessing draws him OUT of his "imprisoned" personality and he becomes re-energized with his complete unwillingness to tolerate the cruelty of the stongest.

His attack on the abusive lump is both thrilling and not without a sense of humour. One of the more unique "take-downs" in film history. In the end he is tossed out into a dank alleyway followed by his wheelchair. We don't see the much bigger, woman beater being ejected, just Sully. Again, there is no justice for the weak.

As he lies there in the rain and wet garbage, Sully looks up and all you can see are the structures of Human engineering. Not a natural thing is in sight. Not a tree, a bush, a bird or even the sky. It too has been completely eclipsed by the constructions of Humanity... rapid transit trains and their trellises, towering buildings and holographic billboards everywhere. Sully is looking up at this and wondering about his wasted life and the seemingly inexhaustable capacity of people to destroy all out of self interest. It is right after this that we learn of his twin brother's death, at the hand of a nameless thug who knifes him for the change in his pocket.

This more clearly and dramatically sets up his character's deeper reasonings for what later transpires on Pandora. This scene on Earth, through the action, as well as the visual setting, MUCH more effectively and A-ffectively, sets up everything that happens in the rest of the film. The first shot of the smoldering anger and resentment in Sully's face as he waits in his wheelchair for the traffic light to change on a crowded street, lit entirely in manufactured light, surrounded by the monstrous machine of human creation and the soulless creatures he shares his species with is a powerful and quite necessary prelude to the rest of "Avatar".

There are smaller scenes too, little additions that add a smoother and deeper transition between larger gestures and strokes. They create a more elegant shape to the film and provide seemingly simple but very important insights into character and narrative that only benefits the story.

Another much more disturbing inclusion are the "school" scenes and their related references. The first comes as Grace Augustine, Sully and Norm Spelman make their initial excursion into the Pandoran jungle and they come across the ruins of the school that Grace had established years ago, where the Na'vi children called her Mother. It is sad to see the signs of teaching ... old notebooks, ruined chalkboards, little desks, all smashed up and laid to waste. As Sully walks through the wreckage he finds bulletholes peppering the outside wall of the school and asks Grace what happened. Indeed, where do bullet holes enter into childrens' education?! Later on we learn the whole horrific story of the violent murder of children by the human military in recompense for an act of rebellious vandalism lead by one of the young Na'vi. This adolescent turns out to have been Neytiri's sister.

The school story fleshes out Sigourney Weaver's character and provides greater depth and insight into the smaller scale but equally destructive activities of Humans on Pandora. These scenes also give much more weight and punch to Weaver's snap-back in an argument with Selfridge, the corporate weasel, when he says he doesn't understand why the "blue monkeys" are so violently against the Human presence on Pandora, "yeah, well that tends to happen when you use machine guns on them", she says. Now we know that she is speaking of a very specific incident which she was present for, a horror she witenessed with her own eyes, and not just giving the suits a hard time.

There are more scenes of Na'vi daily life; hunting, learning and so on, that round out the film's shape and contour. But the greatest of these is the death of Tsu'tey, the young warrior set to take over as the clan leader of the Omaticaya people. In the movie's epic final battle he is shot with a machine gun and falls off the bomber aircraft he was attacking. In the original release we see him fall and that is it. In the "Collector's Cut" we return to Tsu'tey as he lies dying on the jungle floor. He passes on the role of clan leader to Sully, who has by now more than proven his worth. Tsu'tey then asks Sully to perform the last ritual of passage for him as Sully has now achieved the role of Turuk Makto, Last Shadow, the Great Saviour. It is sad and dramatic yet it nobly completes the culture of mercy and honour that the N'avi show all life as it ends on Pandora.

These new scenes for me are more than an addition, they are INTEGRAL to the fullest expression of ideas in "Avatar" and the best realization of the broad spectrum of feelings and motivations for both individuals and the two opposing peoples. Viewing the Deleted Scenes as well opens up and deepens both character and narrative very nicely. It would've been really good to have seen Jake's "vision quest" completed and included in the film and the Omaticaya dance sequence as well. Jake's and Tsu'tey's drinking contest would have been both a very funny addition and a scene that showed the eventual bonding of the two initial rivals. The finished and deleted scenes complete "Avatar" in a very satisfying and necessary way.

It is also a very welcome plus that THIS release is much improved in its picture and sound quality. That original colour transfer of the first release left a lot to be desired. It was nice to have but I was always conscious of how much more muted and dull the colours in the first DVD were, which I found very distracting. But this release is The One. The colour is MUCH truer to the original - fuller, richer, more saturated and clear. And with a movie like this one, that is an absolute must. The sound too, is much improved.

All in all, I think that this package is the definitive edition of "Avatar".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Buyers beware no Special on first release, April 14 2010
By 
Steve J. Swain (Lasalle, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar (Bilingual) (DVD)
This review from: Avatar (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo) As it turns out, Fox has craftily decided to milk "Avatar" for every possibly penny, since the debut DVD/blu-ray will be a bare-bones release -- and it will be one of the first major films to appear in home video without any of the regular special features, such as theatrical trailers, deleted scenes and behind-the-scenes footage.

If you want all the extra features, you'll have to wait until November, when you can buy a second "Avatar" DVD, currently titled the "Ultimate Edition," which will include all of the fancy stuff. And then, if you have really deep pockets, you can come back to the video store next year and buy a third, 3-D, version of the DVD.

So in a nut shell... This Blu-ray/DVD release JUST has the movie on it! NOTHING ELSE. NO EXTRAS, NO TRAILERS, NO SPECIAL FEATURES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avatar (3D)…an awesome immersive experience, but no Extended Cut and 3D and 2D on the same disc!, Oct. 16 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO (3D):

Avatar 3D arrives at blu ray with MVC 1080p 1.78:1 (James Cameron’s preferred aspect ratio) encode. This movie was produced in the PACE/Cameron Fusion 3-D camera format and originally released theatrically in the IMAX® DMR dual-strip blowup 3-D and D-Cinema 3-D formats. This transfer is absolutely stunning in 3D, exhibiting a mesmerizing visual experience, and is virtually perfect. Thus, the portrayal of Pandora is seemless in its complex visual splendor, with a magnitude of natural depth that “puts you there!” As Jake wanders through the jungle at night, lots of small luminous insects are seen floating around at different depths and positioned to add a sense of realism to the scene. The same applies to the scene where the glowing tree seeds slowly descend and cover Jake. Each is individually positioned at various distances, both in front and behind the screen, giving an almost magically immersive sense of reality. One view from the top of Home Tree is almost vertigo-inducing, with the view down the trunk, and the tiny people walking far below. Fine detail and depth is displayed in every frame. Clarity and sharpness are exemplary. Every nuance is descriptive in intricate detail. Everything looks perfectly real and naturally organic. Facial features and skin tones are rendered perfectly. Colour is lush throughout, with a perfectly natural palette of varied hues that often ignite the screen with bursts of intense and rich colour. The Na’vi’s blue is soothing and distressing and rich in warm hues. The fluorescent jungle night scenes are gorgeous, with all sorts of phosphorescent colours. Blacks are deep and solid. Contrast is perfectly balanced throughout, resulting in naturally deep and solid blacks and perfectly delineated shadow delineation. This is truly a spectacularly “Wow” 3-D experience! (5+/5)

AUDIO:

The DTS-HD Master Audio™ 5.1-channel soundtrack perfectly complements the visually stunning 3-D picture. The dynamic soundtrack is magically immersive, powerful, and intimate, all at the same time. The ambiance is dimensional and establishes the diversity of soundscapes, making the experience feel alive and believable, and perfectly complementary to the 3-D visual experience. James Horner’s elaborate and impressively beautiful orchestral music score is well recorded, with an expansively wide and deep soundstage that wraps deep into the surrounds. Instrumental timbre is clearly discernible. The overall balance and fidelity is impressive. Sam Worthington’s narration is also well balanced against the other sound elements. Dialogue is perfectly intelligible and effectively integrated spatially. The Avatar soundtrack is a remarkable achievement in cinema sound. (5/5)

NEGATIVE POINTS:

(1) This is my triple dip into Avatar blu ray. The first was the regular theatrical version. This was followed by very commendable Extended Cut (with 16 more minutes). This so-called “Limited 3D Edition” version is the regular theatrical version at 162 minutes. I am pretty sure that a further Ultimate Collector’s Limited 3D Edition will appear in the future with the extended cut of the movie, plus probably with more Special Features. For me, this is the limit – definitely no “Quadruple Dip”…squeezing every dollar from consumers. Perhaps, the word Limited means that this was used to be exclusive for Panasonic for the past year, and now finally available to the public.

(2) Both 3D and 2D blu ray versions are in the same single BD-50 disc. I don’t have a bit-rate counter, and I am sure the bit rate will be pretty low. But, look at Cameron’s other recent 3D release: Titanic (my review elsewhere), when the 3D version was housed on TWO separate BD-50 discs. The 2D version was on a separate third disc. Here again, the above packaging for Titanic may appear in future Avatar Ultimate Limited Extended Cut Collector’s Edition release. This is ridiculous.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

In the past year, the 3D releases have improved in video quality, like Prometheus, Titanic, etc. But the ultimate 3D movie really belongs to Avatar 3D, which is the ultimate demo, showing other film makers as to how great 3D movies are filmed. It is truly an awesome, immersive 3D experience. The price I paid was $29.99 which was reasonable. It was $39.99 at one point. Even though both the 3D and 2D are housed on the same disc, the quality of the video is still flawless, and this set is still highly recommended.

As per regular Amazon.ca fashion, many reviews for 2D version of Avatar now also appear in the Avatar 3D column. Please check the dates of reviews, before wasting time reading outdated reviews.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avatar Details - 2D Only This Year - Ultimate in November, March 29 2010
Since there are no details on Amazon's page, here is what's currently known:

April Theatrical Release
166 mins
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
Two-disc set (1 BD, 1 DVD)
No supplemental features
Unique code inside for internet access to first-look bonus materials
2D Only!

November Ultimate Release
Theatrical cut
Extended cut with 6 minutes of finished footage
Earlier cut with 30 or 35 minutes, some in unfinished form
Full filmmaker's journey
Picture-in-picture of the movie and matching reference cameras of actors playing the Navi
2D Only!

3D Release
Not this year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How about some info on this particular release?, Oct. 3 2012
By 
Carl Taylor (North Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Does this include extended edition or not? After being scr3w3d over on the first release and waiting such an unreasonable amount of time for it to finally be released to the public on 3D I am not willing to jump on the band wagon this time. If this release does not include both the extended and the regular releases in 3D and 2D I for one will not be going for it. And I would suggest that everyone else teach the studios a lesson by following suit.

Stop faking us out with basic releases when there are more full releases in the works!

Please note that my rating of 2 stars is not for the release itself but for the lack of info on this release (3D Blu-Ray + Blu-Ray +DVD) and not letting us know exactly what version(s) of the movie are on it.

Carl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audio and Subtitles, Oct. 17 2012
By 
A. L. De Costa "André, Montréal" (André, Montréal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Finally this 3d version was released for sale.
One very important information missing in the dvd description:
Audio and subtitles available in English, French, Spanish and Portuguese (brazilian).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful movie in Blu-ray format., April 29 2010
By 
Sam Simpson "Computer Geek" (Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the best looking movie I have ever seen in the Blu-ray format. The picture and sound are spectacular. The picture is so sharp, amazing job of the cast and crew.
The story is captivating too, I didn't know what to expect, I never saw the movie in a theatre but have heard others say it is a great movie. It deals with a alien race on a distant planet, which just happens to have large deposits of a priceless commodity, that the humans need or want.
I would recommend this movie to everyone, especially the Blu-ray disc is well worth the price of admission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved The Movie - Hate the CDN Blu-Ray Price, April 9 2010
By 
Blue-Ray Fan (Mississauga, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
The movie is awesome and it is definitely one that I will be purchasing. However, the continued price-gouging by Amazon.Ca is in a word underwhelming. So I plan on voting with my feet by not purchasing this title until the price is at par with the US Retail price. I refuse to be gouged and I invite others to do the same so that this practice of taking Canadians for a ride will cease once and for all.

Amazon, I am surprised that your business model shows such obvious flaws. Business is about selling and moving merchandise not warehousing it. What is the point here? Just sell it at the correct price and you will make more in the volume than by playing the mark-down later on game. Come on, folks are not stupid you know.

Aldo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mighty Return of Cameron, June 3 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Avatar: Paradoxically derivitve and groundbreaking at the same time. Storywise, this is nothing new. Technologically, this was mindblowing and original. Even in its 2D guise, Avatar's CG is miles away from anything we've seen before. Anyone who's read my past reviews knows I usually loathe CG. James Cameron may force me to rethink my position. Even in plain 2D, heck even on plain DVD, Avatar looks stunning, its CG characters actually becoming CHARACTERS that you can believe exist on the other side of the screen. The creatures and landscapes of the moon Pandora seem not too distant after all.

In Avatar's fictional world, it takes over 5 years to get to Pandora, a very reasonable number based on Alpha Centauri being our closest neighbor at 4 lightyears distant. If anything, Cameron should be applauded for doing his best to make everything seem scientifically plausible, from the human technology to the alien life on Pandora. Everything seems to belong to a connected evolutionary tree. This is something often missing in science fiction films today. It's not quite "hard sci-fi", but it's close.

Storywise, this is far from original. I've seen this movie before, except last time I saw it I believe it was called Dances With Wolves. Throw in some Titanic for that star-crossed lovers theme. Hell, there's even a love scene in Avatar that is nearly identical in certain ways to that in Cameron's last film. Witness: Guy and girl are from two completely different worlds. The guy desparately tries to fit into the woman's culture. When she finally falls for him, and the love scene happens (approximately in the same place in the film as Titanic, too), then next thing you know, everything goes to crap. Familiar? And the military guys in the movie bear a striking resemblance to the Navy Seals in The Abyss. They're just following orders, but there are a couple that don't mind taking the good guys' side. And the techonology they use seems kinda similar to that of Aliens...Hmmm?

Avatar mixes these unoriginal elements with some statements about the world we live in. The military dudes are a fairly obvious reference to Blackwater. The strip mining machines are strikingly similar to the ones currently being used in the Alberta tarsands. If you don't like messages in your movies, then don't even bother popping Avatar into your Blu-Ray.

I thought the performance by Sam Worthington (an actor who failed to blow me away in Terminator Salvation) was awesome. He played the dark, the light, the humour, and the CG motion capture very well. Sigourney was also awesome, just because she's Sigourney and she's always awesome. Also impressing was this Stephen Lang guy as the evil Colonel Quarich. Never heard of him before, can't wait to see him again. Zoe Saldana's performance as the entirely CG character of Natiri was also excellent. I was very impressed with every performance all around. And see if you can spot the great Wes Studi, who you may remember from a little film called Last of the Mohicans.

As other reviewers have pointed out, this Blu-Ray lacks any special features whatsoever. Cameron has already announced an expanded edition hitting theaters (and presumably Blu-Ray) later on. This is no surprise. Remember when everybody went out to buy Titantic all those years ago, to find it to be a bare bones DVD? And then getting hit up with that awesome 3 disc edition later? That's Cameron. That's just the way he rolls, I guess. He still hasn't given us a decent DVD of True Lies either. Don't buy this if you prefer to wait. Buy it only if you don't care about special features, or need to see Avatar again at home right now.

Personally, I found Avatar to be a very good film, bordering on great. The lack of originality in the story holds me back. However, to me it deserved the Academy nomination simply because it will change the way we see movies. 3D will become the standard for big budget action films, it is inevitable. CG has never been done more convincingly. There is no denying that Cameron is a technical visionary, and Avatar is thus far the crown of his achievments. 20 years from now, 30 years, 40 years, this will be remembered as a turning point.

4 stars. I'm the kind of guy who couldn't wait, but when a special edition comes in the future I'll snap that up too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rate the product, not the seller, Nov. 17 2010
By 
A. Curtis (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
If you're that upset about the seller (Amazon) then please don't right a review and rate the product low. The product itself is great, if the price is wrong move on like 100's of others do. If you want to buy from FutureShop, good on ya. Go there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Avatar (Extended Collector's Edition)  [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 43.99 CDN$ 19.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews